HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC

HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating:
4.396 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(111 reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 111 reviews
5 Stars
69
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
101 out of 111(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP is the Bee's Knees

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Anchortowne AK
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new HP delivers great quality with exceptional speed. I love the customization features with their website and its easy to use.
This is my second machine and I still use the old one which is 5 years old because it still works.
Its a great value overall as even Wal-Mart couldn't beat the price HP has online.
The hardware is proven and for a high performance machine HP cannot be beat.
8GB of Ram free upgrade
Powerful i5 quad core processor
Lickity split 2gb Nvidia Graphics
and a 430 watt power supple to make it hum.
I strongly recommend HP to anyone who wants a good solid product for any and all computing needs. I have never found any of the competition to last as long hardware wise as HP does. I also love the simplicity of the customization feature on their web page. Easy to use and to the point.
HP is a great investment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Provides the power and speed that I require.

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fitchburg, MA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
The only item that I felt left something to be desired was the small keyboard that came with it. Fortunately I had a full size keyboard to use with the system.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great performance...so far.

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tennessee
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only real complaint about this PC is all the Wild Tangent games/apps to uninstall. I am 66, my wife is 60. We view a computer as a tool. Our entertainment comes from other sources, though YouTube is in that mix.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

nice,but

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I miss windows 7
too many apps, seems like it's all about making a buck.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super fast, windows 8 is ok

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:hickory, nc
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was a little worried about getting a new pc with windows 8 since a lot of people trash it, but I have found it to be very fast so far. It navigates very fast, and all the programs seem to fast as well. Was very expensive, but otherwise, I'm happy so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Goleta, CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Use for business and personal and computer has been great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This computer is everything I had hoped for.

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to install. Fast. The most difficult part is learning Windows 8 but I'm getting there
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The desktop is a great value

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Petersburg, OH
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fast, quiet operation with the features I use regularly. I enjoy using the web to research current topics, products, etc. and am especially happy with the speed of access. A very good value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very fast and very performance driven

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is by far the best PC I have owned. For right around a grand you cannot find a better deal. A fast processor and a nice GPU were some of the features that I really wanted in my next PC, and I got more than expected. This thing more than handles anything you throw at it high performance wise. Also unlike other custom PC sites, HP actually stands by their products in that they wont rip you off with shipping costs if a defect is determined with their merchandise. Another nice feature although not a big deal for me personally is that their is not a lot of bloatware. Most of it is actually somewhat useful and what is not, can be easily uninstalled.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Weak WiFi Receiver

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bronx, N.Y.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Only using the HP ENVY h8-1400t for a week but so far I am pretty satisfied except for the WiFi receiver. It pulls in a very weak signal (only 2 bars) all the time as did the Dell desktop I tried and returned. I have 2 Toshiba laptops in the same room and they always pull in an excellent signal with full bars but unfortunately do not make a desktop model. The beats audio is why I kept the HP. Great sound when fed through my home stereo system. Not crazy about Windows 8 either. Too many things moved around. It took me almost 10 minutes to find out how to shut down. I guess I have to re learn some things and I hate wasting time with the manual..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Like A Charm

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer replaces my 10-year old Compaq that had 1GB of memory and a 160GB hard drive, which is the most it could handle. It worked OK but it was getting sluggish with internet video and slow on the internet even though I maintained it and used cable internet.
With the HPE h8-1320t, I customized it with a quad-core i5 processor, the 1TB hard drive and 6GB of memory (until I upgrade it to 16) and it works effortlessly. Programs come up instantly and it laughs at the internet. Very easy set-up.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong, dark and quiet

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Danbury, CT
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I made the right choice when I picked this desktop. Customized to both my wish list and my wallet, it is a powerful machine, with great sound and graphics (thank you Nvidia). I use it for a range of apps, from business work to gaming, and it covers all comfortably; it's strong. Set up was much simpler than I anticipated, particularly for the peripherals I plugged in. And I can't believe how quiet it is; just a whisper in the ear closest to the tower. Dark? Yeah,it's black.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it!

