HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7

hp HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7

HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating:
4.282 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(103 reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 103 reviews
5 Stars
66
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
3
1 Star
8
89 out of 103(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Review 1 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, so good.

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Milford, DE
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really only wanted HP. This seemed fairly priced for what I got. Had other HP's that lasted pretty well and hope this one lasts me for awhile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

like everything about this computer

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hartford, WI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly recommend getting the quad core, so fast and more responsive than my 4 year old dual core desktop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This computer is horrific and being sent back

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I received this computer yesterday. I downloaded my internet provider's McAfee which has always worked great before. By then end of the evening. It had quarantined a Trojan. A Trojan never got into my current computer which is not top of the line and that I've had for 7 years. It said it downloaded 41 Windows Updates. I did not confirm this and I don't believe it did. Today, it said it had 63 updates. I let it add the updates and got error messages. Bad error messages like I have never seen before. I looked to see how the updates went and half of them said "Pending" with a couple that failed. Windows tried to fix it and couldn't. Error alert after error alert. One error alert said in bright red that there was a problem with the Registry. In other words, the hard drive on this computer was corrupt. Then, McAfee found two more Trojans. Then, pop ups began. From every corner of the screen, never ending popups. Then, those viral popups that start scanning your computer or tell you your computer is at risk and scams over and over. I was on the phone with technical support for 7 hours off and on. The first one was nice and she got my computer to where it was when it left the factory. Not that I had done much to it except install drivers for printer, speakers, etc. The second tech called to do a "check in" and did not care at all. He got off the phone fast. I then called a third tech who told me that it was perfectly normal to have dozens of pop ups and scam ads taking over my computer. Oh, BTW, I also tried to install Mozilla Firefox off IE and it said it was downloading and then it wasn't there! But, about 7 other things were suddenly on my desktop. All scam and rip off sites. This computer's hard drive and faulty registry overrode my ability to download Firefox, kept trying to override McAfee, except luckily McAfee caught the trojans. I know HP must be a good company or they would not be in business. But, this was over the top bad and I am exhausted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Delighted to be able to get it with Windows 7

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arkansas
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
But-- The machine is great, but Windows 7 needed a LOT of updating--over 100 Windows updates right out of the box . I couldn't install some new software because the drivers in Windows were either outdated or hadn't installed correctly. But once I was able to get past all the installation issues, I'm very happy with this computer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice combination of features, but...

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Baltimore, MD
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the 7-in-1 media card reader was flagged by windows as not having a compatible driver. Great to have a 4th gen Core i5 CPU, dual channel RAM performance, wireless built-in, 4 SuperSpeed USB 3.0 ports.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:wisconsin
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good, basic,every day computer. Set up was simple and transfer of files, easy. Reloading all programs is always a pain.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pc - does all I could ask

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Highlands NJ USA Earth
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Its an I5 , plenty fast.... thinking back maybe an I7 would have been better. But I love this pc and it comes with 8 gigs of ram.....
The onboard video is decent.... the system is crying for a blue ray player.
This system is really built.... very little left to upgrade here.... if you need more then a basic (but fast video) get one of thier video card option.
Worked right of the box and yes.... Its windows 7 :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cleveland Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All I can say is THANK YOU HP for giving me back windows7, I have a notebook with windows8, and nothing but problems, I am so glad i went on the HP site to find windows7, Thank You Again!!!
Linda G
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You choose and enjoy.

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arlington, VA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you know what you want and how to use the hardware and software, HP is a worthy option. Of course, assistance is available as necessary.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

My New PC stopped working

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bordentown NJ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I need to return the computer I just received on July 17 2014. After 4 days it will not boot up and the message says the file is corrupt . I need to return the computer.
J. Vickers
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Computer for a Student

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Corpus Christi, TX
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This HP Desktop is a replacement for our son's Dell Desktop that decided to die. The 1TB Hard drive is more than enough space for a student computer. Set-up was a breeze and the price couldn't be beat. The Premium Wireless-N LAN Card had no issues picking up our wi-fi and I like the fact that I don't have to have a USB port tied up to get our wi-fi. Love that this desktop has Windows 7 installed, because I really dislike Windows 8.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tucson, AZ
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am so happy to have a new computer with windows 7 Home premium. I had a HP computer with windows 8 for 2 years & it drove me crazy. Windows 7 Is so much more user friendly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing beats Windows 7

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Beatrice, Al
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had several computers since 2003 & nothing beats a Windows 7.
And all my computers over the years have been by HP
I can still play all my games that I bought from HP & Wild Tangant , I hope HP never quits making computers with Windows 7 Thank you so much HP
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ever good product

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works perfectly. I needed a little help from HP support with the wireless key board and mouse. Support walked me thru the problem and it was fixed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant performance

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very happy with the performance and windows 7
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Computer for any purpose

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Valrico, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The most important requirement for any computer is to be fast and easy to work with. This computer with Windows 7, 8GB memory, 1TB hard drive and 3.5 GHz dual core processor is able to do anything I ever want it to do, and it does it flawlessly. Thank you HP
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big winner

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This HP desktop is a winner. Big hard drive, windows 7 (no need to buy new software), a fast processor, and 8 GB of RAM. I added another 8 GB of RAM for a total of 16 GB. It is powerfully fast. Good price and good value. As a "mature" graduate student, I expect to use this computer for many years.
The only irritation was the num lock default position is off. An HP service rep fixed that small problem.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is OK

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For a product of this quality, HP should have furnished a better keyboard and mouse than the cheap wired keyboard and mouse that came withy this unit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Windows 7 Pavilion 500-205t

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rockville, MD
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a reasonably priced computer with Windows 7. My wife hates 8.1. And she has loved a 7-year old computer with XP Pro. But you could tell the 7-year old computer was starting to feel it's age. So, I bought the Pavilion during a sale. I transferred her files, but I added Microsoft Office 2013 into the purchase. So, she has a very modern computer with 1TB of memory and a Intel i5 which is very fast. She should be able to do everything she wants for hopefully 5- to 7-years.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I wanted

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Loveland, Colorado
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My old tower was 8 year old, and was running slow. I do Excel spread sheets, email, and internet. I backup up on external hard drives weekly (do not use clouds). I have my CD's on an NAS drive. I do not do movies or games. I liked WIN7. The articles and reviews I read about WIN8 quite frankly scared me, and I believe Microsoft is confused in their customer focus. I ordered the Pavilion 500-250t with WIN7. The install and startup was done in 4 hours (including replacing a printer and external hard drive), with minimal problems. The system runs faster and with no problems. I feel very good about my decision to stay with WIN7 and the use of more HP products. I was very pleased that HP still sells towers with WIN7
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.