HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11z-e000 Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11z-e000 Notebook PC

HP Pavilion 11z-e000 Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11z-e000 Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11z-e000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little laptop

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brighton, CO
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Really great buy....good and easy to use
Battery life however is up to maggots.....not what was "promised"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11z-e000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cheap but Simple

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Muskegon, MI
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Only issues I do have with this product is that the CPU and GPU used are tablet cards and they are extremely out-of-date and are discontinued by the AMD manufacturer so any problems with your systems CPU/GPU, you won't find much help. The computer runs very well with the CPU/GPU set but most modern day games won't be able to work on this computer because the CPU is not supported.
The touchscreen is a very fun thing to have and do enjoy it but since the screen is not able to be removed from the keyboard it sometimes feels unnecessary to have it after a period of time.
When I received the finished product I also found a dead pixel on the screen upon start-up; a little green dot that just stays there. Also, one of the screws below the screen was not capped before shipping.
I am satisfied on how long the battery lasts, this is probably one of the only laptops I have owned that can run for a long time without needing a charge. I do also love HP for their recovery system. This product has a installed recovery program so there is no need to worry about discs and calling for support. It is very quiet and you don't hear a fan rumbling around inside all the time and it also never gets hot on the bottom.
In all, I find this a very well priced notebook. Its sleek, thin, light, and simple. It was sent with some defects and missing pieces but its really nice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11z-e000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good value; adequate design and quality

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Spring, TX
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Full disclosure: I am an HP employee, though I had no involvement with the design of this product.
Pro: Based on my experience, this laptop is a good value, more versatile than a comparable MacBook Air or iPad, but at a much lower cost. (I have owned many Apple devices, so I have that point of reference.) Now that I am accustomed to Windows 8 on this touchscreen laptop, I never want to buy another non-touch display. Desktops, static icons, docks, taskbars, and Start menus are beginning to feel outdated compared to the Modern UI.
Cons:
1) My particular unit had a stuck pixel, and rattling under the right palm-rest (when tapped), which are annoying defects, but perhaps that is to be expected at this price point.
2) With respect to design, my only complaint is that the keys are a little too small and loose. I feel that a 10% larger keyboard would make a significant difference in typing speed and confidence.
3) After using phones and tablets with high-DPI displays, this model's lower resolution scrapes the eyeballs, but it is comparable with the rest of the industry (including the 11" MacBook Air).
4) I get about four hours of battery life, which is much less than devices with built-in batteries. As of this writing, I have not seen spare batteries for sale, which would compensate for this deficiency.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11z-e000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little Netbook!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For the price it is a great mobile computer with a solid touchscreen and excellent battery life!
Those of you thinking about purchasing - note that this model is not a great multi-tasker. It's a solid piece of hardware but buyer beware, if you believe that you'll be able to run 5 tabs in Google Chrome, while updating Windows 8, and playing music in the BG. Definitely, more suited for everyday web browsing, basic office functions.
Gaming -- It's runs any game app in the storefront - including Halo Spartan Assault which is impressive.
A great touchscreen laptop that I highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11z-e000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mostly solid, but some cut corners

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall the quad-core version is a very impressive piece of hardware for its size. The battery life and performance are both much better than the first- or second-generation dm1z it's replacing, but it's very disappointing that a mid-2013 laptop doesn't have a gigabit ethernet card or a 300-megabit wifi card. I also miss the old dm1z's full-size edge-to-edge keyboard and 180-degree hinge.
The general bugginess and poor design of Windows 8 also detracts from the overall experience, but obviously there's not a whole lot HP can do about that.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11z-e000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

THE RIGHT SIZE/WEIGHT FOR MY NEEDS

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Princeton, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Touchscreen functionality, reasonable price, and a small enough size to put in a carry-on bag for travel were my top buying criteria. This product hit the mark. Compared to my 2.4 GHz AMD A8 'power' laptop it's slow, but it's still fine for doing mail, web surfing and documents on the road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11z-e000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good computer, issues w/ media recovery creation

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got this computer 2 weeks ago. So far I like the computer, although I need to get used to Windows 8. Here are my two biggest issues: #1 - For someone who has never used Windows 8, it was difficult to figure out how to work the computer without a user manual (the manual comes ON the computer, so for someone not patient and/or not somewhat computer savvy, they might never figure out how to work it or how to find the manual!). #2 - I tried to create the media recovery on a USB flash drive and couldn't get it to work (spinning wheel for hours - media recovery requires 22GB of space - I tried a 32GB and a 64GB USB flash drive and neither one worked). I was told that there are NO media recovery discs available for this computer at this time, for me to check back at a later date, and hopefully I won't have any issues with my computer. Conclusion, seems like a good computer, but I'm irritated with the whole media recovery thing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11z-e000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm in love with it

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NJ
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best deal I've made in a while. The combination of the light keyboard and the smooth touchscreen is just amazing. Perfect size. Gorgeous look. And bye bye makeup - I don't need you now that I've got TrueVision HD Webcam! Thank you HP!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11z-e000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really love how the touchscreen works with Windows 8. The keyboard is just the right size and it is so light, carrying it to class is a breeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11z-e000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of computer in little package

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:45215
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like Windows 8 and the touchscreen. Nice, compact size and battery last long between charges.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11z-e000 Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!!!!!

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:atlanta, Ga.
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered from hp, saved loads of dollars, computer is great small size for travel. They shipped computer a day late and gave me 10 percent off and paid for shipping! What a great Company!!!!
Will order again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.