HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC

HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(137 reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 137 reviews
5 Stars
93
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
6
1 Star
4
124 out of 137(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Review 1 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy With This Computer

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Royal Oak MI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed to upgrade from my older computer (an HP Slimline S5670t) because I felt it wasn't powerful enough to handle entertainment center functions. We used it as our exclusive DVD player, and also for tuning channels over the air and recording programs with the PVR software in Windows Media Center. Also watched Netflix and Amazon instant video. The old computer had choppy results when watching DVDs and sometimes when watching recordings of over-the-air programs. Also it was frightfully slow.
So I got this new computer. I've had it for a few weeks, and it stepped in where needed. DVDs play smoothly, as do recorded TV programs and streaming video. And it's very fast.
Part of its speed is a result of a suggestion made by some other reviewers, and I endorse it. That is to equip the computer with a solid state drive as the boot drive, and a conventional drive for the second drive. The disadvantage of this approach is that HP for some reason can only use 1TB drives for the secondary or tertiary drive, while they can use 2TB drives for the primary, if you choose a conventional drive. If you choose an SSD drive for the primary, you're stuck wth 256 GB there. So I got 256 GB on the primary and 1TB on the secondary. That's plenty for now and for the forseeable future (I don't stockpile videos or rip DVDs or even that much music - mostly I use up space with photographs and temporary storage of audio books). In the future if I need more space and still have this computer I can add a third drive or plug in an external USB drive.
I just put Windows on the SSD drive, and just a few other programs. Otherwise when I install programs if they give me the option I change the install drive from c:\program files.. to e:\program files ... The main program I installed on C: was my Neat scanner software. In fact I put the Neat scanner image database on C: as well, because it takes a long time to initialize. But when I run it on the solid state drive it goes very quickly.
The best part is that booting is very quick, as is shutdown. My guess is that all operating system functions that interact with the disk are sped up. I'm very happy with my SSD drive.
HP suggested that I equip the computer with Laplink to transfer stuff from the old computer to the new. That turned out to be a bust because the drives were different. Maybe I could have figured out how to get the software to map the drives better, but it turned out to be easier just to do some bulk copying across my home network. Laplink will copy "settings" for you but what good is that if the settings are for programs you aren't even installing?
The new computer comes with Windows 8. I know everybody trashes Windows 8, and whines about the start button. HP actually equipped this implementation with the "HP Quick Start" program, which you can put on your quick launch area and it looks sort of like the traditional Windows 7 start menu. And if you're used to the capability of the start menu to do a quick search for a program (so you don't have to navigate menus), you can still do that - either in the HP Quick Start menu, or tap the keyboard windows key to go to the Metro desktop and type your search there. Quit whining and get used to Windows 8. (Though I have to admit I spend 95% of my time on the Windows desktop and steer pretty clear of the Metro tiles).
I opted not to get a built in TV tuner card and got an external HD Home Run tv tuner instead, from Amazon. I did so for two reasons: 1) the external tuner has two tuners built in, so you can watch one show and record another, or record two shows, and 2) it plugs into the router, so any computer on the network can access it.
Since I don't have the built-in TV tuner card I also don't have a built-in Windows remote receiver, so I had to buy one of those. I got the MCE remote control receiver (and remote control too) also from Amazon. It plugs into a USB port, and I position it near my TV set so I can aim at the TV to perform remote control functions. I had to get an extension cord for the USB so it would reach.
I have my Visio 37 inch HD TV attached to the computer via an HDMI cable, and an HP 2311xi monitor attached with VGA. The monitor has HD and DVI hookups, but I use VGA because I have a KVM switch so I can use the monitor, keyboard, and mouse with my work laptop computer which I use at home some times.
The only problem I've had with the computer is an intermittent loudness in the fan. It's mostly very quiet, but once in a while it goes into overdrive - I haven't been able to figure out if something intense is going on (graphics? sound? disk activity?) when the noise occurs. Am planning on putting it in the computer compartment of my desk (it's currently on the floor next to my desk - the vents are not blocked). When I put it in the desk, I will cut two holes in the desk and place a little USB exhaust fan in one of the holes and let the other hole be there for intake. Hopefully the desk will confine the noise. EIther that or it will amplify it and I will regret doing that!
But other than occasional noise (which I hope to contain soon), this computer has been well worth the purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Computer

