HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dm4-1160us Notebook PC, stream argento design, brushed aluminum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dm4-1160us Notebook PC, stream argento design, brushed aluminum

Lightweight laptop with unbelievable performance Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit 14" (diagonal) WXGA HD §§ BrightView widescreen (1366 x 768) Intel Core i5-450M processor ‡ (2.4GHz) with Turbo Boost 4GB DDR3 memory 500GB § (7200 rpm) hard drive with built-in protection Built-in TruVision webcam and Bluetooth 6-cell battery for long battery life
Overall rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 12(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dm4-1160us Notebook PC, stream argento design, brushed aluminum
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dm4-1160us Notebook PC, stream argento design, brushed aluminum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mixed Emotions

PostedJune 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bergen County, NJ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I left HP to join a start-up firm and needed a good laptop which traveled well. The reviews on the DM4-1160US were good and the unit was on sale at Staples.
On the positive side, the computer looks great and passed the "geek" test - better than average processor (Core i5), plenty of memory and disk, and enough peripheral support to handle expansion. The screen is very sharp and the unit has a very good feel. It is light and easy to carry.
The problem I have had from Day One is the performance. The computer is plagued by something which causes it to run as if it has overdosed on valium. Any and all tasks, even simple things like right-clicking in an MS-Office application or typing in a the browser address window, causes the computer to go into "Not Responding" status. I have contacted HP Tech Support multiple times over a two month period but the problems persist after three system restore attempts (one performed by HP at their service depot).
As of this writing, the unit is back with HP in an attempt to resolve the problem. In the interim, because I cannot go weeks without a computer, I purchased a Dell Inspiron unit at Best Buy for $329. That computer runs circles around this HP unit. It is a much boxier and heavier unit but the performance is lightening fast when compared to the DM4. Let's hope that HP can solve the problem with my unit as I prefer the DM4 over the Dell but I cannot wait 5-10 seconds every time I want to bold-face a section of text or page through a PDF file.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dm4-1160us Notebook PC, stream argento design, brushed aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I adore this computer!!

PostedMay 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I adore this laptop and recommend it without any hesitation! It is super lightweight and portable, very powerful, and meets all of my needs. Truly fantastic!
While most of the reviews I read prior to purchase were favorable, I initially felt hesitant to purchase it after reading some less than enthusiatic posts. I have not experienced any of the concerns mentioned by those reviewers.
After owning other laptop computers over the years (e.g., HP, Dell, ThinkPad, etc) this is my favorite yet!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dm4-1160us Notebook PC, stream argento design, brushed aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ummm, Excellent Buy!!!

PostedMay 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas,Tx
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was/am amazed at all the features this laptop has, especially for it's price. It is comparable to my HP Pavillion desktop. I was wanting to buy a MacBook, as most people who purchase this laptop probably wanted as well. However, I decided that it just wasn't worth purchasing a MacBook, since it has barely half the specs of this laptop, with double the cost. I mainly wanted a MacBook for the physical look, and just the OS, as I've never had a mac before and the OS seems appealing. Outside of not having OSX, this sys blows the MacBook out of the water. I bought mine from Fry's at $699 w/mail in rebate of $50. However, Office Depot had this on sale for $599 with the same mail in rebate. So, I printed the ad out and went back to fry's and they refunded me %110 of the difference. All in all, I got this laptop for $529. This is an amazing deal for this feature packed system. I also purchased a 2yr service plan from Fry's; however, I am going to get this refunded and purchase the service plan from HP. The HP service plan covers accidents and in home repairs, where as the Fry's service plan doesn't. If you're going to get a service plan, get HP's it's a good value and offers a lot of protection.
The final/greatest feature that finally sold me on this system, is the WiDi. I can't believe that no one else has mentioned this in the reviews. I love this new little feature. Basically, you buy a WiDi adapter that's pretty much a router. Plug that into your Tv via HDMi or composite, and your desktop will pop up on your tv. I am using it mainly with Hulu at the moment, I just make it full screen and voila, I have Hulu on my Tv with plugNplay setup.
I am very happy with the speed of this system as well, the i5 is really fast, and the 4GB of RAM is very good as well, allowing for an increase to 8GB which is awesome for a laptop. I have had absolutely no "error's" or sluggishness due to pre-installed bloatware, it's just simply fast.
All in All; If you are thinking of purchasing a laptop with a 14" screen, which has awesome picture, then I would definitely recommend this system.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dm4-1160us Notebook PC, stream argento design, brushed aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING PRODUCT

