HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC

HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating:
3.689 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(222 reviews) 213
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 222 reviews
5 Stars
105
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
20
2 Stars
20
1 Star
38
143 out of 222(64%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Review 141 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HP TouchSmart tx2 Notebook

PostedApril 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
This computer has been nothing but problems it runs very very hot and loud. Within a couple of months the touch screen completely stopped working the touchpad stopped working the internet would say it was connected but wouldnt connect. Took it to get fixed and paid alot to get it back and have the screen STILL not work and 3 days later to have the entire computer crash it has only been 6 months. I will never buy HP again
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 142 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not ready for the market

PostedApril 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
This is a poorly designed tablet PC which I would not recommend even for simple tasks, such as creating notes in Onenote and sending them to other PCs.
Pros:
- Look and feel
- Hardware specs appear to be sufficient for the targeted market segment
Here are the show stoppers:
Cons:
- If the lid is open, this PC is top-heavy and easily tilts over (even on flat surfaces!)
- Screen rotation is slow
- In tablet mode, I like to rotate the screen by 180 degrees. Although you can pre-define the order in which the screen rotates, these settings are apparently not saved the next time you push the screen rotation buttons or once the screen is lifted. This is very annoying and clearly prevents a smooth work flow.
- I mainly use this device to create handwritten notes, add diagrams, apply annotations to pdf files, etc. (Go paperless!). In this regard Onenote does much of this job quite well. However, one thing which bothers me is that there seems to be no sufficient way to suppress the heel of your hand to interact accidentally with the software (causing menus and folders to suddenly pop up). Though this might be mostly a problem related to the Windows OS, it is very bothersome.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 143 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple, yet wonderful

PostedApril 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
I am a college student, and this model is the first computer I have ever owned. I absolutely love it. The screen is easy to swivel and position, yet sturdy enough that I don't feel like I'm going to break it switching to and from slate mode. The computer is compact and lightweight, and easy to carry around.
I didn't like how the touch screen responded to my hand resting on it, but that was easily fixed by poking around the Control Panel and changing the settings. The stylus's button is a little too easy to push, especially for someone like me who holds writing utensils in a death grip. Aside from that, the pen is well designed, and I love how it "clicks" securely into the side of the computer.
Overall, I'd say this is the best laptop I've ever used.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 144 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Tablet PC!!!!

PostedApril 7, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Just got the 1.3Ghz version w/4GB RAM and the 512MB video card and blu-ray. This thing runs like a dream, quite speedy. The battery lasts 6+ hours with brightness on high and WLAN on (bluetooth off) while powering a usb fan that it sits on. It has switchable graphics so you can configure it to automatically switch to the internal graphics card when running off of battery, giving you more battery time. I see no reason that this won't hit the advertised 8+ hours with the graphics down, brightness on medium and WLAN/Bluetooth off.
The screen is a little polarized, so you have to find your comfort zone for viewing, but I don't have any complaints (other than everyone thinking it's a nasty iPad).
My only real issue was when I tried using the pen calibration to fine tune the pen...ended up having to use the system recovery disk to fix, but I'm pretty sure it was user error and not following the directions :)
The automatic handwriting learning function performs extremely well, only rarely do I have any problems (and it's usually just a spacing issue, which is easy to fix), and that's WITHOUT using the Handwriting Learning program...which I don't think is necessary.
It does come with the standard HP Bloatware, but that's easy to uninstall if you don't want it...though some of them are programs to utilize the multi-touch feature, which is really cool, especially with the Microsoft Bing maps version of Google Earth (can't rememeber the name off hand right now).
If you're looking for a touchscreen, tablet PC with AWESOME graphics (the screen quality is the same as any new laptop, which is a great improvement over previous models)...the TM2T is DEFINITELY a smart buy. I would recommend getting the Accidental Damage Protection to cover damage in case you drop it since you're more likely to be moving around while holding a Tablet PC over a regular laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 145 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's awesome!

