HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC

HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.294 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(119 reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 119 reviews
5 Stars
75
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
5
1 Star
7
105 out of 119(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a great all around laptop

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Queens, NY
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just bought this laptop and I've had it for about a week. This is my first laptop. I use it for school. I added the i5 processor, 750gb HDD, 9-cell battery and the backlit keyboard. I received it at my door 14 days after placing my order (w/ standard shipping). So far so good. I would recommend the extended battery, to avoid the hassle of having to charge it wherever you go. I'm an average user and so far I havent had to charge it yet within a few days of use. I use this laptop for school. The only downside is that it might be a little too heavy for travel. However, its large size does allow for better cooling. I love the number keypad. The sound system is very good too, and loud!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pc

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:seymour,mo.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I only buy HP stuff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Many software problems

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Punta Gorda, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Software originally loaded didn't belong on this laptop. Screensaver would not work. HP couldn't get it to work, so they sent me a set of recovery discs. First disc would not boot, so with another telephone call, we manually forced it to boot. After software is loaded, the new software offers me a fingerprint for passwords, which the previous software didn't offer, and everything is working fine except now it won't take my product key for office that I purchased. Will have to make another telephone call.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Meets my needs

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had bought a Lenovo, but returned it in favor of getting another HP Pavilion. The reasons are not technical in nature, but rather ease of use and design. These are the features I needed:
Power supply on the right side of the laptop
Large Shift, Enter and Backspace keys (On the Lenovo, I was constantly hitting an arrow key when shifting)
Backlit keyboard (which I could get on the Pavilion by ordering from the Home Store.)
Windows 7
My last Pavilion laptop lasted a long time and in the end, decided another one was just what I needed.
The Home Store folks are very helpful in assessing one's needs and in customizing where possible.
Very happy with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good machine

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well worth the money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laptop

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Jose, CA
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this laptop for over a year (June 2012), and it's great. I have had no problems with it at all except the heat. That's understandable though as I was playing games and had set stuff to medium. Not much pre installed software, and if there is, just delete it. My Specs :
Intel i7-3610qm
Nvidia Geforce GT 610m
1TB HDD @5400rpm
fingerprint reader
and a Bluray drive
Con: It was rather slow due to the 5400rpm HDD so I deleted some of the stock programs and popped in an SDHC card and used it to readyboost. Now my PC loads in less than 30 seconds.
Overall it's a great laptop for school, entertainment, and multitasking. Highly recommend it :D
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

complete satisfaction!!

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:sarasota, fl
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love my HP dv6t. Easy to use. No problems at all with anything. Love the mousepad and so glad it came with Windows 7. As usual, once again, I'm satisfied with HP products.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent machine, gets the job done

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Get ready for an informative review.
My specs:
- i5-3210M
- NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
- 1920 x 1080 Display
- Backlit Keyboard
I've had this laptop for 8 months. It arrived directly from China without a scratch or a dent, it was beautiful. The full-HD screen is lovely as well, definitely worth the upgrade. The dedicated NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M is a GDDR5 instead of a DDR3 which is a plus. The dedicated card allows me to play graphic extensive games such as Sims 3 on max settings and Tomb Raider on medium (still looks flawless). As a gamer, I wouldn't have gone for HP if it weren't for the availability of Windows 7. During my purchase, there were literally non-existent laptops of Windows 7 with a strong dedicated graphics card anywhere except HP.
Cons:
- Beats Audio does receive credit for being wonderful but I do have audio problems at times, especially when on Youtube, for some reason the sound will disappear for a video but after refreshing it'll come back.
- After 2 months of purchase, a random popping sound began within the laptop (this happens 1-2 times a day, unexpectedly, even to this day), the sound lasts for roughly 2 seconds. I've contacted tech support and they said it could possibly be a hard drive problem and I'll need to send it in to get it checked. Only once had I turned on my laptop to find I had a serious hard drive failure (similar to black screen of death, so bad that data recovery was said to be impossible) but a miracle saved it when I restarted the laptop.
- This laptop, HP laptops in general, suffer from overheating (as someone mentioned, even on the table). I can't play my graphic intensive games without reaching 90 Celsius. On a 15.6" notebook, there should be at least two cooling fans instead of one.
- The keyboard is a finger print magnet but that's forgivable, my last HP dv6 model didn't even come with a number pad.
- Loads of bloatware.
I don't know if I can edit my review to include more things, if so I'll be sure to update.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It didn't work

