HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop All-In-Ones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier

True-to-life color photos and laser-quality text Lets you print customized designs on CDs and DVDs 2.4" display for easy previewing
Overall rating:
4.125 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 80 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
3
1 Star
7
60 out of 80(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Review 1 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy as 1,2, 3

PostedDecember 8, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
That's how simple this printer was to set up. Print quality was better than I expected and it is fast and not as noisy as my older HP. Color was crisp, and I love the ability to print right from my camera.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great AIO Printer

PostedDecember 7, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Hooked mine up today.Works great out of the box.No issues with Photo paper printing worked perfect.CD printing also worked perfect also.One issue is ink capacity.I upgraded to this AIO from an old HP 5550 Photosmart,and just playing around with the new 5280C and I already burned up half of the color cartridge.I know about the small cap. cartridges that come with the printer,but this is ridiculous,I only printed a CD and 7 5x7 photos. I figure I should go with the XL cartridges.My old 5550 this would not have been measurable in the ink remaining status screen......aside from that issue I highly recommend this AIO superb quality and speed,The scan quality is excellent also
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Problem after problem

PostedDecember 6, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The number of problems, You put new cartridges in & one day it has ink levels but does not print & another day no ink levels just crosses where ink levels should be keeps on saying see documentation on screen on the printer,I reted the the Features but have not been used. but as I say it does not work as I said I am thinking of seeing if I can send back as it so bad & I must have five colour cartridges & four black & white & I think I put some in the bin all the money it has cost & does not print most of the time it has not been on
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP C5280

PostedNovember 3, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Noisy when the photo paper tray loads. Does not sense the photo tray automatically when you print. To avoid the printer trying to print photos on copy paper, you have to pre-select the photo tray to print photos each time. Photo paper pulls 2-3 sheets at a time and overlaps each other which wastes your photo paper. Prints come out wet, so handle carefully and allow drying time. The photos and CD/DVD covers do come out with vivid colors with just 74/75 ink.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

c5280

PostedOctober 31, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All i can say is the best machine i have ever had.. Does its Job beautifully.. The Ink cartrideges are very reasonable.. Buy it you will not be sorry..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A masterpiece

PostedOctober 28, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a printer that does it all and does it well!!! I do a lote of different types of printing, from labeling cds and dvds to comics and tons of photos and I have not had one problem with ant thing. HP. has done it again with another piece of equipment that does what they say it will do!!!!!! thanks HP.Stinger
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedOctober 28, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great all-in-one. Have scanned, copied, and printed numerous documents and quality was A-1. Photo color is beautiful and true. Cartridges are easy to change and the little "help" window is easy to follow. Like it so much, I'm buying another one for my daughter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedOctober 19, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This machine does not work, It does not print or copy, I'm not even sure that it can scan! Bottom line is please don't waste your money, I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Loading Software

PostedOctober 15, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've loaded and unloaded the software 10 times. Tried a new hard drive and still can't get the software to completely install. I've downloaded the latest version ( Ver 10 ) of software and it still doesn't completely complete.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy so far

PostedSeptember 28, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only used this device so far to print digital photos from my computer onto card stock using 75 and 99 print cartridges. I have had no problems with the cards getting jammed at all and I am very pleased with the resolution quality. I installed the software, quickly and easily with the included CD and instructions, with no problems even though I have Windows Vista.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

too many problems

PostedSeptember 5, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Every time the printer is turned back on it wants to reinstall, when print button is hit - it comes back saying "printer not found" this printe ris a hassle to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

photo prints are excellent

PostedSeptember 1, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Without using the special photo cartrdige-the 99 for photos and using only the 74/75 combo-the rpints are excellent and FAST--the printer is a little noisy when loading the paper but then it is quick and quiet-a minor thing t say the least considering all the outstanding feature.I always buy HP computers and this printer is a perfect match-
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great For Graduate Level Work

PostedAugust 31, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and I are both graduate students and we are often required to copy, print, and scan mountain loads of information. This machine is very capable of handling the task and doing it well-- in economy mode we get our prints (100+ pages) done in under ten minutes. Our only wish is if it had separate color ink cartridges-- it seems to go thru them though we buy the XL's. Still, they do a decent job. Overall, we're very satisfied with it's performance and ability to hold up to big jobs.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Only 20 color copies

PostedAugust 22, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am a graphic designer. I explained to the retailer that I make A LOT of color copies. I was sold this printer. However, you can only make 20 color copies before you have to replace the ink cartridge!
I now have to buy another printer just to keep business running. Fine printer if you only make a copy once in awhile or if you stockpile ink!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it!!

PostedJuly 21, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had many printers, and I have not had one that works this well... It was so easy to set up, it took a whole ten minutes (5 of which consisted of me getting it out of the box), my husband scanned my senior picture that was printed professionally, and then he printed it out, and the one that came out of our printer was a much higher quality picture... I have used it to print out all of my pictures... I love it, and if this one ever breaks, I will definately get a similar one!!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

C5280

PostedJuly 3, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer is the best yet. Easy to install and use. Prints photos from the memery card with lab quality. scanner will scan in differant formats
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Printer

PostedJuly 2, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this printer - it does exactly what I wanted! I was mainly looking for a printer to printer directly onto CDs - this one does a great job......almost looks professional.
It is very fast and the print quality if good. What you get for the price is good as well.......very reasonably priced.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer but no USB?

PostedJune 20, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
   I love this thing but the box never indicated that the machine would not come with a USB cord.  Of course it is a different kind than I have laying around so off to the store again to buy a cord.  Other than that little "SNAFU", it is a great machine so far.  Highly recomended. 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I can't believe the price!

PostedJune 19, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my printer died and I got online and ordered one for $350+ and when I got it I found that it was black and white only, so on the phone I was and the customer service person swapped it out for this model that was SO much cheaper. I even questioned her on the qualitly because it was so much cheaper. Well I gave it a try and while waiting for the delivery i read these reviews which all seemd good exept for the fact that they said it went thru ink like crazy. SO i figured I would order some to have on hand and then i found that the ink was much cheaper than my old model. I got my printer and love it! It is so fun and the features are great. My kids are using the camera's I got them a LONG time ago because you can just put the memory chips in and edit the photos just like that. I guess the bottom line in the ink that is you will go thru more because the catridges are smaller, not because it goes thru more than other models. You get a lot of bang fro your buck with this printer!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One Printer, Scanner, Copier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best i Have Ever Had

PostedJune 1, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the best printer i had by far i would tell any one to buy one. it is exceptional the speed great the feature even better. the only problem is card its the only paper that jams but it prints perfect i even had a project to do and put it to print 5 minutes before I left the house i aced that project especially for the crisp looking photos Any one would love this it even prints CD's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.