HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC

HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(137 reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 137 reviews
5 Stars
93
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
6
1 Star
4
124 out of 137(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value for the performance

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall this PC was a good value for the performance I am getting. A similarly equipped Dell PC was about $600 more than this.
For those of you complaining about lacking the 15-1 card reader, it's actually hidden. I spent 30 minutes looking for it until I opened up the PC and followed the wires. Apparently, its on the bottom front panel and you just need to slide it down. Once you do that you will find additional USB ports and the 15-1 media card reader. It wasn't very obvious that this panel can be slid down and I almost broke the front panel off by prying them, both the top and the bottom, looking for this before I realized.
My only regret was not getting an SSD. The main performance bottleneck for this system is a traditional hard drive. I recommend getting an SSD as your Windows boot drive and ordering a second traditional hard drive to store everything else.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Quick computer, assembly was pretty sloppy

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The machine came from the factory with the wrong ram installed & both my esata & 1394 ports blocked by the wires from the exhaust fan. Working with HP tech support helped me resolve the problem.
Pro's:
- case layout logical. There is fair number of expansion ports to handle all but the most demanding user. The case was lightweight and easy to get to into.
- good airflow, though the chassis fan could be a bit bigger fan in order to reduce the ambient noise.
- With optional 600W power supply there is plenty of power to run even the most demanding single GPU video cards.
Cons:
- Cable management wasn't up to HP usual standards.
- The buttons on the case can best be described as cheap. For a top of line consumer PC, there should be a little more care given for the contact points.
Bios doesn't appear to be user upgradble.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Had nothing I ordered

PostedJune 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I spent a month searching for the computer that I would need to edit HD video. After much research it seemed that this would be the best. With the good graphics card and the blue-ray writer it seemed that this was perfect. Well after waiting 3 weeks my computer finally arrived. I unboxed it and set it up. But when I went to hook up the dual monitors it seems that I had the wrong gaphics card in. After calling tech support they confirmed that it had the wrong graphics card and it was installed with 2 blue-ray players and not the blue-ray writer. Also tech support told me that to run what I had ordered I should have got the 600w power supply. Well why wouldn't the web site tell you that when you configure the computer? how am I suppose to know that I would need the 600w instead of the 460w? After going thru much hassel and after waiting 3 weeks I now have to wait for fed-ex to show up at my house so I can send this back and then after that I will need to order another one hoping that they send me what I ordered. Not happy at all. I also agree with the person above that there should be more info packed with the computer telling you who built it and what was installed. At least then the person building the computer could be held accountable.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Very Happy Customer!

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did a lot of research before purchasing this computer and after reviewing all the pros and cons decided to go with the HP8qe because of the high performance features. I wanted a machine that could handle a workload. I do a lot of picture editing, video rendering and editing. I needed a large hd for storage and a fast processor.
I ordered my machine from HP Direct online and had found an online coupon for $500 off this particular model. I don't use online coupons much because I question their authenticity, but thought hey, $500 is a lot of money and if HP will honor it they would make me a very happy customer. Upon checkout it allowed me to enter the coupon code and it took off the $500 from my total but when I went to print the confirmation page it only showed giving me the $200 rebate that HP themselves offer. I immediately called their customer service # and was transferred to their resolution department. They were very friendly and after looking into the online coupon code I had submitted they informed me that they would honor it. However, since I had already submitted my order the only way they could refund the remaining $300 was to credit back my credit card. I received an e-mail confirmation from the resolutions dept confirming that they had issued my refund which as everyone knows getting refunds or rebates can be like pulling teeth sometimes or it takes months and months to get them if you get them at all. I checked my credit card statement and the $300 had been credited within 4 days of my purchase. Thanks HP!!!
There was some confusion when I got their confirmation e-mail stating when the computer would be built and shipped. The first e-mail said July 13, 2011 but the very next day I received another e-mail stating there was a delay and that it was going to be built and shipped on July 28th, I was disappointed. But then I received another e-mail from HP stating that my computer was built and shipped on July 14th along with the Fed Ex tracking #. I used their standard shipping and received my computer on July 19th so I was very excited! It arrived in perfect condition.
The setup process on screen was super simple. It amazes me how quiet this machine is....its sits right beside me and there is no noise. After taking the machine out of the box, hooking it all up took about 5 minutes, it was super easy.
I was concerned about transferring my files from my old computer to this one because of the horror stories I've heard about old programs not working with Windows 7 or not transferring the information correctly. I downloaded Easy Transfer from Microsoft for free for my old XP 32 bit system and like its title says it was very easy to use. It created a backup file on my external hd and when it came time to transfer my old 2003 Quicken file to my new Quicken 2011 within moments I was up and running and all my information was there. All my pictures and home videos (and I have tons of them) transferred quickly also.
This machine automatically detected my wireless router and my network printer and both were up and ready to use within minutes with very little effort.
I was extremely impressed how easy this machine is to use and setup. I've only had it a few days and so far it is a dream machine and I'm loving it!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

exactly what I wanted

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:washington dc
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the fastest HP desktop available back in 2001 and it pretty much lasted as one of my 3 main computers through 2011 (with some major upgrades). Then it just got to be too slow.. I loaded up this new HP so that it will get me through 2022. Wishful thinking, I know. But HP products are good value for the money - not like the D's at work which fail all the time due to inferior innards. So far it's living up to my expectations.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great upgrade

