HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dv6-3230us Notebook PC, aluminum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dv6-3230us Notebook PC, aluminum

Solid power and entertainment Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit 15.6" (diagonal) High-Definition §§ BrightView LED display (1366 x 768) Intel Core i3-370M Processor (2.4GHz) ‡ 4GB DDR3 system memory 500GB hard drive with built-in protection § Fingerprint reader 802.11b/g/n wireless LAN with Bluetooth and WiDi 6-cell Lithium-Ion battery with up to 5 hours of battery life †† †
Overall rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dv6-3230us Notebook PC, aluminum
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dv6-3230us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect, and just what we needed

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Mexico
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer was in stock and ready to ship but also came with all the features we wanted at the right price. Very sleek and light for a 15" notebook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dv6-3230us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bright computer but not for me

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I'm returning this computer because the key board doesnot have that "feel" required for a touch typist. The keys have no sculpting, are slick, and it's very difficult to find the "f"and "j" keys tactically. The key board has too many keys which is very confusing in the dark. The touch pad for mouse control ispoorly positioned And I found that I was engaging the mouse functions inadvertently and constantly when I was typing. I found the 15.6 inch screen made the unit too big and heavy, therefore impractical as a travel computer.
I did like the fingerprint reader a lot , which streamlines password entries. Other than the design issues, I found the computer a super price for the functions. However I'll be buying a 14" screen with a better keyboard and mouse pad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dv6-3230us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for a great price!

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Due to my old computer, 7 years old, crashing, I was in need of another as my fall semester for college was approaching. I look at tons of laptops at tons of sites and stores. I had an Toshiba and I lived it, but our home computer was a HP and I really liked those too. So, I went for the HP and I do not regret it at all!
Likes:
-Pretty clear webcam, which is great for Skype.
-The ability to run multiple programs at once is a huge plus more me.
-The fingerprint reader is wonderful- sometimes it takes a little while to learn the correct swiping technique.
-The detail display on the front is really cool and unique. I liked it a lot more than the plain black and steel ones.
-It runs a lot cooler than my Toshiba, which has burnt my legs a few times. So, -that's a big plus.
Dislikes:
The touch-pad can be a little hard to work, but it just takes some getting use to. Or you can get a wireless mouse, which I did and love.
Overall,
Great product for a great price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dv6-3230us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Computer, Great Product!

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love Hp, & computer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dv6-3230us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice overall, but touchpad stinks.

PostedAugust 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This laptop is a nice mix of features and value. The only real drawback is the touchpad. The "buttons" are part of the touchpad. This gives you a larger touchpad, but it makes navigation awkward. If you use one hand to move the mouse, and the other to click, you find yourself moving the pointer away from what you are trying to click on. The touchpad also has gesturing features for scrolling and zooming. However, it is not very responsive. I just use a wireless mouse and i am good to go.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dv6-3230us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of a kind

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:maryland
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this PC because it has a lot of features combined together such as webcam, games, bluetooth, entertainment laptop, colorful pictures and bright display.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dv6-3230us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this laptop!

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am starting grad school and I needed to buy a new laptop. I was very hesitant because not only did I want to buy a good laptop, but this was my very first laptop ever. I would definitely recommened this laptop to anyone who wants fast performance, great style, and features. This laptop looks like the Macbook, performs just as well and got it for half what the Macbook costs. I read the reviews when I was deciding on which model to buy and I did see some people said the mouse is a bit difficult to press. I would have to agree, but you get use to it and it's really not an issue. The HP Pavilion dv6 and Tobisha Satellite are the best buys according to Consumer Reports!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dv6-3230us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great design, great performance.

PostedJuly 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
*Design*
The overall design of this laptop is very nice, and higher quality then you might think. The back of the screen has a very cool-to-the-touch metal finish that just looks awesome, and the HP symbol lights up which completes the pro-grade look.
*Keyboard*
The keyboard is a lot like a macbook pro. Very good keys, super quiet and spaced out exceptionally well. I really really like the all 4 arrow keys are fullsized. On my model 2 or 3 of the keys slightly slanted, none of the important ones (esc, f8 key, lock button) And if you're not paying attention you could possibly press the calculator button when you're going for the left control key. Other than those, it's a flawless keyboard.
*Trackpad*
This trackpad gets a bad rap, rightfully so to an extent, but it's not unusable, as long as you tap to click. The buttons are actually part of the sensor though which is really stupid.
*Features*
The fingerprint reader on this is awesome. The UI for configuring it is very easy to use. The webcam is alright, havent used it that much but pretty clear. Haven't used the microphones yet either. The speakers are incredible on this thing. Very clear and loud. High quality.
*Overall*
This is a great computer for the price. Very fast and can handle multiple programs for the most part very well. It's the perfect size and I like how it has so many USB ports. Would definitely reccomend this computer to all non-hardcore users.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dv6-3230us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!!!

