HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC

HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating:
4.637 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(135 reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 135 reviews
5 Stars
107
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
128 out of 135(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Home Computer

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Baytown, TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer has the power to handle photography editing in Lightroom 4 with ease which was the main reason I upgraded to this computer. I also use it to manage our Lions Club finances with Quickbooks and my personal finances with Quicken. The computer has lots of data storage space with 2 fast hard drives and plentiful USB ports, including USB 3 super speed ports which I am using with an external hard drive to back-up my photography and data files. Worked great right out of the box.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent, powerful desktop computer upgrade

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oberlin, OH USA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My previous computer was the (also) excellent workhorse HP Pavilion a1630f Desktop PC purchased in August 2008; it worked fine for the past four years until I was careless during the most recent battery replacement. (Can I blame a toothache? LOL Rather than immediately troubleshoot the motherboard on that PC, I bought the new PC, and with the help of the 500GB HP Pocket Media Drive, I was able to recover my stuff.)
I’m still exploring this wonderful new HP Pavilion HPE h8-1360t Desktop PC which came to me as advertised on the hp.com sales page. I need to get up to speed on wireless access; for enhanced security under the U.S. Constitution, I have always been hardwired, going back to military service days and the very first of the personal computers. Now, however, while waiting for the new desktop computer, I also bought a new HP 2000 Notebook PC, and I was able to get both computers connected in order to update backup files via wireless. Ta-daa! I use the desktop for my WildTangent Games account with HP Games, Windows Media Player, catching up on some 600 or so as yet unread email, Microsoft Office Home and Student 2010 , Quicken Deluxe 2012, and Norton 360. I look forward to learning to use the new HP Magic Canvas and Adobe software which came pre-installed, an exciting plus. The HP Support Assistant software really helped get both new computers up and running. The red lighted bar over the front access controls could have been a less bold color, green for “GO”, or blue for “harmony” instead of the HAL Computer powerful red, perhaps; this is a major step up in computer power for me after all, and I can of course live with such a detail. Overall, I am very pleased with HP, its products, and its always above-expectations support over the years which is why I continue to buy and use your products.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent high performance system

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:West Lafayette, IN
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was able to configure this system exactly as I wanted and that was the feature that convinced me to buy it. The performance has been as excellent as I expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Performance & Value

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The overall performance of the H8xt is excellent. I am impressed with the features that HP has included with the machine, and the overall value is outstanding. With all of the future upgrades possible, this computer should fulfill my requirements for a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completely Satisfied

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brighton, Colorado
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compuuter arived earlier than was expected, very fast and absolutely satisfied with performance and build quality, I will continue to be an HP user.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased, everything as expected

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Plainview, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just for information, I found that there are two SATA III connections and four SATA II connections. One of the SATA III connections is used for the hard drive, so the other one can be used for a second SATA III hard drive. The SATA III connections are marked 0 and 1.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Looking PC!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Greenville, SC
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had compared several towers, including this, a Dell XPS, and Lenovo IdeaCentre. I chose the HPE h8-1360t, because I felt it was the most attractive case and it had the best price for the same features at the time. I felt the Dell was not something I wanted to see sitting on my desk for years, and the Lenovo was beautiful, but had very few USB ports. Unfortunately, a SSD drive option was not available when I ordered, so I added a Samsung 830 series SSD. Because RAM is so cheap, I added another 8GB from Newegg to max it out at 16GB. The PC absolutely flies and is very quiet. The base video card (Radeon HD 7570) is okay, but I had another video card that tested better with 3DMark, so I swapped it out. The interior of the case is very easy to work in, thought it requires tools to remove the [non-standard] screws. I was pleasantly surprised to find THREE hard drive slots, 6 SATA ports, and an empty 5.25 drive bay. There are several PCIe slots available as well. This PC will be very easy to upgrade in the future.
As a side note, the order process could use some improvement, as I ordered the PC and watched the site for a week with no change for the "Processing Order" status. I wish they could ship a little faster and have more specific status information, like Dell does, but it was not unreasonable and I am pleased overall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great computer

