HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal

Large display, great value for everyday activities Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit §§ § 17.3" diagonal high-def BrightView LED-backlit display (1600 x 900) §§ 2nd Gen Intel Core i3-2330M processor (2.2GHz) ‡ 4GB DDR3 system memory 640GB hard drive § Webcam with digital microphone 6-cell Lithium-Ion battery with up to 5 hours of battery life †† †
Overall rating:
4.12 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
23 out of 25(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Review 1 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

nice laptop

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this is a nice laptop, but slightly heavy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor build, good configuration!

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The tech specs for this computer was good. HP laptop came highly recommended to me. The setup was easy and works fast. The build quality was however very poor. The keyboard felt very cheap and looked like it would jump out when typing. The touch pad/mosue pad was very insensitive. I didn't like the multitouch scrolling feature. The dvd drive was of very low quality, I thought it would break after a few uses. The screen is good and bright. It isn't much taller than a regular 15" screen laptop, but a lot wider. I used different laptop of similar price range and found that the build quality was much better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great price on desktop replacement

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:CT
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
On sale this can be a real bargain for a laptop that probably won't travel much. It has a case feel that is a bit too flexible to give one confidence if it will be travelling much.
I've had two issues with it so far: on startup it has "HP Connection manager not found" so there is some problem with the HP software. Secondly, there is a blue screen of death every month or so, which may or may not be HP's fault. However, I have not experienced this with any other machine unless there was significant risk of imminent failure. Web searches suggest others have had these problems.
Finally, all the UBS slots are on the sides, which meand that cords are sticking out onto the desktop that make a mess of things, and the keyboard is rather poor for touch typing. I think the human factors design could have been better. Nonetheless, it is a lot of PC if it is gotten during one of the frequent promos that hit this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

You get what you pay for

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall, I love my new Pavilion g7 - the screen size, clarity, thin design & weight, the desktop "gadgets", and, although it took a bit of getting used to, I even like the Windows 7...except for the new folder layout in the Directory (Windows Explorer). There are 3 main issues I have with it though. 1) the keys are a bit too far apart and too flat, also they need more keystroke resistance; 2) the touchpad is inconsistant: At times it is too sensitive (reacts to the slightest brush of the heal of my thumb, sending the cursor to places unknown); then other times, it's not very responsive and difficult to activate the special moves (zoom, scroll). But by far, the most annoying is 3) the high pitch hum from the motor or fan or whatever; it's not loud, but kinda like a bug continually buzzing by your ear.
But as the review title suggests, the g7 is not the most expensive model out there, nor is it even the middle ground (it's the least expensive I've seen for the 17.3" screen). But if it holds up and lasts as long as my previous HP laptop (from 2006), I will definitely be getting my money's worth.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Incredibly Average Machine

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Deepinnahearta, TExas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's an okay machine. I mean, I don't need to do guidance control for the shuttle or anything fancy, but for what I need it to do it's alright.
I bought the g7 to replace an HP DV-7 whose hard drive went belly-up. (It's gotten so it's just about an even wash between replacing a hard drive and OS versus buying a whole new machine!) I've gotten spoiled by the 17.3" screen, for sure, so this model was a natural replacement.
I have had some issues with the keyboard not accepting input (as reported by other users on various forums), easily solved by rebooting the system. Windows 7 is somewhat of a chore to learn (but I'm not going to ding HP for that!!) Otherwise it's a nice, functional unit.
Now, we'll all be a happy lot if we can only get the computer (TV, automobile, blender, etc. etc) manufacturers to produce a product that WON'T BREAK WITHIN 4 YEARS OF THE PURCHASE DATE!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Like windows 7, keypad quality is low

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love the new windows 7 and computer graphics and great wifi connection for movies, etc. However, the keypad is inferior and often the capitals don't work and have to press more than once or hold it longer. My old hp laptop had a better quality keypad. The area around the keypad doesn't seem as good quality. It feels like it is coming apart on the sides.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not bad, not great

PostedDecember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:new york, ny
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I wanted a laptop that would be user friendly and this one fits the bill for the most part. Having said that though, the battery life is terrible. The battery that comes with it last approximately 30 - 45 mins. I invested in the larger one (which is incredibly heavy & bulky) but now only get approximately 45 mins - 1 hr; not a big difference in my opinion especially considering that it cost about $100. My only other big issue is the touchpad. It is soooo sensitive. If I lean just a little too hard near the corners or accidentally brush past the lower keys, I have a very difficult time keeping the screen one size and find I need to keep readjusting or worse--I have to shut down to stop it from automatically opening a new tab each time I try to go from place to place. Realize it's my touch that starts this, but it does get frustrating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Would buy again from HP Direct

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good overall. Irratic at times during learning curve. Best value for money with discount from HP anywhere on the market. Paid $529+Tax with free shipping.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Its Okay

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pasco, WA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this G7 for family use, good notebook but the keyboard is to delicate sounds real hard when im typing fast.
Only problems i had is that the built in wireless connecter does not connect to any wireless networks, havent found the problem why it isnt working.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great computer

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indiana
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great computer...love the large 17.3" monitor and the separate number keypad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What the heck?

PostedDecember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Humble, Texas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ordered two of these for our high school and college kids. For some strange reason, it came with the European or Asian power plugs. Ordered from Office Depot. Will try to exchange the power plugs tomorrow.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Laptop

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bonita springs, FL
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am generally happy with my laptop. It is an excellent buy for the money and I have been forever converted from the other brand beginning with a D. I do have a couple minor problems, one to do with the laptop hardware and the second to do with Windows vesion. I would have preferred to have more capacity on my HP-TOOLS (E:) drive. 4GB is not enough to handle my backup information and I keep getting warnings that the drive has no open capacity. Also, since my laptop has Windows 7, I have not been able to use the wireless feature with my HP Photosmart Premium printer which has an installation disk for Windows Vista. I downloaded drivers as recommended by HP Support with no success. I have to be hard wired to the printer to use it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice laptop

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice working machine for the price.
-7points
4of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New laptop

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
I bought this laptop as a replacement for my old HP laptop. I must say, so far I love it. It's perfect for watching videos, playing music, and surfing the internet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

keep up the good work HP

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:blanchard, id
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like the little lights that tell the status of the different keys. You don't need to look around to find the status, it is right on the key. I like the fact that you can hit the shutdown, close the lid and it will continue to shut down. I like the boot up; speed, it is ready to go in a minute or two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP g7- 1260

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My best laptop yet. Totally satisfied with the computer. It far exceeded my expectations. Great value for a great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really good product

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Hampshire
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop is great. We have had no problems with it at all. I highly recommend this product for anyone looking for a laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my new laptop!

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sault Ste Marie, MI
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Updated my 10" netbook to this 17" HP & it is great for viewing photos, doing online research, and watching youtube videos. The sound is better than I expected and the keyboard is really easy to use. I especially like the number pad on the right (missed that on my old netbook!) Would recommend for anyone that likes to surf the internet and upload digital photos. This laptop is perfect for me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most Perfect

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great 17.3" Laptop!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion g7-1260us Notebook PC, charcoal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my use

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ft Lauderdale, FL
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this laptop to replace an old machine of another manufacturer. It is perfect for all my uses - nice big screen for my diminshed eyesite. It is fast, efficient and doesn't get hot like my old one. All at a terrific value. Love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.