HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)

hp HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)

HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating:
4.095 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 74 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
0
1 Star
6
64 out of 74(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Review 1 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Buy!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This laptop actually has some really good features for the price. I really like the way this laptop is sleek and light weight. It was really easy to set up with everything being simple and straight forward. The only thing I don't like about this laptop is the mouse buttons. The buttons are really hard and stiff unlike my past laptops. I actually had to buy a wireless mouse to use with it. Hopefully HP will perfect this flaw, but other than that I am pretty much content with my purchase!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for the price

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm glad HP still carries Windows 7. The overall design is great, and it works well.
Wish it had Bluetooth, though.
Otherwise a great buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Capable Laptop

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Suffern, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I needed a laptop to replace a previous HP that developed hardware problems. I also did NOT want Windows 8.x. This laptop had reasonable specs at a reasonable price. It let's me do the work I need to get done. I do like that the battery lasts longer than my old laptop, it has a newer/faster CPU, and it has more memory and a larger HDD. I'd prefer a 16:10 ration screen so I could fit more data (vs the 16:9 it has for viewing movies/TV). And while I like having a numeric key pad, the chicklet style keyboard has such a light touch that I keep typing by just resting my fingers on the keyboard. (But that may be partly because I'm old enough to have learned typing on a manual typewriter. where you had to REALLY press the keys.) One other oldster comment, I miss a built in phone modem for backup when the cable is down, but a USB modem works too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Windows 7

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Winston-Salem, NC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is basically a Windows 8 capable laptop with Windows 7 Home installed. Alas, it comes with no native Bluetooth. For those who have decided that they do not care for the "features" of Windows 8, this seems to be a good choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laptop, very quiet

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florence, SC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
This is a very quiet laptop and compact. but with the features I was looking for. Ridiculous not to have a DVD player in every laptop these days. Would have preferred a video port for projector but minor issue. Took longer to build but was worth the wait.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great laptop / Reasonable price

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Jose . CA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I only had this laptop for a few weeks and I really like it. It has very good basic multimedia features . The laptop performance is excellent , with no problems . I like the ultra thin and light weight for on the go. I have a HP multimedia deck top , THIS LAPTOP IS LIKE HAVING A MINIATURE VERSION Its awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home & Student Reccomended with Bonuses!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Palm Coast, FL
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Going into my senior year this laptop is a great way to kick it off with it's high speed performance with starting up in less than 30 seconds and great cooling system that leaves the laptop silent while cruising though the internet and listening to music. Fantastic computer that definitely suits my needs with it's ultra thin design a great overhaul from my HP Pavilion G4. The 15 inch Display was intimidating at first to use but it is very welcoming, watching movies and favorite television shows was a galore! Gaming on the Laptop will be disappointing as it cannot run most to-date games well such as Dragon Age Origins or Mass Effect but on the better side the laptop is able to run a select few Gamecube Games such as Mario Party, Paper Mario, and Baten Kaitos beautifully if there isnt anything else using the CPU. Although it cant run the most modern games the retro games such as PS1, Gamecube, PSP, and N64 are most welcomed! Great to play games with a Wireless XBOX controller with a receiver gives the feel of actuall console gaming with the old consoles.
two USB 3.0 is on the left sides of the laptop not colored blue all fancy like most but they are indeed there for anyone wondering.
Also the speakers arent the loudest things for a laptop but they are indeed nifty for again personal use and watching shows and movies.
On the last note you might want to get an external mouse for this laptop as while using the touchpad and very stiff clickpad wasnt media editing friendly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOOD

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:LAPORTE, IN
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MINE WORKS GOOD. THE LAPTOP WORKS AS EXPECTED. THIS WILL LAST LONGER THAN MY LAST ONE by: MAKING SURE I DO NOT DROP IT...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very good - except..

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Notre Dame, IN
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This would be the perfect computer if --- the number pad (unnecessary in my opinion) squeezes the keyboard to the point that the right hand is always in the wrong place and each word typed has to be checked. Normally, I can type 100 words per minute -- with this it's good if I do 50 because I have to recheck every word. Very unsatisfied with this element - other than that, it's fast, does everything I want.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not what i expected

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:fayetteville, NC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
the wright up sounded good when I read it, but there are features on it that I cant use, such as a HP ALL IN ONE printer J6480
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Having a problem with the font size changig

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hebron, IN 46341
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I love the laptop. I just don't like the font size changing all the time without my changing it. I thought it was the mouse at first, so I bought a new one and it's still happening. Please tell me what the problem could be. Otherwise, I have no complaints.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay, but nothing special

