HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC

HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating:
4.637 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(135 reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 135 reviews
5 Stars
107
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
128 out of 135(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Review 81 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Under-promised / over-delivered

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bloomfield, MI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
That phrase sums up my experience with all HP products to date. Of course, their printers are work-horses, built like tanks, reliable, great value. I have no idea who actually builds their computers, but the quality of build is outstanding! Just take the cover off: clean, organized, no stray wiring, everything in its place, easily accessible, tight, with no loose pieces to rattle or vibrate. It's a shame that HP has announced that they are getting out of the PC business because it has become comoditized. They are my go-to brand, for laptops and desktops. Oh, and every time I order something from HP, they under-promise and over-deliver. Whenever there has been a warranty issue, their service has followed that tenet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 82 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Close to Perfect

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have had the h8-1240t for about a month and agree with all of the aclades in other reviews. I almost didn't buy this computer because I thought it didn't have USB3 ports or ethernet port located at the back. It wasn't in the specification so I called HP and confirmed that it had both. Also was suprised to find that the hard drive mounted inside is SATA III (6 GB/sec) so called HP again and asked about the controller. Was somewhat disappointed to find the controller was SATA II. Noted that Norton Anti-virus was ready to install even though it was not checked as something I wanted. The Norton pop up came up even after I installed my own anti-virus program. In addition there was no way of closing the pop up without going to the Task Manager to shut it down. PLEASE HP allow customers to have a choice. The computer has so many excellant features that the Norton pop up was a small annoyance. I highly recommend this computer because of the quality and high perfromance/price ratio.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 83 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for me

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Jersey
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had the desktop for two days and it's possible I had a corrupt image build There were corrupt hardware drivers and the Norton was also corrupt I spent several hours troubleshooting and decided to return the unit for a refund
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 84 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice computer

PostedJune 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Champaign, Illinois
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this computer with the AMD Radeon 7770 graphics card. It has an Ivy-Bridge chip (i7-3770), 1 Tb hard drive, and 8 Gb active memory.
The computer is fast, quiet, and reasonably priced. So far, I have not encountered any significant problems with it. It would be nice if HP offered an optional solid state drive (SSD) for a more affordable price. Hopefully, the price of their SSDs will come down in the future. The computer would be even faster than it is with an SSD installed.
The mouse that comes with the standard HP keyboard is kind of light-weight and cheap; I was not able to use it because its cord was unable to reach my computer -- it was too short. And so, I'm still using my Logitech mouse. The keyboard is okay, although it is rather flat, as though it were designed for a laptop, rather than a desktop.
There is an abundant array of connections for the monitor in the back of the computer, as well as USB 2.0 and USB 3.0 connections in the back, front, and top of the computer. To access the card reader, you have to slide down the front door in the front. The bright red light on the front of the computer might disturb some people who plan to place this computer on their desk, rather than the floor. Because my computer is on the floor, this is a non-issue for me.
For some reason, HP doesn't sell it's nice IPS-monitors in its Home & Home Office store, but only in its business store. This is a mistake, because the 21.5" and 24" monitors are superior products that are fairly priced. The 21.5" monitor complements my computer quite nicely. I've had no problems with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 85 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One heck of a machine at one heck of a price

PostedJune 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Methuen, MA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This PC replaced a 4-1/2 year old Pentium. What an incredible step up in performance. Set up was smooth and simple, and with improvements in the Windows transfer process, the move from the old machine was smooth and straightforward. Considering the discounted price for a customizable machine and included free upgrades, it is one heck of a machine for one heck of a price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 86 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This PC is awesome

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This PC is amazing. It was simple to set up and very user friendly. I use it in my home office. I always put off purchasing a new computer because I hate having to transfer all files. The network and sharing was so easy to use that for the first time I was able to share folders between old and new computer; saved hours of time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 87 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very happy with the PC and the service I have reci

PostedJune 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Allenton, WI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far I am Happy with the PC it seems to perform very well,I am a little disappointed that HP seems to have done away with their Media drive ports that you could plug in your personal media drive, and your pocket media drive into. But can still be hooked up by cord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 88 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

PostedJune 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i really ;ike everything about it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 89 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is fast.

