HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC

HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.173 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(370 reviews) 370
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 370 reviews
5 Stars
203
4 Stars
100
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
24
1 Star
24
306 out of 370(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Review 21 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Really bad laptop

PostedMay 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very disappointed with this laptop. I got a cheaper version for my mom and worked really nice when I installed programs for her, so decided to get something more expensive, with more ram, etc.
The finger scan is the only thing that's cool about this laptop. The boot up process is long, comes loaded with lots of unnecessary software, the Beats audio system sounds horrible. I had to spend days on the system and software settings making everything simpler, sounding and looking better, and I'm still not satisfied.
My major disappointment is the track pad. I had a tech-rep helping me out via remote connect (VNC) which is nice, but for some reason my track pad drivers were not installed on my new laptop....wait what??...yes you heard it, HP sends out laptops with uninstalled drivers so you can waste half your day troubleshooting it.
This laptop is for people that maybe never owned a laptop before, but anyone else will be disappointed with it.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent pc

PostedMay 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chapmanville, Wv
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best laptop I've ever seen let alone owned. I've tried to bog it down but still have not been able too. I have bogged down programs and internet browsers but I can open another program and it takes right off while the other program catches up. My laptop has all the features I really wanted, and some I didn't know I wanted or use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great in every way

PostedMay 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HP Pavilion dv6t Quad Edition is a fantastic laptop. Performance is outstanding - I upgraded both the processor and graphics card and from the default configuration and am able to run recent games like Assassin's Creed: Revelations and Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 on maximum graphics settings with absolutely no lag. I've also been able to reach download speeds over five times faster than on my old computer - an aging Dell XPS M1530 that was great in it's day, but gave out on me after five years of intensive use. The visual display (I went with the high definition LED screen) is absolutely beautiful. The audio, though a little heavier on the bass than I am used to as a result of the Beats by Dre technology, is great as well. The keyboard is placed slightly differently than on my XPS and took a little bit of getting used to, but now I'm typing faster than ever, and the integrated number pad is a great addition. My only complaint - if you could call it that - is that the up and down arrow keys have been shrunk to half the size of a normal key so that they both can fit in the space in between the left and right. It honestly hasn't bothered me all that much and I use the keys fairly often, but my finger does occasionally slip off the up key and hit Shift, which is rarely a problem anyway. I can however see how this would annoy some people.
All in all this is an outstanding notebook computer. It's beautiful in both design and performance and is capable of handling nearly anything today's casual user or more advanced techie could need to do, at least as far as I've seen. I'd absolutely recommend it to anyone who asked for my input.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better

PostedMay 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than the previous version (i7 sandy bridge with the ATI gfx) the dynamic graphics were terrible on the previous model, the dynamic graphics on this one are superb. No more setting which apps run the dedi gfx, it just switches based on the load. Truly dynamic, no reason for fixed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:az
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
screen very reflective - otherwise ok.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good-Great Machine!

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a good laptop with a good set of specs and features.
Pros-
-Good graphics card (IF you UPGRADE/OK if you don't)
-Great screen 1080p (IF you UPGRADE/A MUST UPGRADE!!!)
-Good Speakers w/ mini sub woofer!
-Fast processor (Quad Core/Base Model)
-Form factor -- slightly slimmer than previous model
-Slightly lighter than previous model
-Back-lit Keyboard (IF you UPGRADE-only $25 or $50 definitely worth it)
Cons-
-Build quality isn't the greatest. (You'll notice uneven seems and flexible weak plastic, also my click button feels like its barely connected and is loose.) However, overall form factor is nice!
-Screen (Base Model) 1366x768 is horrible on 15.6" !!!
-HP Bloatware (Not really a huge problem)
-Keyboard is somewhat flexible
Conlusion: Overall, this is a great all purpose laptop that provides a decent bang for you buck! It has well rounded specs and features making it a suitable multi-media laptop. If you aren't pleased with the base model, you can upgrade to really unleash the beast!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product--fast and capacious

