HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC

HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating:
4.482 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(164 reviews) 164
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 164 reviews
5 Stars
113
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
3
1 Star
6
149 out of 164(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the money

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The computer is what was expected except it loads slower than reasonable, in my opinion. The keyboard and mouse are fairly cheesy so will be replacing them. The Magic Canvas feature is excellent and some of the new apps are excellent. Overall it is a great computer for the money. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Flawed Operating System

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Connecticut
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The computer came with defective code in the Windows 7 operating system which caused problems when on the Internet. I didn't even try working the issue with HP but instead went to Microsoft who after many hours of work determined the computer was delivered with defective code. They were able to fix the problem but at additional cost to me. Perhaps this was a fluke but it should not have happened. Otherwise, it is a fine computer with excellent speed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

too early to tell

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I haven't had time to put it thru its passes. I'll know more n a couple of months. I'm having a hard time getting used to the new system. It seems faster but it getsbogged down once in a while and I don't know why.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid, Fast, Quiet

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This unit replaced my trusty but now rusty 10-year-old computer, so obviously the performance of the new HP far surpasses the old one. Nonetheless, this appears to be a wonderful computer for the money, at least so far.
PROS: I am so far quite impressed with its speed, capability, build quality, appearance and performance. There have been many advances in technology over the decade, all reflected in this machine. I had to make certain compromises because of economics, but decided the HP offered the best bang for the buck. I had shopped for a month across all major and minor brands. Online purchasing was a breeze, and customer service was great.
CONS: I am a little disappointed that there are only six USB hubs. Also, the instruction manual lacks for everything! One would think the company would go out of its way to provide in-depth information about such a sophisticated machine, but HP is flat on that score. Finally, the low end keyboard and mouse are utilitarian at best, and one should upgrade if you can afford to. Luckily I had USB equipment on hand, so discarded the duo after a day's use.
Since the unit is new, I have no idea if it will withstand the rigors of hard daily use, which it will receive here. I will be back to update my impressions over time, as I intend to hold HP's feet to the fire. It's a giant corporation and needs to know what its customers think, as well as that it needs to be accountable to them. They now have my money and I have their machine. We will see if this develops into a partnership or not.
So far so good, HP.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and quiet

PostedJune 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Warrenton, VA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very fast computer operating with Windows 7, that is also quiet with all the features that I need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good computer

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Porter, Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A nice unit. Easy to use. Just have to get use to Windows 7 from XP Home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This computer is so fast and easy to use!

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dunlap, Illinois (Peoria area)
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
This computer replaces my 12 year old HP Pavilion running on XP. I was so happy with my old HP I decided to get another HP. Have only had this new one a few weeks but I am delighted with it. It has so many great features (speed being the #1). I'm very happy with my decision to go with a Windows 7 Professional operating system and the HP folks that helped me put this together were just great. The only problem I had was that the Roxio Secure software I purchased wouldn't load - kept giving me a message that the serial number was invalid. I'm trying to resolve this with Roxio but so far no luck! Might have to involve HP since I bought the software with my computer package. Otherwise I'm happy, happy, happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great general purpose computer

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arizona
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use 5 computers for different things for home and home studio use including PCs and an i-MAC. Since the other computers have specific uses, I bought this HP Pavilion to use as my 'general purpose' computer.
After 2 bad experiences with Dell computers I decided to try the HP. I specifically wanted this model because it had Windows 7. I am very pleased with the features on this Pavilion desktop, size of hard drive, size of RAM, wireless operation, plenty of USB connections, handles 2 monitors, etc. It is a remarkably quiet machine. Set up was a non event, extremely simple. Nice that HP puts the on/off switch right out front/top. It's operation so far has been flawless. I highly recommend this computer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good looking computer

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Coastal South Carolina
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice computer with good features but it had 2 problems which could not be solved by HP phone help. Web pages were minimizing and maximizing by themselves no matter what browser was used, and on IE web pages, under "File", neither Send Link or Send Page By Email features worked. They were grayed out and not able to be clicked to open email page.
I received the computer on a Friday and sent it back 3 days later for refund. I also ordered another identical P7 computer that same Monday. I have confidence in HP puters and will eventually get one that works as it should.
I consider this a minor setback would and still recommend this computer to my friends. I think it is a great value for the features it has and the power it packs. It is quiet and fast. The other reviews of this puter and the price for the build were what sold me on it.
I've used HP computers for 13 years and get good service out of them when I get a "good" one. I've never bought a new computer that I didn't have to take back and exchange for another at least one time before I got one that operated 100% as a new puter should, without any glitches or problems.
Maybe I'm nit picking but I'm just not going to spend $600 or more for a new computer that doesn't operate as it should and doesn't work as it was intended to work when it was built.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Basic desktop

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:USA
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Only issue I have is a wish there was a usb port on the front. Overall performs well for home office pc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fastest computer to date

