HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Laptop or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI

Streams hi-def 1080p multimedia from PC to home entertainment center Shares photos and other content with compatible TV WHDI certified for easy setup
Overall rating:
4.581 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
40 out of 43(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Review 1 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted - easy to set up

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oregon
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've wanted to be able to do this for a year. Have only had it 3 days, but could not have been easier to set up and use. Picture quality is excellent, and I'm not bringing the laptop over to the TV to plug it in, then get the video settings correct. With easier access to Netflix and Hulu, I'm going to dial back on my cable subscription.
The unit for the PC could perhaps be improved by making it more compact.
I haven't tested it to see what kind of range it has. I assume it's line of sight. Would be good to set that expecation in the literature or specs. It works great for how I intend to use it, but it was a question I had before purchase.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great device for wireless streaming

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hi,
I was looking for a device, router or something that will help me stream movie, music, infact anything straight from my laptop to TV, so that we don't have to sit in front of the laptop or wired it to TV to watch it in TV. I came across several devices similar to this, some looks good but wasn't sure how reliable they are. Netgear has a device push2TV that one can use to stream things from the Laptop or PC on your TV, but it has restriction of having Intel graphic card, which I don't like and WIDI. Not all the laptop comes with WIDI and if you get laptop with Intel graphic card, I am sorry I won't recommend that.
So I was looking for a device that would work on any Laptop or PC that has HDMI connector and seamlessly stream from PC and then I came across HP Wireless TV and I bought it. It is awesome device, It comes in two adapter one for TV and another for Laptop, little too big for Laptop but I will take it. It connects quickly without hassle and stream everything from my laptop to TV without lag. The best thing about it is, you don't have to have both the adaptor at line of sight, meaning in the same room and in front of each other, unlike other similar devices. I stream from my bedroom and my TV is in Living room. there is wall in between, yet it streams seamlessly just like I am using WIFI and connected to the Internet for surfing. So I can work on my laptop and let my friends watch movie or listen to music on TV. The only restriction is you need to have it within 5 meters radius to work it properly.
If you want to buy something to stream your PC/Laptop contain on TV, this is the device. There are no hardware restrictions other than HDMI port and its easy to connect and stream.
I am happy to have it and going to gift another to my Brother-in-Law.
Thanks,
Yogi
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another Home Run Purchase From HP

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tampa, FL area
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI after researching many other devices...this one seemed the most flexible and adaptable...You know what? It is.
I highly recommend this device if you want to watch anything that comes to and through your computer...on your HDMI capable flat screen TV.
I have a HP laptop computer and it works great. My laptop has a lower than 1080 monitor but it channels through to my RCA 1080 pix flatscreen HD Tv in 1080 pix. It's fantastic and always works... It was very easy to set up...it set up flawlessly...directions were easy and accurate.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and easy

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hermitage, TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered the Wireless TV Connect Assembly on Friday, it arrived on Saturday and had it installed and running in about 1.4 hours. I own a Sony TV and an HP
Desktop computer, model 560z. The setup was almost automatic. I had to enter
the NVIDIA Control Panel, select Setup for Multiple Displays, Right Click on
the TV monitor and Select Clone the Computer Display to the TV monitor and
save my changes. Otherwise it works fine. Picture is as good on my Sony as with my Computer Display. Audio works great. I wished all upgrades could be as easy as this one.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Springfield, MO
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product was easy to set up and worked great on a 55 inch 120hz LCD Vizio tv.
I noticed some flickering on the laptop screen during the DVD playback but the TV screen was always smooth and had no flickering. I streamed some television programs from Media Center and they displayed fine.
This is easy to use and works well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had an old laptop connected to my 50" TV in the living room. The video card, memory and processor are not very good on that laptop. I just bought a new desktop computer with a lot of memory, a fast processor and I upgraded the video card to 1GB with a DVI and HDMI port. It is lightening fast and it spoiled me so I went looking for a new laptop for the TV in the living room. Along the way I ran across these Wireless TV Connect devices. I did some research and read all the customer reviews and decided to order it.
I ordered it on Thursday afternoon and it was here Saturday morning, that was with the free standard shipping.
It installed in probably 10 minutes. Directions to set-up dual monitors are not included with the device. Since I had little to no experience with dual monitors, it took about 30 minutes to figure out dual monitor settings (duplicate, extended etc.) and what they can and can't do. I also had to figure out the sound settings, since you can only have sound on one device at a time.
This Wireless TV Connect basically turned the desktop computer in my home office into two computers, in 2 different rooms. My home office is right off my living room so I can't speak to distance, the transmitter/receiver is only about 12 feet apart. If I am watching video it does not buffer or lag. So far, I have seen no issues while working on documents or doing email. I LOVE THIS THING!
If you choose to get one, be sure you get a good wireless mouse and keyboard with a strong signal. I had a Microsoft 2000 wireless combo and it worked fine. I decided to get the Logitech mk520 combo because it has the unifying adapter (you can add up to 5 devices on one adapter); the wireless mouse on my desktop computer is a Logitech that is unifying compatible. I thought it would be nice to get rid of one of the adapters. The unifying works slick! However, the Logitech mk520 keyboard in the living room kept lagging. I mean big time lagging. I did some investigating and I think the wireless signal from the TV Connect was interfering with the signal for the keyboard. I went back to the Microsoft 2000 combo and everything is good again.
This Wireless TV Connect, like every device, has it's limits. However, it does everything I wanted it to do, and more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kokomo, IN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There are two, small, easy to attach boxes. One for the TV, one for the computer. BUT, you MUST have a HDMI port on each.
Once connected, within seconds whatever you see on the computer monitor is what you see on the TV screen too. It's that simple.
Picture quality is very good, maybe not quite as precise as directly from the TV but very good. Sound quality is great.
On my laptop after a connection is made there is dual display, meaning you see whatever you are doing on the computer AND TV.
On my desktop, for some reason, once it's set up the computer monitor goes black and you can only see the TV which makes adjustments a little tricky. That may be a setting issue on my part.
The purpose of this device of course is to watch videos from the computer on the TV, but it is also like having a TV sized computer monitor.
This was a little pricey but it works great.
This device is the future.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Product

