HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC

HP Pavilion g6z-2200 Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.184 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
35 out of 38(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Common defects

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I really liked this laptop when I first got it, but I'm having major problems with the hard drive/system crashes. I had it checked out by a few different techs while comparison shopping for repairs, and they all independently said that they see this HP model in very frequently with hard drive problems. I generally like HP products but would strongly recommend against this one. (I will note that I love it when it's working... it just usually isn't!)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is very slow

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Davis, Il
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sorry I bought this computer, it runs slower than my 5 year old computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy any computer with Windows 8

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Words can't describe how buggy Windows 8 is. Windows 8 blue-screened my new computer within 2 days. It's also a nightmare to use. I wish I could have the 4 hours I spent learning how to use it back.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good hardware/bad software

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop performs well. Placing the drive and other lights on the side of the frame seems dumb. One USB port is a little inconveniently close to the power port. The BIG problem is Windows 8! Non-touch screen laptops should not come with Windows 8 unless there are clear instructions on how to get the Win8 user interface out of the way. The touchpad does not make up for it either. You have to use a mouse. Even then, the Win8 app screen keeps getting in the way. Without a Start button, where do you easily find a list of all installed programs? And 3-4 clicks to power down the laptop is going backwards from Win7. Microsoft has delivered another Vista called Windows8. HP should have provided options! I advise NOT buying this product with Win8.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too much Windows 8

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bald Head Island, NC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The computer comes loaded with programs and promotions that we don't use, and I can't find a list from which to remove them. The W8 system is not as user friendly as are prior systems. I need to be able to remove programs and promotions that we do not use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Problems with updates

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Every time I try to "update PC" it takes over 2 hours to "update" and then it restarts, then goes back to the update screen and says "update failed reverting changes". I'm not sure how to update it but everything else is great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pretty good computer for the money. not a fan of windows 8.....also would be nice if the mouse pad had an actual scroll function instead of the 2 finger method you have to use. battery life is fairly short.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but windows 8 annoying

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Computer has all features I want for school work. The apps of Windows 8 though wants me to think it is user friendly, but I find the lag time annoying when I try to reach the charms and make the screens go away. Steep learning curve and I am used to ipods, etc. Also the constant live feed was annoying. took awhile to set up the apps the way I want them. Better to use the "old desktop" style.
But the speakers are great, the display is crisp clear and the color (white) is awesome.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good fit for me

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use my laptop as my link to the outside world. News, email, shopping, banking, paying bills. I'm quite satisfied with the performance and features of the G6C-2200. Everything I need is provided by this budget-priced PC.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Fast great screen resolution

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This computer is extremely fast for a laptop of its price. I can run a very demanding PC game known as Planetside 2 with around 30 fps. The windows 8 is amazing and the laptop, no matter how hard i multitask, keeps great preformance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good features for the price.

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My only issues are that I don't like Windows 8 for a laptop and switched to the desktop option quickly. The other issue is that would prefer the speakers to be louder.
I think its a very good computer for the price and was worth purchasing over a cheaper HP laptop at a retail location.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

product is great and love widows 8

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Virginia
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very pleased with HP
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Confusing new operating system

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a g6z in red about a year ago with windows 7. I loved the computer so much that I decided to build the exact same one for my girlfriend this past christmas. The only option for an operating system was the new Windows 8. For someone who is not very tech-savy windows 8 is extremely confusing to operate. All new things take some getting used to, but I feel that this will take more time than necessary. The computer was very customizable, which was GREAT, but I wish there was an option as far as operating systems.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice notebook

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Coal Township, PA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been very happy so far. The only issue I've found is the screen seems a bit washed out looking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Machine

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Suffolk County, New York
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am overall pleased with my new HP Pavilion g6. I was somewhat reluctant to get an AMD Processor as I have always had Intel processors. I have to say that the AMD has so far proved to be perfectly suited for my usage and with the 8GB RAM the machine operates very nicely. I was also apprehensive about getting Windows 8, especially because I have been told that it is designed for touch screen computers and I did not get a touch screen computer. I was very glad to see that Windows 8 is a working out very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's good besides the fan

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Maine
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's pretty good besides the fan makes a noise like a truck backing up. I doubt it does it to all of them though, probably just mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not to bad for the price

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We just got this laptop for our daughter. She is finishing out Highschool and loves working on this PC. It's simple, yet effective for simple office projects and works well with listening and watching videos. Great as a starter PC.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great laptop

PostedMay 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been thoroughly enjoying this laptop so far. While I cannot say I totally enjoy the Windows 8 experience, in terms of reviewing this laptop itself, I really like it a lot. It runs well, and I like that it has the keypad in addition to the numbers running across the top of the keyboard. The keys are quiet while typing, but the trackpad buttons are not. The sound quality is great, and the webcam works great too. The only trouble I've run into is that on two separate occasions, the laptop was unable to go to sleep when I shut the lid (which I have set to be one of the commands for it to go to sleep) and it instead put the fan into what sounded like the fastest speed it can go, before shutting down completely. Overall, little to no problems, and a great laptop! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is very nice.

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Blakely, Georgia
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this computer for my daughter to take to college with her. She is very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product excellent buy for the money

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Green Bay, Wi
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
only con it takes forever to download & update hp updates....as in days!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.