HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC

HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating:
3.796 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
5
1 Star
5
32 out of 44(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Inferior Touch Pad

PostedMay 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I am totaly disappointed with the DV5T (w/ i5 intel chip) that I got a week ago. The Touch Pad was not responsive, and the mouse went all over the place. The buttons took more effort to depress than my old DV4. Looks like HP replaced the Touch Pad with some low cost plastic. "Disallowing the mouse themes to change mouse" helped and going to the Synaptics web page to download a newer driver helped, but still an inferior Touch Pad. I still had to click the right button several times for it to work. The fan stayed on constantly. Windows 7 took several seconds to boot with all the ad ons HP installed on Startup. It took 8 DVDs to create the Recovery Media Disc. The 2 Star are for the good keyboard and Screen. This laptop is suppose to be a High School graduation gift to our niece. I am so embarass to be giving this unit and too late to return and find another unit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Purchase!

PostedMay 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had 3 failed hard drives, screens breaking, the computer freezing, a broken battery cord... I will never buy a HP computer again because of how often I have had to get it fixed and that the product basically does not work after the first year. I would recommend the warranty if you are buying this computer because it will break.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Issue with Online Streaming & battery issue

PostedApril 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brought the highest possible configuration for this laptop...i7, 8GB RAM, Blue Ray Read, 64 bit OS, Win7...costs be 1200 bucks...i loved the look...weight and everything was fine but am very upset about 2 things..
Netflix / Youtube streaming of video...i don't know why it keeps on stopping every now and then...sometimes it does not buffer by itself...I need to reload / refresh the page to start the streaming again....called up Customer Service several times...and they keep on saying..its Netflix issue or your Wi-Fi issue...I am myself a s/w engineer and i understand these issues...i have 3 other laptops at home that use the same wi-fi connection and they buffer the same video on the same website , very fine....just hope it is some windows 64 bit problem and Microsoft issues some patch to fix it...would like to hear from others who have been using this latest model ...if they are having similar issues...or maybe it is just my laptop....
2nd issue is---if i close the lid on my laptop..it should ideally go into standby mode and when you open the lid...it should boot up...mine does not...the power light on the keyboard will start blinking and pressing on the power button to shutdown / restart the m/c shall not work. Had called Customer Service again for this issue many times and the solution they provide was to...unplug the power source...remove the battery...hold the power button for 30 secs to drain out any static charge in the circuit...put the battery back...and there you go..m/c boots up ....well..thats all the problem I have...other than that this m/c is cool...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Student Purchase!

PostedApril 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oklahoma City/Stillwater, OK
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Color: Black Cherry. Soooo sleek and cool. It's my favorite color now. Haha
Pros: Pretty much EVERYTHING; size, portability ease, screen, keyboard, just the whole thing almost :)
Cons: touchpad, sound system could be a little better, battery charger gets warm/hot when in use for a certain amount of time
When I first bought it, the touchpad was defective so I switch it out for another laptop and have enjoyed it ever since! Even with the messed-up touchpad on my first laptop, I loved it so it's a great purchase. I'd really give the laptop a 4.8 for just a few cons as a whole but 5 stars still do it justice. I'm short for my age (5' 1.5") and the size and weight of it is just one of the pluses. It's very lightweight and doesn't take up much room since its' screen is 14.5". The wireless shortcut button is awesome because it allows me to quickly connect to the internet on my campus with one touch. I also like the keyboard design, which makes typing essays a lot easier. The media system for pictures, videos, and webcam is great as well and the laptop is pretty good for Skype. You can also download free themes for it from Windows to customize it even better. Movies play pretty awesome on it, too.
There are a few problems but nothing is ever perfect. I don't like the touchpad design and the sound system as a whole is just okay. It's not bad but I had a better one on my old laptop. The battery charger also heats up quickly, which just annoys me a little. But the rest of the computer makes up for it so I can overlook those things. I would definitely recommend this for a high school or college student. This is my first HP laptop but my family has a all-in-one desktop from HP and it just made me prefer nothing else but HP. Overall, it's great! HP even has this specific laptop available as a mini so I am definitely buying one for my little sisters to use! I love it that much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1st new laptop best one ever

PostedApril 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used to have a hand me down laptop from a friend an old 2005 dell laptop and I was tired of the old computer so I saved up for about a year and I got a model similar to this except i paid 50 bucks extra for 2 more gigs of ram. With tax and shipping it came out to $610.Its a VERY good computer for the price and features its got nice sound screen is awesome and the keyboard is layed out nicely except for the windows mail button which I accidentally click sometimes but its not really a problem just a little annoyance. Only thing besides that is the track pad that is one piece with the buttons on it so the cursor can move when you move your finger over the left and right buttons. Good Computer 5/5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great purchase

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
if you need basic but still nice go with this one
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High School AP Student's Best Friend