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ogden, UT
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I replaced an old XP system which has been around way too long. The H8qe has shown to be a great choice. It boots in a flash, eliminating that minutes long wait with the old system to be ready to work. Even though a lot of my programs are pretty old, I haven't had any problems running everything I have tried. It is smaller and lighter than the old system and I like the look and finish. Since I locate it in a shelf in my desk, the ports on the top of the system are a little more difficult to use easily, but so far I haven't need them. Installation was a snap although I would have like to have seen images of the rear with labeled ports prior to purchase. I sort of held my breath after ordering wondering if I would be able to hook up all my external devices. Four USB and one firewire port were what I needed and there they are, no problem. With four USB front and two top, I have more than I expected or needed. Although I expected a LightScribe capable drive since I thought all HP drives were so configured, I don't think I have it. Perhaps BlueRay and LightScribe are incompatible. So far I'm tickled with my purchase.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Full H8qe Review

PostedJune 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ansted,WV
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:Under 25
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased on June 7th,2011 from the HP Call Center,nice,friendly people. Received my free Xbox via the HP Student Promotion on June 9th. Computer shipped June 10th from FedEx, Received computer in a nice,sturdy,tightly packed box/no damage on June 17th. Box included-Keyboard box,USB mouse,S-Video to Yellow RCA Adapter,DVI to VGA Adapter,HDMI to Mini HDMI Adapter, IR Out/In Adapters,HP Multimedia Remote (Added TV Tuner-Happauge 723x). 1-HPE H8qe desktop. The case is nice and has a glowing red LED on the front bezel, 1 open expansion bay, top/rear facing x2 USB/Green/Red 3.5mm Audio. Has slots for 3,possibly 4 HDD's, at the bottom at the front of the case. Pangeton (sp?) Motherboard, Intel 960 3.2 i7, 1.5TB + 500GB HDD's,9GB of RAM (looks to be 6 slots total on MB) Blu Ray Player,TV Tuner,Nvidia GTX 550 Ti (Quite possibly the best video card out on the market right now, definitely pick this one up, beats Radeon 9xxx Series out of the water no matter what the reviews say.) This computer also doesn't ship with a Recovery Disk,even though you have the option to make one once you are setup,however, it is pre-installed with a 13GB Recovery Partition on Drive D. Overall, 4.9 out of 5 Stars because I ordered a 15-1 Card Reader but it didn't come installed,but it really isn't a big deal,didn't need it,nor did it add any to the price. This is my college computer and was money well spent, great first HP purchase and I will totally be back. Much better service, parts, and prices than Dell,Alienware,or any other company. Hope this helps everyone in some type of way.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Win 8 keeps this computer from being "Excellent" !

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Vail, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I needed a high end computer - quickly - because of a failing motherboard on my existing HP machine. It is one of four HP machine we now use daily in this household. Frankly, we are very experienced with every version of Windows since 3.1.
The ENVY h8-1540t would have been "Excellent" in every way except for Windows 8! It took a few days 1) to find that Win 8 is held in almost universal disdain, and 2) to find a couple, free, front end programs that allow the computer to boot up into the desktop and present a "start" button - both of which Microsoft should have designed into Win 8 in the first place.
I certainly hope the HP offers a no-cost trade / "downgrade" to Win 7 for it's future customers - including me as I have used HP products for over twenty years now, both professionally and, now, at home.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent product but missing a few items

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hempstead, NY
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had this custom made and it does all that I want at a very reasonable price. The only reasons I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 were because it does not come with backup discs so instead you have to make your own and it is a one time process. Also because of that it used precious space for the backup files on my limited solid state drive. Creating my discs and reclaiming the partition solved that. Also, the board used only supports up to 16GB of RAM. I would have paid extra for 32GB and also Windows Professional. That is a loss of revenue to HP. And finally, when someone customizes a system stop loading it up with all that bloatware. I spent hours removing it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The computer is very fast and so far it has been very reliable! Some ergonomic changes (as compared to my old HP desktop) make it easier to work with it. The On-Off pushbutton on top is much better than the old one in the bottom. USB ports on the top also work nicely.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Initially Noisy

