HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop All-In-Ones or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One

Photo preview, editing, and printing without a PC Built-in wireless networking Lab-quality photos and laser-quality text
Overall rating:
4.465 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
39 out of 43(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Review 1 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Vista networking support

PostedFebruary 16, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This printer would have been great except that the networking software is incompatible with Vista. HP should be ashamed of themselves for not having full Vista compatibility. I bought this printer for the networking functionality and after I took it out of the box and installed it I found that the only way to get it to work with Vista is to hook it up directly to the computer. I have 4 computers and only 2 XP machines work over the network. The Vista machines are worthless with this printer. HP knew Vista was coming out for 6 months, they should of had full Vista compatibility when Vista was in the stores. I have been buying HP printers for years, but no more. I am taking this piece of Junk back to the stores
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

STAY AWAY FROM THE HP SIDE EJECTION CARTRIDGES

PostedNovember 26, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I HAVE HAD 6 ALL IN ONES FROM HP OVER THE YEARS - WAS VERY HAPPY UNTIL THIS YEAR WHEN THEY DESIGNED THIS SIDE EJECTION INK CARTRIDGE - NOW I HAVE HAD 4 SENT TO ME IN THE SAME MODEL ALL HAVING THE SAME ISSUE - THE SIDE EJECTION INK CARTRIDGES ARE NOT DEPENDABLE
STAY AWAY FROM ALL HP SIDE EJECTION INK CARTRIDGES - EVEN THE LARGE RETAILERS ARE SEEING MANY RETURNS, AND COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS - THE SIDE EJECTION INK CARTRIDGES ARE FAILING IN THE MACHINE - WHEN YOU HAVE A PRINT PROBLEM (USUALLY THE BLUE STOPS), YOU PUT IN A NEW BLUE INK CARTRIDGE AND STILL NO BLUE IN PRINT - SEVERAL REFURBISHED SIDE EJECTION MACHINES HP HAS SENT ME TO REPLACE THE LAST - ABOUT EVERY 2 MONTHS - I MAYBE PRINT UP TO 200 PAGES A MONTH - BUT THE SIDE EJECTION MACHINES WILL FAIL YOU IN MONTHS
+75points
84of 93voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJuly 10, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first AIO. I really enjoy having a scanner and copier (won't be faxing) but printing leaves much to be desired. I've been computing for more years than I want to admit and have never had anything but an HP - this model disappoints. It takes forever to print the first page and then it simply stumbles along with frequent stops to "ink up" I guess. I don't know what else it could be doing (it sounds like a thrashing machine while doing it). It frequently fails to print the entire page and I end up reprinting a page here and there in a muliple page print job. It took me nearly a month to get the software running correctly. Print quality is great but it just takes too long to crank it out (I'm only printing in draft - I cringe to think how long it would take to print at highest quality). Sorry, HP, but if I had it to do over, it wouldn't be a C7180 I'd buy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this machine

PostedNovember 30, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had my 7180 for several weeks, and have used it extensively in many featured areas. I particularly like the quality of scanned slides, the speed of printing, the crispness of the printed page, and the simplicity and completeness of instructions. It may help to be computer savvy, but I'd say if the instructions are read and applied carefully, there should be little trouble. Best printer I have ever had, and than include many types and models in many settings.
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

printer cartridges

PostedOctober 7, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am using the colors cartridges too quickly and when only printing in black the colour cartridges also seem to get used.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good, not excellent, printer

PostedJune 10, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very pleased with the 7180. The photo quality is outstanding, both 4X6 and in much larger prints. HP's software has finally been improved to make the paper and quality selection process as easy to use as its printers have been. The 7180 is a great looking machine. Even though it is not a small unit, it does not have a hulking look and is quite attractive on a desktop with other sliver and black components. The simple features of being able to adjust the angle of the control panel, the large and bright LCD screen, the window to see the status of the 4X6 print paper tray, and the built in slide and negative scanner demonstrate that some real thought went into designing the 7180.
I found the process of locating and installing the necessary Vista software to be easy and my unit contained a prominent notice that I would need to check the website. I am using both the wireless connection feature and the Bluetooth and both installed and worked flawlessly. Vista's Fax and Scan feature will not work if you connect the 7180 wirelessly, though HP's fax and scan software does. Fortunately, the 7180 allows you to connect both via USB and to eiher a wired or wireless network at the same time so I am able to use all of Vista's features as well as all of the 7180's. This is a very good all in one and I only deducted one star from features because HP makes you buy an expensive attachment to get two sideed printing and because of the Vista Fax and Scan issue.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Scanner & Photo Printer