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I picked this laptop up as a secondary work computer, and while the software and everything seems to work okay, I have a few issues:
1. The computer doesn't come with any of the disks for software, if you'd need to reinstall. I created a backup of the computer, but there was no information packets with help on what to do/how to create backups/etc. I don't need paperwork for it, but a help file when you first boot up would be nice.
2. I didn't see any notice that the touchpad is highly textured. It's not bad, per se, but it is very weird (and I worry about cleanliness over time).
3. My laptop has had two major glitches since I've started using it (within the month). Both times it restarted without issue, but this is not what I'd expect from a brand-new computer.
Overall, it's a satisfactory laptop that does what it needs to do, and #3 may just be my computer, as frustrating as that may be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall Great Computer

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this laptop! The overall design is great! It's big but also sleek and thin. Starts up fairly fast and overall processing is very good. I would definitely recommend this laptop to any college student like myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's pretty good so far

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I guess if you got this computer and it was defective, I feel sorry for you. Sometimes, electronics can be defective since it was made and it's just bad luck. I always worry about that whenever I get a new computer. Well, in search of a new laptop around my price range, this was the best. I have not been able to find any other laptops around this price range with windows 7. The key feature I was looking for was the windows 7. I hate how microsot always tries to upgrade windows every several years. I don't understand why they think new is always better. Look what happened to windows vista. It was horrible. Don't they realize that big changes like that only aggravate customers?
- Pros: i-5 processor
- a lot of memory and space
- windows 7
- Con: no back-light key
- Mouse pad is not very good (the worst mousepad so far on any laptops I had so far. It just doesn't respond as well)
- no dedicated graphics card (meaning the processor will have to do all the work of a graphics card)
- Keyboard is not the best. Noticed I can't type as fast without making a lot of spelling errors
- Battery life is actually only about 2 -3 hours or less, NOT over 9 hours. It's not even close.. smh.
I'mma have to see how this laptop holds up. You can only tell if the laptop is good when you've been using it for at least several months of not failing. All new laptops are "great" in the beginning. We shall see...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

To Me this product is easier to use then windows 8

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Garrison, ND
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had windows Vista I tried the windows 8.1 found hard to use some might like it but I prefer the windows 7. I like the Performance and Features would recommend
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Basic Laptop

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:West Palm, Florida
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cons:
- No dedicated video card/memory
- Intel I5 processor
- No CAPS or NUM LOCK light turns on or off
Pros:
- Windows 7
- Number-pad
- Bright screen
- Comfortable keyboard to type in (especially when using the laptop for school/work.
In summary I like the laptop for basic functionality. Bought this laptop for my parents and they love it. Especially after they got used to XP/Vista style OS. They were afraid of windows 8 which means for them they need to learn a few tricks.
I hope HP continues to sell laptops with windows 7. I need two more with a bit more power, but with windows 7 as the OS.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

defective times 2

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I ordered this computer with 1TB hard drive. I was very happy with the product for about 5 days. Then the images on the screen were off and I began getting Blue Screen errors. Tech support was not able to help resolve the problem. Finally returned the 1st computer and was sent another. On day 4 the second computer did the same thing. It was returned. Very disappointed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's the SPEED!!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Called my computer savvy son and this laptop fit his recommendations to a "T".... I got a great replacement for my "older than dirt" HP laptop that finally went computer blue screen. More memory and great speed are making my computing day much more enjoyable. If you are in the market for a new laptop, put this laptop in the top 3 on your list...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Suitable for our needs

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Slidell, LA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought the laptop for my wife, it is suitable for her needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion 15t-n200 Notebook PC with Windows 7 (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Two Computers Crashed Randomly

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased the computer in May 2014. After a day or two it started crashing about once a day - usually doing simple things like using webmail. No blue screen of death; it just reboots itself in the middle of whatever you're doing. (Interestingly the Microsoft crash info referred to it as "Blue Screen".) After a few calls to HP Support, diagnostics, and an HP recommended BIOS update for fan control, I exchanged it for another one. Now after about 3 days the new computer has started crashing.
I should point out that after about day 2 came the 65 update, multi-hour, Microsoft Update during shutdown. Before that, I had no crashes. I also noticed that the updates changed the behavior of IE11 such that I needed to set compatibility view for certain websites that worked fine prior to the updates.
So, I'm not sure whether to blame Microsoft or HP, but the two just don't seem to play nicely together. I can't use a computer that crashes at least once a day (and 3 times today!) while performing simple tasks. Good Luck.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.