HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC

HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.261 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
5
53 out of 65(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Review 21 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Touchpad unusable

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hillsboro, Oregon
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I ordered this computer my wife for Christmas. Great value for the $$$. However upon receiving it, we found that the touch pad mouse buttons to an extraordinary amount of force to activate making it painful and unusable. After 2 hours on the phone I finally gt to someone who was willing to replace the machine. I did not want it repaired, I wanted a new one after spending $1000. We received the new one yesterday and it had the same problem. It was totally unusable and we were totally frustrated. I called tech support and requested a return authorization for a full refund. The agreed and I took it to FEDEX again this morning. I have checked other HP laptops in the store and have owned a number ofthem previously. I've never seen this problem before. They definitely have manufacturing quality problem with this particular model and need to change it. I'm not sure what I am going to do to replace it, try another model or not.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dv3t user suggestions to make purchase possible

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A quick background of me... I used to use dell until they pulled some shady monopoly bleh on their customers 5 -10years back (settled lawsuit not too long ago in 2010). Than I bought a gateway gaming laptop (great deal but lately theyve gone to crud). And finally settled for HP once I read reviews about the quality and stability of their laptops.
Dv3t ive owned for 1 year 1/2 (also amd desktop which i no longer own). Dv3t is a great quality ultra portable with a kick and can play most games but nothing top-end (runs equal on/off battery). Looking for something with a bit more kick without the added heaviness. Dv6t select edition is that kick but heres whats holding me back HP.
#1_ NEEDS A BIGGER RESOLUTION! Gateway has a 1920 x 1080 resolution on their old 17' laptops(yes I know its only 15.6 but it can be done). 1366 x 768 is not cutting it and thats what i currently get on my 13' ultra portable. Like many people this day in age, I like to multi-task when browsing the internet/doing work and as for games... I am at a disadvantage on RTS games as my screen size cant see a great portion of the battlefield when I am running at 1366 x 768... (yea I can buy a monitor but who wants to spend $200 more and I also dont just play at home)
#2_ Better graphics card. 5650 is good but its been around since jan 2010. I expect them to release a newer one by February because thats when they usually update components for the year. (preferably nvidia because Ive had less trouble with nvidia in past than I have ATI. [something about their interface and compatibility with games]).
Thats pretty much it.. everything else is debatable for individual use. I like extra small feature options to be available (when sometimes they arent). HP used to have resolution options but nowadays its just limited to infinity display or not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Buy

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this laptop a few weeks ago, and I am definitely impressed. My old Toshiba desktop replacement laptop finally died after a valiant 6 year run. I decided to give HP a try after having success with several of their desktops.
Definitely go ahead and spend the extra on the discreet graphics (I went with 512 for a little extra umph).
I would also opt for the slight smaller, faster (640GB, 7200RPM) hard drive, rather than the 750GB, you will notice the speed difference. The AMD processor is on par with a comparable intel (2GHz quad core), and a little cheaper. 6GB of RAM is also a must.
The screen is pretty good, but if you sit about 18 inches away from it you can clearly see the grid pattern of the pixel layout. Left/Right viewing angles are superb, you can still read the screen at almost 180 degrees.
The finger print reader is a convenient way to log in to Windows, and web sites. The backlit keyboard is a nice touch. I haven't had a chance to use the web cam yet.
The only two things that bug me are are the software that HP ships on the computer, and the port placement. I prefer having all of the ports on the back, but the screen hinge design doesn't permit that. Also the USB port placement seems like an afterthought.
Overall the computer is awesome, HP shipped it 3 days before the esitmated ship date, and it got here from China overnight!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most excellent laptop!!