PostedMay 21, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got the C7180 last week and I easily connected it to my wireless network. My Macintosh and WIndows computers can all print to it. The photo quality is excellent, and I really appreciate the LCD display--it's easy to see messages and teh status of print jobs.
Only area that I had an issue with was in getting it to automatically print to the photo tray with my Macintosh G5--it kept defaulting to the lower regular paper tray. I went to the user forum on HP's web site and found a post that led me to a resolution. However this was only a minor issue as I was able to resolve it.
All in all, a great purchase. I would recommend the C7180 and I have to several others since I bought it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great all-in-one but not perfect

PostedMarch 29, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beware Vista users! You must download a gigantic file to get this product to work as the included disk is only for earlier operating systems. As I have only dial-up, the download time was 14.5 hours! I requested an updated disk from HP and learned that only the most basic disk was currently available; the full-featured disk will not be available for an unspecified period. To their credit, they shipped it very quickly. On another front, this is a complicated machine, requiring scrolling through a maze of commands to do practically anything. I am having trouble making high quality photos (as I have only the basic interface disk) and the noise factor is considerable (sqeaks, whirs, etc.). A side-by-side comparison of photos printed with it and my older HP PSC 1610v are virtually indistinguishable. Practically every time I start the unit it cycles through a minute-long preparation phase which it ominously warns not to interrupt; this happens occasionally in the middle of a printing job, also. The process of copying slides is tedious to say the least. Otherwise, I really like this all-in-one and anxiously anticipate getting the full-featured disk (or I will likely have to purchase a good photo editing software program).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost Got It

PostedMarch 6, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There were some prior HP Printers that really made me wonder what on earth the company was thinking when they introduced them onto the market. The small screen on front was a big factor - at first - and quite a novelty but it did not cover the fact that a printer has to be sturdy and reliable.
This time HP produced a solid piece of equipment. It isn't overly large or high so it can neatly fit in a home or an office. Also, it is very quiet and (again unlike some previous models) does not rattle and shake violently.
The unit produces breathtaking color pictures and the speed is good enough so that you can compare it to a low-end laser printer.
The problem? As cited in other reviews, HP is now selling VISTA computers but the software that came with this printer did not recognize VISTA. As such, there are no computer menus for the scanner/ copier. They work well enough but there are a few programs that HP always gave you (especially for photography) that are very useful. I called tech support and although they got me printing with a limited version download, they seemed more intent on selling me ink cartridges than telling me when the VISTA software version would be made available to me (it has been a month and so far, no Vista).
So, its a great computer and works like a pro but HP support for their product (this one especially) is somewhat lacking.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great printer...lousy software.

PostedFebruary 20, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The first thing to catch my eye on this printer was the paper tray. I liked it being in the bottom front, I just wish it held more paper. The next thing I noticed was that it read XD memory cards, everyone else doesn't. Then the wireless, this was the deal maker. So I buy it knowing full well that HP has always had a problem with their software. Not that it doesn't work it's more the fact that it slows your computer way down. So I get it home and follow the bouncing ball for installation. When all done it took up to four times as long for my PC to boot up. So I had to delete several of the applications that HP installs in order to get it back to normal. Then there is the help button on the front panel, it always refer to the user manual for information. I found that quite annoying. So other than the software I am finding it to be a really great printer. I would recommend it.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Darned Paper Jams!

PostedJanuary 21, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I loved everything about this printer except for one thing: at the fastest speed, IT TEARS UP THE PAPER. It literally eats it up and spits it out, often extremely wrinkled, sometimes even shredded.
Usually, printing on a fresh sheet of paper is NOT a problem, even at fast speeds. However, I ALWAYS use the manual duplex printing, so when I reload a stack of pages, it tears them up. Apparently, on the first pass through the machine, the printer loads the paper so fast that it puts a wrinkle on the leading edge. When you flip the stack over and reload it, this problem is compounded by the second pass-through and it gets jammed or 2 pages get taken up at the same time. So, the manual duplex printing is rendered practically useless. Of note: it does not seem to do this on the Normal quality (slower speed), but one of the main reasons I got this machine was to save ink and print at a blazingly fast 30 ppm.
Another thing that I dislike is that it DOES NOT HAVE AUTO-DUPLEX PRINTING. If I print out 10 pages, I would rather carry around 5 pages worth of paper in addition to saving the $. For the price, I don't want to have to buy a $70 add-on piece of equipment to allow me to do this. However, I suspect that the auto-duplexer would slow down the process and thus make the machine less likely to shred and jam papers.
Another downside: no auto-document-feeder (ADF)
I may take it back and see if this printing problem is an overall issue with the design or if I just got a bad machine. On the other hand, I may just get the C6180 (has ADF) and buy the auto-duplex attachment. It doesn't have Bluetooth, but I don't need it.
Having said all that, the remainder of the machine works fabulously and flawlessly. Here are the excellent things about it:
Bluetooth
Wireless networking
Wired networking
Beautiful (and fast!) photo printing directly from memory card or
camera
Beautiful interactive LCD display, makes it easy to customize
functions
A panoply of photo-fix options
Smart fax (junk fax blocker, etc)
Ability to scan negatives and slides
Excellent software suite lets you do all kinds of things, including:
-scan to any computer on the network (even wireless)
-scan photos/docs to many diff formats (Word, PDF, etc) and
send to e-mail addresses without computer even being on!
-etc
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Printer

