HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook

HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating:
4.35 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
34 out of 40(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Review 1 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice machine

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tucson, AZ
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a new laptop for school and when I saw this Ultrabook I knew I had to have it. The speed is amazing, which it better be with a brand new computer. But I love the design, the keyboard is great and I have had no problems with the tracking. It is soo quiet and stays very cool, I spend hours on it doing my homework and have no issues with fan noise or it heating up. Getting this new machine has taking the dread out of doing my homework (for the most part) because it works so fast and it is an enjoyable computer to work on!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great combination of features and appearance

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cambridge, MA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This machine is fast and quiet, because of the solid state disk and features of the chip. It also looks elegant. Nice, lighted keyboard and sound system.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Slow and didn't pick up wifi

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I thought that this would be the computer for me. Lightweight, back-lit keyboard, powerful enough to do what I need it to do. However, the performance was slower than expected and it kept dropping the wifi. I have several other computers and devices using the same wifi and have never had a problem. HP offered to troubleshoot, but for something as simple as picking up wifi, I declined. A new computer should do basic things like that without spending a bunch of time troubleshooting. The wifi connection was so unreliable that I returned the Spectre XT 13t-2100 and will look elsewhere for a device that meets my fairly undemanding needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic laptop!

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Riverside, CA.
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased (2) 13T-2100 Ultrabooks for my children, I'm excepttionally pleased with my purchase. They both arrived within two weeks, fit & finish (quality) were outstanding. Performance is fantastic, very quiet, light weight and solidly constructed. I purchased a number of accessories and they all worked great together right out of the box (Targus 3.0 Docking stations, wireless keyboards/mouse, external DVD reader, 23" Flatscreen Monitors etc.) . I received proper documentation to successfully register/enable all of the features and 3rd party software I also ordered as well. The only thing I could complain about is I did have to update two drivers to resolve a display issue with one (game) application.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light and compact with great features

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Northern NJ
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only features I miss after having a larger notebook is the lack of a disc drive and number pad. These items need to be purchased separately. The mouse pad is not always responsive and it sometimes does not recognize a right click from a left. Otherwise, I am very satisfied with the product. Without the disc drive, it is a challenge to add new software unless you have the ability to download from the internet or purchase an external drive.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Laptop is AWESOME!

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Terre Haute, IN
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well, Windows 8 has been a little tough to get used to for this older person!! However, I've been using the tutorials and I'm beginning to figure it out. The laptop itself is AWESOME! I love the speed and the images are sharp. Great Laptop!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very dissapointed

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Webcam has never worked properly. It disconnects every time I touch the lid which makes the usb-disconnect warning sound. I had to disable it in the device manager. Did not try to contact HP about the issue since I can't be without my laptop. However, Ive been a huge HP fan for many years and this is hugely disappointing. You buy a state-of-the-art laptop and you expect it to come with a working webcam. Pure junk.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Expectations met!

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lexington, KY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This review covers 1) the Ultrabook - met my expectations and then some. Easy to open, fast boot, great screen,and battery life. 2) Windows 8 - I've been adjusting to M'Soft OS's since DOS4. This change is a piece of cake! Read the guide, take time to play with it and go forward.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Waukesha, WI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for my wife to replace a netbook. She was not convinced she needed to replace the netbook until she started using this ultrabook. The performance is tremendous, fast start-up with the 256GB solid state hard drive and great sound from this super thin computer. Set up was fast and easy. It is so thin and light that my wife carries it in her (admittedly large) purse. After one of my partners at work saw it, he now wants one to use for work when he travels. HP got this one right.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Laptop

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HP Spectre XT is a fantastic laptop. It is impressively fast, functions well, and has great battery life. The look is sleek, and it's super light. I would definitely purchase the laptop again and recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent laptop!

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bloomington, IN
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm very impressed with the ENVY Sprectre Ultrabook thus far -- I particularly like the rapid boot-up and the outstanding screen clarity. The only disadvantage I have noted thus far is the inability to load and run older 32-bit applications.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Pleased

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Northern New Jersey
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had my Spectre XT 13t-2000 for nearly three weeks and have been pleased with the computer. The 13 inch screen is small but very readable. It is lightweight compared to my
former laptop. So far, the performance has been very good. I do not have any negative comments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Envy Spectre XT Ultrabook 13t-2000

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lake Oswego, OR
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Purchased the Spectre XT Ultrabook 13t-2000 for my daughter as she enters 9th grade. Ordered with the SSD and i7 Intel processor. SSD + i7 uP gives great performance, however, the annoyances are: (i) The cooling fan runs alot for the i7, and I think Steve Jobs had the right idea for the Mac's & "no fan". (ii) Battery life does not last near as long as advertised, only 3.5 hours under constant use. (iii) I wish the setup guide provided a quick reminder on how to find the computer's wireless IP address and MAC address for setting up internet connectivity for my home wirless network.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light weight and Lightening fast!!!!

