HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC

HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating:
4.275 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
57 out of 69(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome built-in features

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ione, CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like the convenience of having built-in wireless and multi card readers. Plus the speed of the 2nd generation i-5 quad core processor is amazing. Very quiet machine is a plus.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blown Away!!

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Long Beach
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best computer I had ever used. This new HP Pavilion i5 computer is so fast and is very quiet. The windows 8 software is also easy to use. The disk drive and memory stick portals open up the appropriate software program to play music or store photos. It is a joy to use. The internet explorer is also seamless because of the built-in wireless adapter. I love the flash drive ports and download music all the time. For me, HP thought of everything!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product is great step forward

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sterlling, IL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Computer has been great. No problem getting acquainted with and using windows 8. A problem with optical drive. Was replaced and all is fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value & Great Computer

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In shopping around for a dexk top computer I was looking to maximize the performance : dollar ratio. This computer did NOT disappoint me. It is fast and quiet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Youngstown, OH
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely happy with the purchase of this computer. It is very fast, unbelievably quiet. I was worried about windows 8 but it has been no problem just takes a bit getting used to. I couldn't be more satisfied.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, excellent

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Somerville, MA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Computer is excellent, however the keyboard is terrible and the documentation is non-existent. The keys aren't even dimpled. Beware of the software LapLink PC mover pro. I bought it with the computer. It brought everything over from my old computer, the good, the bad and the ugly. It wiped out my Multi Optical Drive. Had to do a complete restore to get my new PC back to factory settings and so far OK.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for the price!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Orange, CA
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been using this for about 2 weeks and I have to say I like Windows 8. It isn't bad as I thought. I thought the processing would be complicated since some features and programs were changed but no, the set up was easy and quick! This desktop is super fast! Its speed amazes me. The total time it takes to turn on is about 15 seconds at max and it is ready to use. The shut down is fast, too, about 5 seconds. I worried when I first purchased this desktop because this is more like a family desktop (I usually use my own laptop) so I thought it would give my parents troubles using it. However, my parents were able to access the desktop after ONE demonstration. We are not a fan of apps because we just do not use them at all. But who cares, you can always hide or uninstall those apps, which was what I did. This desktop gets things done clean and fast.
The reason I only give "Good" for the performance is that I experienced one freezing. HP should fix this problem. I have looked up the freezing problem of Windows 8 and apparently, many people have experienced it. What happened to me was after I uninstalled Internet Explorer, the window froze. I could move my mouse around but I could not click anything. Therefore, I could not shut down or restart from the side bar (I forgot the name for it). I then forcefully turned it off by pressing the button on the tower. After waiting about 15 seconds, I pressed the button again to turn it on. The exact window where it froze showed up again! The problem was solved after I pulled out the power wire connecting the PC to the outlet. I reconnected it and the window was running fine again. I have not experienced any problem since then.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, basic computer for home use.

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ferndale, WA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My only complaint is there's not enough USB ports. And there are no USB ports in the front of the computer, which makes it hard to frequently plug/unplug equipment. Other than that, it's fast and works well as a home computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Windows 8 Is Easer Then I Thought

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Richlands, Va
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was A little worried about windows 8 but after getting it and using it it seems to be pretty Awesome!! The Windows 8 Trainer I Got Helped A Lot And the PC Is Great So Far !!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic machine

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:McMinnville, Oregon
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is fast and quiet. Windows 8 is taking a little time to get handle on it. I had XP for a long time. I'm 68yrs old and up for a challenge so far it's not to bad. I can remember the commodore 20 & 64. This new computer is like a rocket, no more waiting for it to load something.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dream Machine

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Alabama
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So quiet, my last one ( Dell) hummed like a space ship taking off. Nice looking, lighter weight.
The slots are covered for dust protection. It is a pleasure to use. It is a dream machine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
very very good mashine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast computer, high quality case