PostedDecember 31, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had my dv6z for three weeks now and am extremely pleased. 8GB, 7200RPM disk, Blu-Ray, and 512MB video option. Very fast, excellent build quality, runs cool, sharp display, very good wi-fi reception and performance. Most importantly it is an excellent value. This is my second HP laptop within three years and both have been awesome. My last HP laptop was handed down to my wife as she doesn't require the performance I do; and she loves my old one as well :-). HP provides the best laptops for my hard-earned money and that is most appreciated!
Back to this dv6z: The TouchPad does take some getting used to, but can be customized by setting the Synaptics ClickPad customized properties. Go to 'PalmCheck-Enhanced ACM' settings, go to 'Advanced Filters' and set the 'Starting Zone Size' to the upper portion of the touch pad - excluding the lower button portion. Then set the 'Filter Activation Time' to a very low value (mine is set to 1 second) - this means that if you start in the touch zone and them move to the click zone after the filter activation time expires your mouse pointer won't move. So if you set it to 0 seconds the mouse will never move when you are outside the starting zone (e.g.. clicking/touching the buttons). Now my touch pad works just fine for me.
Thanks again HP for my excellent laptop and keep up the great work!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best laptop ever!!!

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Springfield Illinois
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My laptop was delivered today and I am so happy I made this purchase!!! The brushed aluminum exterior is beautiful and classy looking. The fingerprint reader is a nice upgrade to consider, since you will not have to remember anymore passwords!! I can think of nothing negative to say about this machine. I am now an HP customer for life! This laptop ROCKS!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME System

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received my HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition on 12/10/20010, after setting it up to my specifications I made my System Recovery discs and I was up and running.
My system is set up with:
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
AMD Phenom(TM) II Quad-Core Processor N950 (2.1 Ghz, 2MB L2 Cache)
1 GB ATI Mobilit Radeon (TM) HD 5650 graphics card
8 GB DDR3 System Memory
640 GB 7200rpm Hard Drive
Blu-ray player & Lightscribe SuperMulti DVD burner
Backlit keyboard with Fingerprint Reader
Microsoft Office Home & Student
Believe me this laptop is the top of line for sure. You can't go wrong if you purchase this computer. I don't know why other people are having problems with there systems, but I have no regrets that I purchased this system.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT computer - rotten 'touch pad'

PostedDecember 18, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington D.C.
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As for the NoteBook, the performance is just FANTASTIC, the 'touch pad' is just to darn sensitive and the LEFT 'touch pad - mouse button' is just plain worthless. Evert time you press the LEFT 'touch pad - mouse button' the cursor moves in what ever direction you happened to apply pressire to the button. But, it is NOT a three part button, rather it is ALL one single piece. HP saved a few cents per system in hope that we would purchase a standalone mouse. I bought this system for my U.S.Army daughter so she can manage her photos of Iraq and Afghanistan. So that is why (in spite of the touch pad) she needed the fastest and best notebook available at the time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Laptop

PostedDecember 18, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this laptop to do portable studio recording and did lots of research before I finally decided on buying this laptop.(NOTE: go online and get a $400 coupon at techbargins, don't buy without:) I was trying to decide between this and an Asus model with an i7. I've built many computers and laptops in my day and this price/configuration simply can't be beat. I have the AMD Quad N950 (2.1Ghz), 5650 graphics, 8 gigs of ram, blueray drive, 640 gig 7200rpm hard drive, and all the accessories, and I got it for 900 (thank you coupon:). I love the aluminum body, it helps a lot with cooling and just looking great. The AMD quad is not as fast or snappy as an i7, but still performs great, (much much faster than my previous core 2 duo, and about on par with a 2.53Ghz i5, though better in multi-threaded apps and heavy multi-tasking) and runs much much cooler and quieter. This laptop, in my config, can handle any game at native screen resolution with effects all the way up. NFS Undercover and Supreme commander both run great. The touchpad is fine for a touch pad.The beats audio is just hype and a name. They are laptop speakers and always will be, however, even for laptop speakers they sound pretty bad. The one thing that does bug me is the quick launch keys on the right side of the keyboard. Whenever I got to hit ctrl I accidentally launch calculator because I am used to ctrl being the very bottom left key. However, I'll get used to it and it won't be a problem for long. This laptop puts macbooks to shame, it is easily 2-3x the specs for 2-3x less. (why would anyone pay 1500 for a Core 2 duo is beyond me) This laptop is also very light and sturdy, with great battery life (around 4 hours with the extended life 6 cell) and makes a great college laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine

PostedDecember 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Jose, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I previously owned a Dell (which, rather remarkably, stopped working 2 days after this computer arrived) - it had heating trouble and a terrible history with quickly breaking batteries. It, at this point, is four years old so I figured it was time for a new computer that wouldn't give me the same issues as the previous!
My specs:
2.1 Ghz Quad-core
8 Gig ram
1 gig ATI graphics card
Backlit keyboard w/ fingerprint scanner
GOOD:
I had an estimated build date of December 2nd when I placed my order. The computer was built and shipped 8 days before that with an estimated delivery date of the 1st (with standard shipping). I was even more impressed when it showed up on the 29th! Very impressed with the customer service. Also, all the necessary software was installed so all I had to do was hit the power button and it was ready for use. GREAT on this front.
I essentially got free upgrades to the top specs from the standard - online coupons for great deals are easy to find; I'm not sure I can get this review published if I mention numbers, but it is definitely not something to skip over doing.
The performance is incredible compared to my old machine (which makes sense, obviously) and it generates an incredibly small amount of heat - I can hardly tell it's warm from touching it. It does warm up a little bit when working hard, but it overally runs VERY cool.
The metal casing is very nice and gives a sturdy feel to the computer. The backlit keyboard is very nice, though I wished they sold that option without a fingerprint scanner. You have to pay a little extra for what really amounts to a novelty item. The scanner does work and is very simple to figure out though, for what it's worth!
Another plus is that it came with a great selection of artsy backgrounds to choose from. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this computer. Well, that's not entirely true. There was one thing!
BAD:
THE TOUCHPAD IS TERRIBLE. If you left-click by finger tapping and not using the buttons, it's perfectly manageable. The problem comes in when you need to use the buttons, which are not only very difficult to hold down, but also cause the cursor to moved when touched. It might get better as I get used to it, but for now I'm pretty sure I'm going to be investing in a wireless mouse.
OVERALL:
I feel like you can get some great performance options for a very low price, especially when you factor in the availability of free online coupons for large $ off. This is by far the cheapest I could have gotten these specs for. It's built sleek and feels solid, but is also not very heavy. Big thumbs up!
I'd also like to add that I found the higher rating reviews to be consistent with my experience. So that might be worth taking into account as well!
If this fits your needs I would definitely recommend getting it - but do make sure to shop around and find what's right for you. My experience with HP has been great and I would recommend using them. MAKE SURE to get a coupon!!! Just google HP coupons and you should find at least one worth using!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pavilion dv6z

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:USA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this to replace my old computer that was 5 years old. so far this Notebook PC is working good. I customized the computer with Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
AMD Phenom(TM) II Quad-Core Mobile Processor N950 (2.1GHz, 2MB L2 Cache)
1GB ATI Mobility Radeon(TM) HD 5650 switchable graphics [HDMI, VGA] 8GB DDR3 System Memory 640GB 7200RPM Hard Drive Microsoft(R) Office Home and Business 2010 Blu-Ray ROM with SuperMulti DVD+/-R/RW Backlit Keyboard with Fingerprint Reader and evey thing on it works very well but the bluray player is slow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor execution...

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This might be a decent computer, but I don't think I'll ever find out, as Iwill be returning it based on several egregious design flaws:
1) The 5 buttons on the far left that connect to the internet, email, etc. are intrusive and make writing more complicated, as a slight slip of finger when reaching for the tab or shift keys may accidentally start up your browser, email, or the media center. Terribly annoying.
2) The buttons on the touchpad are very hard to press down. This makes working without an external mouse a real pain.
3) The reversing of power and external monitor jacks. HP is not exactly tapping into any great new design by switching the sides of these. There may be people out there who put their external on the left of the computer, but I challenge HP to justify making this switch.
4) Bizarre (and sparse) USB port placement. The positions of the USB ports is baffling to me... who needs one at the very front right? This is maybe the worst place to put a port. My six year old HP has four USB ports, where this brand new HP has three - weak.
5) The cheesy reflective plastic surrounding the monitor. This is distracting and ugly. If anything, the body of the computer shouldn't detract from the function.
6) The repeated pop-ups about changing the graphics processor every time the power chord is plugged or unplugged. This is needless and annoying.
Otherwise, once the fingerprint nonsense is disabled, it seemed very powerful, lightweight, and small.
Overall, I'm really disappointed in this particular model.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelent

