HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC

HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(137 reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 137 reviews
5 Stars
93
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
6
1 Star
4
124 out of 137(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

new itel 1-7 processer

PostedJune 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I HAVE HAD THIS COMPUTER FOR A WEEK NOW,WANTED TO SEE HOW THE NEW 1-7 INTEL PROCCESOR WORKED,I WOULD SAY THIS COMPUTER RUNS SMOOTHER,THAN MY OTHER QUAD 4./ .H.P ALSO PUT IN SOME NICE PROGRAMES,WITH THIS PUTER,I ALSO LIKE H.P. LAP TOPS OVER DELL. THIS DESKTOP IS 3.20GHZ . I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS COMPUTER, ALSO CAN SELF BUILD,ENOUGH PORTS AND GOOD SPEAKER SOUND,RUNS COOL.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase Ever

PostedJune 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first Hp and I am so in love with it. It's so fast and so quite. I did lots of research before buying a new desktop and I know I have found the right one. Totally reccomand this desktop to anyone. Thanks HP.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Overall lacking

PostedJune 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Panama City, Fl
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The computer does not come with simple things like a fax modem. The T.V. Tunner is sub par. No telling what format it records on? Not of any value to record then edit video.
I ordered and paid extra for USB 3 port but don't know if I have it as no paper documentation came with the computer. No online documentation.
Tech support did not know which port or card it would be as specs said only that one port would be USB3.
I will need to just upgrade my 8 year old Sony XP system to do any video work, faxing, etc.
If I had seen it in store I would have passed this computer up.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Full H8qe Review

PostedJune 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ansted,WV
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:Under 25
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased on June 7th,2011 from the HP Call Center,nice,friendly people. Received my free Xbox via the HP Student Promotion on June 9th. Computer shipped June 10th from FedEx, Received computer in a nice,sturdy,tightly packed box/no damage on June 17th. Box included-Keyboard box,USB mouse,S-Video to Yellow RCA Adapter,DVI to VGA Adapter,HDMI to Mini HDMI Adapter, IR Out/In Adapters,HP Multimedia Remote (Added TV Tuner-Happauge 723x). 1-HPE H8qe desktop. The case is nice and has a glowing red LED on the front bezel, 1 open expansion bay, top/rear facing x2 USB/Green/Red 3.5mm Audio. Has slots for 3,possibly 4 HDD's, at the bottom at the front of the case. Pangeton (sp?) Motherboard, Intel 960 3.2 i7, 1.5TB + 500GB HDD's,9GB of RAM (looks to be 6 slots total on MB) Blu Ray Player,TV Tuner,Nvidia GTX 550 Ti (Quite possibly the best video card out on the market right now, definitely pick this one up, beats Radeon 9xxx Series out of the water no matter what the reviews say.) This computer also doesn't ship with a Recovery Disk,even though you have the option to make one once you are setup,however, it is pre-installed with a 13GB Recovery Partition on Drive D. Overall, 4.9 out of 5 Stars because I ordered a 15-1 Card Reader but it didn't come installed,but it really isn't a big deal,didn't need it,nor did it add any to the price. This is my college computer and was money well spent, great first HP purchase and I will totally be back. Much better service, parts, and prices than Dell,Alienware,or any other company. Hope this helps everyone in some type of way.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Had nothing I ordered

PostedJune 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I spent a month searching for the computer that I would need to edit HD video. After much research it seemed that this would be the best. With the good graphics card and the blue-ray writer it seemed that this was perfect. Well after waiting 3 weeks my computer finally arrived. I unboxed it and set it up. But when I went to hook up the dual monitors it seems that I had the wrong gaphics card in. After calling tech support they confirmed that it had the wrong graphics card and it was installed with 2 blue-ray players and not the blue-ray writer. Also tech support told me that to run what I had ordered I should have got the 600w power supply. Well why wouldn't the web site tell you that when you configure the computer? how am I suppose to know that I would need the 600w instead of the 460w? After going thru much hassel and after waiting 3 weeks I now have to wait for fed-ex to show up at my house so I can send this back and then after that I will need to order another one hoping that they send me what I ordered. Not happy at all. I also agree with the person above that there should be more info packed with the computer telling you who built it and what was installed. At least then the person building the computer could be held accountable.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent computer!

