HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC

HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.42 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
44
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
63 out of 69(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product!!

PostedApril 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this laptop for my wife. My wife didn't like to use her computer anymore, was upset and didn't want to even touch a laptop. I bought this thinking of her complaints about weight and bulkiness of her previous laptop and she loved the HP Folio 13. Now she can't put it away, Light weight, long battery life and amazing speed! I highly recommend this laptop! It's amazing!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super NICE machine

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Dodge, IA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was a little worried about fan noise after reading some reviews, but I can't even hear it at all! This is a very nice, fast machine. Couldn't be happier.... Yes I would recommend this machine to any one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This screen has an abominable viewing angle

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really wanted to be excited about this machine. It hit a lot of the right notes (SSD, Core i5, backlit good-quality keyboard, HDMI out, etc.). But the downfall was really the screen. You can read elsewhere about how the viewing angle is not good on this screen, but usually when people talk about viewing angle, they're referring to whether you're looking at it from the side or directly from the front. What I found with this screen is that the side-to-side viewing was fine, but what really mattered was the tilt angle of the screen. Unless you're looking at it from a 90degree angle (in other words, directly head-on) it fades out and becomes impossible to read. That's too bad. I gave it a week, couldn't warm up to it, then sent it back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As advertised

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Baltimore, md
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works even better than expected
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

smart choice

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:West Kentucky
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not the lighest ultrabook out there, but the backlit, full size keyboard makes this more ergonomic than the competition. Nice solid feel, good build quality. I found no problems at all with the trackpad. The fan is audible when it does turn on, but nowhere close to being annoying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great ultrabook for price

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I swore several years ago I would never buy another HP laptop after my terrible experience with my Pavilion 15" laptop. But, I was won over by the price and apparent build quality. I have had the ultrabook for a few weeks now and it is a stellar performer. The specs match every other model from the other big name manufacturers, so it does not distinguish itself in that manner. Given that, the backlit keyboard was a huge selling point as was the reviews on the touchpad.
As for my experience with the unit, it is a well built, fast and reliable device. I truly like using it and can actually envision it being a replacement for my desktop as it relates to every day business use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Ultrabook

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oregon
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Initial impressions:
Small and light, snappy performance due to the Core i5 and the SSD. No opportunity to really test the battery life, but ran for about 5 hours and still had about 35% left, so the advertised battery life of 9.5 hours is not totally out of reach.
One small complaint (hence only 4 starts on the features), the mouse buttons are built under the surface of the bottom of the touchpad, which makes it a little diificult to press a button without moving the cursor. I especially notice this on a right-click. I'm already getting better at this, but independent buttons would have made it a non-issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had it for almost 2 weeks and it works wonderful no problem at all except it can be loud at times but other then that its excellent ultrabook.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the investment

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Princeton, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm really satisfied with my purchase of the HP Folio 13t so far - I've only had it for a week. I researched all ultrabooks in the $800 range prior to purchasing and feel I made the right decision with the Folio 13. I've been purchasing HP laptops for my small business for many years and have always been satisfied with the quality and performance of their products - the Folio is no exception! Pros: quick to boot, 3.3 pounds light, sturdy and attractive industrial design, easy to configure. Have not tested the battery to its limits, but so far so good.Cons: not many at all; track pad a little tight and not as sturdy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedMay 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a solid machine. I am definitely understanding why Ultrabooks are the new wave of the future. Light, fast and powerful. My only gripe is the SSD drive does not have enough memory for my needs, but I compensate with a network drive. Great buy! Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Business Notebook

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It really does get amazing battery life. Perfect balance of performace and efficiency. The business features and touches such as the ethernet port, are ideally suited. Not lacking in any good features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you want an Ultrabook with a normal keyboard...