PostedJanuary 8, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got the C7180 for Christmas. I had been looking for a new printer and one that could scan film negatives as well as slides. The hook-up and installation couldnt have been easier! It was fast and flawless. Installation of the software took a little longer but there were no problems whatsoever. I immediately printed off some pictures using the sample 4x6 picture paper that was included. I simply could not believe the quality of the pictures - they were outstanding! I used pictures with different features: lots of different colors; shades; bright; unfocused; dull; detailed. They all turned out much much better than I expected. I have also scanned film negatives and slides. Although there seemed to be a hangup at the beginning...getting the scans to the computer, whatever was the problem resolved itself and it works very well. The quality of the scans is unbelievably detailed too. I find I have to use photo editing software to clean up the flaws on the negatives and slides that were picked up during the scan (not caused by the scan) and were created by the original cameras used back in the 60's and 70's (dust and scratches). The downside that I have found so far is that it takes about 7 seconds per page to print in black. A far cry from the 33 or so ppm that they advertise. This of course might be due to the fact my motherboard is older - I dont know yet. 7 seconds is still excellent considering what my old printer did - it printed so fast and spit the paper out so quickly that it almost landed on the floor. As well, the print quality is not great. It certainly is passable but it isnt particularily sharp. Even with the unaided eye one can see flaws. The printer is a bit noisy too...when printing and scanning it certainly lets you kow it is working. The tech support has been excellent too. I had to get a hold of them for a couple of questions...especially when the scans were taking a long time to get to the computer. The tech support was easy to use and for the most part helpful...not to mention there was no lengthy wait to get help and no additional costs. I cant emphasize enough how good the picture print quality is. It is really top rate! I wish I could post an example here. I am more than happy so far with the printer and I am looking forward to working on it more. The color monitor is a bonus too. Hope this is helpful.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hard setup with aol

PostedDecember 31, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you have aol safety and security on your computer it makes the driver unrecognizable. So you can't install the printer without removing the safety and security or maybe turning it off. Other than the long confusing setup because of that issue, the printer is great!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent All in One Product

PostedNovember 24, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I was looking for an all in one product I found this model to have all the features I needed to work on a variety of projects. One particular feature, was a good scanner that could scan documents, and output superior quality to my computer, as well as printing for other uses. I found the quality to be excellent for both uses and the ease in which to scan documents, images and other items factored into my decision to purchase this model.
Another feature of this product is the on screen menus available on the printer. All functions are available on the front panel and get information when needed. I have also found this to be time saving when switching from one function to another. Printing quality is excellent and the use of the various inks gives images the best quality I have seen from a photo printer. It meets and exceeds my expectations for an all in one product.
+117points
122of 127voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP7180 All In One

PostedOctober 3, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this printer to anyone with a wireless network. It was very easy to install the software, that was supplied on the cd on both of my Laptops. I use network magic software to view and manage all network hardware components, i.e., other computers and the network printers. The HP 7180 wireless feature works flawlessly, from the linksys router or in the wireless radio mode (the printer works as a point to point add hoc device).
The print speed and print quality are excellent. I have also tested the print quality of digital photographs. Others that see these photographs talk about their high quality.
What I liked the best was that you just plug in the individual ink cartridges and you are DONE!
I think that after using the $5000.00 Laser printers, the $400.00 that I paid was more then worth the price.
Nice Job HP!
CG
+109points
113of 117voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Patience paid off with this printer

PostedOctober 22, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Despite trying two units that would not properly initialize, I stuck with this printer, and I'm glad I did. If you happen to get one that does the same thing, try to stick with it. Overall this printer has plenty of functionality and print quality, which is what I have come to expect from HP.
I bought this printer since it has support for Vista (you need to download setup software from the website listed in the included instructions). My HP scanner that is almost five years old, and my Photosmart 8450 did not fully support Vista. I use my 7180 on my wireless network.
Setup in Vista or XP was very easy, and all functions work properly from both Windows versions. I haven't dug out my old iBook yet to test, but I'm sure it will work there too. All functions (print / scan / fax) work properly under Vista.
I'm very pleased with the photo quality. I'm a freelance photographer by hobby, so I'm among the pickiest of people when it comes to photo quality. This 7180 is every bit as good as my 8450 is when it comes to photo quality. The test prints I made using the included samples of Advanced Paper were very good for a fast drying paper. The individual ink tanks will offer a lower cost per print than my 8450, without sacrificing any quality.
Copying and enlarging a photo is very easy - you will be taken through the process quickly and clearly thanks to the large LCD screen. Scanning is convenient as well, using the scan menu to select the computer name on the network, and the program to launch on that computer to edit the photo.
The Photosmart Essentials software for Vista needs a little fine tuning, which is one of the main reasons for my four star rating under performance. Print speed across the wireless network is acceptable, considering that my WLAN is encrypted. So, if you use WLAN, you can expect a few extra seconds in your print time (before the printer actually starts putting ink on the page). That's just the natural trade off when using a secure wireless network. I will eventually move this over to a wired network connection, but the flexibility of wireless is very helpful. My cell phone was able to print a photo stored on it's Micro SD card using the Bluetooth feature of this printer. There was no quality sacrifice since the stored photo was at it's original resolution.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

