HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Laser Printers or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP LaserJet 1022 Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP LaserJet 1022 Printer

Fast printing at up to 19 pages/minute First page out in as little time as 8 seconds from power-saving mode Affordable, compact, reliable
Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
34 out of 35(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Review 1 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One Terrific Printe

PostedDecember 5, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great home-office machine. It handles the kind of volume I occasionally have to crank, like thirty-plus copies of material for my college classes. It works fairly quietly, with consistent quality. It holds enough paper that I don't have to check it constantly, and I like the bottom-feed paper system. I got a very good tip on this machine from a friend who is a computer instructor, and in fact used to work for HP in Europe. He was right, this is a great machine for the money. Take this one over any of the home machines, even if you have to pay a nickel more. Forget the multiple function types that fax, scan, make coffee and sometimes don't print so well...this is a workhorse.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Reliable and Excellent Printer

PostedOctober 23, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned a laserjet 1022 printer for approximately two years. This is an excellent machine. The copies are produced quickly and the print quality is clear and crisp. There have not been any repair issues. The features of this printer are versatile and enable the production of virtually any type of document. I was reluctant to purchase a new printer when electing to utilize a laptop with strictly USB port access. But this printer more than surpassed my expectations.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Laserjet 1022 Review

PostedNovember 16, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this printer for about 4 months. It produces really nice copies, and can print traditional (vertical) Chinese envelopes in Chinese. It does not take up much table space. It would be better if it could photocopy (to save me going to the convenience store), and if the toner cartridge (12A) could print more like 3,000 pages as opposed to the 2,000 pages that I understand is the output (since toners are expensive - although I got an extra one free with the printer due to an HP special offer). Previously, I used an HP printer/copier/scanner for several years but had to leave it behind when we relocated overseas. That was fine, too. It was the 1100 model - toner was cheaper page wise. I heard a lot of these machines had problems with the sheet feeders, but if you use it personally and take care of it (i.e., don't mishandle it), it will last a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little printer

PostedAugust 30, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We are a busy law firm and have some large network printers, but many users needed a desktop printer for shorter projects. This has been great - reliable, great quality and great value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast little printer

PostedJuly 24, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read all the other reviews and thought that the reports of how fast this printer is was just a bit overdone. But now that I have one for myself, I have to agree with all those who rave about it's speed. I hit the print icon and within just a second or two this little printer has booted up and printed my document. I had an HP 6P Laser printer which I thought was a great printer, and for it's time it was. But this little printer can print out several pages before that printer had even booted up. I am just amazed and very pleased at its speed and the quality of the printing. I have had no problems with it other than an initial jam which I was able to clear very easily. I recommend this printer to anyone who needs a small footprint on their desk and want a fast, high quality document for a very reasonable price. It is most definetly worth the money. As a final note, I have already recommended this printer to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP1022

PostedMay 18, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A wonderful printer but not for higher volume office use particularly for heavy envelope printing. This printer's features do not allow it to easily and quickly process printed envelopes; sadly a frequent task for me. However it is fast and the print quality is very good. It's also nicely compact and doesn't not take up much room on my desk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A wonderful little laser jet.

PostedMay 13, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I must say, I am impressed with the laser jet i purchased. It is compact, very fast, easy to use and configuration was easy. Well done HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm very impressed

PostedApril 23, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've owned and used heavier duty printers ($700+ range). On those the speed and print quality are great. Then at work they give me this little HP1022. Being an openminded guy, and knowing I have the 2300 at home, I went right to work with it. Wow! What a great surprise. This thing is quick and the print quality is excellent. I love it. My 2300 does automatic double-sided printing, this 1022 does not. BUT, the manual double-sided printing is excellent. When you go to print, simply select double-sided, when the pages come out, lower the paper (or stack of paper) to the input tray below (no flipping or turning needed), hit the button on the printer and viola! it does the other side in perfect sync with the front side(s).
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Machine for the Money

PostedApril 23, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always been a Hewlett Packard user, but this machine is the best EVER. It's super fast and the print quality is great. As a small business owner, I need reliable and this machine is it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer

PostedApril 20, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this for my business. Highly recommend. Only thing is that I wish the toner went for more than 2,000 pages - I do a lot of printing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Laserjet 1022

PostedApril 19, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the second HP laserjet printer that I have owned. This one by far surpasses the one I replaced with this one. It is real fast to come on and print the page(s), it is quit, easy to set up and so far very reliable unlike my last one. The print quality is real good too. I use this printer for my home business and my personal tasks and still have not had to replace the toner cartridge yet after 5 months of use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not yet perfected

