HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC

HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.173 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(370 reviews) 370
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 370 reviews
5 Stars
203
4 Stars
100
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
24
1 Star
24
306 out of 370(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Startup, lots of settings, beats audio, etc.

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:OR
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well basically, the first three things that really stand out are:
- Quick Startup
The startup is so fast, it literally takes around two seconds to get to the login page, and then about five seconds to load all the startup programs, and be ready for use.
- Lots of settings
I really like how I can adjust the settings for almost all of my things! Such as my graphics card, touch pad, audio, and just everything else in general.
- Beats Audio!!
Did you see that it comes with Beats audio? That means, top-of-the-line audio, that is louder that the speakers of an iphone/itouch/ipad, and just as loud as having speakers. I love to play music, and making it extra loud to my liking. :) Beats audio, in my opinion, was a great idea to put into a laptop!
Last but not least, I really liked the performance. While I sometimes have internet connection problems, that is NOT the wireless card or the computer, but it is because of how far i am from my wireless router. I can game like none other with my Nvidia Geforce GT 650m 2gb graphics card, and Core 17.
Also, being a student, I do a lot of school on it, and was glad that Microsoft Word 2010 was only $70, with a $40 discount.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the one.

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Midwest
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently received the dv6t as a birthday gift.
The difference about this gift is that I was actively involved in picking it out.
I looked and looked and looked and compared and compared and compared.
Really, I went overboard in the looking and comparison game but I knew I was
going to be living with this laptop for a good while.
I compared benchmarks for the dedicated graphics card as well as for the the processor.
I compared ssd's to hypbrid's to 7200 drives.
I compared screen size, screen resolution, backlit keys, bluray to multi-drives,
and on and on.
I looked carefully at some 15z models and determined that they are decidely underpowered
when evaluating benchmarks.
I looked on ebay, amazon, and others.
What I found is that HP had the best price.
And, they had the best machine to suit all of my needs. It is perfect in every way.
No complaints whatsoever.
While there are other features I would add, no other machine currently has them so
you can't complain about that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good laptop at an excellent price

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Clarence, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very pleased with this laptop. I shopped for features (CPU, RAM, Hard Drive) and price, and this was the best combination I could find from a reliable company. I was very pleased when I realized it had a fingerprint scanner, which I've never used before. This is a dream, given the many passwords I have to manage. I'm happy with this laptop and recommend it to others as long as it remains available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My HP DV6 i7 is perfect!

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oconomowoc, WI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The performance of this laptop with the 3rd generation i7 processor is so much more then what I expected. The HP setup was simple, straight forward, and so much cleaner then I have experienced with other manufacturers. So far all of the features such as bluetooth, and WiDi have simply worked without any fuss or needing to tweak! I can now play Skyrim in Utimate quality and don't notice any slow down or stutters in the action. I have only had this laptop for a few weeks, so I can't talk about its longevity, but it does appear made to last. My wife loves the back lit keyboard...I no longer need the lights on to use it! I am definitely an HP customer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what the doctor ordered.

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a linux admin that also has to live in the Corporate Windows world. With this laptop -- I have a processor (QUAD CORE I-7 with 8 threads) and enough RAM (16gig) and enough storage (750 gig) to do everything I need on my laptop. I run several virtual machines in Virtual Box on top of the Windows 7 build that I got the laptop with. This is by far the most versatile laptop I have found. The laptop monitor is excellent and I have used it for many hours without serious eye fatigue. Well done HP.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compter for the money.

