HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer

Print speeds to 29 pages/min black, 23 color## Scans at up to 1200 x 2400 dpi 80-sheet input tray and 15-sheet output tray Memory card slots, 1.45" color TouchSmart display, borderless photos
Overall rating:
3.91 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 100 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
10
1 Star
11
75 out of 100(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my new inexpensive Printer!

PostedJanuary 29, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
My old HP printer of five years broke in the middle of my semester and was too costly to fix. I needed a printer fast so I didn't have to constantly pay for printing at school. I found this printer for a great price and it does everything I need. It is efficient, scans, prints beautiful pictures and installation could not have been easier. I am not very technologically savy but could easily figure out how to set up and install this printer. It has a very sleek design and it's nice that ink loading and touch screen is in the front not on top or towards the back of printer etc. I also really liked how the installation software automatically updated my old printer settings, and every time I print, a little icon pops up in the corner of my computer screen telling me how much ink is left. Ink is much less expesive for this printer than my previous one as well. I am very pleased, great printer and great price!
+24points
25of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good to go!

PostedJuly 14, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
We have had it now for a couple of weeks and so far so good, very pleased with it. Easy set up and very fast printing and I love the fact that everything is done from the front as far as loading paper, ink, the on/off switch and LCD screen are easy to view. Nicely compact and sleek looking.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

beware

PostedAugust 29, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this printer a few months into my freshman year of college. It works great, and the ink is fairly inexpensive. The only problem I have is every now and then it will tell me there is a cartdridge jam. I do what it says to fix the jam, but it never works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy

PostedAugust 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Printer worked great for a couple of months then failed and would not recognize the printer cartridges (new ones). HP must have a serious problem with this printer because they gave me a refund (that was only good at their in house store) after only a few questions. I have another printer just like this one and it has begun not recognizing the printer cartridge. I tried two brand new cartridges, it did not recognized the first one but did recognize the second and has worked for several pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Printer or Bad Luck

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I thought this printer was good for the price and features until........ I had a hard time trying to setup this printer on my Mac. Also, after installing software the printer completely froze up and never came back on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Winter Garden Florida
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
I had to replace my old printer and am just thrilled with this one. Makes excellent pictures and does wonderful copying and printing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought two of these printers. At first they worked beautifully. Then, when I switched back and forth, they did not work right. I did select the current printer too. In both printers, it told me I was out of paper which I wasn't. There was no cure. NOw I am going to buy the wireless D110, of course, with the warranty, and take it with me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

c6380

PostedJune 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Beavercreek. Ohio
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the printer. It makes great pics and print pages. The only complaint is it is noisy and takes too long to start. But I can live with that.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does a good job at home

PostedJune 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kansas
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good printer and the only problem was installing it on my Vista computer.
For the money this is the best on the market,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

PostedJune 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great color quality and fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mother's day present

PostedJune 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dayton, OH
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this printer from my daughters. I didn't have one before so it is great to have one that also copies documents. I am still getting used to all the features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good new style HP Photosmart

PostedJune 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:East Bridgewater,Mass.
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Good new photosmart C4680,but use ink cartages very fast. Other than that it is a very good piece of equipment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great New Feature!

PostedJune 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Millsboro, DE
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Besides giving me great service the best thing i think I love about this printer is the ability to insert a diskette which enables me to keep forms, pictures, envelopes, etc right at my finger tips that are stored on the printer or when you are done taking pictures you can take it right out of the camera and put it right in the printer and the pictures or what ever you have to download is right there for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good Scanner, Terrible Printer

PostedJune 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Seems to be a good scanner, however unlike all the other hp printers I have had, it is a terrible printer. It often takes several sheets of paper at once or cuts off the top portion of the document. I also have found it impossible to get my checks or invoices to line up. Luckily I still own my older HP printer so I use this one for most my printing needs. Would love a true all in one product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So pleased...

PostedJune 2, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm so pleased with this printer. Not only was it easy to set up, the print quality is amazing. Especially photos. The copy and scan features work well. I think my only tiny complaint is the plastic on the top shows tons of finger prints, would have liked it to be textured instead of smooth to avoid the smudges...still I would buy this again immeditately!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a Good Purchase

PostedMay 31, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer was given to me as a gift. I would not have purchased it on my own. It has been nothing but trouble since I've had it. Printing business cards is an adventure. It prints either too high on the card stock, or after adjusting to bring the art down, it then prints too low. Cannot achieve a happy medium. Now when it prints, it leaves a broken line on one side of the paper. Two attempts to have HP techs solve the problems did not help. They had me uninstalling the software multiple times, then reinstalling new software which gives different settings The only thing it prints well is plain paper sheets, but as mentioned, it now leaves the broken line. Now I notice that HP is not making just a printer, just an all-in-one Photosmart printer. This does not make sense. I don't need all the other stuff. Jack of all trades, master of none.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Problem sustaining power

PostedMay 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Waldorf, MD
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had to call in for support and was told to not use power surge protectors for this printer. After I called in for another problem of not having established Administrator rights on setup because I thought it was automatic, I was taught to enter Printer as Administrator and then modify or delete my queue. But the real problem that I'm having is the power light goes out and when I try to turn the switch off and on, it stays off and doesn't come on again. I have to reset the power plug by disconnecting the wiring and then plugging it up again. This seems to work but this is ridiculous, having to do this everytime I need to print. It seems a bit funny though. The technician told me their printers were all perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best so far.

PostedMay 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:n.j.
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had the HP C-4680 for about 9 months. Truly a terrific printer.
Love it. Very easy to understand and use. Every feature is great.
Very best product for the dollar. Of course, they get you on the inks.
Expensive to keep ink supplied. Get the 60 XL if you can afford them.
More prints. Again, HP produces a good inexpensive product and gets us on the other end (with the high ink costs.) I don't use it too much, so, I like it a lot, but, for everyday printing, give it a lot of thought before purchasing. It could be too expensive. Otherwise, we love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the money.

PostedMay 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:USA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Have used various HP printers over the last 25 years.
C4680 Photosmart uses too much Black ink even in draft mode.
Is very noisy. After several months of use noise is getting louder and more frequent. Have had to un-install and re-install software several times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart C4680 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Can't scan

PostedMay 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Maryland
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have installed the software several times, spent hours on the phone with HP tech support with them installing the software. The computer still will not recognize the scan portion of the scanner. The C4680 will not even scan using the printer control panel. I gave up and will just use it to print and continue to use my Lexmark for scanning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.