PostedApril 19, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer has many excellent features, beginning with printing quality. Its rendering of B&W photographs is outstanding, and its speed is excellent. For my purposes, its major shortcoming is related to the relatively small number of copies that can be printed with one toner cartridge (2000), coupled with the facedown position of the output. Consequently it is difficult to determine when the cartridge is exhausted, which can lead to large quantities of wasted paper. This is particularly true of double-sided printing of large numbers of copies, since the spoiled copies may have already been printed on one side, wasting not only the paper but also the much more expensive toner.
I encountered several installation issues which consumed excessive time and effort. After installation my external hard drive would not function. The cure, recommended by HP, was to use a powered hub for the printer. I fail to see why the printer should impose such a large load on the USB port. The printer also would not permit a mail-merge operation from Microsoft WORD. The solution, as suggested by HP, was to set up a new user profile on my HP computer. Finally I encountered an incompatibility between the use of a .pdf driver (an independent program used to generate .pdf documents) with the printing of reports in Microsoft WORKS. Changing to a 6L driver as suggested by HP corrected this problem, but was an unacceptable solution because of reduced printing resolution for photographs. I am still trying to work around this problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Printer 1022 Review

PostedApril 19, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this printer a couple months ago. I am very impressed by it. I was even more impressed with the price. Laser printers are usually very big and clumpsy and cost a lot. This printer has just the right size for my desk and it did not put a strain on my pocket book. I can get so much more printing done without having to worry about the ink running out soon. I am very pleased. I would recommend this printer to my friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE best black & white printer

PostedApril 6, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love love love this printer. i'm an accountant and use this one in the office. i was surprised that a printer this economical financially is priced fairly. i'm looking forward to buy the color laserjet because it's proven to me how well the laserjet printer works. it prints fast, quality is great and very very userfriendly. i used this printer to print on vellum paper for invitation cards and on a hard paper, too. wow! it works so perfectly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replaced A Color Inkjet

PostedMarch 5, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'd finally 'had it' with Brand X color inkjets (dinky color cartridges, slow printing, aggravating and frequent head cleaning, non operation when just one cartridge runs out, poor reliability, shaking the table, etc) so took my brother's advice and bought an inexpensive laserjet - the HP 1022. Well, I simply love it! It's -- fast, quiet, great resolution, inexpensive, very reliable, small footprint....
I don't miss the old color inkjets one bit, and I've had quite a few.
My wife still has a 3 in 1 color inkjet (Brand X) as she needs the color capability on occasion, however, after observing the operation of my HP1022 over the last months, she now wants one, to complement her inkjet. So today I'm going to get her the HP1020.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great as all HP Laser printers

PostedFebruary 20, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have two jobs, and in both places we use HP printers. I must say that in both offices there are many printers of different brands, but the HP printers (1100, 1010, 1015) are the best. They work so great that I decided to buy a similar printer for me, and then I picked the HP 1022. I'm definitely pleased with its performance and ease of use. Compact, no paper jams, very fast, excellent print quality. I find only one issue: in Argentina the toner is expensive compared to the printer price (one third of printer price), but it lasts a lot of printed pages, so I won't need a new one for many months.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP The Best

PostedJanuary 10, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found it the fastest, the best quality print ever.HP printers are the best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP The Best

PostedJanuary 9, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found it to be very fast, efficient .I found it to be the best in the market.HP is the best
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive Speed!

PostedJanuary 6, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We love this printer! We bought this printer for our warehouse when our Laserjet 1000 finally gave out about a year ago and it's being used as our main printer. I remember having no problem with the usb installation at all. When something needs to be printed we just hit the print button on the computer and it literally flies out of the printer. Everyone who sees it work for the first time is very impressed. It's as close to instant as I've seen. We print an average of 50 pages a day. The quality of print is great and the toner seems to last forever.
Aside from a jam or 2 when using cheap paper in times of high humidity we have no problems with this printer at all. These jams are very easy to fix by just opening the door on the back of the printer and removing the paper.
There is really only 1 thing we would change. The auxilliary feed for envelopes doesn't hold much...it would be nice if it could hold more. In this slot we actually print on "silk" labels which are quite thicker than paper and we can fit about 5 pages of labels in there. It's nice that you can print from this slot without having to remove the main paper, which was a problem with the previous model.
We highly recommend this printer and would buy it again. Would like to have this same model with a fax feature for my home.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP LaserJet 1022 Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP LASERJET 1022

PostedNovember 24, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IT IS VERY GOOD PRODUCT,AND IT IS VERY EASY TO OPERATE AND THE PRINTER IS VERY SMOOTH PRINTING AND I ADVISE TO MY FRIENDS TO BUY THIS KIND OF PRINTER,AND SOME OF MY FRIENDS USING THIS PRINTER ONLY
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.