PostedMarch 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oakville, CT
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My HP G61 laptop was recently stolen, and I needed a replacement. I was looking for affordability, speed, mobility, sleek design, battery life, and backlit keyboard. I was actually looking at many other laptop models, and I could not find one that had all of the features that I wanted. With this model, I get close to 5 hours of battery life, the 4GB of RAM is super fast, the Pentium processor is enough to handle Word, Skype, etc., the 500GB 7200RPM hard drive loads files, especially movies, in a snap, the backlit keyboard is great for dim conditions, and I can shut it off if I don't need it, in order to save battery life. This laptop is one of the best ultra portable, affordable laptops sold today. I would recommend this laptop to anyone that is looking for dependability, and all of my features. Good luck :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent, could be better

PostedMarch 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tacoma WA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After many issues w/ HP, I've finally received a working model (they were in no real hurry to get this one to me, but they were very impatient to get the defective one back!).
This is a passable model. The dv5 is a little flimsy feeling but at least it's light. As a student, I need something small and light but still able to handle my workload.
Battery: Probably the best feature of this machine. I insisted upon the longer life option and pleased that I did. Only on occasion do I have to plug in the power. This lasts about 7-8 hours total, even with my workload.
Processing power/speed: Acceptable. 64-bit does seem to run better than 32-bit and the quad-core speeds things up just a bit more.
Mouse: I have to use an external mouse b/c the built-in unit is very sensitive to hand movement and sometimes executes operations that are unwanted. Turning it on and off is not convenient as there is no actual button to press. When an external mouse is present, fortunately the pad is disabled.
Bottom line: it works, but would not really recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laptop

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Overland Park, KS
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i purchased the white dv5t with 8 gb ram, 640 gb 7200 rpm hard drive, with the i7 640M processor wifi/bluetooth option, and blu ray. this laptop is great! no problems, mouse pad is unique and different to me, i like it alot. the keyboard is fantastic as well, so easy to type on, very quiet, almost feels "soft." everything is as described by hp...some downfalls: i got nearly the best of the best specs, so my battery life is like 1hr 30 mins with 6 cell and little over 2hrs with 9 cell. the backlit keyboard lights up like crazy around the keys, just as bright as the letter itself lights up, but still better than not having it at all, and the hard drive total capacity is at 562 gb when i requested 640 gb, i know the system software and everything included can't consume THAT MUCH gigs, but i'm not going to return it because of something as minor as that. OVERALL: if you can settle for the minimal graphics and just need a laptop for school like me, then this is the laptop for you. BY THE WAY: (ordered feb 1st) est. build date: feb 15th, i received at home on feb 14th, so thumbs up for that, for everybody who is like me and can't wait to get your new laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Beware the mousepad!

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: Overall nice machine, good monitor, backlit keyboard is a nice touch, flat keys take some getting used too, nice price for the speed and ram (i5 w 8RAM) approx 1k
Cons: 1. bloatware
2. mousepad - if you use one hand to scroll and click (3/4th finger scroll thumb left click -- good luck - absolutely brutal design and how it ever left the design room not in the trash is unbelievable. I have never sent a product back and if it wasn't for the amount of data and programs i have installed it would be in the box already. I've never wanted to abuse a computer but this one... buyer beware - try it out first before purchasing online
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great buy for the price!

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I customized and bought my dv5 laptop online. Although the ordering process was everything but smooth, I have to say the computer works perfectly. Looks are awesome, graphics are sharp, and performance is just right for the price paid. However, there are recurrent topics in the reviews that are true, but that can be easily fixed.
1. The touchpad is very different to the standard touchpads on other laptops. The buttons being touch sensitive does cause some confusion if you use two fingers for pointing. As for the rest of the features like scrolling and zooming, these can be turned on and off and configured to your needs in the Synaptics settings. The touchpad works then similar to a cellphone touchscreen.
2. The function keys (f1, f2...) are inverted with the special control keys. The reason is probably that this laptop is somewhat of an entertainment computer. The function keys can be swapped back in the System Settings, so the keyboard would work just like any other standard keyboard.
All in all, I am very satisfied with the product, although not completely with the online ordering process.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it!!

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jamaica
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this product is absolutely stunning, beautiful design to say the least. its light weight and remarkably slim. i love the screen resolution and inland keyboard is very convenient and sophisticated.
i know the touch pad has a lot of ppl iffy about this laptop - but i think its awesome n very easy to use. the only problem i have is the speaker - its very low!! and if the volume goes up halfway the speakers start to strain and the audio becomes poor.
overall, i love my new laptop, i would definitely recommend this to others, its very good for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A well designed notebook for classroom use

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tacoma, WA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the first notebook I've ever given as a gift to someone. My daughter wanted a lighter weight notebook for use in class. She firmly rejected a netbook because she also wants to use the computer for entertainment at home. She insisted on an optical drive, so the dv5 is about the best bet available. I didn't stock the machine with the highest end parts, so no BluRay or Intel i7 CPU, but it is nice those options are available. The laptop weighs over 5 pounds, so it has a substantial feel. Yet, it still fits in bags designed for lighter weight units because at 15 inches, it really isn't that big. HP seems to be experimenting with mousepads as every model I've examined appears to be made of a different material. The dv5 pad is multi-touch and does not have a scroll bar. The resistive feel of the material is OK, but not as good as on other HP models. If you plan to use the touchpad, be sure to download the latest driver for it. A couple of other points: the webcam is good and does a good job in dimly lit coffeeshops. The computer runs cool and quiet. It comes with HP's Quick Start software that boots before WIndows. I don't use this, but it may appeal to you and can be turned off or on. I paid about $600 for my unit and I think it is a solidly built and well equipped package for that price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Laptop I've Ever Had