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kalamazoo, MI
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great computer and great price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything works as it should

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
I love this PC. How can one not give a new PC high marks when everything works like it should. Conversely, if anything in not right then it is all bad. I bought a similar machine on Labor Day from Office Depot, special order, and on day two it would not load windows. I'll spare you the details and simply say that Office Depot has horrible customer service. I know you won't publish this review; I just think you should know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like the looks and speed

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like it just the way it came out of the box
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just...wow

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hudson, MA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought mostly for gaming (used upgrade features on line - for graphics and other). Very, very satisfied. Beautiful cabinet too! Love the on/off button on top of the unit. Worked perfect out of the box (great packing by the way)...back to playing ...enjoy if you buy :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Have had no trouble with HP equipment

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tyler, Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a printer, scanner and now a HP computer and am very satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow! Fast

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Northern California
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first experience with an SSD drive ... and it's fast! All the HP hardware arrived in good condition and I've had no problems. Highly recommend the SSD experience.
* some articles on line about SSD drives indicate that the need some additional tweeking due to limited write life. Turning off indexing, etc. Other articles say Win7 takes care of this. I decided to leave mine alone and let the op sys handle it. I do however put the data on a separate 1TB drive and leave mostly programs on the SSD.
* although the top docking tray concept is nice, the USB 3.0 connectors don't seem to run at full speed like the rear connectors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Computer!

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very pleased with the features, performance, and price. The pre-loaded Adobe Elements is also a great plus. Ii have placed several orders with HP over the last few months and I had make a few changes after placing an order. I was impressed with their customer service and had no problems modifying my order. My experience with HP has been fantastic thus far, much better than past experiences with Dell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is really fast.

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Clearwater, Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Setting up the TV section cold have been easier with some instructions. I have not yet been able
to terminate TV easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than the other brands out there

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:St Augustine, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy setup, fast machine with no strange operating problems. This replaced an 11 month old Lenovo unit with identical configuration and OS (WIN 7 PRO) and is such a better, faster machine, that it is hard to believe the difference. I only gave a 4 in features as I wanted RAID 1 that was not available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sweet spot

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Orleans
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I hadn't bought a new desktop for 8 years so this was a big step forward. I like the SSD, and the fast boot-up makes the reboots when setting up the computer more bearable. Liked the surprise inclusion of HP's pdf software - both reads and creates .pdf files from other software or a bunch of .pdf files. Why right-click doesn't get you copy from selected text bewilders me, however. Made use of the wireless capability to network with the old computer for file transfer, a nice feature, but I didn't set it for automatic connect to my router because eventually I'll use the wired lan since it's there. Spent quite a bit of time trying to understand why I couldn't see the other computer on the next session before realizing that I hadn't explicitly connected. Bought one like it for the office. Didn't find a "what's in the box" list or really good description of the ports on the back, for example, to understand what I needed to get to set it up such as the VGA dongle that was included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This desktop is very fast

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I upgraded to a 3 TB Internal HDD, but Windows cannot back up a drive larger than 2TB, so beware of that issue as of 10/10/2012. Other than that, which is no fault of HP, this machine is fast enough to handlle many complex 3D programs and models.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm impressed!

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Big Rock, TN
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very pleased and impressed with the performance of the HP-1360t. I debated for some time whether to get the SSD drive installed as the boot disk, with a second HDD as a storage device. I finally ordered it. This machine is really fast; boot time is extremely short and applications load very fast. I am happy with the configuration I selected. Everything operates even better than expected. We'll see about longevity. Build time and shipping time were also excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product, No Cable

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product, no DVI/VGA cable to connect to my monitor. I had to spend 30 dollars for that cable, when it was "included" Other than that, I highly recommend it for it's speed, power, and memory. Fantastic job, HP!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 to next page>>