HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Photo Printers or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer

One page per 1.3 minutes color, up to 19 pages black; 4 x 6" photos as fast as 29 seconds Borderless (up to 13 x 19") and panorama prints Nine-ink color; professional-quality printing Built-in networking
Overall rating:
4.62 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
44 out of 50(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Review 1 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

consistency

PostedApril 24, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
first, let me advise that this photo printer is by far the best that i have ever used. however, there are several functions that I believe fall a bit short of my expectations. I could not describe this printer as a professional level option for a working photographer. I've had the following experiences:
Color management: I have not found the blue photo ink to be especially good in the reproduction of sky or water tones. The blues often lack subtlety of tone and tend to range either to excessively red or green shades of the blue scale.
When using adobe rgb, printer tends toward a very warm rendition which I have had to combat by slapping on a cool filter or even a yellow filter. I often cannot predict what the printer will render in the color space until I've proofed my photos. And this with HP papers, as well.
All color reproduction lacks the luminosity I had hoped for.
However, the prints are beautiful but often not what I had in mind as I looked at my "photoshopped" work on my calibrated monitor. I agree that the inks require some "settling in time on the paper before the colors are set. Another problem I have had is an overall loss of brightness on the print, almost as if the printer had somehow changed the exposure values.
paper:
I am not troubled by the "odd paper sizes" since I generally change the resolution of my pics to about 300 pixels which means their actual size fits pretty well on the largest paper option even before cropping.
I also wish the rear paper feed had some sort of support tray for the large paper size. Paper thickness issues sometimes cause tracking on the print surface.
All in all, this printer is a huge upgrade for me. I guess I just expected more professional results. I would certainly recommend it but wish the color management was a bit more predictable. My work is often quite interpretive and would like more control in the color space.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but could be better

PostedDecember 8, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love my printer, other than the odd paper size and it's LOVE FOR INK!! It uses ALOT OF INK!!! With friends having other brands, that give the same quality, and thier ink being less, it makes me wonder if I made a good choice. This is my 3rd HP printer, all the others still work, but needed bigger prints. I'll be glad to see HP come out with indiidual tanks, better ink management,regular size (large) paper, and better software.
Happy printing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeds Expectations

PostedOctober 28, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been extremely happy with this printer. I originally bought it for 13x19 prints. However, the quality overall is better than my other photosmart so I now use the 8750 for all my photo printing. This printer can connect via USB or LAN and my only complaint is that the speed of the memory card/stick reader while on the network seems a bit slow, but the print speed is unaffected. Overall I'd give this printer a 5-star rating for its superior 9-ink print quality and its nice set of features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Photosmart 8750 Review

PostedOctober 26, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer is awesome! The print quality is nothing like I have ever seen from an ink jet printer. I have never been so pleased with a purchase. I would highly recommend this printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Confident User

PostedOctober 25, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best printer that I've come accross. I've used several different sizes of paper, but the giant 13x19 print is wonderful. It prints pictures just like they've come to life. I used this printer for printing wedding pictures, and everyone is just amazed that it was actually printed at home instead of at a professional lab. I'm very happy with this printer for the sharp colors and the speed at which it prints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedOctober 25, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The printer is, in my opinion one of the best. However, there is one thing that I would like to see added. I print the full size 13X19 inch prints on heavy stock so a removable tray for the back of the printer when it is necessary to feed the paper in the slot at the back of the printer would be quite helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

8750 11X17 printer

PostedOctober 25, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed up the print time by choosing "fast draft". Makes beautiful pictures if you have the time and pick the highest quality, just don't be in ANY rush what-so-ever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo printer

PostedOctober 24, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent printer with easy set up. The quality of print is unbelieveable at the 13 x 19 print jobs. It is equal to if not better than a professional lab process. I print a great deal,the use of the ink is very good with the most intense colors.
Only draw back is that there is not a tray to feed the 13 x 19 paper must manual feed, sometimes it will miss feed straight through or will feed your 13 X 19 paper and 8X 11 paper if your paper tray is loaded. However, for the quality of print you get this is not enough disappoint you.
It is low maintaince, even though I print a great deal I replace inks once a month, Tri photo is the ink you will use the most.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A giant leap for me