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great laptop. I got it configured with the upgraded NVIDIA card, and extra disk cache. I chose the standard monitor rather than the upgraded HDMI resolution monitor because for the $150 it was cheaper to get an external Hi-def monitor. I got the HP 2311, which is great. The only thing I would caution about is the display--it definitely has a bluish cast. Many gray items come out as some shade of blue-gray. Not a major problem unless you're doing a lot of color matching on photos. The HP2311 is an LED monitor which has much more accurate color. The laptops almost all use florescent bulbs, hence the bluish cast. Overall, a great PC at a great price! Thanks HP!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great Tech, But SEVERELY Flawed

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My expectations for this laptop were extremely high as I had customized it to high specifications. It included the 3rd Gen 2.6 gHz Processor (with 8 MB L3 cache), 750 GB 7200 RPM Hybrid HDD, 2 GB GEFORCE NVIDIA GT 650M graphics card, 8 GB of DDR3 RAM, wireless with bluetooth, backlit keyboard (which looked nice, but lacked any brightness controls), Optic drive with blu-ray reader, the fingerprint scanner (which is an awesome feature) and lastly the Anti-glare full HD 15.6 inch screen.
I received the laptop before the estimated delivery date which was great and used it for a few days until some problems started to arise. First off, some of the reviews about this computer have already noted the vast amount of drivers that need to be installed. The question as to why all these drivers need to be installed/updated when the computer is brand new (where everything should already be pre-installed) remains a complete and total mystery to me. All i know is that they are all "required."
I brushed this off though and hulked through all the drivers, and began to use the computer for what I intended, like gaming and work. It performed flawlessly until about 2 days later. The left clicker on the trackpad became loose, the molding around the sides of the laptop became squeaky and movable, and perhaps the worst was that I got the infamous blue screen of death, that's right, a blue screen (on a brand new laptop). The build quality on the laptop is without a doubt not the best by any means.
Once again (for the last time) i forgived the computer and restarted it. It started up fine and began to start some work. I left the computer idle for about 15 minutes and when i returned, the computer had an error screen saying that the laptop has no operating system. And at this point I think you might already know what happened next.
My final word on this laptop is what I initially stated in my summary. It's a new computer on the market with great, impressive features and a sleek look. But under the hood, the real story is told. With build quality issues, the endless amount of drivers, and errors that completely reduce the prestige of a good looking laptop, it's a flawed computer that probably needs an update itself.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My HP DV6 i7 is perfect!

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oconomowoc, WI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The performance of this laptop with the 3rd generation i7 processor is so much more then what I expected. The HP setup was simple, straight forward, and so much cleaner then I have experienced with other manufacturers. So far all of the features such as bluetooth, and WiDi have simply worked without any fuss or needing to tweak! I can now play Skyrim in Utimate quality and don't notice any slow down or stutters in the action. I have only had this laptop for a few weeks, so I can't talk about its longevity, but it does appear made to last. My wife loves the back lit keyboard...I no longer need the lights on to use it! I am definitely an HP customer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Many features for the price.

PostedJune 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great computer for the price. Was able to get all of the features I wanted at a very reasonable cost. Not as light as ultrabook, but more HD storage and very quick startup with SSD cache.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth Technology

PostedJune 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Linden, New Jersey
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works like a charm. Smooth, fast, quiet, state of the art, attractive looking, sleekly designed and high performance are just a few of the words I can use to describe this, my latest HP laptop. I feel as though I have reached a plateau in laptop ownership with this product. I already know it is Windows 8 capable and the way it runs Windows 7 is smooth, smooth, smooth. Thank you Intel, Nvidia and HP.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product, Great Performance

PostedJune 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sterling Heights, MI
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Though the HP Pavilion is a standard consumer laptop you can't do much better than the new i7 Ivy Bridge processor. The computer is fast and handles everything I can throw at it marvelously, I upgraded to the 2GB Nvidia Graphics and can run The Witcher 2 and Crysis on High settings, making this a great gaming laptop. The laptop itself is solidly built, the only complaint I would have is the Disc-Drive is slightly misaligned, making it feel a little loose, but other than that it works great, looks great and hopefully will last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Laptop worth buy