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer is the best i ever had. The only problem is the touchpad, its too hard to click and theres no scroll key.
Its fast, silent and extremely cool. I remember my last notebook use to got warm and hot after some time, but this one didnt seem to have this problem.
I got n950 amd processor, i was having doubts about getting i7 intel instead, but this one is extremely fast and im happy about my choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Can’t Recommend

PostedOctober 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I loved this laptop at first because it had everything I was looking for and more. My biggest disappointment came when I realized my wireless N connections tops out at 72Mbps. For that reason I can not recommend this laptop.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE IT!!!

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't believe how fast this is. I can play video games, do school work and listen to music all at the sametime, and it doesnt lag at all. LOVE IT! BUY THIS LAPTOP NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Design But Nice Features

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
As of writing this review - owned 1 month
Performance: 3/5 - really this depends on how you customize; so, pay for a better processor and memory and remove excess programs.
Features: 4/5 - Great features including the mediasmart options and quicklaunch keys. "Fun" lights all over the place. Fingerprint module works well.
Overall: 2/5 - Really closer to a Poor (1/5) rating. Here's why:
-Touchpad - The worst touchpad you will ever use. I'm not sure if it's just this model but, read all hp reviews carefully to see if other models have this issue. First, while the touchpad is centered on the laptop, it is not centered on the keyboard leaving you awkwardly typing to avoid inadvertantly touching the pad (on the good side, you can turn off the touchpad easily with a double-tap in one corner and it displays an led to remind you it's off). Second, the touchpad buttons are basically a part of the touchpad instead of real buttons. The main problem here is that the buttons actually also control the pointer movement. So, if you are trying to press a button, you're actually also moving the pointer. This is very bad design and I can't find a setting to turn it off. You will find it hard to click exactly where you want to click - you will also find it hard to select multiple entries or highlight pieces of a document as it does not react kindly to one hand over the select button while scrolling with the other. It really does not matter if you are just using this to surf the web or do something more substantial - you will get frustrated.
-Webcam - Led light next to webcam is not fully shielded to the webcam. This will leave the image capture with a bright spot/glare in the lower left corner of the capture. I don't use a webcam much at all; but, I would like a tech product I buy to have gone through some QA process during it's design.
-Overall Design and Quality - As I mentioned, not impressed with the touchpad or webcam. But, the enclosures also seem second-rate. The CD/DVD has a small gap where it should close flush to the laptop. The USB ports wiggle around quite a bit and take some forcing to attach cables to. The product just doesn't seem solid and gets very hot very fast.
-Other - Unless there is a setting to change this, you must press the FN key to use the function keys. Opposite of how you normally use a computer keyboard, where you press the FN button and a function key to say increase/decrease brightness. Here pressing "F3" changes the screen brightness and you must hit FN+"F5" to use F5. Oh, and it is pink in certain light.
I would not recommend this product unfortunately. Go ahead and pay a little extra and get a better designed model that has been tested for usability. For me, as long as it doesn't crash on me, I will be keeping this model and making the best out of its quirks as it's more of a backup laptop for us - But, please consider how much you will need to use this laptop before you buy.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Product

PostedSeptember 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I thought that I wanted the dv7t because of the large screen but when i got this one i was blown away. The quality of the computer and standard HD screen is amazing. It gave me a little trouble installing the wireless printer i bought with it but works great now that i figured it out. The features could have been a little better. Lots of advertisements when i started it up. Got the back-lite keyboard for an extra $25 was way worth it. Very quiet. I recommend this computer to people that dont want to go overboard with an expensive laptop yet dont want a piece of junk.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great computer w/ one flaw

