HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Laptop or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP External USB DVD Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP External USB DVD Drive

Great for backup, storage, software installation Easily connects to HP PC via USB cable Sleek, compact design with durable aluminum casing LightScribe disc-labeling technology Compatibility: HP Mini 210,311; HP Pavilion tm2, dm3, dv4, dv5, dv6, dv7, dv3000, dv3500; Compaq Mini 311; HP Envy 13, 15
Overall rating:
4.043 / 5
4
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
21 out of 23(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP External USB DVD Drive
Review 1 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Beckley, WV
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not only did I get it for a good price, but it was delivered earlier than expected, the color matched my HP laptop, and all I had to do was plug in the USB cord to get started. Over all it has been great, no problems have occurred and the performance has been perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functions as Expected

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The product does what I expected however it is a little slower than I thought it would be when lightscribing a CD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It works, BUT.

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered it directly from HP website and it got here in 3 days, which is good. I tried it on my new HP Mini 110-3800CTO and it was able to read, write on a CD-RW. I was able to watch a DVD movie (Cars 2) using the drive and the HP Mini. The important flaw has to do with the USB cable. 1) It is permantenly attached to the drive on one end. 2) It is too short. Not counting the USB 2.0 connector, the wire is only 7.5 inches long; certainly about 1/2 as long as the cable shown on HP's website and on the product box. For portability, one should be able to disconnnect the cable from the drive, instead of having that stiff/springie cable sticking out of the unit. And it is made in China.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

something I needed

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Laurel Fork, VA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This drive has only one shortcoming in my opinion: it needs a longer tail. In order to use it I have had to make a stand for it so the extrememly short cord on it will reach a USB port. I will not buy another one, even though I need another one, unless the cord is lengthened significantly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

External USB DVD drive

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Plug and play works fine, as it should. Component does what it is supposed to, but the software that comes with the unit for "label writing" doesn't load. Apparently autoplay is not set up on the disk and using the setup application on the disk fails. I ordered the HP unit expecting some synergy of products with my two HP laptops, but I guess this is asking too much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

replacement dvd burner

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Burner installed easy, functions ok, just not as well or as fast as original equipment. Will do until I purchase a new laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

geat for a notebook

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is a great addition tothe notebook i purchased for my granddaughter
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice looking

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The external drive was exactly as described. It looks pretty nice. The only thing I would change (and I noticed others have commented on the same thing) is that the cord could be a little bit longer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple to use external drive

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was suprised by how simple it was to use. I pluged it in and the notebook did the rest and in less than a minute I was using the drive. Works like a champ!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drive functions great.

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Selma, AL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drive is very portable and light. Rubberized bottom keeps it from sliding around. USB cable is very short and not very flexible though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Product

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This external DVD drive does not work. Only thing it would do is play a move.
Forget the other features like reading and writing DVD's or CD'd. Technical support for this is non-existant. Would not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wanting more

PostedAugust 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New England
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice design, thin sleek and very portable. I had no need for accompanying disk as PC and minibook installed it without it. Just wish the cord wre 6 inches longer as uploading documents in a lap gave me want of a third hand.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bay Area, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The drive looks nice and would be a great accessory if it worked. Unfortunately it doesn't function.
I would not recommend buying this drive as the quality is obviously poor.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost Perfect! (So Far)

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Union County, NJ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ever since I got the optical drive for my tm2t back in October 2010, I was amazed with how well the optical drive ran. In fact, I've only experienced two problems to date. One problem is that if you tilt it, it makes a sound like the disk inside is scraping against the inside of it, even though it isn't. The only other problem requires a true story, so here we go.
Okay, so I had just finished this big project for school and put all of its data on a small disc, not the size you'd find for a computer game, and when everything was loaded on there, the drive wouldn't eject! I had to take drastic measures and switch the USB port that the drive was in with the CD in it. At that time, I thought that all of the files were on the CD and took it out to bring to school and print it out, because my printer was out of ink at the time. When I put the CD in the drive at school, I saw that there were no files on the disc! The project was due that day and I ended up e-mailing the files to my teacher that evening and it got graded as one day late.
After that incident, I only knew of two problems wth the optical drive so far, but neither of those problems happened since. In my opinion, this optical drive is definitely some decent bang for your buck. And I didn't even realize until today that it could use LightScribe Disc Labeling, so that really improved my view on it.
SUMMARY: It may have some ups and downs at times, but overall, it's a great value that any computer without an integrated optical drive would be almost nothing without.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy!

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bronx,NY
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received mine yesterday and I luv d way it wrks....suits me just fyn..n wrks perfectly wit my hp netbook...it rocs!!! thnx Hp fr makin it affordable too n d $10 coupon.. : )
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Need support for WinXP

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jakarta, Indonesia
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had HP external DVD-RW registered at device manager as HP ad-7701H DVD-RW.
Works fine at Windows 7, but can only play DVD at WindowsXP.
Cannot burn DVD and CD using external/3rd party software.
The software recognise the drive and the blank DVD alright but returned error when trying to burn.
Also while attempting to burn, the drive pops in and out in windows explorer (my computer), eventually displayed as unknown drive.
I wish HP shows more support on optical drives and dedicate a page to burn DVDs on windows XP and windows 7.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

totally recommended!!!!

PostedJune 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this little thing is amazing. its small, has a short cable so it's close to your computer, and is portable. I bought this for my HP mini 110, and so far I love it. All you have to do is install one thing that came with the drive, and you can then play DVDs and CDs, burn things and what not. Anyway, I really love this thing and I definitely recommend to everyone who owns a netbook.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Drive With A Little Tease

PostedApril 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
The drive is very attractive, requires only a single usb connection, I like the short cord, keeps things compact and easy. Cyberlink software is nice. It's quiet, light-scribe, does everything a drive like this is supposed to. And shipping was very fast. It was reasonably priced as well.
I almost jumped out of my skin when I opened the drive, mine came with a Blue-Ray Disc label on the tray. Sadly, none of my Blu-Rays play so... close but no cigar. Still a great drive.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a worthwhile investment

PostedMarch 31, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
I was a bit worried about the quality of this device (which i bought with the customization of my touchsmart tm2t).
In terms of appearance, it looks good.
I wish they had made the USB cable a bit more secure, as it is difficult to find a safe position in my computer bag (which contains a compartment for such devices as this).
The drive functions very well, and is faster than i expected. However, even small movements of the drive will cause it to temporarily lose its place and skip. This is a BIG problem for me, especially since i am a very on-the-go and ready-for-anything type of person (meaning that i want to pull it out, plug and play without worrying about it).
Overall, i am satisfied with this product, and i am glad that i bought it (although i think i could have managed without it).
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP External USB DVD Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Out of box experience needs help

PostedMarch 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Unit seems to work well enough once I got it installed and the attractive form factor goes nicely with my new DM3. Two installation issues that prompted the 4-star rating vs 5-star:
1) total lack of installation instructions despite a little pamphlet labeled Quick Start Instructions. The only instruction on it was related to updating one of the included software packages. Other than that: nothing. There was, however, a huge fold out documenting the Global Warranty.
2) The included Cyberlink's player software would not play a movie DVD when connected via my computer's HDMI to my TV. Kept telling me that my TV out port was enabled and that violated DRM. Cyberlink's FAQ on the subject was totally useless, suggesting only that I update the video driver software. DId that (it was already up to date) and still got the error. Ended up using WIndows Media Player which worked just fine.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.