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Connecticut
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good combination of performance and features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cleveland, OH
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this laptop for application development purposes and personal use. I probably spend more than what I needed but I am really happy I made this choice. I previously own an I5 but this completely blows it out of the water. It's very fast. The design is slick, the keyboard is comfortable and it looks really nice. I did notice the disc drive is not flush and sticks out very slightly. I believe another reviewer had the same issue so I"m glad it's not just me. At first I was bother by it, but it's not that bad. Very good laptop.!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, Usable, and Fast

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This AMD quad core laptop is the king of all laptops. It has great AMD A8 radeon graphics and good speakers and is VERY FAST. It is also good for gaming, multitasking, and surfing the web. I love the fingerprint reader too. I bumped the computer once and guess what protacted the Hard Drive, HP protectsmart! The cooling system never fails. It does take quit a bit of power. It has a good 500+ gigabytes of memory. I love the windows 7 that comes with it too.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boulder, CO
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Upgraded from an older HP dv1000. What a difference! This quad core screams and the ergonomics are great. Highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big bang for your money

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had the laptop for about a week so far, and its awesome! Battery lasts about 5.5 to 6 hours of web browsing. If your playing games(dead island, minecraft, bf3) or watching blurays it will last about 3.5 - 4 hours. I opted for the gt 650m with 1g dedicated memory graphics card, it can play newer games at medium-high, to high settings without a issue. Overall its extremely well balanced between battery life, gaming, and entertainment. Great for College
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The screen broke after 10 minutes!

PostedJune 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
It is difficult to review this computer since my screen spontaneously broke after about 10 minutes of use while sitting idly on a table.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid mobile power

PostedJune 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far I am very pleased with my buy. With the new 3rd gen ivy bridge processor and the Nvidia GeForce GPU this computer can run almost anything near full settings. As far as i can tell i have yet to reach the full processing potential even with games like skyrim on max settings. As far as I have determined there are only 2 major bottlenecks in the overall product. The default hard drive is on 5400 rpm which is ok but I definitely recommend the mSSD option. The other is the cooling. I dont have so much trouble with it since I keep my laptop table clean and give the laptop alot of room but even then when the GPU gets taxed heavily It will still get to very high temperatures.I am a college student who last year used a 14" laptop which while very light and portable did not have the power to meet all my requirements. A 17.3 would be too big but this size(15.6) is a nice size while still having incredible power. Battery life is actually better than my old 14" since the new i7 processors trigate transistors reduce power consumption immensly. Combined with intel turbo boost system and the fact that the computer uses integrated graphics to save power when the full GPU is not needed I have been able to run my computer on battery for 6-7 hours which is very impressive for the power of the computer. Of course when i start gaming i plug in since at high stress i dont expect it to last but that is to be expected. The overall look is very nice the umber black with silver trim looks cool and even the fan exhaust looks very nice. Very solid chassis with little flex. Since I will be carrying it around college and what not I did get the extended accidental warranty which i think is a good idea given the price and the location. Overall I think this is a very good buy. getting these specs on other brands will cost you much more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dead on Arrival

PostedJune 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I originally ordered the prior model laptop with the I7, and Radeon GPU; and I ended up having to return it once the GPU chip starting malfunctioning. I woul get blue screens 3 out of 5 times using the laptop. The build quality was great as were the specs, but you do not expect to have problems with a new unit. The HP customer was great they offered to send me one of the new Dv6t-7000 with the Ivy Bridge, and I was really surprised at their efforts to take care of my situation. The new replacement got here on Monday, and was dead on arrival. It showed the dreaded no readable disk or hard drive error. I was a bit surprised as well with the build quality as the prior version, seemed to be a bit better thought out an put together. The Blue-Ray drive doo in particular was loose, and just seemed to not seat properly. At this point, I have returned the laptop, and am waiting on a full refund from HP. I have to give them kudo for great CSR's but the product itself was a bit underwhelming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.