HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Wireless TV Connect Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Wireless TV Connect Kit

HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating:
3.852 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 54 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
11
42 out of 54(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Review 1 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boise, Id
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am using this 20-30 feet away in another room and the picture is super clear. It looks just like my computer screen and no lag time. I was pleasantly surprised my HP wireless mouse works that far away so am able to actually surf there in real time. I had originally purchased this to watch movies etc. remotely. This is WAY better. Highly recommend! Two things people need to know that buy this. It uses 2 usb ports on your computer and at the TV end it needs a 110v connection besides the hdmi
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the trouble

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:CT
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I Bought this along with a new high performance Envy Desktop...First off, the HDMI unit won't fit next to the Monitor plug without an adapter to move one of the plugs apart from the other.The plugs on the output board are too close to each other. Setup was easy the first day, I had a connector to move the HDMI unit.Something Home Depot added to one of their HDMI cables box sets..
The next day, NOTHING. Spent an hour + plugging and unplugging each unit in to get them to even light up. finally got them working, connected to each other very fast... The units are only 10 feet apart right now..Now however ,no sound.. for some reason the second day, the Envy decides to only output to the speakers, OR the HDMI, not both. so you have to go into setup and select which ONE is active... The computer won't output to the HDMI unless you change your setup every time. I found no other way to get it to work. Maybe all the plugging in confused the setup.
.Now the third day, blue HDMI light flashes 3 times and goes out.. TV unit is just plain dead ,no lights again. Not worth spending an hour AGAIN.
.I expected a little more from a new computer and a HP add on...I'll call support after the holidays, but I see little they can do if the units won't even power up in the first place, every time they're plugged in..
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stunning results when config corectly on PC

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Bruno, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Right out of the box I could only get video. Tried working with HP product support which was denied to me after being connected to a rep due to lack of a PRODUCT #. No product number was listed on the unit itself or on the box it came in. Turns out the product number is the first seven characters of the PART#, that is on the unit label. Finally found the fix under the troubleshooting section of the Product listing. On your PC: go to control panel, sound, and set the HDMI sound output as the default, not the headphones and speakers. Don't worry, the pc speakers and headphones still work when the HDMI transmitter is unplugged from the PC :)
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Watching Video on My Plasma T.V. Now.

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased a new desk top PC running Windows 7 (64 bit) with an i7 processor and 16GB of SDRAM. I orginally hooked up my new computer to my plasma tv with a custom ordered 25 ft DVI-D to HDMI cable, but it was really inconvenient to roll out the cable and hook it up and to unhook it and put it all away when I was done viewing the content from my computer. Then I researched and found this Wireless T.V. Connect Kit from HP. I purchased the kit online directly from HP. I immediately hooked it up when I recieved it and within 15 seconds the transmitter and reciever had linked. I simply had to turn on the t.v. and select the correct HDMI input with the TV's remote control and I was watching video on my beautiful Pioneer Kuros 50" Plasma TV. The picture quality is superb, whether streaming video or viewing pics. The colors are accurate and I do not have any lag at all. This HP wireless t.v. connect kit also allowed me to run the audio to my plasma TV (you will have to change the computer settings under "Manage Audio Devices" otherwise your audio will come from your computer system audio speakers). I then ran a fiber optic cable from my plasma t.v. to my home theater system and I now enjoy the audio on my home theater system. I do not have any lag between the video and audio, they are synced together accurately. The HP reciever box does get VERY HOT. I will purchase a small battery operated fan and position it to help dissipate the heat that is generated from this compact unit. Overall, I am very impressed and satisfied with this product. I do unplug the transmitter and the reciever when I am not using them, but it's not inconvenient.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works very well

PostedApril 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Mateo, Califormia
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This device works flawlessly. Before buying it, I tried netgear push2tv, which didn't work with my year old Toshiba TV. With TV Connect 2.0 video worked right out of the box, to make audio work I had to upgrade Intel drivers on my laptop.
As far as I know this is the only robust solution to stream video to TV.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

