HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)

hp HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)

HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating:
4.015 / 5
4
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 66 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
0
1 Star
6
56 out of 66(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Review 1 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very good - except..

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Notre Dame, IN
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This would be the perfect computer if --- the number pad (unnecessary in my opinion) squeezes the keyboard to the point that the right hand is always in the wrong place and each word typed has to be checked. Normally, I can type 100 words per minute -- with this it's good if I do 50 because I have to recheck every word. Very unsatisfied with this element - other than that, it's fast, does everything I want.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not what i expected

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:fayetteville, NC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
the wright up sounded good when I read it, but there are features on it that I cant use, such as a HP ALL IN ONE printer J6480
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Having a problem with the font size changig

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hebron, IN 46341
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I love the laptop. I just don't like the font size changing all the time without my changing it. I thought it was the mouse at first, so I bought a new one and it's still happening. Please tell me what the problem could be. Otherwise, I have no complaints.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay, but nothing special

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I picked this laptop up as a secondary work computer, and while the software and everything seems to work okay, I have a few issues:
1. The computer doesn't come with any of the disks for software, if you'd need to reinstall. I created a backup of the computer, but there was no information packets with help on what to do/how to create backups/etc. I don't need paperwork for it, but a help file when you first boot up would be nice.
2. I didn't see any notice that the touchpad is highly textured. It's not bad, per se, but it is very weird (and I worry about cleanliness over time).
3. My laptop has had two major glitches since I've started using it (within the month). Both times it restarted without issue, but this is not what I'd expect from a brand-new computer.
Overall, it's a satisfactory laptop that does what it needs to do, and #3 may just be my computer, as frustrating as that may be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall Great Computer

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this laptop! The overall design is great! It's big but also sleek and thin. Starts up fairly fast and overall processing is very good. I would definitely recommend this laptop to any college student like myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's pretty good so far

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I guess if you got this computer and it was defective, I feel sorry for you. Sometimes, electronics can be defective since it was made and it's just bad luck. I always worry about that whenever I get a new computer. Well, in search of a new laptop around my price range, this was the best. I have not been able to find any other laptops around this price range with windows 7. The key feature I was looking for was the windows 7. I hate how microsot always tries to upgrade windows every several years. I don't understand why they think new is always better. Look what happened to windows vista. It was horrible. Don't they realize that big changes like that only aggravate customers?
- Pros: i-5 processor
- a lot of memory and space
- windows 7
- Con: no back-light key
- Mouse pad is not very good (the worst mousepad so far on any laptops I had so far. It just doesn't respond as well)
- no dedicated graphics card (meaning the processor will have to do all the work of a graphics card)
- Keyboard is not the best. Noticed I can't type as fast without making a lot of spelling errors
- Battery life is actually only about 2 -3 hours or less, NOT over 9 hours. It's not even close.. smh.
I'mma have to see how this laptop holds up. You can only tell if the laptop is good when you've been using it for at least several months of not failing. All new laptops are "great" in the beginning. We shall see...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

To Me this product is easier to use then windows 8

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Garrison, ND
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had windows Vista I tried the windows 8.1 found hard to use some might like it but I prefer the windows 7. I like the Performance and Features would recommend
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Basic Laptop

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:West Palm, Florida
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cons:
- No dedicated video card/memory
- Intel I5 processor
- No CAPS or NUM LOCK light turns on or off
Pros:
- Windows 7
- Number-pad
- Bright screen
- Comfortable keyboard to type in (especially when using the laptop for school/work.
In summary I like the laptop for basic functionality. Bought this laptop for my parents and they love it. Especially after they got used to XP/Vista style OS. They were afraid of windows 8 which means for them they need to learn a few tricks.
I hope HP continues to sell laptops with windows 7. I need two more with a bit more power, but with windows 7 as the OS.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

defective times 2

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I ordered this computer with 1TB hard drive. I was very happy with the product for about 5 days. Then the images on the screen were off and I began getting Blue Screen errors. Tech support was not able to help resolve the problem. Finally returned the 1st computer and was sent another. On day 4 the second computer did the same thing. It was returned. Very disappointed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's the SPEED!!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Called my computer savvy son and this laptop fit his recommendations to a "T".... I got a great replacement for my "older than dirt" HP laptop that finally went computer blue screen. More memory and great speed are making my computing day much more enjoyable. If you are in the market for a new laptop, put this laptop in the top 3 on your list...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Suitable for our needs

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Slidell, LA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought the laptop for my wife, it is suitable for her needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Two Computers Crashed Randomly

