HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook

HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating:
4.086 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
6
1 Star
3
46 out of 58(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Review 1 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expectations, worth it, a jewel

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:The Sierra Foothills, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well the specs said 4 GB memory and no optical drive (rarely use one anymore) while I was ordering it so I did not expect anything different. What they didn't really say is how this could be the most beautiful, comfortable Win based laptop ever. 14 inch screen in a 13 inch body. (Smaller than MacBookPro (tm) MBP 13) The glass surfaces are amazing. Definitely "Apple-esque" which is fine with me since I am a huge Apple user/fan. The bottom surface is like "plastic velvet". Not "sick" (but close) like an AlienWare (tm), but definitely "sexier" than even an AirBook. Very light "for what it is". Battery life is amazing, using it all day unplugged for work on the net (not busting out tunes or videos, but I bet headphones don't affect the battery much). The glass palm rests feel warm, smooth and soft on the palms. True innovation and quality all throughout. This thing is insanely fast. Boot time only 20 seconds into Win 7, which seems unheard of, but this is also my first SSD. I was not sure what to expect there. Keyboard is perfect. Track/touchpad perfect and easy to set up Mac style gestures. Throw down a bit for DisplayFusion Pro multiple desktops and this thing is no doubt a Mac-eater for those who need Windows. Hook up a DP or HDMI display/TV and BAM! Amazing multi-media with the Beats audio. Don't recall seeing "included beautiful neoprene full coverage slip cover" in the specs either. That was a wonderful surprise, thank you HP. This is definitely an "Ultrabook".
So far the only "slight annoyances", at least one which could be fixed with an update...
- Backlight/proximity reaction on/off is sexy sure, but too slow. Speed up the dim in/out a bit please. Also the only 2 settings, min/max on proximity, are also a bit too min (close) and too max (far). Or throw in a medium setting please.
- When you grab it to move/pick it up, its easy to roll the volume knob. May take a while to stop doing that.
- It's quite difficult to open. Please add an indent for next year (uhh ok yes, like a MBP.) You can open it easier first on the middle side edge gap, but that is not very practical (torquing the lid)
- The lid does not really "seal". It touches the beautiful palm rest, but there is a huge gap along the keyboard side edges when closed. I am super impressed with the rubber sealing MBP lid which helps keep the inside cleaner.
- A little strange HP (Palm) did not add Touchstone along with the NFC touch to share. Darn...
- Sure wish there were some more Kleernet wireless audio accessories available. Built in wireless audio, but apparently only one (HP) device to stream to? Will have to stick to AirPlay there.. (Or maybe an update can make it AirPlay compatible!!)
- This is actually an Intel problem, but imagine if you could use the internal display, Display DP, and HDMI at the same time. Triple screen monster. Oh well. I doubt Intel can enable that with an update. Still, close it, dock it (USB 3rd screen :-) ??? ), and connect 2 big screens and you've got an amazing media workstation/Home theater. Already confirmed with a DP-HDMI cable I can run dual HDMI displays with the internal display disabled. NICE!!!
I have been waiting to buy a new personal laptop until something "like an MBP/Air" came out on the Win platform. This was love at first site and it only got better when it arrived. Sure there are other ultrabooks. But none that combine the simple beauty of a iPhone 4S (Black Gorilla glass), The speed of an AirBook (SSD), and the quality of an HP.
< I sure hope HP's posts this with all the Apple references, lol maybe the (tm)'s will help >
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A Definite DO NOT BUY

