HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC

HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(350 reviews) 350
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 350 reviews
5 Stars
195
4 Stars
91
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
17
1 Star
22
297 out of 350(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good "project" notebook, but pricey.

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Eleven inch notebook was purchased for travel and robotics projects. Screen size and number/type of ports is a good fit for expected use. Keyboard is large enough to type notes and documents. Video and screen images are very good. Is a little slow in starting applications. Battery life needs improvement.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent "mini" notebook

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Amazed at delivery of dm1z custom order in 7 days!
Ordered a dm1z as a replacement of an atom powered netbook for my wife. The performance is significantly better than the older netbook. Graphics performance is excellent. Battery run time is also excellent. Overall the laptop was a very good value. Be aware that this is not a desktop replacement, or even a general purpose computer, but for web browsing, email and word processing it is far more than adequate. I would not suggest it for serious photo or video editing, but otherwise it was a great purchase.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laptop

PostedJune 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brunswick, Ohio
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this to replace a netbook, So I did not expect much. Was very surprised when this arrived. This unit keeps up with my full size Laptop without a problem. Graphics are very good, speed is surprising, ease of use out of the box was excellent. Very easy to carry around. Not much heavier than the netbook and can do everything I need it to. I work with very intense MS access databases and this is breezing through them with no problem. I also work on music recording and some minor video editing and no problems there either. I would highly recommend this for anyone considering a netbook. Spend a little bit more $$ and get a small full featured laptop.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

never order online again

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:KANKAKEE,ILLINOIS
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
overall computer ok. but mfr delayed delivery,took ,in my opinion way too long.
touch pad very sluggish and unresponsive
keys on key board feel very cheap for amount i payed for this laptop
resolution and contrast of monitor very poor
I WILL NOT ORDER ANOTHER ELECTRONIC ITEM ONLINE WILL GO TO BRICK AND MORTAR LOCAL STORE TO SEE AND TOUCH PRODUCT BEFORE I BUY
PS. CAN I RETURN THIS LAPTOP AND GO TO LOCAL STORE TO BUY BETTER PRODUCT??
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst computer

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had two versions of this computer. I had the dm1z-4100 and I had to send the computer back TWICE because its performance was unacceptable. I was given the dm1z-4300 as a replacement. This computer is slow as a snail. I can't watch any videos online because its too choppy (even after full buffering). I constantly get Not Responding when I'm using Firefox. I can't listen to iTunes and surf the web, to tough of a task for this computer. Do yourself a favor and don't get this. I've only had mine for three months and I'm having all these issues.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this little notebook!

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Birmingham, AL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My HP Pavilion dm 1 arrived ready to go right out of the box. No problems. Perfect size. Glad to trade a tablet for a real keyboard. Use it every day.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not as sturdy as I thought

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great internal specs, but I'm a little displeased with the actual body of the computer. The laptop is built with like this cheap plastic - and I feel that its easily breakable. I would think after paying about 500 for it, that they would make it with some sturdier plastic.
Other than that, the actual computer itself is fine. I am able to do all that I intended to on it and there are no problems there.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The product has many issues and glitches in the functionality. Only had a couple days, but so far I am quite disappointed in it. Would pay a little more for a better one from another company. I had the same model that is a couple years older and it functions better than the newer one just received.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Sure About Windows 8

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The laptop offers the perfect size, battery life, and capabilities for my needs on the road. It's performance could be speedier, however, and I think Windows 8 is what is applying the brakes. As this is my introduction to the new operating system, my lack of experience with it is surely a contributing factor.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product for the money

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ithaca, NY
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For the relatively low price this laptop sells for, it is an excellent deal. It has a good amount of RAM, a reasonably long battery life, and a reasonably large hard drive. It certainly isn't the best laptop around, but is definitely worth what you pay for it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One Sweet Laptop--With Tweaks

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Redondo Beach, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My initial impression was lukewarm. Performance was sluggish; Windows 8 was a pain. Then I did what I do whenever I buy a new computer--get rid of bloatware and turn off unneeded startup items. This helped quite a bit. Then I found a nifty little free app on CNET--Actual Booster. It dedicates more resources to the target program and deemphasizes secondary functions. Seems to work. Performance is quite nice now. Windows 8 is a bit of a nuisance--it makes it harder to get to functions I want handy. I have gotten around this by delving into the system and sending links to the desktop. The little screen on the computer is fine but it is a standard LCD screen, so off-center viewing has the typical drawbacks of an LCD. All-in-all it is a fine little machine--after it is tweaked to bring out its real potential.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HP Netbook falls short

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
So after having an HP dv6000 laptop for 5 years, I finally decided to upgrade. I decided on this netbook, given its solid user reviews. Unfortunately, this netbook fell way short. It took about a week for it to be put together, and a week to ship (ship's from China) with standard shipping. A little slow, but to be expected. When I got the package, I was pleasantly surprised about the design and light weight feel. It has a cool thin case, with an HP design on the outside. The keyboard area is all black. I wasn't a big fan of the touchpad, which has a bumpy texture feel. It didn't seem to be very responsive, and required you to really push on it to get the proper feedback.
Back to the actual performance...I ordered the standard options without any upgrades. The first installation was pretty slow, and the system actually crashed on me the first time around, and required a restart. After that, it completed without issue. First look at Windows 8, and I thought it was really cool. That novelty wore off for me pretty quickly. I found it to be pretty slow and difficult to navigate. Sure, there's probably a learning curve, but I didn't find it very intuitive (and I consider myself a pretty advanced computer user). It seemed very gimicky, and flashy, and just something that is "cool" but in terms of actual usability it doesn't score many points.
I also found this system incredibly slow. I'm not talking about intensive games, or memory intensive video editing. I am just talking about opening simple programs like Microsoft Word and Mozilla Firefox. With a new computer, I expected them to open quick. Instead I was waiting for quite a while, and even some instances when it would crash completely. The nice thing that the system comes preloaded with Norton (though only a trial), and it detected numerous times that programs were taking up an inordinate amount of memory (specifically 100% of the 4GB of RAM I had). Very disappointing. All in all, budget computer, with budget price and budget performance. I am returning this one, and spending the extra $100 to get an HP Envy. Much better specifications. The way I reason it is that I'll have this laptop for at least 4 years. So a $550 laptop, amortized over 4 years is just going to cost 38 cents a day vs 31 cents a day for the $450 laptop. Not a crazy difference, but well worth the extra "pennies"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very slow computer/ new windows crashes constantly