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Columbus, OH
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this to replace my 10+ year old HP XP box which has served me so well, I knew I had to get another HP. The HP Pavilion p7-1520t is another very well made and easy to service ATX case and uses a Foxconn motherboard with onboard graphics. I special ordered extra USB ports. I also scored the excellent HP Pavilion 23xi 23-inch Diagonal IPS LED Back-lit Monitor as well. I have my Samsung flat screen TV as a second monitor.
PROs:
Instantly on! boots right up. To turn off, just hit the power switch! not necessary to do it with the OS. This is a very fast computer.
No annoying blinking lights
Well made high-quality case with room for another HD and another optical drive, and a slot for a floppy drive! ( no IDE tho) HP has the best cases!
Good sound over my old, cheap speakers, the Beats Audio is nice in that there is a comprehensive EQ interface.
Super quiet. in fact, it is silent.
CONS:
No HDMI out. (this was an upgrade with a better graphics card that I didn't get)
DVI cable didn't fit, no worries since I had another one.
Bloatware on the "metro" Win 8 tile screen, which includes shortcuts to HD based applications as well as internet links. These are easily removed.
SUMMARY:
This is a 64 bit computer, as such, I could not use Windows Easy Transfer to move all of my files from the old 32 bit XP box. No worries as I have set this up on my home network and just drag and drop everything into the shared folders.
I like the new windows 8 OS. There is no Start button, but HP includes their own. There is no Win Media Player, either, but, again, HP includes their own, which appears to have more features. There is a learning curve but I have not had any problems. Ignore the bad press Win 8 is getting. It is so fast!
This computer is an excellent value. I will likely upgrade to a Radeon graphics card in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Microsoft quality

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Hardware is fine, but the software is terrible, no surprise since it comes from Microsoft. Windows 8 crashes about once a day and Office managed to destroy one of my important documents. As nice as the new features are, as a whole Windows 8 is terrible.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Computer for an Equally Amazing Price

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Earth
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am so glad I purchased this computer. It has great specifications and is super fast for everything. Its only weakness is its graphics card (the one that comes with it by default) but I have no problem with that since the computer is great in every other way. (I can just purchase a better card if I ever need one; for regular use, i.e. HD movies, it is perfectly fine, I just plan on playing some graphically intense games on it is all.)
I am now a big fan of HP computers. They have great software that comes with their computers free. Next time I purchase a computer (although I won't need to be purchasing one very soon!) I will likely purchase an HP computer. They by far have the best computer deals I have seen online and for equally great and powerful computers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent PC

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:PA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This PC is an excellent home PC. It allows you to do everything you want along with light gaming. And don't worry about Windows 8. I know Windows 8 is advertised to work with touch screens, but it also works extremely well with a mouse and keyboard. There is a small learning curve though. I would recommend going online and reading about Windows 8 before going out and getting a PC with Windows 8. That will help a lot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very pleased

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dayton, Ohio
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought and installed this computer for my wife at her work to replace an old and outdated computer. I was very leery of windows 8 (not so much for me, but for her). I set it up at home first so she could get the feel of it before actually having to work with it. She didn't like the look nor feel of Windows 8 but said she could adapt. To try to appease her, I installed one of the many after market programs that brings back the familiar start button and boots to the desktop, and she loves it. It is very speedy and ultra quite. It has everything she needs to conduct her business. It connects very easily to her network, and adding network printers were a snap. I would recommend this computer to anyone in similar circumstances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sound poorly thought out

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Amherst NH
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought computer specifically for HDMI capability and paid extra for feature. Who would have dreamed the nightmare involved in getting sound when interchanging from computer to HDMI mode. This should automatically occur in my opinion but even following the manual changing of sound directions depending on mode it freezes. So finally when you get it to work HDMI its a task to get it back to PC play....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Windows 8 is incredibly awkward

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jackson, California
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased this computer to replace my old HP that had a disk failure. It came with Windows 8 and when I started up the computer I could not believe what I was looking at. There is absolutely no similarity between Windows 7 and Windows 8. 8 is like a foreign territory to me. I was not provided with any information or tutorial on how to operate Windows 8. It was so bulky and cumbersome that I returned the computer to HP and ordered another one with Windows 7 instead, and it cost me more money. Be absolutely sure you know what Windows 8 is all about before buying a computer with this OS. You need to be very tech savy to try to understand Windows 8. The HP sales rep did not explain at all to me how different the two systems are.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion p7-1520t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like everything about this computer

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Elgin, ND
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The set up was easier than my last computer. I have had absolutely no problems with any of the hardware or software I received. I am completely satisfied with this purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.