PostedMay 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great HP product. This is my first laptop and it was mainly for school. I use it every day for school and the battery lasts just fine, i do however have to charge it half way through the day during lunch if i use it too much during my first three periods. Since i am using it for school, i wanted it to be portable. This computer is EXTREMELY light and comes with a fingerprint scanner that acturally works, this is good in case i forget the password or leave it in a class room so no one can steel it. it comes with an i5 which is really nice considering the highest processor i was expecting was an intel pentium, maybe an i3. A really nice thing about is the keyboard, it is chiclet style(at least thats how i think you spell it) and it is relly easy to use. It comes with a DVD drive which is a plus for all you guys coming from macbook airs. However it dose not come with a recovery drive and you can make your own by putting in DVDS after clicking the action tab in the bottom left corner an click create backup and it will take you through the steps, it requires 6 blank dvds and roughly 4 hours. HP will require you to send it in for a week and charge you 20$ for it, but if you dont want to take the risk send it to HP, my uncle works with computers and showed me how to do and i hope this review helps
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dm4-1160us Notebook PC, stream argento design, brushed aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, with "buts..."

PostedApril 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice system for home and home office use. Screen is a good size for home and travel, processors are excellent, and 7 Professional 64-bit is a huge improvement over Vista. Keyboard is a decent size, and keeping it clean is easy.
The "buts" in priority order are:
- poor Wifi chip by Intel, offering half the connectivity strength of my other systems;
- poor battery, offering only 2-3 hours of power on normal settings;
- lack of docking station availability (I know it's not a business system, but it would be nice)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dm4-1160us Notebook PC, stream argento design, brushed aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great looks!

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My HP Pavilion dm4 is great. The new Intel CORE Series is wonderfully fast. The notebook comes with CORE i5, which is my favorite out of the new CORE Series. It sports 2.40 Ghz speed, Intel HD Graphics, a beautiful design with a light-up HP logo on the back similar to the MacBook from Apple. The only problems I have had is the non-backlit keyboard, the stupid registry error fix software that comes with the machine, and the CD tray, which slides instead of a simple slot in the side of the computer, although it doesn't bother me that much. It runs low-level games like Blockland, Minecraft, and all of the flash and Java games I could find on the Internet. It's dangerously thin, light, and with sufficient battery life. It has integrated graphics, which of course lower the gaming to some degree so I don't recommend Steam games. 4GB random access memory is sufficient, 500GB HDD is more than enough, fingerprint scanner, and a GREAT QUALITY WEBCAM. The only notebook I've ever seen that I like more is the MacBook which is two times as expensive.
Overall, great.
BUY IT NOW!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dm4-1160us Notebook PC, stream argento design, brushed aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy camper

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall, I am quite satisfied with this product. For the price, the performance, screen quality, and weight are better than expected. For me, the keyboard is exceptional (I have large fingers).
The webcam is not so great, but it’s not something I’m particularly interested in.
The only disappointment so far is the design of the USB ports; they are too close together and most of my devices can only be used one at a time. I don’t understand how a computer designer would overlook that.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dm4-1160us Notebook PC, stream argento design, brushed aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Laptop more than I expected

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am extremely happy with this laptop. I purchased at Office Depot for $549 on sale and when using my Discover card, I received 5% cash back. I can not believe the amount of features this laptop offers. The I5 alone offers so many new features, then the new applications HP has added make this a terrific deal. Every time I use this I like it more and more. While I have always had sucess with all my HP computers, this one is really the best. Compare it to any other with the same features, and you will see it is an overall great deal. I have heard people say the Intel Graphics is not the best, but I have not had any issues. I don't use this gaming etc. so it fits my needs perfectly.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dm4-1160us Notebook PC, stream argento design, brushed aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but with issues