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love my laptop!!
I've had this for 2 months and I definitely received all the bang for the buck....maybe even more!!
<3 HP!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dv6-3230us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Computer

PostedJune 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wytheville, VA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this computer for games. It is easy to get use to and navigate. I bought 2 Toshiba computers and an Msi. All were messing up. I decided HP because my aunt and friends have HP and doesn't have problems with it. The "Stream" look is awesome and cool to feel the design. The HP logo lights up when the computer is on. The only thing I don't care for on the mouse is 2 finger scrolling. It doesn't work sometimes but you can always buy an external mouse. The only thing I would change is the speakers. But I guess you can't have everything on a computer. If you are thinking about buying this computer. DOOOOOOO! It's amazing. I will try and post again if I have problems out of it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion dv6-3230us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laptop

PostedMay 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:La
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dislikes:
- Touchpad's left and right buttons are too hard but I've always used a wireless mouse so it does not pose a problem for me
Likes:
- The webcam is far clearer then the one on my wife's Toshiba
- I'm able to run numerous programs at one time; most of which use a lot of resources
- The fingerprint reader is unbelievable! Worth the money and then some
- The monitor is crystal clear and bright
- Runs really cool; I no longer need a chill pad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion dv6-3230us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Purchase Definitely Worth The Price!!!!!

PostedMay 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i got this laptop as a present from a generous person and i absolutely love it! the features are great and the finger print scanner works flawlessly. i really like this keyboard. as usual i have a complaint about the touchpad but i find that i usually just double tap it instead of pressing the buttons. i find that the 2 finger scrolling doesn't work nearly as well as a mac but i guess that it's okay because you can just use the arrow keys. the shipping was really fast as i got this laptop 3 days before i was supposed to! the extra buttons on the side of the keyboard don't bother me at all. the laptop feels light and slim in my hands and it actually feels barely heavier than a notebook. i really recommend this product and don't worry about the price, you'll love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion dv6-3230us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

First Impression

PostedApril 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A common theme for reviews on this computer should and will be the annoyance that is the clicking section on the touch pad. It does require a surprising amount of pressure to click. However, this is a minor inconvenience and is easily compensated for by using a mouse or just using the cursor section. This design flaw was not enough to deter me from purchasing this computer nor should it be enough to deter you.
The laptop I'm replacing is a 2006 gateway with a first-generation dual core AMD processor. Needless to say, the technology in this HP is lightyears ahead of a 5 year old computer and I'm impressed with the improvement in processing speed. I am not a very technical person, I intend to use this computer for the internet, music, social networking, & business school. This is more than enough computer to meet my needs. The i3 might not be the fastest of intel's processors, but I am subjectively impressed because it is significantly faster than my old processor and I could not justify spending extra money just to have an i5 or i7 (which I doubt are noticibly much faster anyway, I can afford to wait the extra second or fraction of a second for a program to load).
The computer looks great, and has great bells and whistles.The neatest part about this laptop is the fingerprint scanner, it is very easy to activate and I am incredibly pleased with the convenience of not having to enter usernames and passwords on web pages anymore because I can just scan my finger. I have yet to experience the full capability of this laptop, I haven't played around with the webcam yet, and I still have to get used to Window's 7. But I would say that for the money, this is probably one of the best deals on the market. I intend to follow-up with another review after a month or two of using this computer to it's potential.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion dv6-3230us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Laptop Ever Great for Price.

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best laptop ever for $599 you'll get a Intel core I3 processor, 15.6 in Brightview LED screen with a HP Truevision HD webcam with an aluminum case . The mousepad is a little bit hard but it has to be broken in just like anything else. The first night I had my Notebook PC I was obsessed with it. It's almost like a Mac Book Pro. Its very easy to slip in your backpack or laptop case for college students. I have not had any problems with this laptop at all.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion dv6-3230us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Notebook Ever

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Okay so i Really Agree With Boooga Its A Perfect Computer The Only Thing Is The Mouse The Button Is Really Hard.I Would Really Recomond This To Anyone .Its a $600 Notebook With Hd Looking Webcam ,Great Loud And High Qulity Speakers,finger Print Reader, IntelCore i3, Windows 7, Aluminum Disign And Its Light Weighted And Skinny Sounds Like A Catch To Me! And I Like How The Logo Lights Up In The Back :D Plus Free Shipping .
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion dv6-3230us Notebook PC, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Miami, FL
Gender:Female
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Okay so I'll admit that I was a bit nervous about getting this laptop since I saved all my money for a new one. But I'm extremely impressed! It's extremely fast, starts up in literally seconds, and the fingerprint reader is outstanding! Huge step up from my old 1.6ghz single core laptop with no webcam.
After only one night of having it, I'm obsessed. With the fingerprint reader, you can 'enroll' any of your fingers and then set certain fingers to open certain programs or web pages. You can open up to three things with each finger and it will open all at once. Extremely fast too! Perfect for me when I'm lazy in the morning :)
The only thing I don't like it the mouse. It's very hard. When I use it just to browse the internet or so, it's fine because I just tap it. But when I need to drag something or press the right key it's a pain. But if you buy an external mouse, the problem will be fixed! I bought a new one right after and just use it next to my touch pad on my laptop so that I can use it on my lap and it works perfectly. I did this for my old laptop as well (even though I liked that mouse) The only thing I do like about the mouse is that in the top left corner if you tap the little dot twice, it locks. Which is perfect for when other nosey people come in my room!
Also, I first I hated the keyboard and was thinking about returning the laptop. But after about an hour I got used to it and I'm typing fast again:) I also love the way the keys feel.
Not only that but I got it for only $549 from Office Max (well it was kind of a pain to get since it was sold out nearly everywhere)
Overall, I love this laptop. It's very fast and responsive and I'm really happy with my purchase. It's a very good laptop, except I wish HP would fix the mouse. :)
Oh wait, I forgot the webcam! I tried it the same day I got it and it's AMAZING. I was impressed. It's perfect for low light situations. I turned off the lights in my room and the webcam has this tiny light next to the webcam and it shines on you and the other person is able to see you perfectly!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.