HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC

HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating:
4.637 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(135 reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 135 reviews
5 Stars
107
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
128 out of 135(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine

PostedMay 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Barre, MA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a computer with high speed, a large hard drive, and a lot of RAM for my photography. I happy to say that this HP machine satisfy those needs and then some.
I also have a variety of items I need to connect to the computer via USB ports. This machine has many more than I ever had. They are also placed on the front, in back and on top. Very convenient.
This is my first HP computer. In the past I bought from another well known manufacturer. From here on in I am a HP convert. From the ease in configuring the features and options that I wanted to the performance in handling very large files. I am impressed.
I will recommend this computer and HP to anyone looking for a computer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Desktop

PostedApril 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best computer we have every purchased. It is super quiet. The only way you know its on usually is looking at the red bar on the front of it. It is very fast when it processes and it starts up extremely fast. Highly recommend this unit.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent, powerful desktop computer upgrade

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oberlin, OH USA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My previous computer was the (also) excellent workhorse HP Pavilion a1630f Desktop PC purchased in August 2008; it worked fine for the past four years until I was careless during the most recent battery replacement. (Can I blame a toothache? LOL Rather than immediately troubleshoot the motherboard on that PC, I bought the new PC, and with the help of the 500GB HP Pocket Media Drive, I was able to recover my stuff.)
I’m still exploring this wonderful new HP Pavilion HPE h8-1360t Desktop PC which came to me as advertised on the hp.com sales page. I need to get up to speed on wireless access; for enhanced security under the U.S. Constitution, I have always been hardwired, going back to military service days and the very first of the personal computers. Now, however, while waiting for the new desktop computer, I also bought a new HP 2000 Notebook PC, and I was able to get both computers connected in order to update backup files via wireless. Ta-daa! I use the desktop for my WildTangent Games account with HP Games, Windows Media Player, catching up on some 600 or so as yet unread email, Microsoft Office Home and Student 2010 , Quicken Deluxe 2012, and Norton 360. I look forward to learning to use the new HP Magic Canvas and Adobe software which came pre-installed, an exciting plus. The HP Support Assistant software really helped get both new computers up and running. The red lighted bar over the front access controls could have been a less bold color, green for “GO”, or blue for “harmony” instead of the HAL Computer powerful red, perhaps; this is a major step up in computer power for me after all, and I can of course live with such a detail. Overall, I am very pleased with HP, its products, and its always above-expectations support over the years which is why I continue to buy and use your products.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

USB and Photo ports

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jacksonville Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The USB ports and the Photo reading ports on the front of the computer are hard to see and use. I agree the door looks nice, but if you sit the unit on the floor as I do, it is hard to use all of the features on the front.. They should be moved to the top of the unit and have back lighting....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great company, Fast Computer, Cheap!

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Logan, UT
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've scoured the internet for a reputable and reliable company to custom build a computer. Granted, there's not as many options as I would like, but for the price and the name, I'm so glad i found HP. I'm a gamer and an IT student, so i demand much from my computers, and this one has delivered. It's fast, cheap, and lives up to it's specs completely. I would recommend to anyone!
Cheers!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great System

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lithonia GA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This system performs very well. It's fast and you do not have to wait minutes for windows to change. Have not tried the TV nor the bluetooth yet to determine how it works.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great performance at an excellent price

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Athens, GA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a desktop computer with near-cutting-edge performance for a reasonable price. I am not a gamer, but I use resource-demanding applications. I wanted a machine that would not be obsolete in three years. I checked many brands on numerous web sites and methodically compared prices on machines that met my requirements. The HP's Pavilion HPE h8-1240t was by far the best deal available. The only shortcoming was that they did not offer a LightScribe DVD burner as an option, which I thought was odd since that is an original HP technology. So far the machine has performed up to my expectations, with no BSODs ("blue screens of death"), such as I have witnessed on new computers built by other manufacturers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Under-promised / over-delivered