PostedMay 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Windows 8 is easy to learn so don't be afraid to purchase this great computer. It is fast and setup was easy. I have had no problems at all. It runs very quietly with the 600 watt power supply. It boots up fast with the solid state cache. I would definitely recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased with product

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Illinois
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
My first HP computer. Have had HP printers in the past and pleased with all of them. Had a little trouble at the very beginning--software problem and had to wait for restore discs to arrive from support. Support team was excellent. Did everything they said they were going to do and on the dates they indicated. Did follow-up calls to be sure everything arrived when they indicated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing speed and capability

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Abington, PA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
My new HP desktop has amazing speed and capacity. The only problem so far after three weeks is understanding the many new features of Windows 8 and knowing where to go to get help with that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

At last, THREE monitors!

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Salt Lake City, Utah
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I write and teach and have multiple processes going on with my computer all the time. My old computer just couldn't handle the load, but my new HP 1540-t does it just fine. No complaints. I bought it with the specific purpose of running three monitors, and ordered an upgraded graphics card (AMD Radeon HD 7670) for this very purpose. The graphics card has three ports, DVI, HDMI and DisplayPort (DP). It was the DP that was giving me problems. How do I connect my monitor's HDMI plug into the DP? I was directed to buy an adapter (third party DP to HDMI converter, about $8). This did NOT work for either my old monitor or either of my new HP Pavillion 23xi monitors. As it turned out (via an on-line discussion group), that DP adapter must be an ACTIVE adapter. I had no clue there were different kinds. I found one on-line for $30. I installed it and I didn't even have to reboot. The 1540t found my third monitor, turned it on, let me reorder the desktop across all three monitors, and I'm happy with nearly 5 feet of amazing display spread all across my desk. My students would be so proud. Thanks HP.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop-value and performance

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Manchester, CT
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
To me this computer was a great buy using various discounts and coupons. Windows 8 is OK but I mostly use a third party Windows 7-like start menu instead. I chose the 256 GB SSD for fast boot-up and processing of all installed software. Only wish the SSD came in a 500 GB option so I can hold more software and temporary files. I also chose the extra 1 TB drive to store files. I use this PC for video editing and rendering and burning HD and Blu-ray discs. It works well with software that came on the PC (Adobe Elements) and also ones I added such as Cyberlink PowerDirector Ultra. The only downsides I found is that Windows 8 does not come with Windows Media Center. You have to purchase that as an extra from Microsoft. I felt HP should have thrown that in for free. Also, if using Windows Home Server 2011, it does not work well with a Windows 8 PC and does not back it up for some reason. There is probably a work around but for now, I will just back up on my PC on a 2 TB HP 3.0 USB Personal Media Drive, which works fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleased

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am dissapointed that the Windows 8 OS does not provide the same Spider Solitaire game as the Windows XP. I am also diappointed in the other solitaire variations on the Windows 8 OS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lacking legacy support

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boise, ID
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cords were too short - had to reposition, then cords come out or stressed if i have to look behind machine to check or make other attachments. It is lacking card reader, and firewire ports - standard just a few years ago. Lacks information about how to expand back into capabilities I had before (types of slots, etc.). Machine runs fast, for now. Plenty of USB ports - thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The computer and features are great!

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lubbock, Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still learning new Windows and many new features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Win 8 keeps this computer from being "Excellent" !

