HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC

HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.294 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(119 reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 119 reviews
5 Stars
75
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
5
1 Star
7
105 out of 119(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It didn't work

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fresno, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Dead on arrival. The laptop would not boot. I had to get authorization to return it and then order another one. Still awaiting the arrival of the replacement order.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hard drive issue

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very bad computer, issue with hard drive and customer service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This is the worst computer I have ever purchased

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Do Not Buy. I own several HP computers and this one is terrible.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

STAY AWAY

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
SLOW!!!
Got Boot error on the first day when i tried to install fresh windows on it (it was a bit slow). Unfortunately I was busy and decided to use it as is. Now the computer is super slow, my 3 year old laptop is faster than this one, and i still cant get a fresh windows installed because of some bios problem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I hope they are usually good. Mine wasn't

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Near Seattle
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Entertainment Notebook PC with Windows 7 Pro arrived on a recent Friday, and I spent about 45 hours updating Windows and other features on the computer. Why in the world HP sends out a computer that so out of date on the software is beyond me.
The first sign that something was wrong was when I called in to ask tech support about some buggy software and poor instructions, the man just could not believe that I had the model number and password that I had. His English was okay, but I had to repeat everything six times. He finally said I had one year warranty and I said I've got a package right here beside the computer that tells me that I paid for three years of warranty.
Well I had to keep calling back to the tech support because of more bugs in their software or instructions that didn't work, and one of the tech support people wanted to do remote assistance, but every time I clicked on it I got a blue screen of death. This ended up with her spending about four hours with me on the phone and reloading everything into the computer again from scratch, perhaps twice. Of course that made all my hours of updating Windows everything toast. And it pretty much blew what was left of Saturday. So I spent Sunday trying to get everything updated again, but the first thing I did Monday morning gave me yet another blue screen of death and I decided that there was just some kind of hardware problem in that particular computer. Since I bought it to take out of the country on a one-year trip to Europe, and getting anything fixed while your traveling is a nightmare you just don't need. I wanted a new computer. Not just new to me, but NEW! But, several times when I was trying to tell them the model and serial number of my computer the tech support people said that's an old number. The warranty has expired. Perhaps that is why the software took so long to update. It really was an old computer. So, for that and other reasons I sent it back and expect that they will refund all of my money. If they do not I will become very memorable.
All of the support people that I worked with certainly appeared to be doing everything they could to help me, but the number of incredibly terrible mistakes in HP bookkeeping, HP software, HP instructions... Has HP gone brain-dead since the last one I've bought?
Response from HPBy HP Customer ServiceHP Customer ServiceFebruary 27, 2013
We are sorry to hear you are experiencing issues with your new PC. Please call HP Customer Service at 1-888-650-1544 and one of our agents will be able to assist you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Happier with Windows XP

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Vancouver Wa
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Within the first 12 hours of use, computer crashed no fewer than 3 times. Customer Service was helpful and found an update that did fix the problem. However, still experiencing problems with the factory installed software, including Outlook, Microsoft Office and Internet Explorer. Frequent keyboard lockups are commonplace. Happy with the look, feel and features installed on the computer, but so far I am not impressed with Windows 7. I ordered this option instead of Windows 8 knowing that the initial review of W8 was not favorable. But my experience with this machine and Windows 7 after the first week of use has me questioning moving off of my old XP machines, which, although somewhat slow and significantly dated, are much more reliable.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania, USA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Laptop just didn't compare favorably with other offerings in the marketplace. There are better values among other vendors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't bother

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Concord, NH
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this product because I needed a laptop with Windows 7. The unit is attractive but startup is painfully slow - 4+ minutes from startup to user screen. Connection to the internet is dreadful -- my 11 year old Dell connects faster. The wireless mouse is erratic. I made the BIG mistake of ordering the Student version of Office (No Access or Publisher, which I need). I have an HP Envy PC and I love it, which I why I went back to HP for the laptop. My grandson needs a new laptop but I will not be recommending this version.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Died in 10 days

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Montana
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The customizable machine has nice features; fast performance, comes with 6 MB RAM, great graphics with a good-sized screen (separate graphics memory), full-sized, (optional) back-lit keyboard. However, it died about 10 days after delivery; we suspect the hard drive - thus, the bad performance rating. After working with Customer Service it has been returned and we await a new machine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poorly constructed

