HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dv7-4060us Entertainment Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dv7-4060us Entertainment Notebook PC

Entertainment, style, and performance Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit 9-cell battery with up to 5.75 hours of life AMD Vision Ultimate with Phenom II Triple-Core Mobile Processor N830 (2.1GHz) 4GB DDR3 system memory 500GB hard drive with built-in protection 17.3" (diagonal) hi-def LED BrightView display (1600 x 900) ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650 graphics (1GB dedicated video memory) HP MediaSmart software for entertainment management Webcam with integrated microphone, 802.11b/g/n wireless LAN Beats audio, triple bass reflex subwoofer ENERGY STAR ® qualified, EPEAT Silver registered
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dv7-4060us Entertainment Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dv7-4060us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing!!!!

PostedOctober 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:BROOKLYN NEW YORK
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this laptop is purely genius! it is the sexiest thing in the world and above that it is amazing in its preformance! the keyboard is perhaps the best ive used. the audio is amazing and the 17 inches on this baby is prefect. be sure that you want a laptop thats 17 inches before you buy it though; this size might intimidate ppl.
over all, its sexy, smooth, looks great and works fast. GO HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dv7-4060us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laptop

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Beaver, PA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great laptop that I just bought last night. I'm very pleased with my purchase and I would recommend this laptop to anyone.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dv7-4060us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad Processor

PostedSeptember 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Columbia City, Indiana
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this laptop because it had the Amd triple core. I was expecting this to be better then the Intel I-5. I was wrong. I owned this computer just long enough to realize that it had major issues. I ended up sending the unit back and getting the dv7-t select edition with the I-5 processor. This unit was unresponsive at times, and would over heat and shut off at any given time. While playing simple games, the screen would freeze up and not allow me to do anything for minutes at a time. The computer was slow at opening up photoshop and illustrator, which shouldn't be a problem because it had 4 gig of ram in it. My desktop that is 5 years old and has no video card and 2 gigs of ram runs the creative suite better then this laptop. All in all, i was very disappointed with this computer that i had such high hopes for. I wasn't expecting an ultimate gaming computer, but I was expecting a computer worth the $900+ that I paid for it.
But in all fairness, HP worked with me VERY well on resolving the issue. I was upgraded to the fastest shipping method available, and told I could keep the old laptop until the new one arrived so that I wouldn't be out of a laptop for 2 weeks while my new configuration was being built. I had always heard that HP's customer service was very respectable and i was shown just how good they are. Despite not being able to recommend this product to a friend, I would recommend buying HP!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dv7-4060us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very nice laptop but...

PostedAugust 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oklahoma
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this laptop for college. I got it on sale at bestbuy for the fourth of july and it was a real nice deal. Great price for the hardware and screen size.
My only problem with it is that it will randomly freeze/lag itself. Most of the time when im on the internet, no its not the connection speed, its done it directly plugged into a modem, but it will occasionally when i run like 2 small things and one big one, sometimes it fixes itself in minutes, most of the time i have to shut it down manually, holding the power button, and restart it, losing all my data or just wasting my time.
Im in college, its already froze up on me in class. It was a good thing i wasnt taking notes. I took it back up to bestbuy and they said they couldnt find anything. and of course, shortly after i got home, it plays freeze lag with me. if any one else has had this problem or if anyone has a solution please, tell me how to fix it or what to do.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dv7-4060us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent laptop

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Marietta, GA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a professional IT person who is also an incoming graduate student and I explored many laptops and I bought this one for its processor power, features and big clear screen for when I'm programming and designing software. I don't much like touch pads/built in mouse pads so I bought a cheap decent logitech digital mouse to use and it works beautifully. It recognizes my portable drive and flash drives without problem and I like the full keyboard for typing/programming. I definitely recommend this laptop for students or anyone doing mobile work.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dv7-4060us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Machine

PostedJuly 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Norfolk VA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I typically take a long time to make a purchase of this nature and after comparing numerous models I settled on this one. First of all the HP name is a seller in and of itself. My desktop PC is an HP which has given me absolutely no problems in the year I have owned it. I also own an HP printer.
The main selling point for me was the larger display (i replaced a 15.3 inch display). I am a graduate student and do a lot of work on my laptop and wanted one that would make long hours easier on my eyes while still making it portable. So far, this machine has done that for me.
The standard 4 GB RAM was also a selling point but I will be upgrading it to 8 GB very soon. You can never have too much RAM.
The ease typing on the keyboard is a huge benefit though it has taken me a few days to get used to it because the keys are smaller than my old laptop.
Setting up this machine was painless and it took me right through to the desktop with ease even setting my wireless connection while in setup. I did not like the HP Desktop feature but that can be turned off in control panel.
Overall, this is a good product for the price range.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dv7-4060us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive HP notebook

PostedJune 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cleveland, OH
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The first thing I did is get the upgrade to Windows 7 Ultimate so I could use all of the cores. Then I loaded it up and ran everything at once and checked the usability with everything running. Music video, all office apps open, Browser downloading, and Auto CAD doing a 3-D rotation. Everything ran fine. The mouse pad runs better since I put W7-ultimate on. Video runs just as well as an i7-820 on a similar Layout I tested at the store. I think this will be my new work horse.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dv7-4060us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Scroll Pad is Terrible

PostedJune 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a very nice computer minus the two finger scroll. It doesn't work most of the time. I have updated drivers and looked into the settings but still doesn't work properly. If this worked I would have given the laptop 5 stars.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dv7-4060us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply the best

PostedJune 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arlington, TX
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Its elegant, powerful and stands at par with Apple notebook. This is the best computer I have ever had.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.