HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Laser Printers or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One

Color print, color copy, color scan, fax, digital image Print and copy up to 20 pages per minute black, 4 color First page in less than 18 seconds from sleep mode Automatic document feeder (50 sheets) Fax modem (incoming memory of 250 sheets) Photo memory card slots
Overall rating:
3.784 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(88 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 88 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
14
1 Star
7
59 out of 88(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Review 1 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

My first HP printer I am not happy with

PostedAugust 5, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this printer on a recommendation from a friend and boy am I disappointed. It is really, really big and I have been having nothing but problems. I receive multiple errors, have never been able to scan without going through the HP software. And the printer does some kind of calibration in the middle of the night and always wakes us up because it is so loud.
I would not recommend this printer ... in fact, I am going to buy a new one and give this away to charity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Happy - Except

PostedJuly 29, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechaniical setup was straight forward but the software installation was flawed.
There was a big note stating do not use the enclosed Vista installation disk, go to the web site and download/install the PCL6 Plug and Play Scan Print driver solution. After doing this, I could not scan to my computer and did not have a Solution Center. To get the solutiion center, I took a chance an downloaded the complete wuite download and after several attempts, got it to work properly on my HP desktop an 2840, 8750 and 1200 series printers. This took about two weeks of frustration.
Now that the emotions have subsided, I am very happy with the qualiity and performance, although a little noisy, of this all in one. Now if I can only fiind more memory for it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You'll love it, best wish for better features.

PostedApril 26, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this printer in my photography studio to print my designed advertising literature. I love the print quality of the HP 2840. Wished for faster color printing and two sided printing without manuely turning the document. Black/white, color is great quality. External Look professional and stylish, great design. Copys are great and fast. Easy setup and use. A little slow at startup.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

like it

PostedApril 2, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Enjoyable to own and operate, prints a little slower than I expected and a little loud.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great When it works

PostedMarch 1, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product WHEN it works but noisy, expensive consumables and a real disaster to get installed and keep communicating with your XP SP2 Computer- not at all happy iwth my very expensive pruchase from HP -
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's a reasonable small office all in one

PostedFebruary 17, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've enjoyed using this all in one. I've had it nearly two years now and I haven't had any major problems with it.
My concerns would be:
the color cartridges are expensive, as is the drum to replace. If you print a lot of materials, particularly those with color, get ready for some hefty bills
some systems (such as the scan to pc function) have stopped without reason. Now a scan has to be done from the pc itself rather than from the printer.
Scan quality isn't as good as with higher end scanners.
I'm looking for another printer now and will not be choosing another one of these. My requirements are slightly higher than this printer allows for.
Also a stapler would be nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

All negative reviews are true

PostedFebruary 4, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am taking it back. It is awful. Loud, clunky. Jammed on the 1st page I printed. It jams if I use 1/2 sheet of 8 1/2 x 11 paper! I tried numerous times. Faxing is impossible. I have a home business and send and receive many faxes daily. The fax pop up box went off the screen and I couldn't even get to the send button. Beautiful clear printing. But the copying was not good. The color came out well but the black came out faded looking - with copying and scanning. Don't waste your time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

beautiful brochures

PostedJanuary 17, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned this printer for over a year now and use it in our office. We build log homes and I create and print brochures, print floorplan designs, letters, posters, envelopes and I also use it to make greeting cards, forms and to fax and copy. It does everything really well. I only have one small complaint and that is the cost of the ink cartridges. I have replaced them all once and the drum had to also be replaced. They seem pretty expensive, but I guess all printers are like that to some extent. I have only had one paper jam with heavy card stock, other than that it works flawlessly and is easy to install and understand all functions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent all in one product

PostedJanuary 3, 2008
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a very cost competitive Laser All-In-ONE for my Real Estate Home office as I did not have the room for multiple machines. I tried two other brands or "HIGH PERFORMANCE" companies and returned them both for lack of features or quality of printouts. I have had this unit for 9 months now and could not be happier. I constantly use all features including the SCAN to Document, FAX, Print, and Copy. All work great, and print quality is far better than the other I tried.
YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS PRODUCT.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

How SLOW can you GO!