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rochester, MN
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this laptop to replace a refurbished Dell running Windows XP that I have had for 3 years. I definitely wanted something running Windows 7 (can't stand Windows 8) that was powerful enough that I could use it for years without having to upgrade. The Dell had become very sluggish and if I opened 3 internet pages and Outlook I would get the dreaded Norton notification that CPU usage was at a very high level. If I didn't close something, it would eventually freeze and I would have to do a restart. Also, what was supposed to be a full size keyboard on the Dell was impossible to type on with both hands (keys had no spaces between them). The new HP laptop actually has a full size keyboard with the keys spaced and I am typing on it right now using both hands with ease. Out of the box, it had good fit and finish with no apparent assembly problems or damage. Set up was easy, but updating took a while as there were 66 updates to Windows and 79 to Norton Internet security to download and install. I did not pay the extra for a better screen and am glad I didn't. The regular screen is very glossy, but I have found this to be a problem only if the screen is primarily black and this occurs very rarely in regular use. Resolution is fine as far as I am concerned. Wifi connected easily and download speed is twice what it was on my old Dell (measured with Cnet internet speed test). Pages load extremely fast. Beats Audio is OK, but I guess I was expecting more from the raving some reviewers have done about how "It fills the room with high grade audio that rivals a good shelf system". As far as gaming goes, I can't speak to that as I am not a gamer. I got this computer for its power, features, and Windows 7, not gaming. I ordered this during the Labor Day sale which made it a good price. It arrived at my home one day before it was supposed to be shipped. Currently I am very satisfied with this computer, but will certainly let you know of any problems.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Far so Good

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ga
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loving this laptop. Best performance laptop I owned from HP. The 32gb of SSD cache makes the laptop fast. Fast boot up and launches programs quickly. I love the Anti-Glare 1080p screen, it has great viewing angles. I had upgraded to the backlit keyboard and I absolutely love it. My only complain is that upon receiving it, it did not have the Simple pass software installed, which is was odd, but I downloaded it from the HP website and worked perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ding on Lid

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Willow Street Pa. 17585
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was anxious to receive my HP Pavilion dv6t Quad Edition PC which was shipped in timely manner. Customer service was great throughout the process. When the laptop arrived from China I open the box to take the laptop out of plastic sleeve only to see there was a ding on the lid. Very disappointed in there quality control at the factory. I must add that this was not the result of shipping. The box had no damage whatsoever and laptop was packed correctly. I immediately called HP to send it back. There was no hesitation on there part to return the laptop. I was concerned that they would think that it was my fault. My only suggestion to HP is to improve their quality control in China because this was not the result of shipping. I must also say I bought a HP desktop and monitor last December with issues and I am very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke on Day 2

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The laptop was completely fine on day one. On day two, the battery would not charge. There were no software issues, so it had to be a hardware problem.
Hardware issues on day two. On a brand new computer.
Think about that before purchasing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Features, Good Quality

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tucson, AZ
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this Windows 7 laptop after getting a new HP laptop with Windows 8 and returning it because of the frustration with Windows 8. I was concerned about startup time since this has Windows 7, but I was pleasantly surprised that startup is pretty good for this operating software. And, I rarely actually shut off my laptop entirely, and the wakeup time when I open the lid from sleep mode is great - it's basically an instant startup with no wait time. One small complaint is that when waking up from sleep mode, it takes it as much as 30 seconds to reconnect to our wifi. My old HP laptop did the same thing and my husband's new HP Envy laptop does the same thing. I'm not sure if this is an HP thing or not, but out iPads do not have this issue.
I opted for the backlit keyboard upgrade and would recommend that to everyone - it's very inexpensive and makes all the difference when you're working in a room that's not so well lit. The keyboard itself seems very high quality - I don't notice any flex and the keys are very quiet. I also like that the mousepad has the actual left and right mouseclick buttons - my husband's Envy doesn't have this and I find mine easier to use than his. One minor complaint, though, is that the mouse buttons are loud when clicking and have a definite cheap feel and sound when they are clicked.
My fingerprint reader did not work on arrival, but a call to the HP customer service center corrected the problem in about 15 minutes - the SimplePass software was not installed, which they did for me through remote assistance to my laptop.
The finish looks very nice and doesn't seem to be attract dust or fingerprints. It's also quite light for having a CD drive. One of the things I like about it most is how quiet it is - and it also stays very cool. Even when the fan runs, you can barely hear it.
My order was shipped almost a week early, and I received my laptop the day it was originally scheduled for shipment - kudos, HP!
Overall, this is a great laptop and I wouldn't hesitate to buy it again - soglad I was able to snatch up one of the Windows 7 laptops before they were gone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Holding up good so far.