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Vail, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I needed a high end computer - quickly - because of a failing motherboard on my existing HP machine. It is one of four HP machine we now use daily in this household. Frankly, we are very experienced with every version of Windows since 3.1.
The ENVY h8-1540t would have been "Excellent" in every way except for Windows 8! It took a few days 1) to find that Win 8 is held in almost universal disdain, and 2) to find a couple, free, front end programs that allow the computer to boot up into the desktop and present a "start" button - both of which Microsoft should have designed into Win 8 in the first place.
I certainly hope the HP offers a no-cost trade / "downgrade" to Win 7 for it's future customers - including me as I have used HP products for over twenty years now, both professionally and, now, at home.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy so far

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:McHenry, IL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Much faster than the XP machine it replaced. Enjoying Windows 8 but a bit of a learning curve. Plenty of USB 2 and 3 ports. Setup pretty straight forward.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pawleys Island, SC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
System starts fast and runs fast. Setup was mostly a snap. Some setup instructions (TV Card) were wrong. Otherwise, no problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Would be great without Windows 8

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lexington, NC
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The computer and it's features seem good, but I wish it had been available with Windows 7. Windows 8 is awkward to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

How to built excellent H8-1540 PC

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Short Hills, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Since introduction of SSDs I was looking for PC with SSD primary drive.
As most of the software try to install software where your OS is, you need at least 256 GB SSD.
Unless you want to spend a lot of time buying SSD and re-installing OS yourself, it is better to buy PC with SSD as primary drive and get professional installation from PC maker.
This is the only PC that I know from solid manufacture that allow you to build it with reasonable price. Please pay attention that this PC comes with memory speed 1600 GHZ (the highest from 3: 1066, 1333 and 1600). During customization of this PC chose 256 GB SSD as primary drive for $200, then 1TB 7200 RPM Hard drive as secondary HD for $90.
I also added Bluetooth for $10 and Norton 15 M for $19. Total price without taxes will then be $1000 - 1300. Even $1300 for this configuration is a very good deal.
I received this PC, - it runs extremely fast and quiet and I love it. Good luck with your PC.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High powered PC for my use

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like everything about this PC. However, I wish I there would have been an option to install Windows 7, rather than Windows 8. I hate Windows 8. I can't stand navigating through it, and it's not what I need. I ended up purchasing an inexpensive program to mimic Windows 7 (Start button, desktop icons, etc.). Other than that, I love the machine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A fast clean machine.

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:miami,fl.
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far so good. This machne is everything the manufacturing claimed and more. I had a few qualms but they had nothing to do with the performance of the machine. It's a fast as I have seen and has performed flawlessly up until now. I dont really find the Microsoft 8 to be anything to write home about but that does nothing to fault the computer. I would have been satisfied with Microsoft 7on this machine but the 8 will please many buyers I'm sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Qualiy not as good as Dell

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The fan is very noisy when computer is on. Sounds like I is very poor quality. Tower is too big compared to other makes. Wireless keyboard does not have cap lock, num lock indicator. Stick with Dell.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A little disappointed

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Davenport, IA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This PC has excellent features but a few of the practical issues proved disappointing. I was so accustomed to Dell's camera card inserts that I just assumed they would be present on the HP. Wrong. Also, the USB ports on the top of the unit are pointing the wrong way; you should be able to plug in the USBs as a straight (not backwards) insert.
My fault for not doing a hands-on before ordering.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The computer works well.

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Springfield, IL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm very satisfied with the computer. The challenge comes with any new product when it is incompatible with other hardware that worked well with a different operating system.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY h8-1540t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great computer.

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tacoma Wa
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The more I used this computer the more I like it.Lots of features on this baby.If you like speed get this set up. Added 7 Pro.and glad I did. The performance is unreal on my h8-1380T.Things that I could't do before I can now. All my pictures,my music has not slow this puppy down yet.I am not talking one or two pictures how about 1500 plus music. going from one site to another.So much faster. My music is so much clearer then it use to be. Had this computer about two weeks now and am glad I got it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 to next page>>