HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC

HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(350 reviews) 350
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 350 reviews
5 Stars
195
4 Stars
91
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
17
1 Star
22
297 out of 350(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laptop

PostedJune 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brunswick, Ohio
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this to replace a netbook, So I did not expect much. Was very surprised when this arrived. This unit keeps up with my full size Laptop without a problem. Graphics are very good, speed is surprising, ease of use out of the box was excellent. Very easy to carry around. Not much heavier than the netbook and can do everything I need it to. I work with very intense MS access databases and this is breezing through them with no problem. I also work on music recording and some minor video editing and no problems there either. I would highly recommend this for anyone considering a netbook. Spend a little bit more $$ and get a small full featured laptop.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this little notebook!

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Birmingham, AL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My HP Pavilion dm 1 arrived ready to go right out of the box. No problems. Perfect size. Glad to trade a tablet for a real keyboard. Use it every day.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product for the money

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ithaca, NY
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For the relatively low price this laptop sells for, it is an excellent deal. It has a good amount of RAM, a reasonably long battery life, and a reasonably large hard drive. It certainly isn't the best laptop around, but is definitely worth what you pay for it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All Around Excellent

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Coeur D'Alene, ID
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased this DMZ1 for my wife to replace an HP Mini 110-4250NR that I'll now use. We've had the unit for 2 weeks and couldn't be happier. The "Red" was a big hit with my wife and the slightly larger screen and keyboard over the Mini is a perfect fit. Our unit is standard other than being "Red" and she is getting 6 - 7 hours of battery life while streaming music (8 - 9 hours with the Mini 110). With the DMZ1 & Beats Audio she finds there is no need to use external speakers.
It wasn't clear to me if the unit came with USB 3.0 so I called before ordering. Sure enough the basic unit comes with 1 USB 3.0 port on the left side and two USB 2.0 ports on the right. At first the unit didn't seem to perform as snappy as I thought it should. It does come with a number of built-in 3rd party programs, many of which run all the time in the background. I disabled most of these using the "Startup" tab in Windows 8 Task Manager and now performance is good/as expected. I was also surprised that Windows 8 Media Player does not play DVD movies. HP provides "Power DVD" software but we opted to install VLC instead and it works great.
As I mentioned this unit is for my wife and she uses it constantly to keep in touch online, stream music & TV, transfer pictures and videos, and to watch DVD movies using an external DVD USB powered drive. We have an external monitor and speakers we can use to set it up and watch movies.
At first she thought a tablet would be the way to go but found a lot of things she does aren't really convenient with a tablet. For us, and just having 1 computing device, this netbook offers the best of everything; long battery life, can run most any software, usable keyboard, easy to pack & carry, and competitively priced. This was a great purchase for us and we couldn't be happier. I scored a lot of points with the unit being "Red".
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Mobility Size

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Notebook is the perfect size for airport travel, and fits perfectly in my Harley-Davidson saddlebag along with my other necessities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love my new HP!

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Forest Grove, OR
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First of all, shipping was super fast! When I ordered this, my estimated ship date was Nov. 15, but it shipped earlier & I got it in three days after it shipped! I also got it for a great price from discounts! I love how it lasts longer on battery & how it tells me how much longer there is before it dies. This gives me a heads up for when I need to plug it in. Windows 8 kind of confused me when I first turned it on, but I've gotten quite used to it. The webcam is also much clearer to other people when I go on Skype. Having a small notebook is convenient when I want to take it around my room - it's not too heavy! And Beats Audio is great! I just absolutely LOVE this laptop.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best !! I Very user friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Choice for Typical Desktop Applications

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Orleans, LA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am very happy with the price/performance value of the DM1z - 4200 series!
I do Home/Business IT Consulting, and have done a bit of research on portable laptops. This is an excellent choice if you are only performing basic Windows tasks (web browsing, MS Office, programming, etc.). The performance factor is definitely above "Netbook" quality with the AMD Brazos 2.0 based integrated CPU/Graphics platform. Additionally, the design has been refreshed and build quality is decent with all the ports you are going to need.
The Beats Audio features are definitely a plus, as they add noise cancellation for video conferencing and headphones, as well as a graphic equalizer.
Simply stated, if you want excellent portability (11" screen, ~3lb weight) at a value price, you cannot lose with this decision!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value & features for the price

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Miinneapolis, MN
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am very happy with my HP Pavilion dm1 laptop, it performs great and has outstanding features for the price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what the Doctor ordered

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Worth, TX.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It does all the things I wanted it to do. I like the size and it is easy to use.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Size!

