HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dm1-3020us Entertainment Notebook PC, black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dm1-3020us Entertainment Notebook PC, black

More muscle than a netbook Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit 11.6" diagonal high-definition §§ BrightView LED display (1366 x 768) AMD Dual-Core Processor E-350 (1.6GHz) ‡ 3GB DDR3 memory 320GB (7200 rpm) hard drive with built-in protection § Built-in webcam with integrated microphone 6-cell Lithium-Ion battery with up to 9.5 hours of battery life †† †
Overall rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dm1-3020us Entertainment Notebook PC, black
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dm1-3020us Entertainment Notebook PC, black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

1032bigfoot

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atanta
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Order process and delivery top notch. This dm1z is a nice upgrade from the netbook I was using, while not sacrificing portability. It seems to be everything that I had read about in reviews before I made the purchase
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dm1-3020us Entertainment Notebook PC, black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Satisfied

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great size, good price, and I am happy with the product. Touch pad is disappointingly slow in response.But because I am happy with everything else, I am satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dm1-3020us Entertainment Notebook PC, black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pavilion dm 1-3020us

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tennessee
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Laptop was delivered on scheule and is exactly as expected. Unit is small but that is what I wanted....light weight and portable. I like the screen appearance and this laptop has all I need to accomplish e-mail, web searching, document and picture creation and editing, and general use. I am very satisfied and highly recommend if you are looking for more than a net book but don't want the bulk and weight of a larger laptop.
The only caution is that the touchpad mouse control is very sensitive and will take some time to adjust to unless you are currently using a similar touchpad. It is getting easier to use with experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dm1-3020us Entertainment Notebook PC, black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the big performance in this little notebook

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice little laptop, fast and easy to set up.
PRO's: Boots up quickly and has fast performance, nice and light, stays cool for a long time, excellent screen display quality, decent sized keyboard which is easy to manage, definitely portable. I love how Windows 7 quickly connects to the wireless network and how fast you can get online with this thing. The speakers are very good.
CON's: I think the 9.5 hours of batter life estimate is optimistic! More like 4.5, which is average. The touch pad is touchy and like others said, it can be slow to respond and quirky. I plan on buying a wireless mouse to deal with this. An internal DVD/CD drive would have made this perfect, but there is not one included. I bought an external usb DVD drive so I can watch DVD's on it, which really makes this an ideal entertainment pc.
Basically, with the right accessories you can make this notebook into anything you need. I like the portability of taking it from room to room in my house, watching television or movies on it anywhere, and I think it would be perfect for traveling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dm1-3020us Entertainment Notebook PC, black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice things come in small packages

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Vancouver, BC
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I thought this is the little laptop for me! I was torn between waiting for the HP Touchpad but saw this and thought this is a better way to go, as I already have the IPAD 2. I knew I'd have no problem running flash applications. It is tiny, light, basically full size keyboard.. Great... The touchpad mouse however is not. I could not get it to react precisely enough and it was driving me around the bend. I had HP support on the phone for 2 hours, updating new drivers, etc. They were extremely helpful but I couldn't get it to respond enough to harvest my crops :) Finally I returned it thinking it was the product but after reading the other reviews, I am afraid it is a design flaw. If I plugged in an external mouse it was fine, but you aren't always in a place or position to do that, and it takes away the portability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dm1-3020us Entertainment Notebook PC, black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect size and OKAY battery, great performance