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought the upgraded memory and a few other features to replace my personal computer. The thing is at least as slow (if not slower) than my old Sony Vaio. (which says lot because that computer is terrible). In addition, new Windows crashes constantly. The other night I was looking though pictures and within 5 minutes it had errored out, crashed and restarted 3 times. Very disappointing.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cute but performance is poor

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I like the size-- exactly what expected. It stays pretty cool and plays videos better than expected, although it does freeze occasionally when I am watching Netflix-- but I didn't buy it with intent to be a great video player. I did buy it for how portable it is, I like that a lot. However, the internet is slow on the computer and it has already frozen up multiple times in my week of use. It also restarted to install updates and when it loaded again all my customized settings had been erased, as well as my documents. That was very disappointing! So the slow speed of the computer and the fact that it freezes up is exactly what I was trying to stay away from with my old computer. I wish I had done a bit more research.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All Around Excellent

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Coeur D'Alene, ID
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased this DMZ1 for my wife to replace an HP Mini 110-4250NR that I'll now use. We've had the unit for 2 weeks and couldn't be happier. The "Red" was a big hit with my wife and the slightly larger screen and keyboard over the Mini is a perfect fit. Our unit is standard other than being "Red" and she is getting 6 - 7 hours of battery life while streaming music (8 - 9 hours with the Mini 110). With the DMZ1 & Beats Audio she finds there is no need to use external speakers.
It wasn't clear to me if the unit came with USB 3.0 so I called before ordering. Sure enough the basic unit comes with 1 USB 3.0 port on the left side and two USB 2.0 ports on the right. At first the unit didn't seem to perform as snappy as I thought it should. It does come with a number of built-in 3rd party programs, many of which run all the time in the background. I disabled most of these using the "Startup" tab in Windows 8 Task Manager and now performance is good/as expected. I was also surprised that Windows 8 Media Player does not play DVD movies. HP provides "Power DVD" software but we opted to install VLC instead and it works great.
As I mentioned this unit is for my wife and she uses it constantly to keep in touch online, stream music & TV, transfer pictures and videos, and to watch DVD movies using an external DVD USB powered drive. We have an external monitor and speakers we can use to set it up and watch movies.
At first she thought a tablet would be the way to go but found a lot of things she does aren't really convenient with a tablet. For us, and just having 1 computing device, this netbook offers the best of everything; long battery life, can run most any software, usable keyboard, easy to pack & carry, and competitively priced. This was a great purchase for us and we couldn't be happier. I scored a lot of points with the unit being "Red".
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really neat...

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still early, but a really neat piece of technology. Can't stand Windows 8 though - but that is not HP's fault. Perhaps they can give the option of Windows 7 vs. 8 upon ordering. Thanks HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop is suitable for travelling and daily study life. But the Win 8 does not preform very well.
Start up too slow, every time it takes me about 3 mins to finish start up;
Blue screen death for several times at the beginning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Mobility Size

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Notebook is the perfect size for airport travel, and fits perfectly in my Harley-Davidson saddlebag along with my other necessities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love my new HP!

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Forest Grove, OR
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First of all, shipping was super fast! When I ordered this, my estimated ship date was Nov. 15, but it shipped earlier & I got it in three days after it shipped! I also got it for a great price from discounts! I love how it lasts longer on battery & how it tells me how much longer there is before it dies. This gives me a heads up for when I need to plug it in. Windows 8 kind of confused me when I first turned it on, but I've gotten quite used to it. The webcam is also much clearer to other people when I go on Skype. Having a small notebook is convenient when I want to take it around my room - it's not too heavy! And Beats Audio is great! I just absolutely LOVE this laptop.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion dm1z-4300 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This small laptop is perfect for my needs

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Southern Vermont
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this smaller laptop in lieu of an Ipad because I use a keyboard and needed to have something more substantial than an Ipad. I use the new laptop to take notes at meetings and review documents that have become to voluminuous to print. The downside of the laptop was the price. The advertized price went from around $300 to nearly $700 with the additional features that I was convinced to purchase during the ordering process. I do hope that I will use these features in the future. The construction of the laptop is excellent and the display is easy to read, even at the smaller size. Key action is great as well. I have not yet run the battery down to the point of having to plug the unit in during use. I do leave it on charge when I am not using the laptop. I also ordered a portable USB Optical device (CD/DVD) but have not yet used it. I have wireless internet in my house and have been able to use the new small laptop in all areas of the house and our outside deck without a problem. I have had a desktop HP PC since August of 2010 and experienced no problems with that unit. This laptop seems to be designed and built with the same high standards.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 to next page>>