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wichita,Ks
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great size. The keyboard is full size and easy to navigate. Nice not hauling around the old fifteen inch laptop anymore. The 640 gb hard drive and 8 gb of ram make this a great machine to do anything you want at a fraction of the size of a laptop. I needed a keyboard and chose this dm1 over a tablet for this reason.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Toledo ohio
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have only one complaint and I don't know if it is a Microsoft or AMD fault and that is my starter copy of Office was damaged after a Microsoft download.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent mini notebook

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rochester, NH
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This notebook is incredible. Much faster than the usual (smaller) 10 inch sub notebook, and now the DM1Z comes with Bluetooth, faster processor, and great battery life. Mine came with the AMD E2-1800 / 4Gb RAM, and the drivers are included for any flavor or Windows 7 if you would like to re-install it. If you need an external /USB DVD drive, HP has it, but this notebook has the perfect size for portability and still has the speed I need for my photo Editing, for example. Recommend strongly this model.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very capable little notebook

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Reno, NV
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this laptop to replace my 17inch desktop replacement which finally stopped working after 6 years. I'm very pleased so far with it. The laptop looks sharp with it's black finish on the inside, and rubberized finish on the backside of the screen. The performance is good and the laptop is pretty responsive when multitasking. I haven't tried playing games on it yet so I can't comment on the graphic capabilities. I really love the small size and after using the dm1z for a couple of weeks now, every other laptop seems like a clunker. The keyboard works really well for typing with the keys having a nice crisp feel. I had never used a textured trackpad before, and after using one, I don't think I could go back. Overall, it's a very capable machine with a perfect balance of performance and portability.
Now for the cons. I'm a linux user which is necessary for my work which deals with high performance computing. This laptop ships with a total of 4 primary partitions (BOOT, WINDOWS, HP TOOLS and RECOVERY) which is the maximum for a single hard drive. This is unfortunate as it means you have to remove some potentially valuable stuff in order to install linux. Also, in the process of resizing the main windows partition to make room for linux, it has gotten completely corrupted beyond repair. I have tried all attempts but the recovery partition is not accessible either. I had to order an external CD drive and pay for HP to ship CDs so I can get windows functional again. I have done many Linux installations and this is the first time it has happened. I wish they had shipped this laptop with fewer partitions and also mane the windows disks available freely.
However, with that said, my cons will not affect 99% of people and I would still highly recommend this laptop.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfection

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This device has been more than what I expected. It meets my educational and work related needs. My only negative would be the very small amount of documentation included in the box.
Even though the e2-1800 natively supports it, I was decently surprised at the unmentioned inclusion of a USB 3 port (Major Plus)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my needs.

PostedJune 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Melbourne, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My notebook is perfect for everything I need from my computer at home. I may even take it along on a train trip this summer since it is so portable and easy to use, even for me, a less than tech-savvy senior citizen. (My only complaint is that it was advertised for $30.00 less just a few days after I received mine!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I was looking for

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Needed a computer that would be easy to travel with...light, portable, but with enough speed and features that we would not miss having a "real" computer. This HP is just the thing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

expensive for a netbook but works great

PostedMay 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:tx
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I shopped all the usual brands for a netbook that I could start carrying on trips instead of lugging around my 6+ pound laptop. I use the computer mainly for powerpoint presentations, writing reports and keeping up with my email but also like to be able to watch netflix movies while traveling. This HP machine meets all my requirements really well. At about $400, it was more expensive than the other brand netbooks out there but the extra hundred it costs gets you a much more functional machine. The larger screen makes reading email or surfing much easier than a 10.2" model. The full size keyboard on the HP machine was the nicest of all the netbooks I tried. I have no problem typing a report on an airplane or answering emails. The more powerful processor and extra ram gives the DM1 enough power to easily run with 2 or 3 apps open at the same time and can stream video whereas alot of the netbooks can't. Oh and the final reason I picked this netbook over the competition was the dramatcally better audio. The beats audio rivals high end laptops and makes this machine perfect for doing powerpoint training.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy With The Purchase

PostedMay 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Blossom TX
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Computer is lightweight and easily carried from room to room. Nice size screen. Picture is great. Performance has been great. Works just as well as my hp dmv6 as far as speed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love netbooks, but the other ones that I had tried were not quite up to par with performance. HP dm1z (at least this one) works great for that In between laptop and netbook. I wish it was a little lighter, but it works faster than any of the other ones I have used, and feels a lot more durable (probably because of the weight) It is a great product and I strongly recommend it! Oh! and I love the chicklet keyboard, I love it
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 to next page>>