PostedApril 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Orlando, FL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
All that glitters isn't gold and that is certainly my impression of the HP Envy Spectre. While the glass flanked laptop may be relatively nice to look at, design flaws, functionality issues, average performance and appalling quality assurance mishaps make this a laptop you should avoid at all costs. The bottom line is that it is NOT worth the price.
PROS:
+Design (until you inspect closely)
+Sound quality
CONS:
-Screen defects
-Impossibly difficult to open
-Lack of quality assurance
-Shallow key travel
-Clickpad
HP coined the phrase 'premium ultrabook' for the Spectre, but nothing could be further from he truth. This product simply lacks the polish and attention to detail that a premium product should have. The lid is annoying difficult to open with a tiny lip that you have to dig your finger nail into to pry open. Once you finally do, the design itself it a treat but several small issues again make you question the use of the word premium. The clickpad, while smooth, is extremely stiff and just misses the mark when it comes to balance. It is either way to responsive (usually when pinching to zoom in and out) or not responsive enough (when scrolling or using other gestures) and several times clicks were not even registered. The keys have a nice feel as well, but shallow travel and spacing that feels just a bit off keep it from feeling as natural as the best keyboards available.
The 2 USB ports also have an issue accepting USB cables. Cables have to be forced in with effort that feels as if you might be damaging the port.
From a quality control perspective the laptop that was shipped could not have been thoroughly inspected, another issue that should never occur with a 'premium' product. The glass slab that is fitted over the palm rest is unevenly cut, leaving a small but noticeable gap on the right side between the glass and the raised aluminum edge.
The clickpad itself has what can only be described as a long smudge underneath, similar to a glass table that has a smudge underneath that you simply can not remove by cleaning the top no matter how hard you try.
There is also a scratch on the aluminum right between the 'L' and ';' keys that was immediately noticeable after opening the lid, but perhaps the most disappointing issue lies within the screen. On the right is a sub-pixel defect (basically a red dot the size of a period similar to a dead pixel), and on the left side of the screen near the bezel is a screen defect that resembles a nickel sized ripple in the screen any time the laptop moves or shakes. So while typing (or any other action that causes the screen to move or shake) the defect is extremely prominent and very distracting. Finally, on the top right corner of the screen has a permanent white/silver scratch like mark that is very obvious against the black of the rest of the screen. No laptop should be shipped to a customer in this condition, and certainly not one being touted and marketed as a high end, flagship laptop.
In conclusion, if viewed separately, many of the ideas of the Spectre are solid, but there is just a massive failure to combine them all into one cohesive product that justifies the premium moniker attached to this laptop. The execution is marred by design flaws that frustrate the end user and poor quality assurance. Add to that middle of the road components found in ALL entry level ultrabooks and you are left with a product that never quite reached its full potential. If you are willing to ignore all of these issues because of the design aesthetic then take your chances. If you want to get what you pay for then STAY FAR, FAR AWAY.
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding, Flawless, Classy

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered a maxxed out Envy 14 Spectre, with 8 gig RAM, 256 gig SSD, I7 Ivy Bridge with HD4000 graphics and Windows Ultimate from HP's website. The order was completed and shipped before the original date of shipment and I received it via the fastest shipping method possible before the estimated date of arrival. Service was obviously prompt.
At first I was a little apprehensive...wondering how can a customized laptop be built in such a short amount of time? In any case, I received the Spectre exactly as I custom ordered. It arrived with nothing missing, no compromises and so far, everything works.
Appearance: There is no other laptop like this. Not only is it a remarkable piece of workmanship, unmatched in style, class and elegance. It is sleek, sophisticated looking without being showy. This ultra-book turns heads. It is better looking than the website and video reviews show.
Comfort: The (Gorilla) glass palm rests are smooth and comfortable. The Radiance keyboard works fantastic, senses when I approach the laptop and turns on the keyboard lights automatically. Genius.
Performance: The Ivy Bridge I7 with HD4000 graphics are a definite step up from the Spectre 14 equipped with an I5 with HD3000 reviews that I saw on YouTube, playing Skyrim and F.E.A.R 2. at medium settings and fairly low frame rates. I did not buy the Spectre for gaming, but I did buy a couple games to try out with it. 2011's RAGE and 2011's Lord Of The Rings: War In The North. RAGE plays without a hiccup at maximum settings. LOTR:WITN plays well at maximum settings, but smoother at medium. I was not expecting to have such good performance for new games such as these. I mostly bought the Spectre for internet, writing and composition, it's looks and occasional gaming. So far it has exceeded my expectations.
Surfing the internet, having multiple tabs open and multiple applications going at the same time...no problem.
Fan noise? What fan noise? This is one quiet laptop.
Heat? Playing RAGE at maximum settings, this computer seems to run relatively cool. Evidently, heat is not an issue with HP's CoolSense technology. Note that this is not designed as a gaming machine, and there may be some other games that are more demanding on system resources and would cause it to run warmer, but from what I have experienced, it runs relatively cool.
The 1600 x 900 screen reproduces high def animation, movies and graphics in real, lifelike colors and clarity that is simply amazing. I'm definitely happy with the screen. It's also more bright than I expected. I can view the screen in a windowed, sunlit room easily. There is some reflection from the glossy, Gorilla covered glass screen, but I knew it was not a matte screen so I expected some reflection. I use my new Spectre indoors all the time anyway, so it more than makes up for it in clarity. Watching movies on the 1600 x 900 wide type screen is the way a laptop movie should be watched.
One of the big selling points for me was the good keyboard. The Spectre's keyboard is very comfortable to type on. There is very little if any keyboard flex, and the lighting is spectacular (and with adjustable brightness for both keys and screen). The keys are a little bigger than what I am used to (coming from an ASUS EEe pc netbook...thing), slightly larger and more square, but I am having no problems typing this review quite fast and accurately.
Trackpad takes a little getting used to, since the buttons are also part of the track pad. I don't usually use the trackpad anyway, so I turned it off.
System start up is remarkably fast (haven't timed prior to this reviews...sorry) and sleep to resume Windows is quite fast, a couple to three seconds.
In closing, there were many laptops and ultrabooks to choose from. Now that I have received my Spectre, I can see now that there is simply no adequate comparison for the Spectre in terms of style and appearance. It has redefined class for ultrabooks and laptops.
As far as performance, I have purchased a classy, ultrabook/ thin laptop style computer that has exceeded my expectations in all areas and is more than sufficient for my needs. I definitely recommend this laptop.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slim, Light and Cool