PostedJune 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall: An incredible computer that has handled everything I wanted it to and more.
Pros:
- Excellent performance. It's fast, and it runs everything I throw at it. This includes the Adobe CS5 Master collection, as well as various audio production programs I use.
- It has lots of ports so I never have to compromise on my external devices (I opted for the extra USB ports/card reader stuff)
- Runs games like Portal 2, Starcraft 2, Team Fortress 2, etc. without a hitch. I wasn't expecting super performance because I only picked the ATI Radeon HD 6670. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that I could run these games on max settings at max resolution on the 23" monitor I purchased with this desktop.
Cons:
- HP bloatware that is installed on it by default is annoying. I would recommend using a program like Revo Uninstaller or PC Decrapifier to remove the useless HP offerings for software. Either that or just install a fresh copy of Windows if you're good with that sort of thing.
Verdict: Buy this computer. You won't regret it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

3 Monitors Working Well

PostedJune 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los Angeles California
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have all three monitors working now and they are stunning. These are a 23 inch HP 2207h, a 20 inch HP S2031 and an older Sumsung 205bw. I am using the HDMI port, the DVI port and the DP port with an HP supplied adapter. The adapter is a USB powered type, which claims to give full range of abilities of the DP port. This is not a standard adapter, this retails in the $100.00 arena. The HDMI requires some adjustment to set up, and I am still fine tuning it. Turns out HP has some special instructions to use this port for a monitor and my Radedon video card is not listed within these instructions. I still have it set up and looking great. The Catalyst Control Center works well and is very helpful setting up the three monitors. I am very pleased with the set up.
The desktop is running very fast, handling my reports with ease, running close to a dozen programs at once has no impact, including graphics heavy programs. I am very pleased.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Very Happy Customer!

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did a lot of research before purchasing this computer and after reviewing all the pros and cons decided to go with the HP8qe because of the high performance features. I wanted a machine that could handle a workload. I do a lot of picture editing, video rendering and editing. I needed a large hd for storage and a fast processor.
I ordered my machine from HP Direct online and had found an online coupon for $500 off this particular model. I don't use online coupons much because I question their authenticity, but thought hey, $500 is a lot of money and if HP will honor it they would make me a very happy customer. Upon checkout it allowed me to enter the coupon code and it took off the $500 from my total but when I went to print the confirmation page it only showed giving me the $200 rebate that HP themselves offer. I immediately called their customer service # and was transferred to their resolution department. They were very friendly and after looking into the online coupon code I had submitted they informed me that they would honor it. However, since I had already submitted my order the only way they could refund the remaining $300 was to credit back my credit card. I received an e-mail confirmation from the resolutions dept confirming that they had issued my refund which as everyone knows getting refunds or rebates can be like pulling teeth sometimes or it takes months and months to get them if you get them at all. I checked my credit card statement and the $300 had been credited within 4 days of my purchase. Thanks HP!!!
There was some confusion when I got their confirmation e-mail stating when the computer would be built and shipped. The first e-mail said July 13, 2011 but the very next day I received another e-mail stating there was a delay and that it was going to be built and shipped on July 28th, I was disappointed. But then I received another e-mail from HP stating that my computer was built and shipped on July 14th along with the Fed Ex tracking #. I used their standard shipping and received my computer on July 19th so I was very excited! It arrived in perfect condition.
The setup process on screen was super simple. It amazes me how quiet this machine is....its sits right beside me and there is no noise. After taking the machine out of the box, hooking it all up took about 5 minutes, it was super easy.
I was concerned about transferring my files from my old computer to this one because of the horror stories I've heard about old programs not working with Windows 7 or not transferring the information correctly. I downloaded Easy Transfer from Microsoft for free for my old XP 32 bit system and like its title says it was very easy to use. It created a backup file on my external hd and when it came time to transfer my old 2003 Quicken file to my new Quicken 2011 within moments I was up and running and all my information was there. All my pictures and home videos (and I have tons of them) transferred quickly also.
This machine automatically detected my wireless router and my network printer and both were up and ready to use within minutes with very little effort.
I was extremely impressed how easy this machine is to use and setup. I've only had it a few days and so far it is a dream machine and I'm loving it!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smoothly running

