HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC

HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.294 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(119 reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 119 reviews
5 Stars
75
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
5
1 Star
7
105 out of 119(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beats Audio blows away the DELL

PostedMay 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
I compared the HP dv6t series against the DELL inspirion series and the biggest difference is the Beats Audio system on the HP. Whoa, it completely blew away DELL's audio system ... not even a contest ... it is 3 times louder and much more clear. Impressive.
Since Win8 was driving me crazy on machines I've been testing, I ordered this unit with Win7 and I love it. No "surprises" like you get with Win8. I highly recommend the option for "Backlit Keyboard", which can be turned on/off at the touch of the F5 key. Also highly recommend the 32GB Accelerated SSD Cache, which puts your most-used applications in cache for near-instant access. Office apps such as Excel, Word, and Outlook fire up in the blink of an eye, which never happens on my robust laptops at work. The upgrade from 4GB to 6GB of RAM was awesome. The LAST place to try to save money is on RAM. Go ahead and spend the money to bump your RAM up one level. You know you are going to need it some day (it's getting absurd that nearly all Anti-virus programs now suck up an entire 2GB of RAM ... is that really necessary??).
My last upgrade option was a no-brainer: the 9-cell battery instead of the 6-cell. Since the 9-cell is larger, it has the added benefit of slightly elevating the laptop to a perfect angle for typing.
My last recommendation: instead of placing your order via the web site, capture a screen shot of all the features you want and call the site's 800 number for Sales. You will be connected right thru to an American who can explain any technical or feature questions for you, and possibly save you some money.
I asked him, "what would be the best bang amongst these 3 same-price options:
1- Upgrade RAM from 6GB to 8GB.
2- Upgrade Graphics Card.
3- Accelerated 32GB SSD Cache.
He advised #3, because of the blinding speed that applications now appear on my screen. System boot times are really fast also. I plan on keeping this laptop for hopefully 10 years, so that Cache option was money well spent.
Another design aspect I love about this model is that they moved the USB ports to the upper right side corner. Many other models have the USB ports in the lower right corner, which really interferes with your mouse movements when the mouse and a thumb drive are plugged in to those slots in the lower right. Moving them to the upper right corner solves that problem! The lower right is now used for the DVD tray, which doesn't interfere with the mouse because the tray is rarely in the open position. This alignment should be an industry standard by now, duh.
Enjoy.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all-around machine

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hanover, PA
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Out of the box set-up was fast and easy. Browsing the internet is a breeze, downloads are fast, and Watching media is great with Beats audio and HD screen. I opted for an upgrade to the i3 processor and Nvidia GeForce graphics for a little extra power with gaming. I'm not a hardcore gamer but the Nvidia Geforce graphics were a must for me and other brands did not allow me to mix and match the way HP does.
Expecting it to be bulky, I had originally intended to keep the laptop at home but in reality it's really light and easy to carry. Battery life is great and performance is not hindered at all when running on battery. You'll also never know its working hard because its so quiet. All the essential hook-ups are there including HDMI. To top it off, the design looks sharp and is well constructed. By far a great value and great for a variety of applications.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bloomington, IN
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I customized my laptop and it cost just over $1000. It runs smoothly, battery life is good but if you really want to get the most out of the laptop get both a 6 cell and a 9 cell battery because the 6 cell (even brand new) doesn't go more than 4 hours. It runs all the games smoothly. The beats sound bar performs great for a laptop speaker. The fingerprint scanner is accurate and a nice and easy way to unlock your laptop. I would highly recommend this laptop to anyone.
My Specs:
i5 2.5ghz processor
6gb DDR3
640gb hard drive
backlit keyboard
650M Graphics card
3 year protection/1 year accidental
bluetooth
6 cell and a 9 cell battery
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sleek, vibrant, just what I needed.

PostedMay 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Northern California
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the price, this is the best Windows 7 PC money can buy at the moment, and likely ever. I was looking for a laptop for med school and had the choice of either finding a PC that fit their minimum specs or a macbook pro. After a few days research and comparing countless laptops, this is the one to beat. I spent around $900 total including all the upgrades I wanted along with 2-day shipping & tax, and could not find another laptop that was anywhere near as cheap. I have no complaints about the product yet: startup was fast, key presses feel responsive, speakers were loud and clear.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very fast, sleek looking.

