HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC

HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
34 out of 36(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Performance

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I customized the dv4 so that it has good graphics because I like to play games. I used the NVIDIA GeForce graphics card with 2GB memory, and the Intel 2.5 GHz processor. This PC operates real smooth, is quiet and keeps pretty because the vent is located on the left instead of underneath the PC. Only disappointment is that the battery drains pretty quickly, depending on the tasks being performed, so the adapter must always be handy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little laptop.

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My primary computer is a desktop but for the times I need to carry a computer with me, this laptop is perfect. I particularly like the fact that it is not too heavy, probably the most important thing for me. I was careful to get the same system, software, and features as on my desktop, although I didn't need as many GBs, so I don't have a problem interchanging data or using stick drives. And I love the color - red!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:St. Augustine, FL
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this laptop for school, I start at 7:00am and have class until 5:00pm, and my battery lasts the whole day I only bring my charger to campus 'just in case'. I am able to get stuff done really fast and it is really easy to multitask on this laptop. When I tried to do more than two things at once on my last computer everything would freeze up and be ridiculous, but this computer is great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yess it what I needed and then some

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bradenton,FL
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchase this Laptop cheaper than it’s originally sold, since I'm in the HP academy, and I think it’s excellent so far. I’m very protective and meticulous with my NEW Laptop. I even purchase a sleeve, a laptop bag, duster can, and screen cloth with it. Overall I suggest this Laptop for students in college, like me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful design great performance

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just received mine yesterday. The design is stunning. The screen is bright and crisp and easy to read. Speed is very good and not a lot of add on software which I love. The Beats audio is the only disappointment, the sound is better than tinny laptop speakers but nothing special.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great performance!

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The performance exceeded my expectation. Only thing I am not very satisfied is its surface is easy to leave fingerprints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All around perfect computer!

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tempe, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect computer for school & gaming. Heres a bit of a scatterbrained review..
My specs are:
• 3rd generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3210M Processor (2.5 GHz with Turbo Boost up to 3.1 GHz)
• 8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
• NVIDIA(R) GeForce(R) GT 650M Graphics with 2GB GDDR 5 video memory
• 500GB 5400RPM Hard Drive
• 32GB mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
• 14.0" diagonal High Definition HP BrightView LED Display (1366 x 768)
It's overkill for school work and such, with good battery life. typcally last about 4 1/2 hours with brightness set to about half, and running things like Web srufing, Microsoft office, etc.. the basic usual schol stuff.
Gaming wise, I've been running things like GW2, TF2, Atlantica, just to name a few and runs very smoothely, no lag, no problem grapgically and computer does not over heat. it does get a bit warm but still able to place on lap without burning
Physically, the computers plasticy/glossy finish had me worried at first. but I love it! i have Black Locrice and i do get a sense of luxory from it :] BUT. YES. it DOES. attract finger prints, not a big deal to me, personally.
Keyboard is chiclet styled and is spacious , has a nice rubbery feel to it and feels nice when typing, touchpad. i've read other reviews saying it was too small, but it's not small. It's actually perfectly sized, and responsive.
Love the integrated Beats audio, speakers are loud, quality isn't amazing but it's what to be expected with small laptop speakers. Beats control is great with good head/ear phones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Some concerns

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Buckner, MO
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It seems to have some problems restarting at times. Also, I need to use the "Hot keys< f4, f,5, etc.", but hitting some of them gives me icons for the hp itself. Can't figure out how to change this. I use GoToMyPC to get into my office PC. That program uses several of these hot keys. If I can't use them, we have a real problem.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not impressed, Disfunctional features

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
30 days after and not impressed at all. I am upset that I only have 21 days to return this laptop.
This laptop is remarkably quirky. It does not allow you to do standard actions that you can easily do on a DELL, for example:
1. Does not allow you to use Alt+ codes to input symbols and greek letters
2. If your battery runs out, your laptop doesn't go on sleep mode. It dies and shuts down. So when you connected again you have to start all over again and pray that your documents were saved.
3. The plastic buttons in the touch pad (mouse) are very noisy and feel cheap.
4. Microsoft office does not run properly in this machine. For some reason this machine messes up with Word formatting features (I have no virus, and I have the best antivirus in the market)
Conclusion: FAIL
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great laptop!

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kalamazoo, MI
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a great laptop. I love the sound quality and the screen is great, but if I put it to sleep, the Caps lock button turns on and I can't get it to let me log in until I turn it of then back on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for College!

