HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP TouchSmart tm2-2150us Notebook PC, stream argento, aluminum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP TouchSmart tm2-2150us Notebook PC, stream argento, aluminum

Unparalleled versatility Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit 12.1" LED Multitouch display Intel Core i3-380UM Processor ‡ 4GB DDR3 memory 500GB (7200 rpm) hard drive with built-in protection § Webcam with integrated microphone Keyboard with fingerprint reader 6-cell Lithium-Ion battery with up to 6.5 hours of battery life †† †
Overall rating:
4.364 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 11(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP TouchSmart tm2-2150us Notebook PC, stream argento, aluminum
Review 1 for HP TouchSmart tm2-2150us Notebook PC, stream argento, aluminum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

unreliable...

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cypress,Texas
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I received my Hp touch smart in May of 2010 as a birthday gift. I was really excited that my computer was a touch screen and when it was first set up it was really nice, but as time went on the quality of the computer diminished. I first started having errors when the computer would first start up, then I started having problems with the battery, then the wireless, and now the motherboard. It seemed like every month I had a new problem and since I am in school I needed a computer that I could rely on, and this computer did not cut it. Only a year and a few months since the time I got it, I have purchased a new computer from a different company. Once I started having the wireless problems that turned out to be problems with the motherboard, it was game over. I am really going to miss the touch screen feature, but I cannot rely on my computer anymore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP TouchSmart tm2-2150us Notebook PC, stream argento, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really nice tablet + PC

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As a frequently traveler, I was looking for the power of a PC with the small form factor of a tablet. Windows 7 as the primary OS as well as MS Office and Visio 200x are a must for me. Thus far I'm been very happy with the TM2. Although the mouse was a little quirky with the default / out of the box drivers, after an HP update all is now well. For me this is the laptop I've been looking for-- something that packs the punch of a full-fledged Windows7 laptop that I can fold down into tablet / slate format for traveling in my usual coach accommodations. The icing on the cake is that the laptop is actually quite affordable. Kudos to HP; I'm super stoked on this laptop and will replace it with another HP in the coming years if a comparable model is available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP TouchSmart tm2-2150us Notebook PC, stream argento, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bring back customization

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best and only laptop I will ever buy. I am a techie nerd, owning 6 personal computers, my main which is Alienware. I have owned the Touchsmart Tx2 and now own a tm2t. Previous laptops to that have been Gateway and HP. I know my computers, and I love the Touchsmart series laptops.
I can play Fallout 3 on my Duo Core tm2t, and then flip the screen over the watch a movie on an airplane. The battery lasts amazingly long, I seriously have no worries traveling through airports with only the one battery. This is lightweight and travels well. I explain to everyone who asks (and you will get a lot) that this is one million times better than an iPod, or any other tablet. It is more powerful, versatile, and all around more useful. I would take this with me to Iraq for a year in a heartbeat. It would suit all my gaming needs.
The processor toggles between battery mode and power mode, allowing for better unplugged battery life. No CD rom drive, because the future is Steam other digital distribution. It looks sleek and handles solidly. I never leave home without it.
HP, bring back customization! Give us back the i5 processor and even allow an i7 processor! Also give us a 1GB Video card. I will buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP TouchSmart tm2-2150us Notebook PC, stream argento, aluminum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ohio
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I searched for a long time for something that would be a compromise between a full size Windows 7 laptop and a slim tablet that would also be affordable. This seemed to be the device that would meet those needs but didn't live up to my expectations.
Starting with the keyboard - I knew that there would be fewer keys than a full size keyboard, but I found it difficult to live without the PgUp, PgDn, Home, and End keys for navigation.
Fingerprint reader required several swipes before recognizing my fingerprint, so it became much easier to simply type my password.
The biggest disappointment was the touch screen. It was not very accurate with either my finger or the pen. After re-calibrating it would seem to work well for a brief period and then it would return to being way off the mark in responding to the location that I would touch. Besides not being accurate to the touch, you can not use this outside in natural light - which I knew when I ordered this notebook. An antiglare screen was not an option at that time - not sure about availability of that now.
I ordered this with the stand/docking station with speakers. The sound was great, but the docking station was limited in its features. The biggest drawback is that it does NOT charge the battery while the tablet is docked. It also does not have an HDMI port available. I had purchased the device for wireless connection to my HD tv, but had to use the HDMI and a USB port on the laptop to connect the device. So, undocking the device required removal of the 2 cables for this device as well as the USB cable that connected the laptop to the dock and the power cable that was charging the battery. This was not very convenient.
Although I returned this laptop for a full refund, I will say that I have still not found a device that would be a compromise between a full size Windows 7 laptop and a slim tablet that would also be affordable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP TouchSmart tm2-2150us Notebook PC, stream argento, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible Computer. Simply Incredible!