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this laptop for graduate school (taking into labs, working in excel and long days away from plugs). My old laptop is a HP HDX 16, a powerful 4 year old computer that is too big for these tasks. The only upgrade I made in this laptop is the i7 CPU. This Spectre seems to fit the bill perfectly so far.
Pro's
-Battery life is great, about 6-7 hours with light CPU usage. With the solid state drive you can shut down and restart quickly and often to make the battery last even longer.
- Everything about the laptop is sleek, simple and stylish.
-Weight, since this laptop is heavier than others the weight was a concern, but I now that it is in my hands, I would not want anything lighter. This computer is light but still has a solid feel.
-Sounds with beats audio is loud, but I would say the quality is average.
-Touch pad is very good. I was worried after trying other hp laptop touch pads but this one is very good, no troubles and everything is customizable.
-I have read problems with fan noise. I did notice the fan when running windows updates. I did a bios update (very easy) and have not heard the fan since.
-Keyboard is also nice, I especially like the function buttons. Beats volume button is customizable.
-Norton Antivirus has made some huge improvements (no Firefox support though).
-Screen resolution seems good, I'm not a picture editor or anything but everything is very clear.
-Same size as a 13' laptop but it has a 14' screen.
Con's
-I miss the num pad on my older laptop, but there is simply no space for it.
-Some bloatware (MUCH less than expected). I haven't deleted any pre-installed programs.
-This PC comes with about 55 G of the solid state drive space already in use. This seems a little full, considering the SSD is only 128 G.
-No "end" key.
-The power plug is a different design than my other laptops and not interchangeable with them.
-No finger print reader
Other
I have not used the Near Field Communication system yet, but it looks cool and I am excited to try it. I have also not taken the PC apart to seed how easy/difficult upgrades would be.
It took me a long time to come up with those con's.
Overall, if you want a study, sleek, and highly portable laptop, I would definitely recommend the HP ENVY Spectre.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but could be excellent

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I found this notebook very nice. I was just disappointed with 2 things:
- I wish it had 1080p screen like my Sony Vaio Z. I've been looking for a 14" with 1920x1080 and was anxiously waiting for this notebook to be "it". Unfortunately, you don't have that option so far (you need to stick with 1600x900) which for my use is limited (I need the maximum number of pixels I can get into a notebook). Maybe a next generation will provide that.
- Come on, any notebook in the market place allows for memory upgrade. Unfortunately, I run some very heavy programs and I need more than 4GB. I could even live with 6GB, but 4GB is too little. I hope next generations will come with 8GB or at least provide upgrade as an option.
The two points above are really easy to solve drawbacks. If HP changes that, this will be by far the best notebook in the market place, period. Couldn't HP have pushed the edge just a bit more and left everybody behind?? (I guess here is where Apple and Sony for that matter, shine...). Said that, this is a great notebook. Maybe the engineers will read some reviews and add those 2 options.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I had a Samsung Series 9