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arnold, MO
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It works just like described on-line. It does everything I wanted it to do and more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Expectations exceeded!

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rosebush, Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the second HP computer we have purchased from the website and I'm happy to say, the entire process has exceeded my expectations. From the ease of use during the whole selection and purchase process to the speedy delivery of the finished product I was not disappointed in any way. The computer itself is a dream to use and I couldn't be happier with it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent system, issues with ports, power problems

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Louisville, KY
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall, this system is decent. Built it with 6 GB RAM, 1 GB AMD Radeon Graphics Card. Problems arose when trying to hook up two monitors. The additional graphics card, as opposed to just utilizing the integrated card, prevents the use of the two DVI ports from the integrated card. The Radeon card only had 1 DVI and then 1 HDMI port, and I didn't have HDMI monitors, so I had to purchase an additional converter cable. Also, the "Catalyst Control Center" for the Radeon graphics card is pretty terrible, and does not allow for a dual-screen option with independent views (only a stretched desktop), so I had to go through the Windows 7 display set up.
A second problem is that twice in only 7 days (once on the 3rd day, and once on the 7th day) of owning this tower, the power has cut off in the middle of work. Everything seemed to be running perfectly fine, no overuse of graphics or processing capabilities at all, and then WHAM, turned off. This is a bit disturbing, and should not happen on a new system, especially when not maxing out on processing and graphics.
If I could do it again, I'd have gone with an nVidia graphics card, rather than AMD, and might have gotten additional RAM. Maybe this needed a better power supply as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great computer!

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the first week of use, it has been great. Fast, quick loading, beautiful colors and great add-ins included. Thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I Wanted

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have a 17" dual-core laptop that is not a weakling by any means, but it is not as strong as I've needed in the last year. I do a lot of photography work, so I'll be editing a couple thousand pictures using Adobe Lightroom or Photoshop, and on my laptop after 30 minutes it would just get sluggish and take longer to render changes/images. In my spare time, I do like to play some games with friends and siblings, and same thing.
I don't know much about the bells and whistles so to speak of this desktop, still learning more about it, but I'm extremely satisfied with its output. Editing images is a breeze now, I can quickly apply changes and move on without waiting for it to catch up. As a benchmark, it can even run Crysis 2 on low settings with ease. While only using 40% of the CPU. If you upgrade the graphics card (easily done yourself, I'm planning on doing it soon), then it really will be a very affordable, powerful machine.
It is not high end, if you pay +1000 for a computer, there will be a difference. Doesn't mean this will compete with top of the line machines. But, it's powerful and most people will be happy, and I ask a lot from a computer. If you do stuff on a computer that'll exceed this one's capability, then you probably already know what individual components you need in your computer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very fast!!!

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Coos Bay, OR
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent speed/ performance!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like this system so far.

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Douglas, Georgia
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The sales lady was real nice and helped me make up my mine. I received my 23" monitor and speakers on time. I received my computer ahead of time.
Hooking everthing up was no problem. Instruction were good and everthing worked great.
I don't like the red light on the front (should have been blue).
I got Excel 2010 home and student. It is a lot different than 2003, but I think I am going to Like it better.
I think this is a good system but for the money I think HP should provide you with software back up disc. If you have problems you will need those disc.
The computer is pretty fast and I like that. My old system was top of the line, but had gotten so slow I didn't want to even get on it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY h8-1500t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice machine

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The computer is to be used in an office environment and will run business and light cad software.
The machine came with Office preloaded which needed to be activated. Acrobat X std CD was also included in the package but was not installed. The choice of Video cards on the HP web site was disappointing. None of the cards available was compatible with all our software so we purchased a min spec card with the machine and this may need to be upgraded later. The computer connected easliy with our SBS server and worked with the seperately purchased HP 2511 monitor. The sound output although not a necessity seemed acceptable so we decided not to install a dedicated sound card.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.