PostedApril 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Francisco Bay Area
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of my top priorities in selecting a computer is noise level. However, it's not one of the specifications and would have to be calculated on the basis of one's configuration. When I first turned on my computer, it made a racket. I remember one to the reviews stating that a wire was hitting a fan. Sure enough, upon opening up the cover, I found a wire hitting the video card fan.
I was hoping to add another card, but there is only one slot left, given installation of the video card. Now I have to figure out what kind of slot it is, and see if I can get a card that matches.
I've only had the computer for one week and it seems to be running well. It uses between 60 and 220 Watts, the peak occurs when rendering edited videos. The fan will make a little extra noise at 220 Watts. I guess I really didn't need a 600 Watt power supply.
I have the i7 3930. It's interesting to watch CPU usage in Task Manager with 12 threads. Power Director 10 Ultra, a video editing program, had all 12 threads at about 50% utilization upon rendering a video edit.
I wish I knew that Window 7 Professional is a simple 10 minute upgrade. I could have held back on that expense until I really needed those features.
The shipment of my computer was delayed one week from the date specified when I ordered it on-line.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bundled soft ware loaded with un wanted add on's

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why is it so hard to remove all of the un wanted add on's? I had to hire some one to clean up my computer to get rid of the TRASH that came with it. I wanted a first class, high performance computer for work and that is exactly what I got. The trash added on to it was so anoying I had to hire some one to get rid of it so I could work in peace.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a beast of a machine

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's everything I wanted, a fast machine that never gives up with all of the cutting edge technology. I can do all of the photo and film production in the world, no lags.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smoothly running

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All went well in ordering, receiving and setup. I have not yet "taxed" the PC with intended Photoshop uses, so I really can't comment on performance. So far, it's really "slick" and fast with basic stuff.
I do not like the placement of the USB ports - 2 in back, 2 on top, and 4 in front. Wires are sticking out all over the place. But they all work.
Missing: a phone jack for dial out or fax receive. I don't know if it's missing because I ordered something else or it's just not offered. Would be nice to have when my cable provider goes down (frequent in my area).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purchased despite major shortfalls

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great computer, but has two significant shortfalls. It does not have a firewire slot (needed for producing DVDs from my camcorder) and there is no provision for a telephone hook-up. No telephone hook up means no landline fax capability, so faxing by efax is the only way and it requires a significant subscription fee.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good, but needed to return

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had to return it because the power supply was messed up, it had a broken SD card reader, and it wont shut down properly.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

3 Monitors Working Well

PostedJune 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los Angeles California
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have all three monitors working now and they are stunning. These are a 23 inch HP 2207h, a 20 inch HP S2031 and an older Sumsung 205bw. I am using the HDMI port, the DVI port and the DP port with an HP supplied adapter. The adapter is a USB powered type, which claims to give full range of abilities of the DP port. This is not a standard adapter, this retails in the $100.00 arena. The HDMI requires some adjustment to set up, and I am still fine tuning it. Turns out HP has some special instructions to use this port for a monitor and my Radedon video card is not listed within these instructions. I still have it set up and looking great. The Catalyst Control Center works well and is very helpful setting up the three monitors. I am very pleased with the set up.
The desktop is running very fast, handling my reports with ease, running close to a dozen programs at once has no impact, including graphics heavy programs. I am very pleased.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

At last, THREE monitors!

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Salt Lake City, Utah
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I write and teach and have multiple processes going on with my computer all the time. My old computer just couldn't handle the load, but my new HP 1540-t does it just fine. No complaints. I bought it with the specific purpose of running three monitors, and ordered an upgraded graphics card (AMD Radeon HD 7670) for this very purpose. The graphics card has three ports, DVI, HDMI and DisplayPort (DP). It was the DP that was giving me problems. How do I connect my monitor's HDMI plug into the DP? I was directed to buy an adapter (third party DP to HDMI converter, about $8). This did NOT work for either my old monitor or either of my new HP Pavillion 23xi monitors. As it turned out (via an on-line discussion group), that DP adapter must be an ACTIVE adapter. I had no clue there were different kinds. I found one on-line for $30. I installed it and I didn't even have to reboot. The 1540t found my third monitor, turned it on, let me reorder the desktop across all three monitors, and I'm happy with nearly 5 feet of amazing display spread all across my desk. My students would be so proud. Thanks HP.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy so far

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:McHenry, IL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Much faster than the XP machine it replaced. Enjoying Windows 8 but a bit of a learning curve. Plenty of USB 2 and 3 ports. Setup pretty straight forward.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High powered PC for my use

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like everything about this PC. However, I wish I there would have been an option to install Windows 7, rather than Windows 8. I hate Windows 8. I can't stand navigating through it, and it's not what I need. I ended up purchasing an inexpensive program to mimic Windows 7 (Start button, desktop icons, etc.). Other than that, I love the machine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 to next page>>