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rochester, MN
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was in major need of a new computer (I had a 17 inch Dell Studio from 2008). I was slightly nervous about going from my beast of a computer with a big screen to a smaller one, but it just made sense for me to get the small one since I need to be able to carry my computer around with me. It's light-weight, portable, and well worth it! The speakers can get nice and loud (but the sound isn't the greatest when it's louder). My only quirk that I have is that occasionally (twice now in the last 3 weeks that I've had the computer) the mouse buttons on the touch pad have frozen up leaving me unable to click anything. I've just closed the lid on the computer and opened it again and everything then works fine, but it's just a little frustrating when it happens.
But overall, I definitely recommend this computer especially to future and current college students! It's easy to take to class, fits in your backpack well, and is extremely light weight!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this computer

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minneapolis,MN
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very satisfied. It starts quick, shuts down extremely fast and runs so much smoother than my last laptop ever did. Plus it plays games well and doesn't weight that much either. My last laptop was a Dell which literally fell apart, the casing just started coming off and it ran very slow. I'm definately getting a HP next time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Could be better with some minor design tweaks.

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance is super.
Really could use matte bezel, matte screen option, back lit keyboard (like the red one on 3170se) Touchpad need to be a bit bigger and aligned with the space bar.Bring the weight down like the 3170SE (4.33 lbs) and this would be an awesome system. Overall cut down the gloss please. Bezel is too shiny on this. Click buttons need less tension. Also silence the click noise. Slot loading optical drive can make this thinner and weigh less.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent laptop

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bradenton, FL
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow excellent computer, fast, portable, easy to use!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Prefer this laptop over the ENVY!!

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:VA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only thing this laptop is missing is a backlit keyboard, which is not even an option that can be added via customization. Other than that, I really wish HP provided an option to partition the hard drive when customizing the laptop and/or made it an option with their restore process. Nevertheless, I managed to repartition the drive instead of just have one large partition. I MUCH prefer the touchpad on this laptop over the disastrous touchpad on the HP ENVY. The only thing I would change about the mouse buttons would be to make them a bit quieter when pressed. That being said, I am very pleased with this laptop!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's a great price for students on a budget. It has all the required things I want and need. Easy to transport.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome laptop!!

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas, Texas
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop is fantastic. Great display and with the Beats audio, you get fantastic sound. Overall a well built and stylish machine. The only negative that I have is about the digital media card reader. It now only seems to support SD-cards instead of the 5-1 card readers they used to put on their laptops. Also, be sure to get the mSSD acceleration drive, it's well worth the $50.00!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bang for your Buck!

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Age:Under 25
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this computer for under $500 dollars (b/c of the student discount) and I have to say I'm pretty pleased with this HP computer. It's lightweight, easy to use, and has a ton of nifty features; great for a college student like me. If you're looking for a portable laptop, this is it! The screen is just right, keypad smooth, and the connection quick. If you're looking for a computer that is powerful, lightweight, and efficient, not too fancy, and less expensive, then this is the pc for you. I don't have anything bad to say probably b/c I just received it yesterday. ..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A decent computer

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Claremont, CA
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a decent basic computer for school, e-mail, internet, watching and listening to videos and music. It's definitely gets the job done if you're only looking for an average computer. The speakers are amazing! Great for schoolwork, music, relaxation, and other task most computer users do. Some browsers lag a bit but besides that I have seen not problems.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion dv4t-5100 Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Out With the Old, In With the New

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was in the market to purchase a new laptop after the mother board crashed in my 3.5 year old Toshiba Satellite. Originally, I was going to purchase the 14" Sony Vaio E Series, but was hesitant to buy it because of mixed user ratings and the increasing cost of upgrading components. After some days of searching on the web, I stumbled onto the HP website, and saw this laptop. It was like love at first sight...I quickly ordered this laptop. I've owned this laptop for less than a week, and haven't had any major issues with it other than Norton Internet Security failing to open after a system restore to remove recommended updates installed by Windows Update (that problem was solved by downloading the Norton Removal Tool). Microsoft Office Starter might be affected after a system restore as well. Simply go to Programs and Features in the Control Panel, click the Microsoft Starter icon, and click change (this will repair the installation). The size of the laptop isn't too big or too small; it's just right. This laptop is also amazingly fast. The battery life is wicked (9.5 to 10 hours on power saver); depends on what you're doing. HP CoolSense is an amazing feature to have as well. Beats Audio sounds excellent with headphones. If you're on a budget like me and need an affordable and reliable machine like I did, then this is the one to purchase (you shouldn't be disappointed). If you're a gamer, customize this laptop to fit your needs (I'm not a gamer). By the way, this is my first HP laptop, and I do plan on purchasing another one in the future. Hope this review helps!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.