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Easton, PA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordered this online since all the stores are selling Windows 8. Configured this computer with Windows 7 Professional as I am more familiar with the networking features. Elected the quad Core i5 processor which for my use is fast enough and instantaneous surfing the net. I did install a few games and so far, no issues with the speed of play or graphics. Found a Panasonic HDTV/Monitor at Best Buy so that I could multitask in the home office to use as the monitor. There was one configuration issue with the graphics in that regard to set up so that the computer image fit the screen and that was accomplised in the Catalyst Control Center, Flat Panel Options by adjusting the slide towards Underscan. Added the HDMI graphics option card and connected to the Flat Panel via HDMI which is just BEAUTIFUL! Text size adjusted to Medium which displays better on the 24inch size. Other than the added costs of the options I installed, configuration to what I wanted was a plus and I'm completely satisfied with my purchase.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great features

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:springfield, mo.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great features at a good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Unit for the Price

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer is awesome for the money. The processor is the i5-3570 3.4 GHz (I paid $40 to upgrade to this chip) and bencmarks at 6984, way faster than the old AMD Phenom II chip in my Gateway. (benchmark was 1800) Granted that was an older chip and AMD makes a great product so I am not knocking it all. The MB has integrated graphics but no HDMI port. (Foxconn H-Joshua-H61-uATX) The case is nice looking, the unit is quiet, the blue light is cool at night and the orange sleep mode light is also nice looking. It doesn't have a lot of extra features like wireless internet or bluetooth but then again for the price those were not expected. It has 6GB of fast RAM, and I can always purchase upgrade parts in the future. For the money this computer is great. I give it a full 5 star rating simply because it's FAST, quiet and works as I expected. I have no complaints or regrets about this computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

95 percent

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ariaona
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bummer ??!! Purchased a desktop which stated that it would include --trial MS office 2013.
Sorry folks, you created a problem for me. The HP tech staff and the MS tech staff refused to take responsibility an provide a 25 character KEY to open the office product. Not to smart. Instead of giving me any more run-around send me a coupon to discount the purchase price at my local retailer or a discount offer from your home store. With that exception, I like my desktop. Installation went without a hitch. It's quick and marries up well with my 21 inch LCD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy setup

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:flushing ny
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
love it wanted windows 7, not 8 am very happy so far
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product doesn't work correctly

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:East Glacier Park, Montana
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
1. It is set up to work great in Great Britain but not in the United States.
2. The back slash key returns "#"
3. The @ sign returns the quote mark "
3. The # returns £
4. The quote sign " returns @
5. The clock is set for 24 hours; I would like a 12 hour clock.
6. The Date is set in the European style ie 11 September 2013
I can't find a place on the computer to change these items. Could you tell me how to find the place on the computer where I could make these changes?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Lot of Bang For Your Buck!

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only had the pleasure of owning this machine for two weeks, so what follows is my initial impression of this desktop. I am not a tech-savvy individual, but this machine offers a great deal for a very reasonable price (I comparison shopped on numerous online and brick-and-mortar retailers). You'd be hard pressed to find a desktop with 1TB of hard-drive storage, 6GB of RAM and a high quality installed sound card (among other features) with Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit (almost all the new computers now come with Windows 8, which I can't stand) for just over $600 sales tax & delivery included. The machine feels sturdy, is whisper quiet in operation, the Intel i5 3570 quad-core processor is super fast compared to my prior duo-core Pentium, and the Intel HD 4000 Graphics produces clear, crisp, vibrant images on my 1080p monitor. My only initial negatives are the mouse cord seeming to be a bit short and the USB ports on the back of the machine are on the left side (facing the front of the CPU), thus making the mouse cord connection very snug (my mouse is always at risk of falling off my desk!). The keyboard has a nice, responsive feel to it and I appreciate the HP Support Assistant feature on this machine (typical of HP desktops and laptops). I also own an HP ProBook 4540s and it's an equally excellent product for business or personal use. HP is definitely deserving of serious consideration for anyone in the market for a new computer; highly recommend this package!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quite a change from my old Dell

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ithaca, N.Y.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As an rank amateur I faced daunting task putting it together the computer with all the cables, connectors etc, etc. I found it relatively easy but there is one complaint or rather two complaints. All the all lines and cables were long enough except the mouse line and the keyboard line. They were too short so I had to buy an extension. A penny saving for HP cost me $30.00 dollars extra....Bah ....phoey!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Everything has gone well with this computer so far. Excellent design as well. Only feature not working was the screen saver. The screen would go dark after the specified time, but no screen saver image would appear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion p7-1380t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value!

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:St. Louis, MO
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this for my son for homework and online gaming. Out of the box the computer is good for most tasks, but for gaming purposes we immediately upgraded to a 500W power supply and a dedicated graphics card. He's very happy with it and is running all of his games without lag. The only factory upgrade was to add the wireless card, and that works fine for our needs. Note there is only one PCIe slot, plus I think two other minis on the motherboard, so expandability is somewhat limited. Otherwise a great computer at a great price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 to next page>>