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Alabama
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use this laptop for online school and it is doing great so far. No problems as of yet. Love the feel of the key board, very professional. Thanks, HP. This is the first HP that I've purchased, have been using Dell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Out-of-the-box busted optical drive

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington, D.C.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Regardless of our success with HP products in the past, it is difficult to get excited over a laptop that arrives in a defective condition. One would think that HP would have an intermediate quality control check between China and my house in the States to ensure the unit functions as intended. After two hours on the phone with very polite customer support, I have a replacement optical drive headed my way. Apparently I have to replace it myself. This may sound minor, but I need the drive to install Office and I'm dead in the water until then.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Returned product due to issues

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:miami, florida
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The computer has a nice appearance, not too fancy and not too cheap. Features and performance were average compared to similar models. I returned the laptop after the first day of use.
The fan ran nonstop eventhough the temp was not hot, and it never stopped unless I shut down the computer. The fan was loud compared to other models, and I cannot work with a noisy fan in a quiet room.
I was also unimpressed with the Beats audio. I felt that the audio was actually worse than my old laptop. I could also see some dots on the display. I am not sure if they were dead pixels or something. Therefore, I decided to return the laptop, and buy a new one elsewhere.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A solid laptop PC

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Herndon, VA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The PC came exactly as ordered from HP, on the delivery schedule promised, and in perfect condition. The installation and setup processes were straight-forward and worked flawlessly. I was surprised that, while I ordered a Microsoft Office suite with my laptop, it came uninstalled on a separate disc. Installing it was easy, but I could not get the on-line MS activation to work, so I had to resort to the backup method of telephone activation - which worked fine. As you'd expect, I needed to download nearly 900Mb of updates from Microsoft and other installed products. I was surprised that Microsoft Security Essentials was not installed. Like most PCs these days, this one came with a ton of unwanted software trial products that needed to be uninstalled. I wish there were a check-the-box option from HP so you could order a laptop without these. Completing the full configuration went smoothly, although it took more than 5 hours elapsed time to write the HP backup discs. Once you're through with the installation, setup, and configuration of your own apps and settings, the laptop runs well. It boots quickly, performs well under heavy loads, and operates flawlessly. So I'm happy with my laptop and would buy it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

dysfunctional screen

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Appleton Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
My old computer crashed. I waited nearly 3 weeks for delivery for the Hp I ordered. When I received it I noticed immediately that the screen didn't look good. It was tinted aqua and was pixely. As soon as I touched the lid, the movement of the hinge caused the screen to fill with rolling vertical lines. Your customer service was nice and I am being sent another laptop but I am disappointed with another lengthy wait and worry about the quality of HP laptops.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Overall Quality

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Buffalo, NY
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The quality that you get is worth any price. I love the screen that comes with it. It is so clear that I prefer to watch movies and TV on it instead of my tv. The processor is fast and the storage is large enough to hold all of my college papers, work papers, games, and much more. I highly recommend this laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Birthday present

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texoma, Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was a birthday present for my wife. She outgrew her Dell with Vista OS, and this upgrade was long overdue. Memory, processor, and cache upgrades, in my opinion, are worth the few extra bucks. Setup was fast, and with Windows 7, it was easy! My wife is very happy with it--and when my wife is happy.....I'm happy!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent buy!

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chardon, OH
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my new HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Notebook. The configuration I have has the 32GB solid state cache and it runs like a bandit. Boot time is well under a minute from power on to ready to use. Very responsive and has a great keyboard (I have the backlit) - I love the separate numeric keypad. Configuring the system at initial startup was a breeze. Battery life is as advertised. The HD display is beautiful, and color rendition is very accurate.
I'm pretty much an old geek having sold PC back when IBM introduced the first one with floppy disks, but I haven't needed any of my technical expertise to set up this laptop. This HP Notebook replaced a Sony VAIO that I loved, but it died after 20 months and no replacement parts were available! But I did get my money back because I had purchased a 2 year extended warranty. So I bought a 3 year on my new HP laptop.
I highly recommend this Notebook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cursor jumps

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The computer has been good, one issue is that the cursor jumps sometimes. Maybe I am touching the trackpad? Not sure how to turn it off, or if there is another issue
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Features

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Puget Sound, WA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've only have had the computer for a few weeks but I really think the features and quality of the computer is excellent. The back lit keyboard is great and it is nice to have the numeric keyboard, the computer loads quickly and is pretty quiet, it's light to carry, but best of all it runs Windows 7.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 to next page>>