PostedJune 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance:
CPU and 3 GB ram are great with x64 Windows. Will upgrade to 8 GB shortly. Can play all 720p files flawlessly (although to help battery look into CoreAVC). 1080p is okay, but screen is only 720p anyways...just thought I'd mention it :) Haven't tried HDMI out yet.
Keyboard:
Very comfy. No flex. I use the multimedia keys a lot more than I thought I would...nice touch. Perfect amount of float and feedback.
Mousepad:
Took a bit to get used to, but love it now. With the Synaptic driver, you can no longer use three finger as the right-button click. Using autohotkey you can, however, but not as nice or fast as native support. Still looking for the correct driver.
Display:
Very nice and bright. You need the AMD version of the driver to get rid of the very annoying "Veri-Bright" setting which dynamically adjusts the brightness on battery with no intervention.
Speakers:
They can get almost TOO loud (which is awesome :)!
Dimensions/Looks:
Coming from an EEE PC 1000H, this is perfect. Performance of a mid-line laptop in a near-netbook form factor. Full size keyboard and HDMI out are nice. I like the black keyboard and mousepad (hides smudges, grease, w/e I get in the lab), but the silver is nice for outdoors (doesn't burn up the housing like my old Eee PC 1000H).
Battery:
THIS is my main gripe. Again, coming from the 1000H with an extended battery, I could get 8+ hours easy. I know 9.5 hours is a number I would never reach with this (HP uses the same "benchmark" as other companies where they basically turn off all radios, dim the screen, and let it sit there until it dies), but so far I am not that impressed. Getting 4.5 hours or so with BT off, screen @ 50%, switching between web and office. 4.5 is good for some, but again, coming from the 1000H it is a shock. From reading real reviews, people have been getting 4-7.5 hours.
Final:
I'm sure like all things I will adapt again to having a real "notbook" and find the battery less annoying than I do know, but other than that...AWESOME computer. Runs all my engineering apps quite well (MATLAB, Solidworks, etc). Fast, can underclock the processor for battery saving, and the 7200 rpm HDD is a nice touch.
I highly recommend checking Microsoft Update and HP for the most recent drivers/firmware/etc. Check out AMD Vision for their driver and synaptic for their driver (better and more options from them than from HP).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dm1-3020us Entertainment Notebook PC, black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little powerhouse

PostedJune 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For the size, this laptop has amazing performance. Its not a gaming PC, but it will play many titles. Calling it an entertainment PC is quite accurate. It will keep you entertained. It probably wouldn't be a bad work PC for those who are in meetings all the time.
I recommend it for its portability, battery life, and decent screen for the size. This is a laptop you can sit on the kitchen table while you are having breakfast, and leave it streaming your favorite video. Its something that is easy to grab and take with you, and capable for all the portability.
The graphics capability is outstanding for the class of laptop. Its so good that there is a whole missing category or laptops above it. There isn't really an upgrade without getting into the $1000 range, if you are looking for something graphically capable, yet thin and light, but maybe with a larger screen. Those types of laptops seem to go for a premium.
Note: the graphics capability is outstanding for the class of laptop, but it isn't something you are going to play new games at normal or high settings on. It gets by on many games with low settings, and older games with higher settings. Some games, the frame rate will be too low no matter what you do.
The keyboard is pretty good, but I don't like how they re-use the function keys as multimedia keys. In other words, if you press F9, F10, F11, you actually get volume controls. if you want to actually press F9, F10, or F11, you hold down the Fn key to do it. To be fair, I use the multimedia functionality more than I use function keys, but it makes the experience different from what I expect a keyboard to do. Dell also uses this same scheme on their lower end laptops as well. I guess it saves a few buttons.
The touchpad isn't that great. Its not very sensitive, and it doesn't support traditional scrolling techniques. Even with practice, it only responds to 5 out of 6 gestures. It helps to keep your fingers together as you make the gesture.
The response is jerky and delayed because its trying to decide if your gesture is a scroll or a pinch zoom or something else. By the time it has decided, you are already halfway through the gesture. I would love an option in the software to restore traditional scroll zone at the edge of the pad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dm1-3020us Entertainment Notebook PC, black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product.

PostedJune 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ind
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product and battery life is too good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dm1-3020us Entertainment Notebook PC, black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE this laptop!