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All went well in ordering, receiving and setup. I have not yet "taxed" the PC with intended Photoshop uses, so I really can't comment on performance. So far, it's really "slick" and fast with basic stuff.
I do not like the placement of the USB ports - 2 in back, 2 on top, and 4 in front. Wires are sticking out all over the place. But they all work.
Missing: a phone jack for dial out or fax receive. I don't know if it's missing because I ordered something else or it's just not offered. Would be nice to have when my cable provider goes down (frequent in my area).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

is this title really needed?

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I built up from the standard upgrade model ( h8-1080t) slightly and my only mistake was the tv tuner .I would have been better off spending my money toward a blue ray dvd burner otherwise this is a roaring computer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Total satisfaction

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rensselaer, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The new computer replaced one 8 years old and the difference is stunning and enjoyable. HP has delivered on product and service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall, it's OK.

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Baton Rouge, LA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall, this HP seems to be fine. It has a capable processor so it's performance is good. I'm a little disappointed in the case and general appearance though -- there's way too much plastic and the "look and feel" isn't consistent with the cost. I just purchased an HP laptop and my impression of it is similar. When I need another computer, it would be hard not to get another HP.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Quick computer, assembly was pretty sloppy

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The machine came from the factory with the wrong ram installed & both my esata & 1394 ports blocked by the wires from the exhaust fan. Working with HP tech support helped me resolve the problem.
Pro's:
- case layout logical. There is fair number of expansion ports to handle all but the most demanding user. The case was lightweight and easy to get to into.
- good airflow, though the chassis fan could be a bit bigger fan in order to reduce the ambient noise.
- With optional 600W power supply there is plenty of power to run even the most demanding single GPU video cards.
Cons:
- Cable management wasn't up to HP usual standards.
- The buttons on the case can best be described as cheap. For a top of line consumer PC, there should be a little more care given for the contact points.
Bios doesn't appear to be user upgradble.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

need more info on what type of Windows is necessar

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Website did not have enough info about what type of Windows would be necessary. Needed to order Windows Professional for networking experience. Had to upgrade to Professional - big hassle!
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good computer

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall this is a very good computer with very easy set-up. The email was the easiest to set up that I've encountered. Windows 7 takes a bit of getting used too, but I think I'm going to really like it. I have had a problem with the mouse freezing up when coming out of sleep mode. I have to re-boot the computer to get it to work again. Other than that issue, everything else has worked really well.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value for the performance

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall this PC was a good value for the performance I am getting. A similarly equipped Dell PC was about $600 more than this.
For those of you complaining about lacking the 15-1 card reader, it's actually hidden. I spent 30 minutes looking for it until I opened up the PC and followed the wires. Apparently, its on the bottom front panel and you just need to slide it down. Once you do that you will find additional USB ports and the 15-1 media card reader. It wasn't very obvious that this panel can be slid down and I almost broke the front panel off by prying them, both the top and the bottom, looking for this before I realized.
My only regret was not getting an SSD. The main performance bottleneck for this system is a traditional hard drive. I recommend getting an SSD as your Windows boot drive and ordering a second traditional hard drive to store everything else.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome PC

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:East TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This PC absolutely rocks!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good, but needed to return

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had to return it because the power supply was messed up, it had a broken SD card reader, and it wont shut down properly.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value with high performance

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Powerful processor with huge reasonably fast hard drive and lots of RAM, decent connectivity and expanion possibilities for the future. Not Workstation level hardware but very good for home office - should stay usable and relevant for years. 21.5 inch monitor has great resolution. System has nice styling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best so far!

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is quiet a sleek machine with such a powerful control. FYI; Mainboard MFG: Pegatron / Chipset model: Intel / SSD model: Intel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 to next page>>