PostedApril 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
I got this computer for my 15th birthday and every since that day it has been working wonderfully for me. Just the thought of a touch screen makes me very happy. I love the keys because they are very soft. It has wonderful volume range, so that when I need my music I get it! I do have some complaints though..I wouldn't know if it was just my laptop ,but the bateria runs out in like 2 hours. I guess that would be it, other than that it's a beauty!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 146 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My experience with the touchsmart laptop

PostedMarch 29, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
First off, the first day I received the touchsmart tm2t laptop I turned it on and the screen was just black. So I called HP and actually had to remove the RAM and whatever else was in there to get the screen to show a picture. Within a few days of using the laptop just for internet purposes to check my facebook and email the laptop started freezing and was VERY slow for a 1200 dollar laptop which was the price I paid because I customized it. I didnt even get a chance to install games and put my pictures on it, not that I even assume it could handle it. A few more days passed and I decided I wanted to check out the built-in webcam, well guess what? The webcam software wasnt even installed on my 1200 dollar laptop. So basically I had a webcam but could not use it because I didnt have 2 hours to spend on the phone YET AGAIN with HP. So I let it go and decided I would fix it later, well one day I was browsing the web and the touchscreen stopped working. I decided at this time I wanted to run it over with my car, but decided to return it and it is now safe from my tires and in a fed ex box shipping back to HP, they can deal with it. But dont think for a second that it actually turned on when I wanted it to, every time I tried to turn it on it froze, or it would be on but the screen would be black,and the start menu was always a different color. Enjoy
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 147 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

the screen is heavier than the body

PostedMarch 27, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
I order this laptop the 1st day it came out. It's fast but can't compare to the tx2. This laptop is heavy and bulgy and omg the screen is horrible. I ended up returning it and bought the old laptop tx2 which is multitouch & stylish.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 148 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ok

PostedMarch 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
First of all when i first got my laptop as a graduation gift from my granparents, i tought it would be the best, since i had heard really good comments about HP, BOY was i wrong.
first, windows word cd it comes with to install word, well the pin was not working so ended up with out word, its ok i let it go...then after a year, when my warranty is done with, the wireless disk stops working, so now i have no internet what so ever, and i have to buy a new one, because the HP company tells me thats the problem with this computers. AHHH why didnt they say this at the beginning?
well now i have to get money to fix this notebook, sell it and buy me a mac!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 149 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this notebook

PostedMarch 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
my parents bought this notebook for my birthday, now that i recieve it my friends thik its the crazy kool i am in love with you, you can do almost anything, i would recommend anyone to get it!!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 150 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much Improved

PostedMarch 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
I had the tx2000 before upgrading to this model, and because of heating issues, the wireless decided to destroy itself, thus I found myself in the market for a new computer. I was going to go with a different company, but saw this computer, read favorable reviews, and decided to give this line another try. I am so happy I did.
Price: For a tablet pc with better specs than most business oriented tablets, the prices is unbeatable (trust me, I have done extensive research into this)
Processor: The thing that worried me was the 1.3 ghz processor, but those worries were unfounded. I assure you, if you get the discrete radeon processor, then this computer can run games. Those extra $75 were definitely worth it. In addition to that, the processor doesn't cause the computer to over heat, which is a huge improvement.
Battery/Battery Life: The battery placement is nice in this model, it does cause the computer to sit up a little higher and occasionally depending on the angle of the screen, the laptop does tip backward slightly, but this is not too big of an issue. As for battery life, I have gotten 8 hours with full brightness and wireless turned on, which is impressive.
DVD Drive: It doesn't have one, but it's really no loss, I ordered a cheap external one, but really I can get around even using that most times.
Screen: Better hinge design, hasn't loosened up on me yet (which used to be a problem). The screen is very very glossy, but I ordered an anti-glare screen protector which has been great.
Keyboard: I love this style. I did't even notice how much I appreciate it, but then I tried typing on my boyfriend's tx2500 and realized how much better it is.
Touchpad: Super finicky, I do have to say, but I have adjusted the synaptics and I think I have settings I like now. It can zoom and two finger scroll, which is nice, but like I said, finicky.
Pen: Feels the same as my old tx2000's but it's still nice, and I am a fan of wacom.
Ports: 3 USB ports, which is generally enough. HDMI is a great addition, I've used that several times already. The combination headphone/microphone jack does make me wary. I do some recording work, so this could become problematic, but we shall see.
Overall, I have had very few problems and am utterly happy with it, in particular the specs that this line offers.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 151 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

For a tablet (which means compromises), it rocks!

