HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7

hp HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7

HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating:
4.268 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(108 reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 108 reviews
5 Stars
69
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
3
1 Star
9
93 out of 108(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Review 1 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too many blue screens to really evaluate.

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Crest Hill, IL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Have had several blue screens with the system. Though I had several contacts with support the blue screens continued. Currently in the process of returning to service center to FIX the problem. Will believe it when I see it. If this attempt does not fix the problem I will return for full refund and find another PC.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Quality Computer

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second PC from HP. The first one I bought was in 2007, and now this one. I really have no complaints. Its fast, pretty and hasn't given me any problems. I would recommend to anyone for purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tennessee
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I decided to retire my HP XP machine from active daily duty after seven years of faithful service and replaced it with this. It is quite fast and with 8 GB of RAM and a 1 TB hard drive was actually $50 less direct from HP than a similar machine at a club warehouse. Speed is relative. A "fast" machine today will be considered a "slow" machine in two years. Everything loads fast, graphics are great and well satisfied with the speed. I have a 175 MB fiber internet connection so everything on the internet loads fast. I am exceedingly pleased and remain loyal to HP
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice computer but I can't use my camera card

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I haven't purchased a computer for many years, my last one had XP so is obviously outdated. I knew I didn't want Windows 8, my mom has one and it's a nightmare, so I was happy that HP was selling computers w/Windows 7. I went online to check out what they had and found one I was interested in but I wanted to speak to someone from HP first. I called and told the man what I do and what I would like in a computer and he actually picked out the one I was interested in so I was very pleased with that. I purchased the computer, have it all set up, and then, because part of my job is photographing animals, I took my pictures and went to put in my camera card only to find that there's only one port on the computer, which does not work with my camera card- huge bummer, and I never even thought to ask about it because all of my previous computers have various sized ports and I just figured this computer would have one as well, lesson learned for my next purchase. Now to download my photos I have to use a cord from my camera to the computer which is a hassle but at least it works. Aside from that the computer is easy to set up and works great. Next time I will be sure to ask about the camera card.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love windows 7

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Missouri
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer has everything I was looking for and more. I love that I could still get it with windows 7! The set up was so easy and I have had no problems with it. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good well rounded computer that will handle everything I ask it to do and more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, so good.

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Milford, DE
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really only wanted HP. This seemed fairly priced for what I got. Had other HP's that lasted pretty well and hope this one lasts me for awhile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

like everything about this computer

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hartford, WI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly recommend getting the quad core, so fast and more responsive than my 4 year old dual core desktop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This computer is horrific and being sent back

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I received this computer yesterday. I downloaded my internet provider's McAfee which has always worked great before. By then end of the evening. It had quarantined a Trojan. A Trojan never got into my current computer which is not top of the line and that I've had for 7 years. It said it downloaded 41 Windows Updates. I did not confirm this and I don't believe it did. Today, it said it had 63 updates. I let it add the updates and got error messages. Bad error messages like I have never seen before. I looked to see how the updates went and half of them said "Pending" with a couple that failed. Windows tried to fix it and couldn't. Error alert after error alert. One error alert said in bright red that there was a problem with the Registry. In other words, the hard drive on this computer was corrupt. Then, McAfee found two more Trojans. Then, pop ups began. From every corner of the screen, never ending popups. Then, those viral popups that start scanning your computer or tell you your computer is at risk and scams over and over. I was on the phone with technical support for 7 hours off and on. The first one was nice and she got my computer to where it was when it left the factory. Not that I had done much to it except install drivers for printer, speakers, etc. The second tech called to do a "check in" and did not care at all. He got off the phone fast. I then called a third tech who told me that it was perfectly normal to have dozens of pop ups and scam ads taking over my computer. Oh, BTW, I also tried to install Mozilla Firefox off IE and it said it was downloading and then it wasn't there! But, about 7 other things were suddenly on my desktop. All scam and rip off sites. This computer's hard drive and faulty registry overrode my ability to download Firefox, kept trying to override McAfee, except luckily McAfee caught the trojans. I know HP must be a good company or they would not be in business. But, this was over the top bad and I am exhausted.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Delighted to be able to get it with Windows 7

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arkansas
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
But-- The machine is great, but Windows 7 needed a LOT of updating--over 100 Windows updates right out of the box . I couldn't install some new software because the drivers in Windows were either outdated or hadn't installed correctly. But once I was able to get past all the installation issues, I'm very happy with this computer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice combination of features, but...

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Baltimore, MD
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the 7-in-1 media card reader was flagged by windows as not having a compatible driver. Great to have a 4th gen Core i5 CPU, dual channel RAM performance, wireless built-in, 4 SuperSpeed USB 3.0 ports.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:wisconsin
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good, basic,every day computer. Set up was simple and transfer of files, easy. Reloading all programs is always a pain.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pc - does all I could ask

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Highlands NJ USA Earth
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Its an I5 , plenty fast.... thinking back maybe an I7 would have been better. But I love this pc and it comes with 8 gigs of ram.....
The onboard video is decent.... the system is crying for a blue ray player.
This system is really built.... very little left to upgrade here.... if you need more then a basic (but fast video) get one of thier video card option.
Worked right of the box and yes.... Its windows 7 :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cleveland Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All I can say is THANK YOU HP for giving me back windows7, I have a notebook with windows8, and nothing but problems, I am so glad i went on the HP site to find windows7, Thank You Again!!!
Linda G
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You choose and enjoy.

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arlington, VA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you know what you want and how to use the hardware and software, HP is a worthy option. Of course, assistance is available as necessary.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

My New PC stopped working

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bordentown NJ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I need to return the computer I just received on July 17 2014. After 4 days it will not boot up and the message says the file is corrupt . I need to return the computer.
J. Vickers
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Computer for a Student

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Corpus Christi, TX
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This HP Desktop is a replacement for our son's Dell Desktop that decided to die. The 1TB Hard drive is more than enough space for a student computer. Set-up was a breeze and the price couldn't be beat. The Premium Wireless-N LAN Card had no issues picking up our wi-fi and I like the fact that I don't have to have a USB port tied up to get our wi-fi. Love that this desktop has Windows 7 installed, because I really dislike Windows 8.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tucson, AZ
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am so happy to have a new computer with windows 7 Home premium. I had a HP computer with windows 8 for 2 years & it drove me crazy. Windows 7 Is so much more user friendly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing beats Windows 7

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Beatrice, Al
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had several computers since 2003 & nothing beats a Windows 7.
And all my computers over the years have been by HP
I can still play all my games that I bought from HP & Wild Tangant , I hope HP never quits making computers with Windows 7 Thank you so much HP
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ever good product

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works perfectly. I needed a little help from HP support with the wireless key board and mouse. Support walked me thru the problem and it was fixed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion 500-205t Desktop PC with Windows 7
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant performance

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very happy with the performance and windows 7
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.