HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC

HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.226 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(479 reviews) 479
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 479 reviews
5 Stars
286
4 Stars
104
3 Stars
37
2 Stars
15
1 Star
37
400 out of 479(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but could be better

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tampa, Florida
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Processor speed is great. I purchased the best config of this machine I could. Maxed out the CPU and RAM. Choose the better performance LED screen, etc.
After having the machine for two weeks now, I am disappointed in four items.
1. For what I thought was an upgraded screen, I still prefer my old dv7 screen to this new one. The LED is bright but not as nice. Perhaps over time I'll come to like this one more but at the moment I do not.
2. The WiFi + Bluetooth card I paid extra for is disappointing. It only connects to 2.4GHz band. So the best connection you can get with the best router is 150Mbps. I ended up purchasing an external Netgear 6200 AC adapter for my the 5GHz band connection and a 300Mbps connection.
3. The sound system in this laptop is worse than my old dv7 laptop. And that's 5 years old. I will probably end up buying an external Sound Blaster audio card.
I do love the Intel quick sync feature on the Intel i7 CPU for blazing fast rendering in Pinnacle Studio 16 software.
4. The security feature for finger print scanning only works once in about 10 tries. That's disappointing.
Customer service has been good though but I had to take control of the conversation on one issue I called them for as the agent was first level support and followed a script like straight legged pants. She had no idea of technology other than her script. On another call for an issue, they were great however.
One other item, some downloads on their support site did not work as advertised.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I'm going on my second hard drive

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Omaha, NE
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My husband and I each bought this laptop. He's had to reset his laptop back to factory settings once. I rebuilt my laptop back to factory setting once, and that didn't solve my issue. My laptop is in the shop getting it's 2nd hard drive.
This is the first time I've bought an HP PC, and I think it will be the last.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Got a blue screen during the first login!

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Opened the box. The setup was quick. Gave my login name, computer name, etc. When it was trying to login for the very first time after the initial setup screens, it just shutdown with a blue screen with IRQ errors. Since I had a little knowledge of Windows, I had boot into safe mode with networking and let it connect to the network and install the required drivers. After that, it started working. Why would a company like HP ship its product without proper drivers in the first place?
-A very dissatisfied customer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product - except wifi

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Troy, MI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I liked the computer very much and would have given it an "excellent" until I tried to connect to a wifi network. I have a 5 year old laptop that connects easier and with a stronger signal than the new HP. The antenna in this computer is pretty weak.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent computer

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Garner, NC
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a computer with enough power and speed to handle my daily activities without having to wait so long for the screens to change and this one filed the bill. Start up is about one to two minutes which is literally about four times faster that my old computer. This computer handles multiple programs being opened at the same time without any decrease in efficiency. I know it is billed as an Entertainment Computer, but I use it for home office activities and couldn't be happier. I have had it for about a week and a half now so I am still learning features. Every day I wonder what new feature I will find. I know there is online help, but I really wish it had included a printed user manual. It would have made learning the features quicker.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome PC

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Virginia & NJ.
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second HP DVT7 laptop. I think it's a great computer. I would recommend HP to everyone.
Thank You HP for making such a great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Laptop I've ever had

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Reynoldsburg, OH
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop is excellent. I was able to choose and customize each spec so I could buy exactly what I wanted. The product was built specifically the way I asked, delivered in a timely manner and performance is excellent. I am so happy with this laptop!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Laptop!

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oklahoma
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WE are very pleased with this new laptop. We have owned 3 Compaq computers, merged with HP and since we have owned 3 Hewlett Packard computers. WE prefer this brand over any others we have used/owned. I have had 4 separate Dell computers at work and by far I prefer HP. For the memory and all the features that I need for personal use, this is an excellent computer. We do not use computers for entertainment, but as a tool. Though excellent for viewing movies, etc. other features and programs are excellent as well for what we need a computer for. The warranty alone makes it worth it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent computer