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Raleigh,NC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my HP ENVY Spectre XT Ultrabook PC with the i7 Intel Processor, 13" display, 256GB Solid State Hard Drive, and 4GB of Ram. This is a great computer. It is fast, has a beautiful display and a backlit keyboard. Delivery was less than 2 weeks (custom build). Realistic battery life is 4 to 5 hours. I would recommend the Envy Spectre. Spend the extra $$$'s and get the Solid State Hard Drive!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ultra-thin, great performance.

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this laptop almost exclusively for school. I upgraded to the i7 processor, but everything else was stock. I love the feel of the keyboard. The backlighting is more useful than I expected. In addition, the touch-pad is not overly-sensitive to an accidental touch while responding well to a light tap. This laptop is well worth the investment. It comes with adobe photoshop and premier elements, but I would have much preferred adobe acrobat pro. I work with far more documents than I do photos.
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

LEMON

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arizona
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Everything was going great, while installing printers, connecting to wireless and then when I tried to use the second of two USB port...it didn't work. I had the computer 1 and a 1/2 days and was instructed to return it for repair that could take up to two week and they wanted me to buy an external hard drive so I could back everything up...nope I returned the computer! Looks great for a LEMON! Will not reorder...to small everything has to be external just makes using for real work a giant PAIN.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Device

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Phoenix, Arizona, U.S.A.
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is one beautiful machine. It looks like an high-end computer with its all brushed aluminum finish.
I was highly impressed. The keyboard feels great, the screen brightness is very good and boots up very very quickly and even quicker from standby. It runs fast as well.
I can only think of the following additions that would have taken this from Excellent to Perfect.
1. Higher resolution screen (the one from the Spectre 14 would have been nice)
2. Two USB 3.0 ports instead of one 3.0 and one 2.0
3. Quieter fan (although it does not come on very often)
4. Ship with the thin 65W Travel Adapter instead of the 65W standard
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous!

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Auburn, AL
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The battery life is amazing! I went from 9:30 am to 9:00 tonight without having to charge my laptop. I was not on it for probably 4 of those hours, and left it in my backpack on sleep mode. I generally use Word and wifi with my screen and keyboard dimmed, but at one point last week, I checked and saw a whopping 9 hours and 52 minutes left on the battery monitor. I will sacrifice my lighted keyboard for 10 hours of battery life.
As a college student, the portability of this laptop is fantastic. I don't have to carry around a charger to make it through the day, and I have Elements to make fun GIFs of my friends. I really like how light-weight it is. My room-mate's Mac is SO heavy, which stinks for carrying to class. I love how silent the keyboard is, too. And, of course, I really love the SSD and the speed of starting up even from a complete shut down. I actually use this laptop for more than I use my phone for now. Beats audio is also fantastic! A friend with the Folio 13 is very upset he did not get this beauty solely because of that. I also really like the touchpad. Unlike the Folio, it isn't too sensitive, which is how I feel when I use it. My Spectre's touchpad is perfectly sensitive for me.
For the cons, the memory could be a little higher; 4 GB isn't much, and the screen could have a better resolution. It also gets a little hot and the fan is a little noisy, but it cools down and stops whirring quickly. Those are the only negatives I can think of, and they aren't even that terrible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super fast boot time

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Silicon Valley, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brushed aluminum case is professionally fashionable.
Booted up in 7 - 10 seconds; super fast.
Average battery life is only 4+ hours. Would liked to have 6 as spec'd.
Track pad is a bit difficult to learn; does not always respond as expected.
Very quiet and low fan noise.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Spectre XT 13t-2100 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Battery disappointing

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:connecticut
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
laptop lives up to the billing except for the battery. true, hp hedges by claiming "up to" 8 hrs, which is what i need to make coast to coast trips. but fully charged, with everything off, the battery shows only 6 hrs. and once i turn on what i need, i worry i will never get to california without losing the battery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.