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer is fantastic. I had been wanting a laptop with more performance for a while, my last laptop had a 1 core processor and 2gb of RAM, so this was a big step up. I ordered it with the 2nd gen i5 processor, and I haven't been able to get it to lag yet (although I don't play games on my laptop). I use the laptop mostly for personal use, listen to a lot of music on it, and lately have been hooking it up to my TV with an HDMI cable and using it as an extended projector, so I can watch youtube or something on my TV and browse on my laptop.
As for listening to music, the speakers aren't the best, even for Beats audio. Thats because I found out that the Beats audio is more for the soundcard, and really shows its true colors with headphones. And I can tell the difference, using the same pair of $60 skullcandy's on this and my old laptop there is a major difference. I love listening to music on this laptop with my headphones.
The keyboard layout is good, I can type pretty quick on it, but I hate number pads, I never use them and to me it just takes up space. I would rather have the keyboard span the length of the laptop (thats how my old laptop was) but oh well. The number keys will sit there unused. The keys have a very tactile feel to them, I never miss a keystroke and when I really try to type fast, I can type 75-80wpm on this keyboard.
Overall the laptop is great, a bit pricey but I knew I was going to have to spend some money to get what I wanted in a computer. This is a very good looking laptop, all black, Beats Audio logo's, and an HP logo on the back that lights up when you have the computer open. I highly recommend this laptop.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fantastic Deal

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer has everything we were searching for. Easy set up, large screen, great choice in software and it's clean, sleek, robust and up and running quite quickly.
We still have to phone in to activate Word, but that's really not a big problem.
This computer is great for editing photos, work/Excel, surfing the web, social networking, gaming and nearly anything else you could hope for. The difference between this computer and our Mac is not just price, (the Mac *does* offer some things this laptop does not) but it's totally worth the money, and a great working computer.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A strong little workhorse for the road

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm very happy with my decision to purchase the HP Pavilion dv6t-7000... After days of online research and benchmark studies and weight vs size vs performance struggles, I found that this machine meets all the needs for someone that, like myself, needs performance that doesn't weigh a ton! At 6 lbs it's still a little heavier than I wanted, but it's a good compromise because of its other advantages.
What will I use this machine for? I am an IT manager (I mention this just to point out that I am a picky pc/laptop purchaser!). I am a gamer: this is by no means a gaming laptop purchase, but I have to admit that it runs TERA online wonderfully. I am a photoshopper / free-lance web designer: will be working with illustrator, photoshop, and dreamweaver on this baby. Language Learner: I mention this because Rosetta Stone has been installed on it, and the laptops external mic doesn't seem to pick up sound properly and i HAVE to use the headset (or maybe I'm just terrible at French!). I will soon be a globe-trotter / blogger: this laptop packs a punch for all my on-the-road needs. At 6 lbs and some, it's really an excellent deal.
Biggest selling points for me:
-matte (anti-glare) screen option. Worth every penny!
-weighs around 6 lbs.
-was able to order it with Windows 7
-upgrade the video card from the stock intel hd 4000 option
-full keyboard (with backlit option if you want)
-SD card reader: yes
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It does not disappoint

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Orlando, FL
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would be willing to pay more if I had to based on the available features and the quality of the build. Unless you're doing some serious hardcore gaming. This laptop is for you. Why arent you clicking the Buy Now button yet?
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Computer Is everything I expected

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dalals, TX
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I chose this computer because I wanted something that didn't cost that much but was still quality. Once I chose this computer I made customizations so I ended up with the same capabilities as a much pricier computer but for less. This computer exceeded my expectations and I recommended it. The only drawbacks is that it does attract finger prints , && if you get adobe check it because mines crashed a lot. I also recommended getting the back lit keypad. The computer is moderately light. It's a great investment for college students. The finger print reader is only good for loging in to the computer other than that you have to set up what site you want the finger print reader to go to when you slide your finger. It doesn't automatically login to sites for you it only goes automatically to the sites based on what you programmed it to.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good quality laptop for the price

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I want to start off by saying that HP has coupons out often to save customers money on their purchases.
I have been a Dell owner all of my life. I have had several Dell desktops and a Dell laptop. I decided to change brands, did all of my research, and ended up with this HP laptop.
It's got a sturdy design like it can withstand drops and falls. It appeals to the eye with a great black and metallic black design and the widescreen really is what seals the deal for me. I think the beats audio is all hype. It's just OK. The fingerprint scanner was a nice surprise, I didn't realize it came with this PC. The only negative thing about this laptop is that I feel the processor on my old Dell ran much quicker and more efficiently than the one on this PC. my advice, upgrade to the i5 or i7 if your wallet will allow. Some applications and programs seem to lag, otherwise this is an overall good PC.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely love it!