PostedApril 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just retired my Samsung Series 9 ultrabook for this laptop. If you are a developer, there is no better ultrabook than the HP Envy 14 Spectre because of the 14" display with 1600x resolution. No other ultrabook has this high resolution. This gives me more workable and viewable space in my IDE (Eclipse). It makes a big difference when trying to code.
I also love how the Spectre feels so much more solid than the Series 9. Yes it is heavier (by a little under a pound), but I'll take the extra pound any day to avoid a flimsy feeling laptop.
Battery life is better than the Series 9 by about 45m to an hour.
Display isn't as bright on the Spectre, but I never kept my Series 9 Ultrabright display above 50%, so his doesn't matter to me.
Beats audio sounds great.
128G SSD performs around 210MB/s read and 190MB/s write. The SSD is a Samsung drive. All of the ultrabooks with SSDs have similar performance except for the Asus Zenbook. The SSD in the Zenbook can perform at 500MB/s read, which is absurdly better than any other ultrabook.
Yes, the Spectre does look like a Macbook but has enough differences (gorilla glass lid, beats audio symbol, different display hinges and glass palm rest) to not be called a rip off of an Apple product.
While pricier than other Ultrabooks, it does come with Adobe Premier elements and Photoshop elements, which would run you $250 to purchase on the Adobe website.
Finally, the Spectre is so pretty. It turns heads and deserves the attention.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A beautiful laptop -- 100% satisfied

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I loved the idea of this compact laptop, the SSD, the Gorilla-Glass surfaces, and other features; and I spent a lot of time reading available reviews (PC World, etc.) of this laptop and its closest competitors.
The reviews generally confirmed that this was a uniquely beautiful computer (glass surfaces, great screen display, sound, etc.); the reviews (taken collectively) also suggested that this computer had good to excellent performance and functionality, but that some competitor machines might be a bit faster in raw performance capabilities. I knew that I wanted outstanding or "best in class" performance and I also wanted to stay with the Spectre's design, which is one-of-a-kind. My solution was to choose the available upgrades to the i7-3667U Processor, the 8GB 1600MHz DDR3 System Memory, and the 256GB Solid State Drive. Rather obviously, the processor, system memory, and main storage device are what drives a computer's performance. Yes, this added quite a bit to the cost, but after several weeks of using my new Envy Spectre, I believe it was a wise investment. My Spectre is blazingly fast -- absolutely incredible speed ... first computer I've ever had that moves at the pace I like to move. And its screen display, overall appearance, keyboard, other user-friendliness features, etc., are just as inviting as I expected when I first began looking for a new laptop.
I absolutely recommend this laptop in the configuration I chose to anyone looking for a super-premium computer of this size & weight. It is a joy to work with everyday.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome.but.

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:AZ
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fantastic product, love it more than any apple computer i have ever used before. This laptop runs smooth even after a few hours of being on Facebook having Youtube open and playing around on Photoshop (which my computer came with).
LOOKS: Uhm.. All I have to say is that my friends think this thing looks like it fell off a spaceship, it looks sweet as heck. Any finger prints that appear on the outside of the laptop just wipe away no problem. One thing though, its so sleek its actually difficult to open.
STRONG: Just my luck after having the computer for a month it drops from my table, I dont know if this computer was built excellantly or god loves me, but my baby is still perfectly in tact not even a scratch!
GAMING: All i have installed right now is Diablo3 and I can play for hours without having a single problem, the high graphic game runs incredibly smooth on this computer.
BEATS AUDIO: Please, do not buy this computer if you are only interested in the Beats Audio, it sounds great but its not that impressive I was extremely disappointed with it.
BATTERY LIFE: My only REAL issue with this computer is that the battery life on it is more like 6 hours as compared to the 9 advertised. Although I multitask like a storm on this computer so its understanable
OVERALL: A great buy, my girlfriend bought a different HP computer at half the price and all I have to say is, you get what you pay for! If you have the money and need a good laptop BUY THIS COMPUTER
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Distinctive and cool but needs to lose a few pound

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mumbai, India
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Spectre is truly a cool notebook (finally).
Pros -
Fast bootup
Great screen
Looks n feels great
Volume control knob is cool
Cons -
Weight - definitely not the lightest ultrabook out there
Fan - Was surprised by how noisy the fan was and how long it ran
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Mixed bag - keyboard has issues