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fresno, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Dead on arrival. The laptop would not boot. I had to get authorization to return it and then order another one. Still awaiting the arrival of the replacement order.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a good product, but has a broken feature

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had my laptop for two weeks now. It seemed to be working fine until I tried to watch a DVD in the CD/DVD drive that I had added to my computer when I ordered it from the HP store. The CD/DVD drive would not read my DVD. When I put it in, nothing happened. It made a few sounds, but it did not play my movie. I am very disappointed that this important feature did not work. I ordered this laptop for college and now I am inconvenienced, by having to order a brand new one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hard drive issue

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very bad computer, issue with hard drive and customer service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't bother

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Concord, NH
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this product because I needed a laptop with Windows 7. The unit is attractive but startup is painfully slow - 4+ minutes from startup to user screen. Connection to the internet is dreadful -- my 11 year old Dell connects faster. The wireless mouse is erratic. I made the BIG mistake of ordering the Student version of Office (No Access or Publisher, which I need). I have an HP Envy PC and I love it, which I why I went back to HP for the laptop. My grandson needs a new laptop but I will not be recommending this version.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This is the worst computer I have ever purchased

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Do Not Buy. I own several HP computers and this one is terrible.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fantastic Deal

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer has everything we were searching for. Easy set up, large screen, great choice in software and it's clean, sleek, robust and up and running quite quickly.
We still have to phone in to activate Word, but that's really not a big problem.
This computer is great for editing photos, work/Excel, surfing the web, social networking, gaming and nearly anything else you could hope for. The difference between this computer and our Mac is not just price, (the Mac *does* offer some things this laptop does not) but it's totally worth the money, and a great working computer.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to set up and use

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fenton, MO
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New laptop was easy to set up and start working on right away. Order was shipped much more quickly than stated. We were happy to be able to still get Win 7 on the laptop. We are both longtime HP users and are always impressed with the quality of the products. Now about that Win 8...not so good for a regular desktop but we are adapting.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Decent Customized Win7 Laptop

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Good -
Backlit keyboard, quad core, fast boot, strong & stable wifi, good cooling, fingerprint reader, Win7.
The Not So Good -
Certain parts are plastic and does not feel sturdy, like the cap of the ethernet port. DVD drive is flimsy, especially as it slides out. You definitely have to take extra care in handling the laptop. Nothing great with Beats Audio, just okay.
The Bad -
It arrived with a small scratch on the right side of the touch pad, very disappointing.
The Unexpected -
I ordered a dedicated 2GB GPU because I didn't want onboard graphics. I've had issues with onboard graphics in my older HP laptop. Did not expect the laptop to come with dual GPUs. I do realize having 2 GPUs is great for battery life...it's just that I didn't sign up for it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

STAY AWAY

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
SLOW!!!
Got Boot error on the first day when i tried to install fresh windows on it (it was a bit slow). Unfortunately I was busy and decided to use it as is. Now the computer is super slow, my 3 year old laptop is faster than this one, and i still cant get a fresh windows installed because of some bios problem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great features minus display

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sacramento, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Laptop is nice except for the display. I was very disappointed; feeling like I've gone from high def to regular. I upgraded from an old Sony Vaio for Windows 7, speed, storage and longer battery life. Battery is great and I do like the keyboard, especially having the 10-key.
Shipping and delivery info from HP was inaccurate. Expected the pkg on Wed, but it arrived on Mon and luckily was home to sign for it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the $

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I researched different brands and options for a laptop to meet requirements of my new job. The dv6t-7000 was the best package I could find for my needs and budget.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 CTO Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bloomington, IN
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I customized my laptop and it cost just over $1000. It runs smoothly, battery life is good but if you really want to get the most out of the laptop get both a 6 cell and a 9 cell battery because the 6 cell (even brand new) doesn't go more than 4 hours. It runs all the games smoothly. The beats sound bar performs great for a laptop speaker. The fingerprint scanner is accurate and a nice and easy way to unlock your laptop. I would highly recommend this laptop to anyone.
My Specs:
i5 2.5ghz processor
6gb DDR3
640gb hard drive
backlit keyboard
650M Graphics card
3 year protection/1 year accidental
bluetooth
6 cell and a 9 cell battery
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.