PostedJune 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Metro Kansas City, MO
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros:Speed, features, Adobe Photishop Elements, size, expandability!
Cons: NONE!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 90 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great feature value

PostedJune 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Is everything I expected with enough speed and memory for anything I can throw at it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 91 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet, Fast, and Stylish

PostedJune 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sacramento, Ca
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered my PC on Memorial Day Weekend, so I got it at a great price. I used the savings to add exactly the features I wanted; Better Videocard, Bluetooth, Wireless-N card, and Premium Wireless Keyboard/ Mouse.This PC is awesome, just how I want it, and I am still amazed at how quiet it is. Also, I like the Bluetooth feature for sending pictures and files between my Samsung phone and PC.
Lastly, I also received a free XBox from when I placed my order!
Very Nice!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 92 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good computer as configured.

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:South Carolina
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The HPE h8-1240t seems to be an excellent computer as configured WIN 7 Pro, (3rd gen i7-3770 processor, 12 gig memory, two - (1) gig drives. The wireless connected without issue with my router after setting up my security passphrases. So far I have not experienced any issues except the computer is loaded with seemingly extra software items, some of which I do not even know what they are. The computer booted up initially without issues, and seems to be well fitted for my intended home use and some small business needs. A few times I have experienced a keyboard anomaly where the letter "y" will be typed on the monitor without my even touching the keyboard, and sometimes the "y" letter will continue to be typed across the entire line. I am still in process of setting up software I need for my use, but so far everthing I have installed seems to be working OK.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 93 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and Reliable

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Carson City, NV
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed something faster for video editing. It was taking too long for premiere elements or even photoshop elements to even load on my last computer. This was a reasonably-priced, good performance computer that does what I was hoping for. Boot time is probably half what I am used to and these large programs open within a few seconds. I use the front-mounted card reader quite often especially for my compact flash from my digital camera. Components are easy to access in the case and changing a hard drive takes a couple of minutes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 94 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice machine

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Buffalo, NY
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This PC had all the features we were looking for. Once all the non-essential bloatware is removed it is a very nice machine. Replaced a dual core AMD PC and we are happy with the speed increase. Extremely quiet to the point that you hardly realize it is even on.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 95 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best of the Best

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you are looking for a home computer that has everything you need in one package this is it.
I added a second DVD burner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 96 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great new PC for my home...nice!

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:near Baltimore, MD, USA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this computer to replace an older HP m8120n PC that I've been using for the last, at least, 3 years. Upon examining the specs for this new one on the HP Store site, I found it's specs were exactly what I was looking for...quad core i7, 8GB RAM, USB 3.0, PCIe slots, higher wattage power supply, and more. Great specs for my HD video editing, among other tasks like photos and music.
When I ordered the system, the estimate was it would ship on June 6. Well, it arrived on June 5...another plus. The packaging was perfect, no damage at all.
After running the system for a few days to "burn it in", I started the process of expanding it with a more powerful video card, bumped RAM to 16GB, added a 2TB HDD, added a Firewire adapter card, and I think that's it. Wow, this system rocks!
Would I recommend it to others? Yes! Could the information online about this system be expanded on? Yes. Like, besides the USB 3.0 ports on the top of the case, there are two more ports in the back...a nice surprise. Thanks, HP, for a very nice system...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 97 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far very happy. Easy to set up and get running.

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Laramie,WY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am pleased with this computer so far. I intend to use it for editing and storing my home movies and photos.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 98 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Pavilion HPE h8-1240t is a soild product

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bloomsburg, PA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Out of the box and ready to work. After a few moments of powering up the H8-1240t I was ready to transfer files and load programs. As I thought I knew what I was doing I caused a Windows Explorer failure. Set up and restore put things right again. Won't make that mistake twice. Thanks HP for a soild product and HP management tools that work. Recomendation, start with the best and build your dream.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 99 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Just so so , really so so

PostedJune 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Services in general, staff carelessness when assembled computers, the host in front of 15-in-1 card reader and USB interfaces to forget installed, this is the last time I buy HP products
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 100 for HP ENVY h8-1420t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP is the only way to go

PostedJune 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:wakefield,nh
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am pleased with this computer and will recommend to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.