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In many regards this is a fantastic system. Battery life is great for the system's power, the glass handrest is comfortable, the touchpad is responsive but not too twitchy. Performance is amazing (I did upgrade to 8GB + i7 cpu)! The audio is great as well.
I did have one minor glitch when turning the system on the first time. The Windows 8 setup process was painless and included setting up the wireless network. That obviously worked fine because I got an email immediately from Microsoft about having setup up my new Live account. But then when the system rebooted to finish the setup process it could no longer connect to my wireless network. After a couple of hours of unsuccessfully trying to resolve the issue myself, I called HP Support and they immediately resolved the issue with a firmware settings reset, and I've had no other network issues since then.
Windows 8 is not very impressive, although perhaps not as bad as some of the press. I am still working 90% in desktop mode. The Start screen is definitely more designed for tablet use and does not really help at all for touchpad use. I am constantly accidentally triggering the gestures of sweeping in from the left and right edges and it's quite annoying. Hopefully that will get better as my old brain adapts... I am fine with the dramatically different visual styling, and really like that I can boot the OS from a cold start in 4 seconds flat!
But my biggest issue is the keyboard. Most importantly, the darn thing requires a fairly deliberate effort to push the keys straight down and all the way down - otherwise it loses keystrokes. I am by no means a perfect typist, but my error rate has increased by a factor of 3-4x, even with over a week of full-time usage to train myself. I am also unhappy about not having dedicated keys for Home, End, Page Up, and Page Down, especially Home and End. In Excel, I constantly use Ctrl-Home and Ctrl-End for navigation and Ctrl-Shift-Home and Ctrl-Shift-End for selection - these commands now require holding down as many as 4 keys to trigger!
Sadly, the keyboard issues come close to ruining an otherwise happy experience. HP definitely needs to improve on this part of the machine.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:MA
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got the envy spectre for college and I love it. Since it was going to be my main computer, I wanted it to have all the functions I needed and more ports than the average ultrabook provided, yet still be portable, and the envy spectre is just right for that. I was afraid 4 lbs would be a little heavy, but I found it totally fine and didn't notice it at all. I usually carry it in a backpack, not a tote or a purse though. It's very fast, super sexy, and a great alternative to the macbooks if you're not a mac person (like me) but want a good-looking laptop. It does attract a lot of fingerprints, but I have a cleaning cloth nearby and it's fine. The battery life usually lasts only around... 4-5 hours? But I keep the brightness up and sometimes I'm videochatting. Also people say it's a little difficult to open, but I don't think it's a problem at all. Backlit keyboards are beautiful. Touchpad is a little funky (especially when I try to left click or drag something). I turned the sensitivity up a notch and it was MUCH better, and as for the left click issue, I just sorta got used to it. Kind of a bummer but it's pretty much the only major flaw that interfered with everyday use. Sound quality is really average for beatsaudio though. Camera quality is pretty good too, but not super amazing (I think the mac air has a much better camera). The display is also gorgeous, especially when I saw other ultrabooks to compare it to. It's a pricey laptop that had me hesitating a lot before buying it, but it is really good and I wanted to invest in a good laptop that I could use for a long time. So far, it's very worth it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the feel and look but a few minor flaws

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this laptop with 8GB, an i7 processor, and 256 SSD.
I love how this laptop looks and feels. It's absolutely stunning and I'm sure all your friends and family will think so as well. Performance wise it is quite fast and smooth. The keyboard has good travel and is very nice to type on.
However, the trackpad can be kind of hard to use if your hand is ever sweaty or just wet. Generally I have very little problem because I'm not a sweaty or oily person. But if you are it will be very hard to use it. Whenever I wash my hands and they aren't completely dry there is too much friction while using the trackpad.
The screen is a tad underbright and the USB ports are too close together. You cannot use two flash drives at once.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great laptop with a couple of minor inconveniences

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had the laptop for about a week. The performance is outstanding and I am totally enjoying using it!
Two things I found inconvenient in the order of importance are:
1. The touch pad's surface is too smooth, which causes the finger to get stuck sometimes if you apply too much pressure. Try moving your finger on a glass window and you will know what I mean.
2. It is a bit difficult to open it.
Overall a great product. I should mention that the battery is not good for 9 hours as advertised, more like 6 in energy saver mode. I knew this from earlier reviews before I bought it and I am fine with it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spectacular

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Mexico
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a really spectacular machine. Design wise, it doesn't get much better. The glass wrapped machine is sharp, and the palm pads for typing are very comfortable. The backlit keyboard is a nice feature, and is adjustable. Another pleasant surprise is the softer rubber based bottom of the machine instead of the typical rubber pads that fall off after the year. The screen is bright and sharp. The performance is in a word "responsive". The solid state drive works extremely well - keeps the machine cool, quiet, and incredibly fast.
The downside is the storage capacity - I plan to use networked storage at home (easily networked with other Windows 7 machines such as my Desktop) and a portable hard drive on the road to carry my mp3s and other files along with me.
One other "delight" - the audio is the best I've heard in a notebook. The tone may not be completely full, but it's rich and warm. I like the knob for adjusting audio too - way better than a jumpy button or on-screen slider. If you're disappointed with the "beats audio" on the old HP Touchpad - you'll really enjoy the audio on this machine.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great ultrabook