performance

PostedOctober 3, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am truly satified with the quality of my pictures.The speed is great and low cost for the ink.Love the wireless and fax.Can't say enough.Would advise everyone who needs wireless to buy this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the Greatest!!!

PostedSeptember 25, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just read a few reviews and aggree with most of what has been written. I bought the C7180 about a month ago and have printed many awesome pictures...I bought it for my photography and scrapbooking at home. The scanner I needed for slides and negatives, plus scanning old pictures and repairing them.
This printer does it all and I can't say enough good. I have been wanting to replace my old HP PSC2100 but it just didn't want to die, so I added a new laptop and printer to my workroom and use them both, plus a Photosmart 475 which I also love.
I have one comment on a reviewer saying that the printer darken his paper and sometimes sent two papers through. I had that problem to begin with and then I pulled the tray out and loaded it and pushed it back until it touched and then slide the glide up to just touching the paper lightly and that took care of the problem. Don't use to much pressure.
Well, I could go on and on about how much this machine can do, but you will just have to buy it yourself. I am a 64 year old woman and hooked up everything with ease very simple and as everyone has said the interface is great.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am happy with my C7180

PostedJuly 5, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wanting to purchase a new printer/multi-function I was considering several printers from different companies.
Two years ago I upgraded my computer hardware and printer, persuaded by the salesman that ‘x’ brand was the way to go (great photos he said). I was also considering an HP which did everything including fax. Well, I have been disappointed ever since. The ‘x’ brand has been OK but a recent purchase of a digital camera saw me disappointed with its photo output. As well as this, fax capabilities would have been handy (when needed, which isn’t that often, it can be very handy). Hence the hunt for a new printer(multi-function). Maybe this time I would get that HP I didn't buy previously.
My needs/situation – limited space (18 ½ in. x 14 1/2in)
no space for a separate fax machine
small office/home printing
photo printer
I scoured the web for reviews. I narrowed my selection by balancing my needs with the many printers’ quality and value in all areas. Fax capabilities were important but if all the other criteria weighed better I might have considered passing on that. One particular model took up too much desk space otherwise that might have won (excellent running costs and reviews). Another brand couldn’t do fax although I did like the thought of printing on CD’s. Reviews on that were mixed. According to the reviews the HP6180/7180 didn't come out in front for print quality in text and graphics or speed and maybe not running costs either, although photo quality was rated as among the best. The HP C6180 and HP C7180 seemed to rate similarly in reviews so it was hard to decide. The 6180 could feed pages automatically but I didn’t really need this. It is also a bit smaller than the 7180, but with HP’s cash-back offer and the sale at the shop, the 7180 worked out cheaper. So with some trepidation I bought the C7180. So far I think it is a great machine.
No problems setting up – with software or connecting to existing phone/answering machine. I didn’t have to connect to a network or connect wirelessly though. It has performed most tasks better than I expected. I can’t believe how good my photos look. The printer body has the look and feel of quality. It is rather heavy though, which makes my computer table shake when it prints fast on economy. The control panel is a so easy to use and understand. Anyone could step up to it and know what they needed to do. The screen is a great size. The printer has lots of settings which I can use to economise on ink or improve quality of printing. It was so good to be able to send a fax the other day. It has just one drawback though. The paper feeds from the front. Because of this it creases the backs of envelopes a little and sometimes feeds two pieces of paper at once. I haven’t tried card except for 230g/m2 photo paper (no worries). The Photosmart Premier software that comes with the printer also has a noise reduction setting (my other programs don’t do this). The software is easy to use and has lots of things I can use to tweak my photos.
This has been rather lengthy review but I wanted to be of help to anyone considering a printer/multi-function. I think I would say I am an average user looking for a good result without too much fuss. I do like to be fully informed when making a purchase and have read countless reviews. Here is just one more.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart C7180 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Happy Dad!

PostedJune 21, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife gave me the HP C7180 All In One for Father's Day and I was worried about how complex it might be to install and operate.
No such thing! It was a breeze! I can't believe the quality of the copies I'm getting - both photo and text. This machine is a dream come true! Thank you HP!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.