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best purchases I've ever made. I customized my TouchSmart with the i5 processor, 4 GB RAM, and 500 GB Hard Drive. I've since maxed out the memory to 8 GB, and upgraded the OS to Microsoft 7 Professional. For me, I wanted the portability of a tablet but the horsepower of a desktop. The TouchSmart is the perfect fit of those two needs. Its just an incredible computer that gives me good portability but also includes a dedicated video card, Intel Processor, a full keyboard, and a touch screen.
My TouchSmart provides me with the ability to play Steam Games (TF2, HL2, L4D, Portal); Microsoft Office 2010; Adobe Premier Elements; iTunes; and so much more. I haven't found an application that doesn't perform well on this platform. The dedicated video card along with the i5 processor (and ample amounts of memory) eliminate any application lag. Its a very solid experience.
Just a few recommendations. HP loads the laptop up with plenty of free applications. Most of this is pretty easy to remove. Just delete it, but you might want to give some of this software a chance. For example, I never thought I'd use either the WebOS or the Splashtop operating systems. Splashtop is the pre-Windows OS that provides 'instant on' when you turn on your TouchSmart. The WebOS is the new HP software for the TouchPad. Actually, they both ROCK! I am a firm believer of formatting every new computer I get and starting from scratch, but these two softwares really work for me. I use Splashtop when I need to quick check my e-mail, and I use WebOS for a full tablet experience. Both a really cool. The rest of the 'freeware' I deleted with extreme prejudice. Another recommendation is to max out the memory. Once you get the feel for the TouchSmart, you'll use it for everything. And when you use it for everything, you'll wish you had 8 GB of memory. And because you want to use 8 GB of memory, you'll want to upgrade the OS to Windows 7 Professional to take advantage of the additional 'horsepower'. Other then that, you'll find this to be an incredible experience.
Lastly, don't go into this purchase thinking you're buying an Intel tablet. You're not. The device weighs five or six pounds. It's heavy enough that you won't be able to sling it around like a tablet. The TouchSmart is slim, but its not 'tablet' slim. So... keep that in mind. Finally, the TouchSmart does not include a CDROM drive. External drives are pretty easy to come by (and pretty cheap too). But when you think about it, you don't really need a CDROM drive. This wasn't a worry for me.
Overall, I am very happy with this purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP TouchSmart tm2-2150us Notebook PC, stream argento, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow

PostedJune 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have just received my new tablet and what an appearance. I bought mine with 4GB RAM, Intel Core i5. I've had it for three days and getting used to the different keyboard was tricky. Overall It's a beautiful PC. I use it for school, and it lasts all day (6 Hours). I'm the school's Techie, so I specifically needed a computer that is powerful and portable. That's just what I got. I have a few games on it as well, such as The Sims 3, Flight Simulator X and Ship Simulator '08. They all run on full graphics, with mo jitters, slow framerates or freezes. It seems like it can handle multiple large capacity games extremely well. I bought it for it's versatility and portability. I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP TouchSmart tm2-2150us Notebook PC, stream argento, aluminum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

why downgrading a pc?