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
• AMD Phenom(TM) II Quad-Core Mobile Processor N930
• 512MB ATI Mobility Radeon(TM) HD 5470 switchable graphics]
• FREE Upgrade to 6GB DDR3 System Memory
• 500GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection
• 6 Cell Lithium Ion Battery (standard) - Up to 4.0 hours of battery life
• 15.6" diagonal High Definition LED HP Brightview Display (1366x768)
• No TouchScreen (includes HP TrueVision Webcam)
• Blu-Ray ROM with SuperMulti DVD+/-R/RW Double Layer
• Backlit Keyboard with Fingerprint Reader
Pros:
Fast, powerful.
Easy set-up
Faster than expected delivery
Great keyboard (the back-lit keyboard w/ fingerprint reader is worth it)
Surprisingly lightweight.
Switchable graphics is a nice touch.
Cons:
The touchpad is awful. Its clunky and changes fonts on your pages for no reason. Performs other odd tasks accidentally to the point where I found myself saying, "What," and "Why" a lot.
The video resolution is slightly above average, but nothing to write home about.
Battery life is short
I bought this computer as an upgrade to my Dell Inspiron 1525 which I hated almost the second I took it out of the box. I bought that computer blind, i.e. didn't read reviews, etc. With this purchase, I used the reviews to help me with my choice and I have found it to be everything the other reviews have said it is. Its fast, powerful and can handle anything I throw at it. My Dell seems to overheat if you look at it the wrong way, where I have found the DV6ZSE to have absolutely no overheating issues. The first night I received it I wanted to test it out. I used the snap feature on windows 7 to run two videos side-by-side and it ran them with no problem whatsoever for at least an hour. The left side of the computer will get hot but it will not disrupt you or whatever you are working on/watching.
One plus I found with the service of this computer that was nice from a customer service standpoint is that I received a ship by date of 9/8 when I ordered it, FedEx dropped it off at my front door on 9/5. I appreciated the speedy delivery(I used standard shipping).
The only issue I can see with this computer is the Touchpad. Its VERY frustrating and is the only thing that would keep me from rating this machine higher. Do yourself a favor and by a wireless mouse!
Overall: I would recommend this product to a friend or family member.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Three is a charm?

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Toms River, NJ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would like to tell you that this review was written using my new dv6z Select Edition laptop, but I can't because I sent it back a month ago. I would also like to tell you that this review was written on my replacement dv6z Select Edition laptop but that one was sent back last week. Maybe next week when my third dv6z Select Edition laptop arrives I can update this review.
The first dv6z arrived with a defective BluRay drive, and after 3 hours with Tech Support they offered to send me a replacement drive. However, for $1,000 I expect my laptop to work 100% out of the box without me having to replace any major components, so I sent it back.
The second unit arrived with a lighted keyboard that refused to light up. That unit went back and now I am awaiting my third. Is three a charm?
The dv6z appears to be a decent laptop that unfortunately sacrifices some functionality for the sake of style. The button-less touch-pad is a perfect example. This is a case where the engineers should have overruled the stylists. The keypad is less efficient than your more typical touch-pad with two buttons. It is just not as versatile as the conventional keypad on my 6 year old HP.
The screen is nice, bright, and clear, by why not offer a true HD option on a Select Edition with a screen this size?
The lighted keyboard and fingerprint reader are very nice features. The only problem with the keyboard are the specialty keys that are stacked vertically on the left side. It is too easy to inadvertently hit one of the special keys when looking for "tab", "Shift", or "caps lock", especially when switching from a conventional keyboard. Again, style was given priority over functionality.
Being that I opted for the over-sized battery, the battery life is extraordinary. The oversize battery raises the rear of the laptop and angles the keyboard for easier typing. It is well worth the extra cost.
I had some trepidations with ordering the AMD quad-core, but the performance is fine and the temperatures are lower than expected. I have no regrets for choosing this over an Intel chip.
The front-firing speakers are anemic. A laptop of this pedigree deserves better.
Overall, this laptop is a pretty decent unit that could have been better received if it were not for the touch-pad and poor quality control.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Laptop

PostedSeptember 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've only had my DV6zse for about a week now, but I absolutely love the thing. I ordered the 2.0ghz quad, 512mb video card, I upgraded to 6gb of ram and 640gb hard drive. Also threw in the light up keyboard for an additional 25$. I bought this laptop as a replacement for a 6 year old monster that just wasn't getting the job done anymore. Plays Starcraft II very nicely, and other than that it zips through just about everything else I have thrown at it so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for HP Pavilion dv6z Select Edition customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great PC!

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice bright display, everything works just great, and it is fast too!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.