PostedMay 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Prior to purchasing this laptop I had an HP Mini which I adored but unfortunately its harddrive gave out after two years of usage (its capability just couldn't withstand my hardcore GB needs as a student). I was on the market for another netbook since I loved the portability and light-weightedness of them but after speaking with an HP representative I was directed to the DM 1-3020us. I was definitely a bit skeptical to purchase outside of the netbook family but am VERY PLEASED with my decision! This PC is lightweight, cool as a cucumber even while watching videos, and VERY speedy! If there is perhaps one thing I would change it would be for this PC to have a more sensitive touch-pad. Sometimes it seems like the touch-pad just doesn't move the mouse as quickly or efficiently as I would like and gets "stuck" at times. However, it is a small glitch in an otherwise perfect invention. Overall if you are in the market for a new laptop I would definitely suggest this one! I love HP! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dm1-3020us Entertainment Notebook PC, black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Bargin Notebook!

PostedApril 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i am blown away by this little notebook. The HP DM1-3020us with 1.6ghz dual core APU will outperform anything in its class.and look great doing it. HP's NEW Cool Sense Technology keeps this notebook running nice and cool. I have heard people complain about the fan noise but It is not really that bad. I actually like the sound it makes. Its sounds a little like HP put a turbo charger in the laptop. lol
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion dm1-3020us Entertainment Notebook PC, black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best i ever had

PostedApril 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is the best laptop I've ever had its fast the camera is good and i get a lot of work done this also has a long battery life who wouldn't want that
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion dm1-3020us Entertainment Notebook PC, black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value!

PostedApril 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:SF, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just bought the Quick Ship dm1-3020us and I could not be happier. The screen is gorgeous, the keyboard is just the right size and I even like the touchpad. For those that have difficulty with it, there are lots of options to adjust it. So far this small, but not too small laptop has been a pleasure to work with. Of course it took a bit to get rid of a bunch of junk, but I do not blame the machine for that as most any pc has a lot of unneeded software. The weight of this machine is terrific and it feels very speedy so far. The only time I thought it was slow turned out to be my wireless connection. I have read some reviews that thought the construction felt a bit cheap, but I disagree, especially when compared to what is out there for this price. I will update this review later as I use it more, but so far I could not be happier....and so far the battery life is amazing as is how cool it stays.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion dm1-3020us Entertainment Notebook PC, black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

PostedMarch 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great laptop. I'm normally not a big HP buyer but this is brilliant. The keyboard is great, Screen is beautiful, Speakers are unbelievable for such a small laptop, It's not by any means slow. Solid build quality. About the only gripe I have is that the touch pad is a bit aggravating to scroll with. The AMD chipset is brilliant! Super battery life with usable power and portability. What more could you ask for?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion dm1-3020us Entertainment Notebook PC, black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

overall a good small laptop

PostedMarch 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:charlotte,nc
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall a good small laptop. A little longer than I wanted on ship time but, a good computer for college.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion dm1-3020us Entertainment Notebook PC, black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NO DVD player

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The spec says there is a Primary CD/DVD drive but there is not.
-13points
7of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion dm1-3020us Entertainment Notebook PC, black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little laptop!

PostedFebruary 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love it. I have been struggling with "do I buy an iPad, a netBook, a laptop?". The DM1 suddenly appeared and the weight was right, the size was right and the price was pretty good, so I bought it from the HP website (the preconfigured one with 3 GB memory and 320 gb hard drive). I did not need anything more. It arrived in 2 days with the free shipping. It booted right up...very simple...only 3 things in the box...a little laptop, a charger and a quick start guide...so far, so good! THe first thing I noticed is that it does not heat up like other laptops I have had. The screen and the screen resolution are very nice (although it took a little time to figure out how to decrease the brightness-the default setting is very bright). I am just getting used to Windows 7, but that should be no problem. I like the touchpad, it is nicer than anyone I have had, but I like touchpads. The keyboard is also very nice - I believe it is full size, if not, it is very close. I like the idea that I can run the S/W apps that I want like MS Office, and the Adobe products. I am not a gamer, so that is not a factor. I do travel for business and wanted something light and capable and this seems to fit the bill perfectly! There is a little sticker on it that says "Just possibly the planet's coolest laptop" - I think that might be true.
+20points
22of 24voted this as helpful.