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased the computer in May 2014. After a day or two it started crashing about once a day - usually doing simple things like using webmail. No blue screen of death; it just reboots itself in the middle of whatever you're doing. (Interestingly the Microsoft crash info referred to it as "Blue Screen".) After a few calls to HP Support, diagnostics, and an HP recommended BIOS update for fan control, I exchanged it for another one. Now after about 3 days the new computer has started crashing.
I should point out that after about day 2 came the 65 update, multi-hour, Microsoft Update during shutdown. Before that, I had no crashes. I also noticed that the updates changed the behavior of IE11 such that I needed to set compatibility view for certain websites that worked fine prior to the updates.
So, I'm not sure whether to blame Microsoft or HP, but the two just don't seem to play nicely together. I can't use a computer that crashes at least once a day (and 3 times today!) while performing simple tasks. Good Luck.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good PC with Windows 7

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:United States, United States
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When the PC arrived, I was very shocked by how slim the packaging was, which revealed how slim this PC is. The keys are perfectly spaced apart, and don't stick up too high, and aren't too low. The cursor is good. Now, one thing I want to mention is how people keep putting in caps how they have to press "VERY hard" on the click buttons in order for them to register. Well, they are stiff, but aren't half as stiff as people are making it sound. The cursor itself is textured with small bumps, so it's not smooth as pictured. I believe this was a former Windows 8 PC because it has a Windows 8 key on it, and this PC model is available with Windows 8 on the Canadian HP website. Onto gaming: I play The Sims 3 only, and after I edited the graphics quality (which you have to edit once you get on the game or else it will be very "pixely") on the game on its options, it was fine with the usual amount of pixels you can expect from any PC game. I can fit the "base game" and can fit 6 expansions plus 1 stuff pack and plan to put on an additional expansion and possibly another stuff pack, and I know they will fit (I chose 12GB and 1TB so keep that as a note. But I know from a 6GB PC that all of those games will fit, so even if you got 8GB, it would fit but it would likely be slower and more "pixely"). I have Microsoft Office Home & Student 2010 (not 2013) on here, and it runs perfectly, too. Internet is pretty slow, but that might just be my connection rather than the computer itself. I am quite pleased with this PC and hope it will last at least 4 years. NOTE: I have owned this PC for 6 days.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laptop

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worked perfectly out of the box!!!! I love this laptop!!! got 12gb and 1tb. Super fast....Great buy!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great laptop for this first-time owner!

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used laptops here and there, but have never owned one. This computer was incredibly easy to set up and use out of the box. It's really fast and has great features for the price. I know others have mentioned the buttons on the mouse pad are very hard to click - I do not find that to be the case at all. I do agree, however, that it's annoying when you're trying to scroll and it instead causes the page to zoom in or out. (The mouse pad doesn't have the feature where the far right side can be used as a scroll bar with one finger.)
A couple of cons I've noticed in the 2-3 weeks I've been using it:
1. It is larger and heavier than I expected. Again, I've never owned one, but I didn't expect to need two hands to pick it up off the coffee table.
2. The battery life is nowhere near what is stated, which others have mentioned as well.
Other than those things, I am very happy with my purchase and think I made a good decision. For someone like me who just wants to surf the net at high speeds and use MS Office and Skype, I would definitely recommend this laptop.
P.S. I have not put any of my files, photos, iTunes on it yet, so I'm not sure if that will slow it down. I also don't have MS Office on it yet.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really good laptop

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Penn Laird, VA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent product, fast, good features. The only reason I gave it 4 stars was for the sound. To be frank, the sound it terrible, very tinny sounding - I prefer a bit of bass. Otherwise, I'm completely happy with this laptop!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook, Win. 7

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:WA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Has every thing I needed and extra "stuff" that I probably will not use (web camera, etc.), Boots up fast, easy to set up and personalize. With my change from XP to Win 7 I see that I am going to love Win 7. The machine has a whole lot of really nice features, light touch key board for one and many extra function keys (sound, display brightness & so on) located for easy access.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product is a good value for the sale price.

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This product is a good value for the sale price, but is just average when purchased at full price.
The good: Worked right out of the box and wasn't loaded down with applications that needed to be deleted. Deleted MS Office and anti virus software only.
The bad: Needed over 65 required updates to windows 7. This should have been done at the HP final test facility prior to shipping. Didn't have the bluetooth driver installed which is listed on the hp web site for this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good speed and large storage

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pahoa, HI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The speed and size of the drive work well for writing and photo editing, I don't have to worry about running out of storage. The LED screen seems bigger than advertised, providing sharp and bright pictures with full controls for contrast and brightness. This buy replaced my last laptop . Compared to my old XP version, this new one is significantly faster on boot up and operation using Windows 7. The only minor gripe is the touch pad location seem awkward in the left of center location, but this makes using the full alpha numeric keypad easy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this laptop!

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Howell, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It worked beautifully right out of the box. I loaded my programs on to it, Internet, etc. It is extremely fast and easy to use. I am not a gamer, so that was not an issue. Looking forward to a long and happy relationship.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.