PostedMay 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cincinnati, Oh
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is outstanding. It was more difficult to get to the back of my TV than it was to install this product. With out this wireless HDMI setup I would have had to buy a very long cable that uses batteries, no thanks. From my HP laptop to my 55 inch TV I can now watch streamed and downloaded movies, & shows in hi def. Very easy set up just plug in both units and turn on, that simple. Thank you HP.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

no youtube vdeo transfer

PostedMay 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Although the audio transfers fine, We cannot get the video to transfer....only desktop image...to our HPHD HmDI TV...we will be returning if service doesn't help
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

SPLIT SCREEN FAIL

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:EL PASO, TX
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
so, I've been searching online, looking to find a way to make my TV into an external screen, only problem with HP TouchSmart 320 PC's is that there's no VGA output, and I'd also have to purchase lots of gizmos and gadgets and wires...I think HP planned it out well as to where you actually had to purchase another device to make that happen...problem with that device, is that it does not perform the same way a VGA cable would, meaning that it will only show what's on the current screen and you can't use split display...FAIL!!!...does anyone know what I can do to resolve my problem?
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

does not sync with my samsung smart tv

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:kent,wa.
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
when I first plugged in I was able to connect my pc with my t.v. , but wasn't able to the next time I switched the the tv source to view my pc, all I get is the windows logo. I tried on another tv in a different room, after initially getting the same result, I restarted my laptop and it synced. and then I plugged it back in to my smart tv, it worked, but will not sync again when I try later. I have to sync with a another tv in a different room every time I want to connect with my main tv. very frustrating
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Total Junk

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Omaha, NE
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product worked great! Until it just stopped working out of the blue for no reason. The lights do not light up and it causes my computer screen to flicker. I have tried to fix it, but troubleshooting is non-existent. DO NOT BUY THIS! It will appear to work fine for a while and then stop working completely.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedJune 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Set it up which was very easy. So far it works as advertised. Nice to see the picture on the big screen. The test will be on how long it lasts and keeps working.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Am satisfied with HP products/ service.

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Carmichaels, PA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I didn't get a chance to experience the service of the HP Wireless TV Connect 2.0 because I did
not recognize that my particular Laptop model had no capabilities for use. However, the customer service rep was extremely helpful during my return of the product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kentucky
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The main reason for the purchase of our second laptop was to watch tv programming via the internet. This product makes it so much easier, not having to sit right on top of the television - almost as good as having a remote control for the laptop.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Katy, TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
When restarting laptop, TV shows same as laptop for a few seconds then TV goes blank with no input. I called HP w/o any help except to exchange the kit. I did. The exchanged kit did the exact same thing. I see that the equipment works for a few seconds. My guess Windows 8.1 is the problem but not confirmed or denied by HP. Will return for refund within 21 day limit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:hawthorne , fla
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
it doe what it says , very easy to set up . quality of picture from laptop tp 60 inch plasma is exceptional - well satisfied'
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Set-up & Use

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indian Land, SC
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was truly a "Plug and Play" installation that went quickly. There were no issues and it works great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Wireless TV Connect kit works as advertised. Extremely easy to set up and use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Problematic

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Aurora, Colorado
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The device (not the HP computer) shuts down the the visual after about 40 minutes of running, audio continues. Now I just restart the computer every time before I start another program. It was much easier just to run a HDMI hard wire from the computer to the TV. No issues then. Forget using a TOUCH SMART desk top as it is USB only. I have to use my older Pavilion to operate the device. It wasn't mentioned in sales. Also the device will not allow me to adjust screen resolution on the TV screen which is automatically a 40" monitor for the computer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smarter than the Smart TV

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pacific Northwest
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product - hooked up in no time and worked without fumbling and troubleshooting.
Can finally watch Amazon Prime on our Smart TV that is not Smart enough to link with Prime (seems we purchased the only model that doesn't)
Easy to switch from one pc to another.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Wireless TV Connect Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Recomended with limitations

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Aberdeen, MS
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far it does seam to work as described with a few issues maintaining connection when the Laptop screen changes (internet to movie or to a game on steam). My main complaint is the USB cable provided is way to short and just reaches a USB port when pluged into the HDMI output of my personal laptop M17x. Second and in defence of HP they do state that a HDMI port is needed, however few of their elitebooks or buisness laptops have a HDMI port. They have droped it in favor of a Display Port instead, it would have been nice if they included and adapter, but then again the included (SHORT) USB cable would never reach a port then.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.