PostedMay 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Being a Mobile IT Consultant I have owned many laptops from many manufacturers and I am very selective with what I will use for my daily tasks. I have never taken the time to review a notebook before but I felt obligated to do so this time.
The Folio 13 is as close to a perfect machine as anything I have put my hands on. I have had it for 3 weeks now, and the thing is bulletproof. Boot time from off to desktop is about 18 seconds, from hibernate is only 2 seconds and from sleep it is awake before you have the screen opened.
The machine is super fast; much faster than the high end Thinkpad I came from. Battery life is at about 8 hours, which is much better than other Ultrabooks out there. Sceen is better than I expected after seeing many reviews criticizing this feature. The best thing about this laptop is the keyboard. Coming from a Thinkpad I thought nothing could compare but this backlit keyboard is a pleasure to type on. I also love the clickpad; this is the closest thing to a Macbook's touchpad I have ever used. It takes some getting used to but the thing is great. The one thing that is a dealbreaker on other ultrabooks is the lack of an RJ45 ethernet connection. This Folio has one built in. If you are an IT Consultant this is a must have item.
No machine is perfect but the Folio 13 comes close. Don't worry about the extra half pound; the keyboard feedback, 6 cell battery, built in RJ45 ethernet and solid construction are worth it and honestly, if you think a 3.3 pound machine is heavy compared to 2.8 pounds you probably should seek help from a Personal Trainer . This machine doesn't compromise features which are missing from other ultrabooks out there, making this a fine choice for a frequent traveler/power user like myself.
If I have one con, and it is minor, it would be the power adapter end. It is very small and sticks out of the left side of the laptop. It has to be small as the notebook is thin, and the placement is good, but it needs an angled connector to keep unnecessary strain on the power input. I hope Hp remedies this for future machines, but if not a right angle connector is 7 bucks and that's fine.
I guess 7 bucks isn't a lot to ask to be perfect...
Great job Hp!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice looking, great feel but did not work for me

PostedMay 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I received my first Folio 13 and it worked great. Easy to set up, keyboard was comfortable and size cannot be beat!! However, the case had a small crack on the corner. I exchanged for another ultrabook. The second one had difficulty from the start. The wireless network adaptor was disabled each time I closed the lid or the computer went to sleep. I had 3 blue screen errors in three days I had the Folio 13. Product support was helpful, but time consuming. After two tries I decided to just get a refund. I do think this is probably a good product and I just had bad luck. If you are looking for an ultra thin and light laptop this one is good. It did not get hot during use as my old (circa 2004!) laptop. If I had not had the problems I had with it I would have loved to keep it.
CJ
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excelent product excellanr price

PostedMay 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mt. Hood , Oregon
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
product is fast light and fun greatesy lp top out of the 6 I have owned
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

functional ultrabook

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
average functions considering cost, noisy for such a small, lightweight ultrabook, must get an external disk drive if you need to install software (like Office Suite)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I LOVE this thing

PostedMay 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've only had my HP Folio for about a week, so I feel like I should suspend judgment, but so far I love it. I love how light it is. It's fast, the keyboard is nice to the touch...the sound is good considering how small it is. The battery life actually is all it's cracked up to be. I left my charger somewhere and couldn't get it back for a day and a half and my computer lasted through that long of normal use (i did put it in power saver mode though.)
Things I don't like: I thought to myself that I wasn't one of those people who's picky about screen size, but it turns out I kind of am. Have gotten used to it, though.
I also thought that I could deal with the small size of the SSD, but I'm not sure I can...
Those are both things I knew about in advance, though, so I can only blame myself.
The trackpad buttons are kind of stiff (but things like 2-fingered scrolling work like a dream.)
This is really minor but I also don't much like the power button. It's really small and an inconvenient shape so the laptop is hard to turn on.
So far I feel like it was a great purchase and a good deal. My final verdict will depend a lot on how long it lasts, though!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Ultrabook

PostedMay 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This ultrabook is amazing. It's extremely fast and light weight. Boots up extremely fast and resumes from sleep so fast its almost instant. The trackpad and backlit keyboard are great. The only regret I have is that I didnt get the larger hard drive. I would highly recommend this computer!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why did I buy an Ipad??

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boston
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the Folio...Excellent product.Very thin and lightweight. Boots very fast, has long battery life (about 6 Hrs). The windows operating system has none of the Ipad problems with java or flash,and it has 2 USBs ( one is 3.0) I installed JDK and MS Office and still have tons of disk space available. I use the HDMI port to watch streaming video on my 46 in monitor. I'm using the Ipad less although I do use the Iphone personal hotspot with my Folio.
Nice product HP !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Ultrabook for the price

PostedApril 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Quebec, Canada
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought it 2 weeks ago. I upgrated the memory to 8Gb. Great decision ! Be careful, you physically have to take it apart to remove the current 4GB. Just follow the instruction on the maintenace manual. I noticed a difference in performance.
The trackpad is not the greatest.... That is the only negative part of it.
I really like it and I think that you get your money worth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Folio 13t-1000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy Ultrabook

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got my Folio 13 couple of weeks ago, and have been impressed with it so far.
The build is solid (as opposed to Toshiba Protege which feels cheap), and you feel comfortable using it. The materials used are just right and the HDMI is definitely a plus (DELL XPS 13 doesn't have one).
At times, The fan does get noisy when plugged to power, but the startup and shutdown time is amazing.
HP delivered it couple of days in advance! No complaints so far, all in all, a solid ultra book that wont cost you a fortune!
HP definitely got it right with this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.