HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Laptop or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery

hp HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery

HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating:
4.035 / 5
4
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 87 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
8
1 Star
9
65 out of 87(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Review 41 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

9 cell battery is the only way to go.

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found the battery that came with my computer would only last a couple hours then I would have to recharge. I should have upgraded to the 9 cell battery initially as it definitely meets the needs of utilizing the computer without the "tether".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Charge life

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Burnaby, BC, Canada
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Only getting 3 to 4 hrs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 9-cell Extended Battery for Laptop

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Petaluma,CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent life and will be a great help on vacation next week. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dead Battery

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boscobel, WI
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had my computer for 2 years now and the battery never lasted anywhere close to "7" hours. It usually lasted between 2-4 hours at the most. Now it wont even hold a charge and I am forced to spend $140 on a brand new one just so I can continue to use my computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great battery life

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This battery gives my laptop up to six hours of life. This was definitely worth the money!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the price

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've had this battery for 2 years and it died on me and now I'm forced to get a new one because it can not hold a charge. This battery doesn't hold up to it's price. In it's prime I got 5-6 hours out of this battery, but towards it's demise it was only holding up to 2 maybe 3 hours if I was lucky. Other than the battery's performance it's features are distasteful. Having my laptop on my lap with this battery was just uncomfortable because it bulges out and get very hot fast. There is one plus side though, the battery is so big that it lifts my laptop up slightly (on my desk) so that my fans can run more efficiently.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MU09 9 Cell Extended life battery

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Georgia
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The battery seems to be performing excellent. I watch a ton of movies and videos on my laptop. In the month that I have had mine I can expect nearly four strong hours. If I am just doing standard stuff without all the videos I am sure it would last close to six or more hours. I am very satisfied. And shipping was lightning fast!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

recommended

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:mitchell, sd
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
like the way it sets my laptop for easy access fore typing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for our needs

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Using this for business use. Needed to run a streaming video for 8 hrs straight on battery. This 9 cell did the trick. With minimal apps running on the laptop, we were able to get 9+ hrs out of this battery. Has a battery life indicator right on the bottom of the battery, so you can see with the touch of a button how much life you have left. And since it's larger in size than the average 6 cell, it actually props up the laptop slightly, so it's sitting on an angel, which helps air flow. Received quickly and was very well packaged. Great purchase. Always have great experience with HP. Would and have recommend HP anytime.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:MI
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Has nearly double the charge of the standard battery which came with my laptop (slightly over 8 hours!) Great product for mobile people like me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

hp battery

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:akron ohio
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
battery is great.went from 6 cell to 9 cell.just what i needed.thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Guess I can't complain.

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Columbus, OH
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I do have longer battery life, but it's not as long as what I expected it to be upon purchasing it. However the design of the battery which allows it to sit at an incline a little more really does make the keyboard more convenient for typing purposes. "Don't down'em, crown'em".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great battery

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Hampshire
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this battery to replace the one that came with my laptop. Love the rise it gives. The life last a good five to six hrs. Well worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great extra power

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:ST.Louis Mo.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is always nice to have a spare battery , ready power when you can't plug in .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Battery!!

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NJ
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The MU09 long life battery is wonderful, lasting up to 8 hours! I highly recommend it for all of you HP G model users.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

make sure battery fits model

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:pasadena,CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I needed an extended battery for my envy 17. Checked web site and it APPEARED that the MU09 would fit my envy laptop. Appears there there are a number of different models within the envy 17 line and even HP WAS CONFUSED. They sent me an email that I might be interested in this....and I was. So I ordered the battery they suggested........It didn't fit. Too bad,because the laptop barely makes it through a 2 hour movie with the standard battery.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not sure

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I ordered the HP MU09 battery for my Compaq Presario CQ57 notebook laptop and when I put it in it read 56% available, plugged in, not charging. My question is when I called HP customer service last month, I was told my old battery was no good any more. I had just bought the notebook laptop at the end of 2011. So I feel like I was given the wrong information. Is something wrong with the notebook laptop itself? Why isn't the battery at 100% percent and why is it saying plugged in, not charging. I'm going to probably have to wind up calling customer support services again, I imagine. Frustrating, very frustrating especially after spending $149 for the new battery,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Allows more airflow for the laptop

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Woonsocket, RI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm actually very impressed with this replacement battery even though I really did not have a choice because the original manufacturer battery was no longer available. However, I believe that laptop batteries are extremely overpriced but it's better than buying a brand-new laptop.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not really long-life.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Williamsport, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This product is not any better than the battery that came with the laptop originally. It does not seem to be holding a charge for very long. I still have to keep my laptop plugged in most of the time while I am using it. It is a disappointment for the price, but I needed a new battery and this is the only one that was available for my laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for HP MU09 Long Life Notebook Battery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

WARNING: may not fit your machine!!!

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rochester, NY
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
The website indicates that this is compatible with the Pavilion dv7. It does not further specify. I bought it, assuming it would fit my model but it does not. I now have to go to the trouble of sending it back and having a replacement sent. Do NOT assume that it will fit all models in any category even if it appears it will based on the website's listing!!! On the plus side, when I called, they promptly set up the return/exchange and will expedite free shipping on the exchange. The customer service, therefore, was very good. Again, if the website was accurate a return would have been unnecessary.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.