HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC

HP Pavilion g6z-2200 Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.184 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
35 out of 38(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great laptop

PostedMay 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been thoroughly enjoying this laptop so far. While I cannot say I totally enjoy the Windows 8 experience, in terms of reviewing this laptop itself, I really like it a lot. It runs well, and I like that it has the keypad in addition to the numbers running across the top of the keyboard. The keys are quiet while typing, but the trackpad buttons are not. The sound quality is great, and the webcam works great too. The only trouble I've run into is that on two separate occasions, the laptop was unable to go to sleep when I shut the lid (which I have set to be one of the commands for it to go to sleep) and it instead put the fan into what sounded like the fastest speed it can go, before shutting down completely. Overall, little to no problems, and a great laptop! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is very nice.

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Blakely, Georgia
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this computer for my daughter to take to college with her. She is very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product excellent buy for the money

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Green Bay, Wi
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
only con it takes forever to download & update hp updates....as in days!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but windows 8 annoying

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Computer has all features I want for school work. The apps of Windows 8 though wants me to think it is user friendly, but I find the lag time annoying when I try to reach the charms and make the screens go away. Steep learning curve and I am used to ipods, etc. Also the constant live feed was annoying. took awhile to set up the apps the way I want them. Better to use the "old desktop" style.
But the speakers are great, the display is crisp clear and the color (white) is awesome.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good hardware/bad software

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop performs well. Placing the drive and other lights on the side of the frame seems dumb. One USB port is a little inconveniently close to the power port. The BIG problem is Windows 8! Non-touch screen laptops should not come with Windows 8 unless there are clear instructions on how to get the Win8 user interface out of the way. The touchpad does not make up for it either. You have to use a mouse. Even then, the Win8 app screen keeps getting in the way. Without a Start button, where do you easily find a list of all installed programs? And 3-4 clicks to power down the laptop is going backwards from Win7. Microsoft has delivered another Vista called Windows8. HP should have provided options! I advise NOT buying this product with Win8.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice laptop

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The laptop is lighter than the one it replaced which is nice. The Windows 8 was a bit shocking at first and took a couple of days to figure out, but once I did, I enjoy using the home screen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is perfect for my daughter

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought it for my daughter and she loves it. She was able to choose her own color and she loves Window 8.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a fantastic laptop!

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, Florida
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use & navigate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good fit for me

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use my laptop as my link to the outside world. News, email, shopping, banking, paying bills. I'm quite satisfied with the performance and features of the G6C-2200. Everything I need is provided by this budget-priced PC.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has features that I am still learning

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pound Ridge, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I decided to buy a new laptop with windows 8 installed. This is my third laptop I have purchased from HP. I am still learning the windows 8 version.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a new computer and this one is Perfect. Exceeds all my expectations and I Love windows 8.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Notebook PC is an excellent buy

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:ZANESVILLE, OH
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I received my HP Notebook, 8 days ago, I knew nothing about windows 8. I know quite a lot about windows 8 already. It guides you in learning how to operate it. I love really do love it!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is awesome!

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is great! I love the purple color. It was very easy to set up and start using! I would recommend to anyone!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good lap top for a good price

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After my old desktop died after five years, I decided to upgrade to a laptop. My primary uses for a laptop are using Word, surfing the web, and streaming music/video as well organizing and doing very minor editing to my digital photos. This laptop excels at everything I want it to do. Windows 8 may be a major departure from the traditional desktop but a little experimenting and practice and I enjoy it a lot now. Its very customizable which I like. If you absolutely HATE Windows 8 there are plenty of ways to run it like Windows 7, it just takes a little effort on your part. I've been using Windows 8 for several months now and like it a lot. Once I got use to it, it's much faster and more convient then a traditional desktop with shortcut icons. I haven't had any major problems with the computer after having it for 3 months, a few minor things but nothing that I can't fix with a simple update or etc. I love the speed of it, and the size of the hard drive. I also like the color - sparkle black. If you're looking for reliable laptop for productivity and entertainment without having to take out a small loan, then give this one a shot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too much Windows 8

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bald Head Island, NC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The computer comes loaded with programs and promotions that we don't use, and I can't find a list from which to remove them. The W8 system is not as user friendly as are prior systems. I need to be able to remove programs and promotions that we do not use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Common defects

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I really liked this laptop when I first got it, but I'm having major problems with the hard drive/system crashes. I had it checked out by a few different techs while comparison shopping for repairs, and they all independently said that they see this HP model in very frequently with hard drive problems. I generally like HP products but would strongly recommend against this one. (I will note that I love it when it's working... it just usually isn't!)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

can beat performance for price

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:tecumseh, ok
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product. For everyday use and light gaming, this AMD APu is awesome. I play league of legends at max details and resolution and it pushes 60 fps. The build of the laptop is very good for the money. It is plastic, however the build quality is very good and it feels solid. Battery life is also good, especially for the money and the performance you get. One note....I would recommend an additional 4 gig memory, as the APu benefits GREATLY from dual channel memory. If you do not game, the additional ram isn't necessary. The sound is quite loud, and overall just a great system. If you have any qualms over windows 8, let me tell you it is only better than win 7. If you find you do not prefer the new start screen, a simple google search for windows 8 start button replacement will solve your issues. There are many free programs that will install a start button, and also bypass the start screen. Overall windows 8 is just as stable, and faster than windows 7.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Problems with updates

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Every time I try to "update PC" it takes over 2 hours to "update" and then it restarts, then goes back to the update screen and says "update failed reverting changes". I'm not sure how to update it but everything else is great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Fast great screen resolution

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This computer is extremely fast for a laptop of its price. I can run a very demanding PC game known as Planetside 2 with around 30 fps. The windows 8 is amazing and the laptop, no matter how hard i multitask, keeps great preformance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion g6z-2200 CTO Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good features for the price.

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My only issues are that I don't like Windows 8 for a laptop and switched to the desktop option quickly. The other issue is that would prefer the speakers to be louder.
I think its a very good computer for the price and was worth purchasing over a cheaper HP laptop at a retail location.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.