PostedDecember 10, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great print quality and nice features, but even with mostly black printing, this is NOT a race horse! The amount of time it takes to rotate through the cartridges and print seems like a coffee pot could finish faster than 1 page printed. With todays technology, an $800 price tag and all the other features built into it, one would expect a better work place printer than what this can provide.
If you have the time and patience and desire a great looking paper, than this machine 'rocks!'
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, but could use more features

PostedOctober 18, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just installed my new LJ2840 and can't get over how great the print quality is and how innovative the product is; from installing print cartridges to the output delivery.
I bought the LJ2840 to replace a failing InkJet 7410. My only disappointment is that the Inkjet had a few features that the LJ2840 is missing; from a paper saving "green" duplexer to the InkJet's software suite. It seems that two seperate groups of people developed the software; the Inkjet software suite albiet on the slow side is sophisticated and rich with features, whereas it looks as if LJ2840 software was developed in the stone ages; the browser software interface although functional looks rough and does not have near the funtionality of the Inkjet suite.
The other desireable features are: a full 500 page paper bin so that a full ream of paper could be added at a time, and a stapler option would be nice.
I hope that HP provides the missing features in the near future; if they do, the LJ2840 would go from a great printer to a spectacular one!!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Its Ok When It Works

PostedOctober 13, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm satisfied with the machine except for the following:
Does not print doublesided
Cost of supplies is very high.
The Deskscan utility that allows scanning from within an application (Word, Acrobat etc). only allows scanning from the sheet feeder. When you try to scan from the glass, you get a message that says remove paper from the sheet feeder. This seems to be a problem with ALL HP All-In-One devices. I reported the problem to HP, but they have never come up with a solution.
After less than a year of very light useage, the printer will not power up for more than two minutes. After it does power up, I have to unplug it for a while before it will power up at all. It is going to be a job to get this monster to the repair shop.
When it works, I have been satisfied with the quality.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

2 failures out of 2 units

PostedSeptember 26, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Printer failed to power on before the 30-day period. Good service response and warranty so I got a new replacement but now it does't work. 2 failures out of 2 units? I don't know if this time I am going to get it fixed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

co-owner & promo, ads & mktg @ The Rusty Bucket

PostedSeptember 7, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The perfect printer for our small business.... all-in-one, lazer size perfect for small space w/quality profissional printing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Network + Vista + HP 2840 = Minimal Functionalitty

PostedJuly 15, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this printer whiling running Windows XP and was very happy with its network functionality.
Everything worked well and integrated with the OS.
Then it happened I bought a new computer and upgraded many of my PC to vista and it all went bad.
All the network features where gone. After some time HP released a driver for network printing but 6 months after Vista release there is no solution for network scanning or fax.
The network capabilites of this printer was the primary motivation for me to purchase this printer. If it is important to you, look for a different printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

chucks

PostedJune 23, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very good machine. color and/or black & white
only thing is finding a printer stand that will hold the weight of this machine = 75 lbs.
Other than than very good scanning and printing from internet and/or pictures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

You Need to REthink It!

PostedJune 21, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned this machine for about 3 months. I found the scanning and printing to be awesome. However, I am a home office user and the machine "cycles" at odd times during the day and night, making it very noisy and bothersome. It can be quite startling if you are concentrating and sitting right next to it, when without warning it starts rumbling.
Also, you have to go thru a menu with several push button steps just to change the number of copies you want of a page! And when it's time to change the black cartridge---again you must press buttons and wait several minutes while it rotates thru the cyan, magenta and yellow to eventually get to the black.
Another thing, many functions are only availabe by going online. If your internet service is down there are certain things you can't do, you are stuck! I feel the designer needs to use this for 30 days again and make some simple changes to the function and design. Then I could give it 5 stars across the board.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

hp 2840 color laser jet

PostedJune 10, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Only reason I didn't give a 5 Star rating on features is
the lack of 2 sided printing capability, a feature I used a lot
on my previous printer HP 7310 All-In-One which is still in
service, and doing an excellent job at my other office. Back
to the 2840, overall this is an Excellent Printer which along
with being fast the Quality of printing is Excellent as well.
The Surprise of all is the Quality of the Support Team
they are Awesome. They really know their stuff,Friendly,
& Patient and Solved, any problem I had, in amazing time.
Best of all the equipment is easy to use ,and the directions
on the CD were the very best with easy to follow the setup.
my need for the Support team was due to previous software
conflicts with previous Printers which I was unable to remove
with Add/Remove programing.
Well Pleased, ( Ricard)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Conflict with IE7

PostedJune 7, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function is limiated when using IE7. Had to remove IE7 and go back to IE6 to function properly. I purchased my 2840 six months ago and to my knowledge HP does not have a fix for the problem.
Disapointed,
Rocky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Color LaserJet 2840 All-in-One
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hate this machine

PostedJune 1, 2007
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have Windows XP and have had nothing but trouble trying to get it to run correctly. Only scanned correctly 1 time since I bought it. I would dump it if I just hadn't spent $600 replacing the drum and cartridges for an OfficeJet All in One.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.