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bloomfield, MI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
That phrase sums up my experience with all HP products to date. Of course, their printers are work-horses, built like tanks, reliable, great value. I have no idea who actually builds their computers, but the quality of build is outstanding! Just take the cover off: clean, organized, no stray wiring, everything in its place, easily accessible, tight, with no loose pieces to rattle or vibrate. It's a shame that HP has announced that they are getting out of the PC business because it has become comoditized. They are my go-to brand, for laptops and desktops. Oh, and every time I order something from HP, they under-promise and over-deliver. Whenever there has been a warranty issue, their service has followed that tenet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice machine

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Buffalo, NY
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This PC had all the features we were looking for. Once all the non-essential bloatware is removed it is a very nice machine. Replaced a dual core AMD PC and we are happy with the speed increase. Extremely quiet to the point that you hardly realize it is even on.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Perfomance

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Topeka, Kansas
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome price for I7 with 8gb and blueray player, i upgraded the graphics card to a 2gb card and i have atempted to play every game i can find and this computer plays awesomely every time, even editing videos and pictures are superfast, just wish i had two of these. recommended buying if you play games, edit videos, or just mulit task. 5 star machine.
CONS i wish the 600w power supply was a little cheaper
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Customizable unlike the Dell XPS 8500

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good desktop. Good expansion capability inside if you want to do so in the future. 3 fans inside and it's as quiet as a mouse. HP also offers you the option of the Core i7-3770K CPU which I chose giving the consumer the ability to Overclock the CPU if you choose to.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FAST-FAST-FAST

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Longview, TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Machine is great. More of a problem with Windows 7. Even after an upgrade to Windows 7 Professional, most of my older software won't work. They work on my laptop with the same configuration. Downloads and troubleshooting hasn't helped. HP computer works well. Super-fast! HP was fast and everything arrived as scheduled and was an easy setup. Pleased with the computer just not Microsoft!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Speed is unbelievable compared to previous

PostedMay 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer can probably do anything I throw at it. I bought it mainly to help me edit videos I do for my own edification, but I know that this memory will hold more than I will ever put into it. It doesn't hesitate or stop performing for any reason. I am enjoying getting to know Windows 7 and Microsoft Office 10---vast improvements on past software. I also like the layout...it is much easier to use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The product was just as ordered and works great

PostedMay 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Blaine, WA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The computer tour I ordered has great featues and runs very well. I especially like the raid feature with two 1.5 TB hard drives. Less wories about losing data.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good machine

PostedMay 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Howell, MI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
W7 needs to be explained better. The use of the administrators account and password usage is no where to be found. This causes many hours of frustrations! The system did not come with the fold out for ease of setup.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Faster than my old XP

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:TEXAS
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This machine runs a LOT faster than my old XP. Easy set up and everything is working great so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super fast

PostedMay 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Austin
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unbelievably fast during start-up. . Couple of my graphics software able to execute smooth and super quick. I would recommend this monster to my friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good

PostedMay 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had the computer for a couple of weeks and the only problem I've had is uploading to the canvas grading system at the college. It might be a Norton problem. It is silent (hurrah) or I am going deaf. Sometimes the internet seems slow, but that could be other factors. I can use my Adobe products (Illustrator, Photoshop, InDesign) just fine, which is why I bought this upgrade.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good computer as configured.

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:South Carolina
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The HPE h8-1240t seems to be an excellent computer as configured WIN 7 Pro, (3rd gen i7-3770 processor, 12 gig memory, two - (1) gig drives. The wireless connected without issue with my router after setting up my security passphrases. So far I have not experienced any issues except the computer is loaded with seemingly extra software items, some of which I do not even know what they are. The computer booted up initially without issues, and seems to be well fitted for my intended home use and some small business needs. A few times I have experienced a keyboard anomaly where the letter "y" will be typed on the monitor without my even touching the keyboard, and sometimes the "y" letter will continue to be typed across the entire line. I am still in process of setting up software I need for my use, but so far everthing I have installed seems to be working OK.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Somewhat disappointed

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Orange County, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been disappointed that Windows 7 seems to be less stable than Vista Ultimate.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 to next page>>