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As a college student you always want to get the biggest bang for your buck. Buying this computer and upgrading some things definitely cost a little more than one who may budget for a pre-assembled computer, but was definitely worth it. I upgraded the processor and a few other things and the performance of this computer is beyond belief. No issues with it thus far, very few unwanted bloatware programs. I was nervous mostly about the size, I thought 15.6 would be too big for college but I was wrong. This is absolutely perfect. The only downside is the low battery life, although I don't use it away from my desk too often. Buy it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome music player

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop is the best laptop for music and playing game that look good in HD because this laptop hase THE BEST HD IN THE WORLD
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laptop

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Jose, CA
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this laptop for over a year (June 2012), and it's great. I have had no problems with it at all except the heat. That's understandable though as I was playing games and had set stuff to medium. Not much pre installed software, and if there is, just delete it. My Specs :
Intel i7-3610qm
Nvidia Geforce GT 610m
1TB HDD @5400rpm
fingerprint reader
and a Bluray drive
Con: It was rather slow due to the 5400rpm HDD so I deleted some of the stock programs and popped in an SDHC card and used it to readyboost. Now my PC loads in less than 30 seconds.
Overall it's a great laptop for school, entertainment, and multitasking. Highly recommend it :D
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

complete satisfaction!!

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:sarasota, fl
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love my HP dv6t. Easy to use. No problems at all with anything. Love the mousepad and so glad it came with Windows 7. As usual, once again, I'm satisfied with HP products.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent machine, gets the job done

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Get ready for an informative review.
My specs:
- i5-3210M
- NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
- 1920 x 1080 Display
- Backlit Keyboard
I've had this laptop for 8 months. It arrived directly from China without a scratch or a dent, it was beautiful. The full-HD screen is lovely as well, definitely worth the upgrade. The dedicated NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M is a GDDR5 instead of a DDR3 which is a plus. The dedicated card allows me to play graphic extensive games such as Sims 3 on max settings and Tomb Raider on medium (still looks flawless). As a gamer, I wouldn't have gone for HP if it weren't for the availability of Windows 7. During my purchase, there were literally non-existent laptops of Windows 7 with a strong dedicated graphics card anywhere except HP.
Cons:
- Beats Audio does receive credit for being wonderful but I do have audio problems at times, especially when on Youtube, for some reason the sound will disappear for a video but after refreshing it'll come back.
- After 2 months of purchase, a random popping sound began within the laptop (this happens 1-2 times a day, unexpectedly, even to this day), the sound lasts for roughly 2 seconds. I've contacted tech support and they said it could possibly be a hard drive problem and I'll need to send it in to get it checked. Only once had I turned on my laptop to find I had a serious hard drive failure (similar to black screen of death, so bad that data recovery was said to be impossible) but a miracle saved it when I restarted the laptop.
- This laptop, HP laptops in general, suffer from overheating (as someone mentioned, even on the table). I can't play my graphic intensive games without reaching 90 Celsius. On a 15.6" notebook, there should be at least two cooling fans instead of one.
- The keyboard is a finger print magnet but that's forgivable, my last HP dv6 model didn't even come with a number pad.
- Loads of bloatware.
I don't know if I can edit my review to include more things, if so I'll be sure to update.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It didn't work

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fresno, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Dead on arrival. The laptop would not boot. I had to get authorization to return it and then order another one. Still awaiting the arrival of the replacement order.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't bother

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Concord, NH
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this product because I needed a laptop with Windows 7. The unit is attractive but startup is painfully slow - 4+ minutes from startup to user screen. Connection to the internet is dreadful -- my 11 year old Dell connects faster. The wireless mouse is erratic. I made the BIG mistake of ordering the Student version of Office (No Access or Publisher, which I need). I have an HP Envy PC and I love it, which I why I went back to HP for the laptop. My grandson needs a new laptop but I will not be recommending this version.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Decent Customized Win7 Laptop

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Good -
Backlit keyboard, quad core, fast boot, strong & stable wifi, good cooling, fingerprint reader, Win7.
The Not So Good -
Certain parts are plastic and does not feel sturdy, like the cap of the ethernet port. DVD drive is flimsy, especially as it slides out. You definitely have to take extra care in handling the laptop. Nothing great with Beats Audio, just okay.
The Bad -
It arrived with a small scratch on the right side of the touch pad, very disappointing.
The Unexpected -
I ordered a dedicated 2GB GPU because I didn't want onboard graphics. I've had issues with onboard graphics in my older HP laptop. Did not expect the laptop to come with dual GPUs. I do realize having 2 GPUs is great for battery life...it's just that I didn't sign up for it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the $

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I researched different brands and options for a laptop to meet requirements of my new job. The dv6t-7000 was the best package I could find for my needs and budget.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Good

PostedMay 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ga
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was a replacement laptop for my m6, and must say it's pretty good. Set-up was easy, and booting is fast. I highly recommend getting the 32Gb of SSD Cache. So glad I got this laptop with windows 7 since, I read bad reviews about 8. The design is good and the back-lit keyboard is a must. The only thing that's a bit annoying is that sometimes a program gets the not responding message for about 15 seconds. The sound is OK, i had an issue with it at the beginning, but after downloading a driver, the issue was solved. I love the HP SIMPLE PASS reader, it's really easy to log in easily. What I'm also disappointed is in the screen resolution, which is 720p, but other than that this is a pretty good laptop for a college student.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.