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this device to connect my desktop computer in my home office to the TV in the living room.
Initial set-up was very easy and everything worked well right out of the box.
The only thing that disappointed me was that there was no audio hookup integrated into the unit. Knowing it would be connected to my computer and TV via HDMI, I thought there would be audio integration. After hooking everything up, I had a great looking picture, but no sound. I came to the conclusion that there wouldn't be any audio support from my HDMI video card. I'm not sure if it would support audio, say from a Xbox, where the audio and video are integrated through the HDMI port. It would have been nice to have a separate audio jack to connect to the computer and then have both, video and audio signals, combine on the TV side via HDMI cable.
Overall, I am very happy with my purchase...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although tv is around corner and further from sending unit, get excellent connection.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product !!!

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Union, NJ
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had previously purchased some cable to connect my TV to my laptop but my movement was limited and i hated. Then i got the HP wireless connect and it works perfectly!! I can move around leave the room with the pc and it still working. I'm very satisfy with this product and i will definitevely recommand it. Worth my $$
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Work Well with Laptop But...

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Albany, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The wireless device worked well with my new laptop, an HP Pavilion dv7t-6100 CTO. Although it did show that the devices when connected were NOT installed properly. I set the laptop in the kitcen, a good 25 feet from the TV in the living room and reception was fine, audio and video loud and clear.
However, I can't say the same thing for this device when I connected it to a HPE-390t PC. The device showed that it was installed properly, however all I could get was the desktop screen on the TV without any of the icons or ability to connect. I have searched online but have found no answers to this problem.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Product

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Folsom, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Wireless TV Connect product is awesome. Only issue I had was when I first set it up I was not getting any sound from the TV. Called HP Support which was terrible person on the other side did not speak very good English and I had to repeat myself time and time again. Spent over an hour with HP Support with no results. Finally gave up on HP Technical Support and ended call. Decided to restart computer and then everything worked as advertised. Got curious if this product would work with a portable blu-ray player with a USB and HDMI port and it worked without issue. So this product would also be nice for someone who has a wall mounted HDTV and does not want to have a blu-ray player attached to TV. Overall product works as advertised with the added benefit of being able to use it with a blu-ray player as well.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

EXcellent wireless PC to TV

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Mexico
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works good on newer laptop. Older HP laptop lacks necessary cable connection
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

wireless TV connect with Desktop

PostedMay 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:maryland
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am able to use the TV Connect with my HPE-560z to enjoy internet content on my TV. The TV is about 47 feet away and I have to redirect the computer unit (in a seperate room) off a hallway wall to the TV that is an in-cabinet installation. Took a little adjusting but works well. I am very happy with the performance and video even with the DSL connection. I enjoy watching ESPN-3 sports both live and reruns. While the system works well, a more detailed installation manual would have made the installation easier.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to link ... good performance

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:West Bend, WI
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The only thing that could make this product better is less flicker on character screens at 1080P. When I use it with my netbook, I need to use 780p or the flicker on the character becomes anoying. Perhaps a future firmware upgrade will improve this minor flaw.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs a DigitalPort to HDMI converter

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
This product needs to include a Digitalport to HDMI converter as most HP laptops are now shipping with a Digitalport and not HDMI port.
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great PC, heavy charger

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ca
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great laptop... It's fast and has many cool features. My only gripe is the very heavy charger unit that comes with this fairly light PC. The charger is huge and seems heavier than the PC. HP, you should redesign the charging adaptor so it's much smaller & lighter to get an overall 5 star rating in the future
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Old School Junk

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cave Creek, AZ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product is like installing the electronic eyes for a garage door opener inside a house .... too much overpriced equipment with way too many limitations
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So cool

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:McEwen, TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only played with it for a short time, but this is really cool and can't wait until I have the time to REALLY use it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Wireless TV Connect with WHDI
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Interesting gadget

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The Borg invaded my laptop - both figuratively and literally! Now I can watch reruns of Star Trek on my laptop and HDTV screen, but the level of integration with my new HP Envy Spectre is akin to a science project with wires sticking out all over and WiFi box stuck to the lid. Walking around with this setup the lid flips down due to the weight of the WiFi box.
WiFi signal was spotty. I could get a good connection at 6 - 12 feet, but couldn't get a good connection at 2 feet. It may have something to do with the placement of the base unit (in the corner of the room), but that is where the stereo is and I want to hide the base unit due to a very bright LED status light.
In comparison to an AppleTV, I can connect my MacBookAir no problem and I don't have to connect anything to my MacBookAir. It seems to work great from any room in the house. With AirPlay software for PC I can connect my PC to AppleTV too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.