PostedMarch 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
When compared with tablets from competitors, this tablet rocks! Unfortunately, tablets in general mean a lot of compromise when compared with notebooks not having tablet functionality. There are a lot of features that are dumbed-down or missing altogether in all tablets, but it does not *have* to be that way. If you really need tablet functionality, then this is the best one on the market right now because it has the least compromises, and it does what it does well. If you can do without tablet functionality, then do yourself a favor buy a notebook that meets your needs.
First, here is what I like:
1. The tablet functionality works well and meets expectations.
2. I sprung for the 1.6 ghz processor and 8gb of RAM, and so far it seems very speedy in doing basic things: it boots very quickly and everyday things like opening an closing programs, browsing, etc. ... happen quickly, as they should.
3. DDR3 memory is very fast, and the choice of up to 8GB is great.
4. The build quality is excellent and the computer is light and very portable.
5. I've read some reviews containing complaints about no integrated DVD drive, but I think this is forgivable. This is a very small, light machine, and its apparent that there is no space for one. Most people only use a DVD drive to install software occasionally, and perhaps watch an occasional movie on an airplane. For this, an external drive is fine.
Compromises when compared with non-tablet notebooks:
I would give this 5 stars if it did *not* compromise in the following ways. Again, competitive tablets compromise even more, and I think that I've researched most, if not all competitive tablets.
1. Screen size. When tablets first came out, 15 and even a few 16 inch panels were available. Now, they are all teeny-tiny. The choice of at least a 14 inch screen is sorely lacking, and if it were available the tablet would still be small and very portable. A 12 inch screen is severely lacking in screen realestate, and there is no reason that this same tablet could not be engineered with a larger screen. The graphics quality of the display is reasonably good and bright enough, however, it is also very reflective of light hitting the display, and I can see my reflection in it.
2. Battery/Power management is lacking, and is limited to that which is built into Windows. Since power management is mostly software based, HP could remedy this with an update. Examples include options to configure (when running on battery): Auto switch from Aero glass to a Vista/Windows 7 basic color scheme; auto step-down the rate at which Wi-Fi is running; auto power-down card bus and other ports. Auto turn-off WiFi when plugged into Ethernet. Put in a physical switch to quickly shut-off Blue Tooth, and the same for Wi-Fi. All of these things do make a huge difference in how long the battery lasts in other notebooks, and I hope HP remedies this in the future.
3. No driver/software option to stop battery charging. No choice of the rate at which the battery charges.
4. No choice of discreet graphics. Any kind of 3D graphics programs would benefit quite a bit, but the integrated graphics in this machine are not bad and run Aero reasonably.
5. No security setting in Bios to password or fingerprint lock the hard-drive and/or require the same to boot.
6. Ports. This has only 3 USB ports and no ESATA port. It could use at least one more USB port (like most notebooks on the market today) and an ESATA port for an external hard-drive. It has no firewire port, which, like most notebooks, it should have. At least it does have a cardbus port and memory card reader.
7. I've become used to a backlit keyboard, and am disappointed that this machine does not have one. This is not an expensive option.
8. Finally, it would be awesome if there were another HDMI or Display Port or another DVI port on this guy for the purpose of driving two external monitors; however, I admit that this is not common on most Notebooks.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 152 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not bad

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
the tm2t is perfectly great especially how it works multi touch technology with the new windows 7 without forgetting the stylus.
but however the intel 1.3 ghz lowers it's performance allot especially when playing games.
but otherwise its perfectly complete.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 153 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great laptop

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
i got mine upgraded to 1.6 cpu and 4gb of ram and 500gb HD i love this laptop it feels nice and the touch screen works well scrolling sideways is a little hard but i found if you scroll up a little and then scroll sideways works good. I had to change how the laptop would switch to low graphic when unpluged by going to the switchable graphics card and change some setting. I had an error recently from my bios about the cooling fan and i emailed hp they gave me some info to turn off remove battery hold the battery unlock button to unlock will turning on without the battery for 30 sec then replace battery and turn on. That has seem to work it has been three days since i seen that error.I was going to get the tx2z with the highest cpu but then this came out so i did some research and i found that the tx2 windows score was 4.4 or so(not the highest) my windows score is 4.8.I had this now for a week, great laptop i recommend this to anyone with my spec to get this if there a dj or want to have a good touchscreen laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 154 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good if it works....

