HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dv7-4280us Notebook PC, aluminum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dv7-4280us Notebook PC, aluminum

Geared for serious play Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit §§ § 17.3" diagonal high-definition §§ + BrightView LED display (1600 x 900) Intel Core i5-480M Processor (2.66GHz) ‡ with Turbo Boost 6GB DDR3 memory 750GB (5400 rpm) hard drive § with built-in protection ATI Mobility Radeon HD 6550 switchable graphics (1GB GDDR3, up to 3738MB total) Beats audio, triple bass reflex subwoofer 9-cell Lithium-Ion battery with up to 7.45 hours of battery life †† †
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dv7-4280us Notebook PC, aluminum
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dv7-4280us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Desktop Replacement

PostedMay 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 3 1/2 year old Toshiba desktop replacement was getting slow and acting weird so it was time for a replacement. After a lot of searching this laptop had most of the features I wanted, included a Blu-ray player at a much lower price. So far I am very happy with the features, speed, graphics, battery life and HD size. The only feature its missing I need is a Firewire port. I expect to get several years out of this laptop, it has the capacity and cpu/graphics power to stay ahead of software requirements for a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dv7-4280us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it

PostedApril 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall this computer is great, the only things I didn't like about it was the placement of the USB slots, I wish they were more towards the back, if I have something plugged in, and I'm using a wireless mouse, the cords get in the way, but I just went out and bought a USB hub to reduce the amount of USB wires. I love the fast sign in using the finger print reader, and how accurate it is..I had my mom try to get on using her finger and it declined it. Other then that, I love it and would buy another one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dv7-4280us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very happy wiht product

PostedApril 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We purchased this computer after searching for a long time. We like the features and the performance. We have had the computer for a few weeks and are very pleased. We would recomend it. The only issue is the touch pad, it is hard to use, we have a wireless mouse and it's fine. I think HP should upgrade the pad in the next model.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dv7-4280us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy!

PostedApril 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Georgia
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the dv7-4280us from HP. I ordered on Friday at noon and received the computer on the following Tuesday. This was with the free shipping! I thought 2 business days after ordering was pretty speedy.
I chose this laptop primarily for the graphics because I do digital scrapbooking. My older laptop (also an HP) struggled with the scrapbooking program. The problem was graphics and, as it goes with computers, it made more sense to buy a new computer than attempt an upgrade.
The graphics card in this computer is switchable which means when the computer is running off battery, the graphics card works as an integrated card to conserve power. When the computer is running off the power cord, the graphics card works as a dedicated card - more power!
I am very pleased with the performance overall. Not being a gamer, I have absolutely all the power I need.
The keyboard has a good touch, but the keys seem to be further spaced apart than in my other laptop and requires adjusting to. The keyboard is not backlit. The touchpad I also like. I find myself using my cordless mouse less although I have not mastered the two fingered scrolling.
I was not interested in the fingerprint scanner when I ordered, but now it is my favorite feature.
For the computer itself, it is a monster! The 17.3 widescreen is huge! My only complaint about that is that it is proving difficult to find a case to fit unless I want a giant black nylon clunker. The 9 cell battery also sticks out about 3/4 of an inch from the back of the laptop which was a problem with one case I found with hard sides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dv7-4280us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect laptop for me

PostedMarch 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:VA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am an aspiring DJ and producer, and this laptop is perfect for what I need. all my applications run smoothly on windows 7 and the 6 gigs of RAM is very spacious giving me a lot of room to multitask. I am in love with this computer. the screen is bright, its fast, its pretty and its light weight for a 17'' notebook. Thanks HP!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dv7-4280us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

DV7-4280 is pretty nice except for touchpad

PostedMarch 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall this is a very nice 17" laptop. Everything is good about it except for a few things I found:
1. Setup does not force you to, or even mention, performing all the Microsoft Windows Updates, of which there were a considerable number. I would have preferred the system coming up with ONLY Windows Update available.
2. There are entirely too many added on bloatware products installed on it. Why do not mfg's offer you a program that lists them and removes them if you choose? We all know the answer to that, but it would garner a lot of customer satisfaction if HP would provide a program to list and remove all these programs.
3. The biggest drawback on this laptop is how awful the touchpad feels to me. The pressure required to do the left and right click is much too much, and there is no adjustment for it. I was used to my Toshiba laptop's touchpad for years and miss it a lot now. I'll get used to this touchpad, but it's really bad in my opinion, being much too big also.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dv7-4280us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

very fast computer - great sound

PostedFebruary 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:brooklyn NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was impressed with the speed of the computer and the screen size seems bigger than I thought.. The beats audio has fantastic sound... the 2 things I am disappointed in which is important.. is the keyboard is hard to see the letters...and the left and right click on the keyboard I cant work with one hand.. you have to really press hard to get it to work and I have to use two hands to do it. I can get around this with a mouse which I have rarely used in the past with my other laptop. out of a 5 star I rate this 3 1/2 because of the touch pad and keyboard
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dv7-4280us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Choice

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had this computer for about 4 days now and I love it. The Beats audio it great, and I love the quality of blue ray movies. Fast processor, and it came with 750 GB of hard drive. The only thing that I don't care for is the touch pad for the mouse, I also bought a wireless keyboard and mouse. With that combo I would differently consider the dv7 4280-us. I also wish it had more usb ports. But I am truly satisfied with this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dv7-4280us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very fast for daily use!

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Daytona Beach, FL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
The HP dv7 Notebook has the fast process speed I was needing. I was impressed with the finger print log on feature and the big keyboard size. As for the mouse pad, it could use a better design. I had to learn to type without touching the pad or the type would make mistakes. I changed the load time from 30 seconds to 15, so I didn't have to wait for the system to go online. Today's processor speed and RAM speed can adapt. I chose this model because of the higher processor speed and it came with 6GB RAM, although an upgrade for 8GB was only a small amount of money more. The big monitor screen makes the work on the computer easy to see and is the perfect size for my eyes. I was searching for the back lit keyboard feature, but I somehow forgot that I was looking for one. That is the only thing I wish I would have chosen to have on this model. The Norton software came with a free subscription that was usable for more than a year as an added feature.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.