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington DC
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My last three laptops were from HP and this is the last one I will ever buy. It has soooooo many problems. First of all heed all the reviewers complaints about the mouse pad. It is overly sensitive, except for those times it is unresponsive, and overly large meaning you either hit it when you don't want to or hit part of the touchpad you would rather not tap. I have given myself four months to get used to it and finally had to conclude my constant mousepad mishaps are not me but the mousepad itself.
Second, it has failed numerous times on me resulting in system malfunctions and reduced operability. This typically happens after it has gone to sleep or hibernate and it won't restart. I hit power and the power light just flashes once and nothing else happens. The only solution to this is to remove the powersource and battery for a few seconds then replace both and hit power. Then I get a message that Windows did not properly shut down and often randomly find that some driver, peice of software or functionality has been lost. I have had to reinstall software and reload drivers and find that things like the online display for my volume buttons is permanently lost.
Also I 100 % agree with one reviewer who thought the speaker levels were very poor. And I have had issues with my display flickering from birght to dim to so overly bright that the entire screen is washed out. No amount of adjustment helps but if I restart then the over exposure and whitewashing will go away. It is random issues like this constantly with this machine and it has been like this since day one.
Finally, this computer came with more junkware than any other machine, laptop or desktop, that I have ever owned. It is really bad. I haven't even had time to uninstall it all because the sheer number of programs is overwhelming.
I defniitely recommend you steer clear of this from this machine.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Nice Laptop

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Upper Marlboro, MD
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use this laptop connected to an external monitor, keyboard and mouse in my office. For business use, this laptop has plenty of power.
I did try out the laptop screen and keyboard. I like the Mac-style island keys but don't like the two-finger gesture touch pad. The screen resolution is excellent with vivid color. The laptop is light, quiet and stays cool on your lap (unlike my previous Dell Inspiron 6000).
I'd buy another one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great but there are few disappointments

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:houston
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have received this laptop very fast. Its been a week I have been using this laptop and I am fine with the laptop but not overwhelmed with this purchase.
Reasons:
1. Sound could be a lot better. Altec Lansing Speakers are below average.
2. Mouse pad is terrible, not able to understand how it takes the input even though I have installed the latest drivers from the website. after few days, I have been able to do scroll down better but scrolling up was worst. HP instead of going to multi touch, they would have provided the scroll bars at least.
3. Too much bloat-ware.
4. Boot time is too long. It took me almost 2 minutes with lot of bloat-ware. It's annoying so I always keep in sleep mode. After I remove bloat-ware, it was little better. I did not try the HP Quick Web though.
Apart from that everything else is good. I have ordered best out of everything. I7-640M, 8G RAM, 640G HDD, Blue-Ray Drive and Backlit Key Board.
Pros:
1. Very Cool.
2. Though the fan runs always its quite and smooth.
3. Intel Wireless card is super fast.
4. Resolution is fine..
5. Build Quality is excellent
6. Battery is also good, gives me around 4 1/2 hours on full charge with 40% brightness. I played music, videos and internet browsing.
7. Installations, data transfers and downloads are very fast. I rarely see hang-ups.
8. Great Webcam.
Thanks,
Srini
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Laptop arrived with the corner of one back panel sticking out. After putting in back in place the performance of the computer was OK but I must agree with other reviewers that the touch pad is difficult to use and an external mouse is a must. However shortly afterwards I began having problems opening the BluRay drive including the button becoming stuck (I later found the same problem on a display dv5t at a retail store -try before you buy). I returned the computer. I am extremely disappointed with HP quality control and after similar previous experiences will no longer be buying their products.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very pleased

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was slightly disheartened by some of the reviews I read but went ahead and bought this PC anyway, and I must say I am rather pleased with what I got. Large hard drive and memory, good processor and graphics card for a decent price, plus a blue ray player for added entertainment, and who can beat free shipping right? Only problem that I find with this particular computer is the scroll bar, or lack thereof, on the touch pad. That would have been preferable to the touchy and jumpy dual-finger scroll technique this particular device implores. But I digress, this is still a fantastic computer and recommend it for all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANNNNNNNNTASTIC!!!

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been an HP user for years. When I purchased this machine, I was amazed. The ease of set up, the features, the size and weight. All were exemplary. The wireless connectivity, was something beyond my comprehension. One click and I was completely wireless. The webcam has no rival, and the HDMI connection is outstanding. AMAZING!! Would I recommend this to others? Without hesitation. Congrats to HP for coming up with this concept.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion dv5t customizable Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

impressive performence

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oakland, NJ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just got it and its performence is beter than other makes and models.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.