PostedMarch 15, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
I am going to try this review again, since my first one did not post. I bought this and the motherboard seems to be bad, so I had to return. I refused to send a brand new laptop in for repair and get it back scratched up or worse..(been there, done that) HP would Not exchange since I used Bill Me Later, just in case you plan on using that payment method. I was not a happy camper as I bought one a few years ago and had to replace the motherboard about 3 times on it as well. I decided to find a new brand, but could not with these specs and I wanted the graphics card, so I am giving it one more chance...on the bright side I found a $300 coupon and saved over $130.00 plus I upgraded the specs from the last order. It will all be worth it if this next one works. I loved it while it lasted and the touch is awesome. Great for editing pics. I was worried about the small screen, but not bad at all...I would not want it to be any smaller though and Windows 7 is wonderful!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 155 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Paper pencil calculator digitized

PostedMarch 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
The applie iPad got me thinking about a tablet. The more I thought about the iPad the more I knew that was not what I wanted, so I started looking for a robust PC that could run my software the way I like to.
I bought the tm2t middle of the road version with the ATI 550 graphics card, 4MB RAM and Windows 7 Professional.
This is my 1st tablet which I bought for school (Quantitate Statistics). I was burning through paper doing all the math problems, now the touchsmart has allowed me to go digital.
I also bought the software version of the HP-12C Financial Calculator. It works just like the hardware calculator, and with this touchsmart tm2t its finger operated!
I have set the tablet journal (comes free) with digital "graph paper" and calculator, and honestly it is really great. I can work quicker than the old paper, pencil, and hardware calculator method I've been using.
There is math software (included free too), which converts what you write into typewriten format. If you think about it all of the wierd math symbols cannot be created without purchasing special software, and even then it would be a very time consuming process using the keyboard and mouse method. With the touchsmart I simply write it out as usual, and the computer converts it; with the greek symbols and all into concise typewritten notes that I can print out. Having the ability to create my own formula sheets effortlessly is worth the price of this PC alone.
I like that I'm not killing trees any more, and I can save pages and pages of notes.
I also bought the adobe photoshop. The tm2t works with the images from my 18mega pixel camera with ease.
The touchscreen is very clear and works as good as my iphone 3GS. Don't worry about the glare or shiny screen reviews. I use this indoors and outdoors in various lighting conditions and the screen images look really great.
CONS: The 1st one's sound card died within hours of getting it. I had to send it back before this new one came. It was brutal waiting a month from the 1st purchase-sending it back-getting the replacement. All is working well now though, and certainly worth the wait. Throughout the process HP customer service communications where great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 156 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I wanted to love it!!!

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
I really love this computer and all it is supposed to do, but I have only had it a little over a week and it has tons of errors and HP will not send a new one for exchange. Only repair or refund, so I am losing my coupon I had used to buy it...Since I bought it with Bill Me Later (they should tell you that before you choose your payment methods. They will not give me the same discount so the exact same computer will now cost me $100 more.
I did not want this repaired as I did that with another one and it came back scratched up and new problems. So Now I am returning and I probably will be looking for another brand as this is the second HP that the motherboard is not working on along with other errors. So, if you get this and it works, it is great, but if you have problems as I have with more than one HP, not so good.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 157 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything you can expect!

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
This computer is well rounded, covering every area that it has touched. First, the design and casing is beautiful, I fell in love with it the second I unpacked it. The weight isn't too heavy, especially because the weight is spread out evenly. The front of the laptop is thinner than the back, it actually bumps out underneath where the battery is, but it does not make the computer sit weird in laptop or tablet mode, it actually gives you a little slant for when you're typing. Which actually brings me to the keyboard - lovely!! It's smooth and isn't cheap feeling, they actually remind you of the mac book keys. Except, there isn't a back-lit keyboard, which would be nice for the future ;)
I had gotten the 4GB DDR3 RAM, 500GB hard drive, only the graphics accelerator, and the fingerprint reader. Which this computer works amazingly with. The fingerprint reader is awesome, it lets you sign in on websites with just a swipe of a finger.
Also, the software, Corel Paint It! that comes with it, is amazing and works so good with the digitizer pen. Which, that is also another awesome thing, the pen looks good, feels good, and clicks right into the cubby that's on the side of the laptop.
The color of the laptop is a little pinkish, but honestly, it only depends on the light, and isn't too feminine.
The touch aspects work great, its precise and does not lag at all.
Another thing that I have to praise about this computer is that the battery life is super long, and will last with the LED screen all the way up for about 4-5 hours, which is really good compared to a lot of other laptops out there.
Even without the graphics card, games, and everything looks great. The applications that come with it, and also the touch interface desktop that comes with it, also is a great feature. It has Hulu, Netflix, a place to canvas through photos and make collages, and a lot more. Pretty much, there's something on here that everyone will enjoy.
Overall, I would suggest this computer to anyone out there, it is really a great piece of technology. It is a small 12.1" screen, but it REALLY doesn't seem that little, and works great with the touch features.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 158 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have owned 2 tabet PCs