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This laptop was acquired for lightweight travel use to substitute for my Dell Inspiron 15" and Toshiba 16" laptops. 4 GB memory is acceptable and 500 GB drive was plenty even with my 6 virtual OS's. Battery is rated for 6 hrs but I won't be able to verify until travel in January. Fingerprint log in has very few misreads. It's difficult to use the touch pad and button pads with one hand which I normally do.
2 issues I have found: (1) There are 2 USB drives on the right side but are so close together, I can't get any 2 USB devices in at the same time (wireless mouse receiver along any of my 3 Jump drives). There is a 3rd port which is a combo eSATA & USB so I have 2 usable slots. (2) The keyboard keys are in individual slots on the keyboard (not free floating like my other laptops). I have found that when typing, numerous characters are miss-typing. I am having to watch each word as I type (inconvenient when copying) and continually going back to enter the missing characters. I hope this will correct itself once the keys are "broken in". Both issues were reported to HP.
I am using the laptop more for business purposes so I can't comment on the Home Premium features. I can do about the same with Win7 Home Premium as Win7 Pro (e.g. VirtualPC works fine although MS says it isn't supported on Home Premium).
No paper manual comes with the laptop although the included packet says it does. They do give you a nice scratch pad with their logo.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dm4-1160us Notebook PC, stream argento design, brushed aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Still learning...

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I"ve only had this notebook for a week, but I love it. Its my first time ever working with a laptop of any kind, so I have no comparisons other than my desktop. I do find the touchpad to be a bit squirrely, but maybe that's just because its a new concept for me, so I won't blame HP's design for that. My only complaint, and not worth lowering the score, is that I'm left-handed but the option for a wireless mouse requires the USB ports that are on the right side of the laptop. It sometimes works on the left side, but not very well. That may also be the same for all laptops, so again, I'm not lowering the score for this laptop. Very nice keyboard handling, lightweight, compact, yet not too small. I like all the Win7 features as I get to know them (that's also a new experience for me). Haven't played with Skype yet or with the fingerprint sign-on, but I will. I will be using this laptop for personal, work, and school, plus while traveling. Couldn't find the same features in other brands for the sale price I got, so there's no buyer's remorse. Here's hoping the laptop lasts long beyond the warranty period since I've seen other users with other laptops have issues outside the warranty, and if there are any issues, that they happen inside the 1-month customer service. Why is it only 1 month??
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion dm4-1160us Notebook PC, stream argento design, brushed aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase!

PostedNovember 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Laurel, MD
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this laptop for over a month now and so far it's been a pretty good buy - considering this is an HP laptop. Anyway, I haven't had many problems; when I did have a BIOS issue, I called Customer Service & was able to solve the problem on the first try!!! It's lightweight, and the battery life is pretty decent for a 14" laptop (I can get around 5-5 1/2 hrs), but only if I'm NOT running a whole lot of power-consuming apps. I've had a few IE "not responding" issues, but that's Windows. Processor is awesome, but the speakers are lousy. I haven't had any problems with the touchpad, though some people have. Haven't had a chance to wirelessly stream HD videos to my TV, because I don't have the adapter for that. Bluetooth comes in handy & I love using the MediaSmart option! Don't be afraid to purchase this computer - it's great for students and for those of you who don't need a desktop replacement PC!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion dm4-1160us Notebook PC, stream argento design, brushed aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better performance for lower price

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and I were looking for a 14 inch laptop to replace her old HP 17-inch Celeron laptop, and came across this one. With rebates, the cost undercut a lot of Core i3-powered laptops with lower equipment levels, and this had the benefit of being a Core i5 computer. Setup was easy, and there is some bloatware but not as much as in the past. We had two problems. First, the volume is relatively low even when all the way up, so if you watch a lot of video, you may want headphones or more powerful external speakers. Second, Windows kept crashing when watching Hulu. We called HP Support, which was very helpful (and based in the USA!), and it seemed to be due to a corrupted user account rather than a hardware problem. So far, though, it is a nice, very lightweight laptop with good performance for video streaming and business applications.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.