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Port, FL.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very pleased with this computer. I replaced an older XP desktop. The transition was smooth and with the great support HP offers it was fairly simple. Learning some new things on this much faster unit. And I am enjoying the lightning fast log on speed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY THIS NOTEBOOK

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:MPLS
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
YOU CAN NOT UPGRADE THIS NOTEBOOK TO A BIG HARD DRIVE , YOU CAN NOT CHANGE THE BIOS, YOU CAN NOT RESET THE BIOS FOR THE HARD DRIVE
WE HAVE FIVE LAPTOP FROM HP AND FOUR PRINTERS FROM HP FOR ARE COMPANY
THIS WILL BE THE LAST HP LAPTOP ARE COMPANY WILL BUY FROM HP
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

too big - bad tech support

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:philadelphia, pa
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
due to family health issues i didn't get to use this right away....now i wish i had. it's entirely too big unless you're using it as a replacement for a desktop.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A dream machine

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hiawatha, IA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
From day one this laptop has performed flawlessly. The intel processor uses tri-gate transistors and is unbelievably fast. It's initial installation boot from windows startup to the desktop was less than a minute. The display is crystal clear in any light condition. The build quality is exceptional. The standard keyboard is better than a full size external add-on and has the best feel of any I have ever used. In addition I got the backlit feature and the 'puter can be used anytime of day or night. With a chill mat the processor temps are even better than the liquid cooled desktop pc that I have! The beats audio built- in speakers leave nothing to be desired and external speakers are not really necessary. Everything was assembled 'tightly' with no loose parts jingling, deformed edges, or broken parts. Kudos HP, in a short time this has become by go-to pc of choice.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent but...

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:PA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Laptop was assembled in China. It should have been inspected better before it was shipped. The top portion of the keyboard is lifted as if it was "warped".
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent laptop

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Laptop was bought to replace an aging Dell laptop. Arrived late as it was held in Alaska for days for Custom Inspection. Surprised us even though it is made in China. The unit is VERY FAST even after all of the updates were loaded. Highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Illinois
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was very easy to set up and become operatonal. I am impressed with the speed of its programs. The only complaint I have was in loading the included software, the Roxio Secure Burn would not load. The computer would not accept the Key Code printed on the sleeve, My son, who works with computers every day and myself tried it 9 timeswith the same result. I spent 2 hours on the phone talking with various people, mostly with broken English without resolving this. I finally gave up. The rest ,including wireless printer works great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:The Village
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I purchased this Windows 7 system as a replacement for a 3 year old similar system. It runs faster, quieter, and cooler, is lighter and I love the aluminum finish. I will buy another one. My custom setup shipped about 10 days earlier than promised.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

woderful all around

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
I love my new computer it has great features like the back light keyboard so you can pkay in the dark. I downloaded an application that normally takes all day in only 3 and half hours it is so fast. There is absolutely nothing bad to say about this computer its a great buy you will never need another computer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nevada, TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The laptop is quite fantastic. Somewhat hesitant at first but soon got the hang of things.
would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Laptop for the Money!

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tucson, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've only had this laptop for 2 days so my review excludes reliability. As for it's features and performance I am very satisfied. I highly recommend this laptop to anyone, even gamers. I chose to upgrade a few things through HP and it was well worth it. I'll be adding my own SSD as it is much cheaper to do it this way. I'm not the type of person who complains about every little thing but, my only complaint is the location of the USB drive. It just gets in the way of my optical mouse that I use at work. I'll adjust. Other than that this machine is awesome. Dre Beats are amazing and the overall feel is very good. The quad core handles my multi-tasking with ease. I need a laptop that allows me to do whatever I throw at it. This one does just that. I've literally been on this thing for 18 of the past 24 hours. It's got some Bloatware as all laptops do but they were easily removed. This thing does NOT get hot. Love that. Once you own it you'll love it. Highly recommended!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion dv7t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far... so good

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The speed is excellent and the beat sound and controls are great. I used to watch a BD movie in my TV and it was great. Let's see how things work once I start classes again and start using it for my projects. I feel confident it will be a great asset for my engineer program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 to next page>>