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product looks beautiful and functions perfectly. I haven't come accross any issues. Graphics and sound are excellent. Be sure to bump up the processor.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Killer Design, Mediocre innards

PostedMay 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Let me start by saying I would not recommend this to anyone who does not need a laptop right now. 1. Ivy Bridge -- nuff said. 2. Low RAM. 3. Much more competitive laptops at the end of summer.
The only thing I can truly say I absolutely love about this laptop is its design. That is the only thing keeping me from returning it (and the fact that I need a laptop over the summer). Beats audio is more of a gimmick than killer feature, but the sound is above par compared to other laptops. SSD is fast, faster than all laptops with hard drives, but slower than most other SSD laptops. Don't expect to do any gaming with this laptop (or at least any games that came out after 2010. For example, I've been playing Rome total war, which came out in 2004, and I can't even use the mid to high range settings on a large battle -- that is awful). Display is very nice, but you can still clearly see pixels. Battery life is nowhere near the 9 hours they claim. Battery life leaves much to be desired -- you will not be able to make a full day of work on a single charge.
All in all, the laptop is good for its lust worthy design, average SSD, and above par battery life. But I feel it will be quickly outdated by this summer's new laptops (Apple's upcoming MBP?).
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

engineering

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dayton Ohio
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
USB Ports need about 1/16" between them. Fat end usb cables are difficult to insert.
There needs to be a larger lip on the cover to allow easier opening.
You need to supply a technical manual specifically for the spectre.
You should supply the North American support phone number. That was one of the reasons I purchased the Spectre.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW - What a machine !!!!

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Alpharetta, GA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ok, I don't want to go too far overboard but I have to tell you, this is one complete and spectacular PC. The processor speed and the time it takes to boot are incredible, less than 10 seconds. Waking from hibernate or sleep is even faster and the display is sharp and clear. Turned off it looks like a mirror and one has to wonder if the reflection properties will be a problem when viewing it when on. Not at all, the display is vibrant and looks good even with indirect sunlight. I've read some review where folks have said it is dim in direct sunlight but really, who uses their notebook with the screen angled direct at the sun?
I went back and forth with getting 4 or 8 GB of ram and after some thought opted for the 8GB configuration. You know, considering how much I was spending for the notebook overall the extra RAM was a very small portion of the price. I'm very glad I did as it will certainly help with multitasking.
The solid state drive and fan are also very quiet, it's really the quietest PC I’ve ever had. Keyboard is also very comfortable to use and I like the tactical feedback from the keyboard as well as the excellent backlighting within adjustable in intensity.
Overall, I am totally satisfied with this unit and know it will serve my needs for years to come. Oh, I also suggest that you get the accidental damage, Lojack, etc. care coverage. This PC will go with you wherever you go and the coverage for loss is worth the extra $$$.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific notebook computer!

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Francisco
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I did a lot of research and decided to get the Spectre 14 t. This a terrific computer. A lot of competitors got pans on he trackpad. This trackpad is terrific. You don't need a touchscreen with this trackpad. Several notebooks had trouble with the WiFi. The WiFi on this computer is great. The screen resolution is very good and the keys are very usable. The computer boots up faster than advertised. I have had zero problems with software. I recently bought a Dell desktop and have had numerous software problems.
The downsides? The computer is a little slow with Photoshop. I wish I had sprung for the faster Intel chip. The print is a little small, maybe I should have looked harder at the 15 inch model. However the 14 inch is light and compact, perfect for travel.
Overall, this is the best computer I have ever owned!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Spectre 14t-3200 Ultrabook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for Everyday use!

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:UCLA
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phenomenal laptop. Im a college student and use it as an everyday laptop. I bring it to classes and the battery easily lasts 5-6 hours with internet searching and note taking. The screen is not flimsy like someone else reviewed. Its actually pretty solid. The screen upgrade from the bright view is worth it. Really fast processor. Looks sleek and comes with a black soft sleeve to protect it when you carry it around which really helps keep it safe. Specs are better then apple and it looks just as cool.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.