PostedJune 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i´m sad now that you HP retired the customizable model of this awesome pc. i have mine with intel i5, 6 gb of ram and radeon graphics, why HP doesn`t allows to customize the pc anymore??????????
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP TouchSmart tm2-2150us Notebook PC, stream argento, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a laptop to remember

PostedJune 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i am going to keep it short and simple 1 of the best laptops i have ever used and every thing on it is great. good job hp :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP TouchSmart tm2-2150us Notebook PC, stream argento, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Greenwood IN
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Let me start by saying that I am a preschool teacher that uses this laptop/tablet as a tool in my classroom to document observations of children's work and behavior. I work on the floor as I type in my notes, and I make additional notes to myself of ways to prepare for my class the next day.
The laptop portion of this product has no issues. The keyboard is easy to use, and the mousepad is out of the way so I am not typing where I don't want text. The mousepad does need firm pressure to use it accurately, but it is something I can learn to do. The only thing I would change would be that the screen is very heavy. Since I work on the floor, I must push the screen back as far as I can to see while I type, but then the unit tips over. So I am working to find that balance to be able to use the laptop and keep it upright.
The touchsmart tablet portion is so powerful! I love the technology, and the ease with which I can leave myself notes, access pictures and videos, pull up saved articles, and navigate the internet with touch technology. I am so glad I did not pursue the iPad. This product is perfect if you don't want or need all of the apps. The larger screen and fully functional keyboard make this unit totally worth the price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP TouchSmart tm2-2150us Notebook PC, stream argento, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I just love it

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is my first tablet pc. I'm really thrilled to own one and regret why I got it so late.
PROS:
You have the benefits of a tablet, smooth seem-less interface and a wonderful aesthetic look in this HP touchsmart. I was initially flirting with the idea of an iPad because decent tablet PC's from Fujitsu or even Lenovo are very expensive. But iPad has way too many limitations. I am glad I bought this laptop.
The battery life is good so far. It has been less than a month since I bought it.
The touchscreen is responsive and very accurate. HP's enhancement softwares, if you don't like them, can be uninstalled and, later when you change your mind, can be downloaded again from HP website.
CONS:
1) The touchpad is not very easy to operate. The buttons are ver hard to press. Plus, it is touch sensitive even on the buttons. This makes it extremely difficult to operate with one hand. SOLUTION: You need some time to get used to it.
2) The keyboard has no Home, PageUp, PageDown or End keys. SOLUTION: You have to hold the Fn key and then employ the cursor keys to get the effect of Home et. al. Similarly, the F keys are active only when Fn key is kept pressed. Thus closing a window would not be Alt+F4 but rather Alt+Fn+F4. You need to get used to it.
3) PDF scrolling using fingers and touchscreen is not calibrated to go one page at a time. If you move you finger too long, it simply scrolls a couple of pages. SOLUTION: More oftenyou use it more deft you become using it.
4) Like all preinstalled Windows, the unmovable files are stored exactly in the middle of the C drive. Thus when you wanna create another partition you can only shrink the existing volume to about half its current size. SOLUTION: After your first installation and before you use it, just shrink volume by half using windows partition tool. Then reinstall winows using HP's own utility. Now, your immovable files are in the middle of your existing C partition. You can shrink it further to 1/4 its original size. The free unallocated space equal to 3/4 of your actual hard drive space.
SUGGESTIONS:
1) If you are not in a hurry, please customize your laptop for 4GB RAM in a single dimm as opposed to the standard pre-assembled two 2GB RAM chips. This way you could enhance your RAM to 8GB by simply putting another chip in future without discarding the current one.
2) I ordered a stylus thinking Touchsmart won't come with its own. They don't mention it in the specs but provide you with one.
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP TouchSmart tm2-2150us Notebook PC, stream argento, aluminum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliablity

PostedNovember 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this tablet is really nice and has many features that worth spending money
-1point
8of 17voted this as helpful.