HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer

Print speeds to 29 pages/min black, 23 color## Scans at up to 1200 x 2400 dpi 80-sheet input tray and 15-sheet output tray Memory card slots, 1.45" color TouchSmart display, borderless photos
Overall rating:
3.91 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 100 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
10
1 Star
11
75 out of 100(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy

PostedAugust 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Printer worked great for a couple of months then failed and would not recognize the printer cartridges (new ones). HP must have a serious problem with this printer because they gave me a refund (that was only good at their in house store) after only a few questions. I have another printer just like this one and it has begun not recognizing the printer cartridge. I tried two brand new cartridges, it did not recognized the first one but did recognize the second and has worked for several pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Printer or Bad Luck

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I thought this printer was good for the price and features until........ I had a hard time trying to setup this printer on my Mac. Also, after installing software the printer completely froze up and never came back on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought two of these printers. At first they worked beautifully. Then, when I switched back and forth, they did not work right. I did select the current printer too. In both printers, it told me I was out of paper which I wasn't. There was no cure. NOw I am going to buy the wireless D110, of course, with the warranty, and take it with me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a Good Purchase

PostedMay 31, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer was given to me as a gift. I would not have purchased it on my own. It has been nothing but trouble since I've had it. Printing business cards is an adventure. It prints either too high on the card stock, or after adjusting to bring the art down, it then prints too low. Cannot achieve a happy medium. Now when it prints, it leaves a broken line on one side of the paper. Two attempts to have HP techs solve the problems did not help. They had me uninstalling the software multiple times, then reinstalling new software which gives different settings The only thing it prints well is plain paper sheets, but as mentioned, it now leaves the broken line. Now I notice that HP is not making just a printer, just an all-in-one Photosmart printer. This does not make sense. I don't need all the other stuff. Jack of all trades, master of none.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer

PostedApril 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I 've had my printer for several months now and I liked my old HP printer better. It was an all-in-one. This printer you have to do more in order to get things printed. Won't buy another one like this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst printer I've ever hard

PostedApril 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
This printer is the worst printer I've ever had. It was a problem from the day I first set it up. I did get it to work after several attempts but two night ago it just quit on me. It's a piece of garbage.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HP Photosmart C4680

PostedFebruary 15, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I have had nothing but problems with my "all-in-one". If we scanned or copied, we could not print. If we waited for more than 3 days between printings, it would not print. I have spent countless hours with HP as well as Apple just trying to get it to print. Finally, after downloading software updates 6 times, it was decided that if we shut or computer and printer down once a week, it would reset itself and work. I also was told that it was made for HP photo paper. I have tried that and get very poor quality photos. I am very disappointed. We replaced a Canon printer which I wish I had back.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PAPER JAM NIGHTMARE

PostedJanuary 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I have had this printer for about two months. I have yet to get more than four consecutive prints without an indicated paper jam. While there has never been an actual paper jam, I am unable to print again until it is "cleared." I follow all the instructions, including the help instructions without success. It will finally clear after a week or so - for about three or four more prints.
very frustrating. Otherwise, the printer is fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Two units failed

PostedOctober 25, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I really wanted to like this all-in-one unit, the feature set and price made it very attractive. Unfortunately my first unit would not properly feed the paper, the rollers drew it in unevenly. After troubleshooting over the phone with tech support, they sent me a replacement unit. The replacement did feed properly and print quality was OK. However, it was not able to scan the alignment print and the copy quality was poor.
I recommend spending a little more and getting a mid-range model.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

connecting to IMac and Mac Pro

PostedSeptember 24, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
unable to make the scan feature work. spending too much time with Apple support
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Photosmart C4680

PostedAugust 4, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We just purchased our first HP computer, and a Photosmart C4680 printer in July 2009. The printer was a big disapointment. They made it seem like you were getting a good discount buying a printer at the same time with the computer, but i found it at the store for the same price as i got it. They never mentioned that it didn't come with a USB cord just that it might not. So you are not sure if you need to buy one or not. You are definetly going to need a cord if you want to use your printer.
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good Scanner, Terrible Printer

PostedJune 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Seems to be a good scanner, however unlike all the other hp printers I have had, it is a terrible printer. It often takes several sheets of paper at once or cuts off the top portion of the document. I also have found it impossible to get my checks or invoices to line up. Luckily I still own my older HP printer so I use this one for most my printing needs. Would love a true all in one product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Problem sustaining power

PostedMay 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Waldorf, MD
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had to call in for support and was told to not use power surge protectors for this printer. After I called in for another problem of not having established Administrator rights on setup because I thought it was automatic, I was taught to enter Printer as Administrator and then modify or delete my queue. But the real problem that I'm having is the power light goes out and when I try to turn the switch off and on, it stays off and doesn't come on again. I have to reset the power plug by disconnecting the wiring and then plugging it up again. This seems to work but this is ridiculous, having to do this everytime I need to print. It seems a bit funny though. The technician told me their printers were all perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the money.

PostedMay 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:USA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Have used various HP printers over the last 25 years.
C4680 Photosmart uses too much Black ink even in draft mode.
Is very noisy. After several months of use noise is getting louder and more frequent. Have had to un-install and re-install software several times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Can't scan

PostedMay 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Maryland
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have installed the software several times, spent hours on the phone with HP tech support with them installing the software. The computer still will not recognize the scan portion of the scanner. The C4680 will not even scan using the printer control panel. I gave up and will just use it to print and continue to use my Lexmark for scanning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Scanner does not work

PostedApril 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Very happy when this all-in-one solution was purchased with a new Titanium Macbook Pro. Unfortunately, after many hours of trying to make the scanner work I gave up. It doesn't seem to work with Mac OSX Snow Leopard. Handy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not so happy

PostedMarch 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I purchased this about 6 months ago. first I couldn't scan from the printer and save to my Pc. Then I was able to scan from my computer. then I couldn't scan at all and it told me to uninstall and install so I did and now I can't even install it. very annoyed with this printer. bought it because of the price and I liked the scanner but now I feel like i wasted my money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

C4680 review

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
The printer is slow. To print a black copy, you have to touch 3 buttons. My old one was a one touch copy.
Photo's do not look great. My old 2610 printed beautiful photo's, so if that is what you need to do on a printer, the 4680 is NOT the one for you.
Ink runs out fast. The program constantly flashes a message/small pop-up during printing to alert you on the status of the ink.
I will keep it as a back-up printer, but have since ordered the 8180 and I really hope that it is a better printer than this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I hate this printer!

PostedMarch 7, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
This printer is the worst printer ever!!! I paid $100.00 for this printer, and then got $100.00 rebate--so basically this was free, and I have to say it is still one of the worst printers ever! The quality is not in question, but after each and every page printed, it says out of paper....then the paper jams at least once and i take the paper out, put the paper back in hit "ok" then get one good page....then start the process all over again! This is the only printer I have at the moment and can"t afford to go get a new one at the moment, but I'd like to throw this one out the window!!!!!!!!!! I hate it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

C 4680 Photosmart Printer

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Difficult to see printing choices on black model.
Looking at the printer from an angle while at the computer, none of the choices can be seen. I have to stand up or go in front of printer to choose.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.