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Corvallis, OR
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had this computer for 6 months. Within the first month the trackpad started peeling. Then I set a textbook down on top of the closed computer and now there's a permanent bright spot on the bottom corner of the screen. One day I was watching a movie and noticed that the speaker on the right side rattles even when the sound is turned down low. Also, the CD drive rattled because the piece that attaches the outer piece to the computer randomly broke. I'm very disappointed because I almost never use this computer and its falling apart! It crashes ALL the time too. Now I'm a broke college student and this computer has to last me at least another 3 1/2 years.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Product poor

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Homosassa, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Touchpad/mouse diver is poor had to download a new driver and it still dosen't operate properly. Fingerprint scanner worked poorly, disabled, and still couldn't, get the scanner prompt to disappear. Seemed like every setup issue had a problem. Everything is operating now but the mouse and touchpad are off an on. Entering this from my iPad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

great product but had a @problem

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I got this laptop and in few hours I encountered a problm with startup. the startup was takIng more than 5 mIn just to get through windows logo. and wrlcome screen stayed for 1-2 mIn. and after complete start up there was a freezIng tIme of 4 mIn. after thIs thIs laptop worked perfectly fIned. so I am gettIng It replaced and new one should be com Ing In soon
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Many software problems

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Punta Gorda, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Software originally loaded didn't belong on this laptop. Screensaver would not work. HP couldn't get it to work, so they sent me a set of recovery discs. First disc would not boot, so with another telephone call, we manually forced it to boot. After software is loaded, the new software offers me a fingerprint for passwords, which the previous software didn't offer, and everything is working fine except now it won't take my product key for office that I purchased. Will have to make another telephone call.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Too Impressed...

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jackson, MS
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The volume buttons are weird and don't really work regardless of what level it's at on the screen. Other buttons like locking the touch pad doesn't react well. The startup is a little slow when restarting the computer or just opening up the internet browser. It's already making weird volume noises like it's frozen and I've had it only about a month. This just makes me miss my old HP more...Not impressed at all and I actually wish I chose a different one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Black Screen of Death-DON'T BUY!

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Huntsville, AL
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After less than 6 months of use my computer has been affected by the infamous HP black screen of death (wish I had known about this issue before I bought it).
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Laptop - Bad Buy

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Pavilion dv6t-7000 looks like a good laptop when you look at its specs but after using it and getting to know it it isn't all that great.
There are a lot of pros to add here but i'd rather focus on the cons which usually affect your decision to buy the product more than the pros.
Cons:
- Crashes once every couple weeks. After crash some system files such as explorer.exe or sound driver malfunction.
- "Beats Audio". A useless marketing gimmick that only messes with your computer's sound. beats audio is simply an equalizer that increases bass and when disabled, changes your sound properties to the LOWEST QUALITY tricking people into thinking beats audio is actually making the sound better.
- comes with a bunch of bloatwares (softwares that come with the computer).
-overheats even when on a table
Bottom Line:
Do yourself a favor and buy some lenovo or asus laptop that will actually work and not just look good on paper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product does not deliver to old HP standards

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Deltona, Fl
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This product in the first days of use gave the message 'internet explorer has detected an error and will close'. The touch pad is not consistently responsive and the system at times changes web pages without my input. The pointing device stopped working/froze 2/26. While at home in Florida this week (3/2/2013). Wireless internet service in this area is not great with my provider but my old dsektop and laptop with XP operating system would connect to the internet but my new notebook would not connect. If I had the option I would restore my old laptop Pavilion dv5000, s/n CND60413KD, P/N ES311UA#ABA and return my new notebook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The features are good,but not the quality.

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
After one week delayed than expectation,I got this laptop.I found it was easy to use,like the simplepass founction,speaker was great.one thing was upset : arround lower right corner of the key board,3 to 4 keys were different with others when typing,they felt much loose and hollow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

above average

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chula Vista, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
slower than my old one. Seems to load updates EVERY time I switch is on, so delay starting. Nice to find the "b" is normal and not colored red inverse :( The beats "b" is off the keyboard :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product is average.

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The i3 processor isn't much faster than an older Intel processor that I've used, and it's a bit heavy for everyday travel to/from school/office. However, the backlit keyboard is great, the size is good for entertainment, the keyboard is a nice size, and the setup is really easy. Overall, I got pretty much what I was wiling to pay for, and I'd recommend this model to someone who doesn't need a whole lot of processing power. Works ok so far with the electrophysiogical data that I process.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.