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
first of all, i am not some guy that work for hp or some group paid by hp to do reviews, i don't know if that eases some doubts or not but judge for yourself.
i have owned 2 tablet pcs from hp the tm2t is my second. let me first start off by saying i am a student and a small business owner i use a tablet pc daily, i take ALL my notes from my classes, meetings and scheduling on this thing it barely leaves my side.
the reason i upgraded from the tx2 to the tm2 is the battery life, if i moderately surf the web, and use onenote all day about (3 hours) with music playing while waking from class to class with bluetooth headphones (about 1 hour of music time total) the battery will last me 6 hours easy. and i can still play all the games like mass effect and bioshock even though i only have the 1.3ghz processor
the build of it is TOUGH metal case that is very stiff and light
and it has great little features that hp thought of like allowing the screen to turn both left or right 180 degrees most tablets only turn 1 way and giving the screen and extra 1/2 inch of flush border around the screen so their in no running into a "lip" or border when writing with the pen, that is one of the most annoying features of any other tablet, were the screen ends there is a lip around it so the pen keeps bumping into it when your write!
so if you plan on using this computer for notes ect and to stay organized it is great but don't just buy it for the touch with out any plans to use it for writhing, that would be a waste.
this computer has done everything i have thrown at it,
Movies are great with the LED screen REALLY CRISP.
Games Run smoothly with out problem on med-high graphix
Touch screen is SO Great with windows 7
Sound is a 3 or 4 outa 5, the bass is hard to hear.
all the other knick knacks are good too (finger print, BT, ect) as they should
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 159 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disillusioned

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
I received this notebook as promised in my order. The problems began as soon as I turned it on...
CONS:
1. The power switch sticks - maybe it is designed that way, but I doubt it. It seems like the switch will lever itself off every time I use it.
2. The bottom plate that covers the memory modules was installed or fits poorly...it wiggles and makes a metal-on-metal clicking noise whenever I touch it
3. On the first day, before installing ANY software, the computer generated the blue screen two times.
4. I ordered the ATI graphics upgrade for the 125.00; I guess it works well, but what I wasn't told (or didn't see in the description) was that it only works when the computer is plugged in. Every time I unplug the power, it switches back to the onboard graphics - there may be a setting I can't find, but I should not even have to look for that setting. If I want shorter battery life and better graphics, it should be my choice.
5. ALthough I am sure there are several "magic" tricks that the touchpad can perform, it is a real annoyance when using two hands - the buttons don't work like a normal two button track pad because of the electronic nature (sensitivity).
6. THis laptop has bright white LEDs for EVERY connection and button - it looks like the Chicago airport when everything is plugged in and turned on (lan cable, power cable, power on, HDD working) - I find it distracting (personal taste);
7. Balance - if the screen is opened just a tad to far, the whole laptop teeters - every time I go to type, I am holding the front edge down. considering the weight of this machine, I think the engineers could have done a better job with the weight distribution;
8. The viewing angle of the screen is horrible - if I am off to the side, I can't see the image, and when looking directly at the screen from the front, I can't see the image clearly from head on unless I tilt the screen further back (then I get the problem mentioned above).
I have more issues, but this is really enough. I will get an RMA and return this PC
PROS:
1. Awesome keyboard
2. Fun touch graphics program
3. Heavy duty in most regards - nice etching in the case (matter of taste - I don't like it but my wife does - take that however you like).
I bought this laptop for the portability, battery life and touchscreen features - hoping to use it connected to a big screen to help me teach college courses - easier to demonstrate by drawing on the PC then showing a presentation on the big screen and drawing on a separate whiteboard. Unfortunately the cons greatly outweigh the pros.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 160 for HP TouchSmart tm2t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good but...

PostedMarch 7, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
This computer is good, decent speed, generates a lot of heat, and lacks key components like a dvd rom, but that is forgiveable when considering smaller size. This notebook is extremely overprised like some other models from hp. They build good computers but sometimes tend to overprice them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.