PostedOctober 23, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started out with hp psc2210, printing out poster size photos 20x30. The hardest part was trimming all the borders. Now with the Hp 8750, it take only two sheets of 13x19 borderless,and no trimming. People that visit my retirement home in Tucson think the photos were taken by a professional and printed in a studio. When I tell them I did it all and printed it, they want to buy copies.
Thanks HP
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Photo printing is a real pain

PostedOctober 23, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I print a lot of 4 x 6 photos and the 8750 printer is not user friendly. I can only load two sheets of photo paper at a time. The color quality is poor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Photosmart 8750

PostedOctober 23, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best photoprinter I have ever used, including other HP printers. Very easy to use, and maintain. It took only a few minutes to set up right out of the box. The only problem I had was the absence of a set of 64 bit drivers, but thank goodness I was able to download a set of beta drivers from HP and I was up and running. I do wish that the ink cartridges were larger. Of course I also wish I was a millionaire, so I wouldn't have to worry about things like that. All in all, I believe that the 8750 is one of the best dollar for dollar values on the market when it comes to a photo printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

emery

PostedOctober 23, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Photo printer works very well for my needs of photos and cards and envelopes. would prefer larger ink cartrage vol. of ink. Black cart. not used. I have had no problems with printer,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 8750

PostedOctober 23, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The 8750 is a dye based printer that produces beautiful results. The prints are saturated and the printer produces excellent color and black and white prints without changing inks. It does use more ink than the DesignJet series printers and you must be careful to let the prints dry and not get near moisture. I would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Where Images Come to Life

PostedOctober 23, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I find a good product, I tend to stay with that manufacturer. I have had several printers. None compare with my Hewlett Packard choices. I own two HP printers, both are Photo Smart. My favorite is the Photo Smart 8750. Why? I prefer this printer over all because I like watching images come to life.
In addition, I am not limited to the standard size Photo. In other words, I can go large. I can print my favorite photos, frame them, and hang them to enjoy everyday.
The Print quality is superb! Unmatched! What more can you ask for?
Well, how about the unimageable? All you need is the printer. This printer prints direct from the camera or the memory stick. I could go on and on, but my images are waitng to be infused with color.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My experience with the B9180

PostedOctober 23, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great printer. However, the yellow and light magenta ink cartridges ran out very quickly. I also can not use the photoshop plugin to get a good print job. Prints some white or black rectangles on the page. Prints fine from the print with preview in PS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Pro Quality

PostedOctober 23, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This printer can be considered a medium high end amature printer, but definitely not pro quality. Color output is not as crisp and smooth as other manufacturer's printers now available on the market, even with custom profiles. BW output provides good quality semi-gloss and gloss printing without use of a RIP, however the dither patern provides for a comparitively unsharp output whether BW or color. Also, manual paper feeding does not work well for larger, thicker media printing.
On the plus side, self calibration and ink management is good. For an advanced amature not selling fine art prints, this quality may be sufficient. Support is excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Photosmart 8750

PostedOctober 23, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best printer HP has put out thus far and I have owned several of them. None has worn out, I just give them away when I upgrade. I love the idea of printing the larger prints all with 1st class quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

8750 for an Artist

PostedOctober 23, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The 8750 produces an exceptional quality print. Getting the final product however takes longer than necesary. I find it difficult to use the rear feed slot even after following the suggestions in the manual. The heavy weight fiber paper has to be fed through several times before the printing occurs. Also I have been unable to read the ink levels on the computer. "Unable to communicate" it states. I have reloaded the soft ware to no avail.
Overall with the attractive price and the high print quality I can work around these hinderances an produce a fine piece of Art.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 8750

PostedOctober 23, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this printer for several momths and have been delighted with every print. The software is easy and foolproof. The Vista inks are unbelievable.Whether you print on Glossy Paper or Matt, my personal choice,the results are something to be proud of.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart 8750 Professional Photo Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bmcd's review

PostedOctober 23, 2006
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been very pleased with my printer. I have owned several color photo printers in the past and consider the 8750 to produce truly professional color prints.
My son works for Microsoft and is also very impressed the quality of the prints.
I defintely would recommend this printer to anyone who wishes to produce professional quality pictures.
I did notice that I paid more for mine than what is the current market price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.