HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)

HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating:
3.679 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
5
1 Star
8
35 out of 53(66%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Review 1 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is a great lp

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:mountain home ar.
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HP is to me the best lap tops built.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product was awesome at first.

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:ware,ma
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I really enjoyed the computer and new systems when first got computer. I use it everynite to check emails and conduct business on it. NOW I can not even get into it and unable to get to email or internet at all. Why would a perfectly good running system crash at exact time I can return it.. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED AND UPSE T I PAID GOOD MONEY TO GET A NEW COMPUTER AND NOW IT IS WORTHLESS. I used my sons tax return to buy it so I could do mine online and not can not use for anything never my tax returns. I like to at least get my money back and try a different brand or buy a used one. I live on a very limited income and this was a special gift to myself and now just a waste of money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The product is great

PostedMay 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hudson, NC
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Love the computer what time I have been on it. Window 8.1 could use a manual for that as well as a manual for the computer. My old computer came with a manual, don't understand why this one didn't. Would be great to have one for reference as well as some info on Windows 8.1. Other than that if I can mustard up enough courage to tackle the new computer would be great. Just haven't gotten to that point yet. Loved my HP Pavilion Desktop, that is why I chose a HP laptop this time round. Nothing like a HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Belleville Illinois
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like this product because of color choices.
Value for money.
Extra features if needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ok product

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:kansas city, MO
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The laptop has poor battery life and does not seem to have a scoll feature. The shutdown feature is hard to locate. I do love the larger screen and keyboard and the bluetooth mouse works wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

laptop stinks

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Catawba,WI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the slowest new computer I've ever had. Also in the first week I've almost spent more time down loading and installing updates. You would think that a new computer would be pretty much up to date. One update that I had to do, said it hadn't been updated for 263 days. A couple of them took over four hours to do. (on DSL not dial up)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

System not responsive/keyboard issues

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Hampshire
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this last week and from the moment I took it out of the box I had issues. The keyboard doesn't register when I'm typing. It is like the processor is too slow to keep up with my typing. I literally would push a button 20 times and it wouldn't register that I had even pushed it. I also had delay issues with the mouse. When I tried a few websites I had issues opening emails. They wouldn't open! I called and tried to troubleshoot but was told I probably had a virus (I had no time to get a virus- I couldn't even do anything!), and said I'd have to pay a fee to speak to their software dept. No thanks. I am not sure if I got a defect but I was offered a replacement and they said they'd send me one that was tested, but I declined because I don't have time for this. I am moving in 4 weeks and they ship them from Japan/China. Took 3 weeks to get this one. This one maybe it got damaged in shipping, but I can't even believe how slow/unresponsive this computer was. If it had been working properly I probably would have given it 5 stars because of the design. It is a very nice computer cosmetically. I purchased the Regal Purple and loved the color. Unfortunately I don't have time or patience to return and try out a new one at this time. And reading prior reviews this isn't the first complaint of this kind. I'm not sure what is going on.
I do give their return policy 5 stars though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just as it was discribed.

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wendell, Idaho
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC was just as I ordered and the sale rep was very helpful in setting it up with recommendations to improve the performance of the unit, as a results of doing this the unit was just as my wife wanted and needed to do her computing and she got her favorite color. I am very happy with the way everything went in shopping for the new HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC. If I need to get another one I would go back to HP and consider purchasing another one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this PC... Never going back...

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hello, it's me, TmanDaCool1, and I received this laptop in a red color for christmas. It was almost love at first sight- you have the performance, but also the reliability. But one thing that occasionally bothers me is that the DVD drive occasionally makes a clunking noise. It does it when it boots up, when it shuts down, when the computer wakes up from sleep mode, and when the computer is going to sleep mode. It also HAS crashed once. Other than that, it's a good laptop. I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Lap top

PostedApril 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bellingham WA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After going over a lot of reviews I ended up with this computer.
I am very pleased over all except for two things.
1. Lid is stiff to open
2. The left paddle clicks hard and is loud .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC "Slow"

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dothan, AL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The appearance of this device is outstanding, however, the operation is very slow. At this point I would not recommend it unless Tech Support can do something about the speed of operation.
My old windows 7 computer is much faster, please feel free to contact me.
Dan
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good price, slow performance, get what you pay for

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Use on the internet was very slow, AMD chip must be ten years old. Tried two computers and had the same poor performance.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Terrible performance but sleek design

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
First let me say that the reason I'm giving this 2 stars instead of 1 is because of the design of the computer itself. It's sleek and the screen is amazing. I love how big the screen is on this computer, everything is so vibrant on it, I fell in love instantly...
Until I started hitting performance problems. The first thing I noticed is that this computer is incredibly slow, I expected a fast running computer that loaded websites quickly so I was very disappointed by this computer.
Next I started getting the BSOD almost every time the computer started up and then it would begin freezing just a few minutes after starting up. I reset the computer a couple of times with no luck on the situation. I realized quickly that I shouldn't have to fight this hard with a brand new computer that I paid decent money for and decided to return it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

8.1 is Aweful I cannot adjust

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Missouri City, Texas
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
The computer is ok. It's a little slow and the keys lag with touched.If you're looking for bells and whistles, this computer has it..
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i love it

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it is a smooth running computer so far no problems
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

How to fix lag

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm going to show you in five easy steps how to fix this problem, it's not the computer, it's windows 8.1. Let's get started.....
Step1: hold down the windows key, then press "r" that will bring up the run prompt in the field provided, type "msconfig" without quotations
Step2: You should now be in system configuration, click on the boot tab. here you will see an option that says "No GUI boot" put a check in that box, this will boot the system faster
Step3: there should be a box labeled "timeout" and it should be set to 30 seconds, change that 30 seconds to 3 seconds. this will prevent keyboard lag.
step4: now, click on the "advanced options" box in the same tab. you will see at the top left where it says "Number of Processors" check this box, it will bring up the option to change the number from 1 to 4. input the number of cores your processor has (dualcore, quadcore so on) this will speed up your system considerably. windows default is set to run only one core of your processor, with all cores running, your computer should now be lightning fast
Step5: click ok, then click apply, let the computer reboot, then enjoy your new computer folks! hope this helped you!
As for the computer, it's the best PC for the price, for students, it's lightning fast and efficient. For gamers on a budget, this is the rig for you! it has some muscle to it fully upgraded, it'll meet most your needs. I highly recommend this computer to everyone, I'm a loyal HP customer and have been for years, it will not dissapoint you once you optimize windows 8.... and now you know how! enjoy my friends, happy computing to you!
+30points
30of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love the large screen

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wilmington, NC
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I love the large screen and the color I choose, Royal Purple. I don't like the keyboard very well, I have to hit some keys several times for the letter to appear on the screen. Sometimes the screen will zoom to 165% and I did not select zoom, it does it all by itself. I think something is wrong with the USB ports, I had a hard time trying to use my external flash drive, it would not fit. On my old computer, which is also from HP, my flash drive fit just fine. Still trying to adjust using Windows 8 and how to copy music from a CD.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice notebook

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Neosho, MO
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this notebook to any one looking for something bigger than a tablet but yet smaller than a desk top and that you can move around the house or take with you. I personally really enjoy the 17 " notebook. Great product! What I like the most about it is you can print off your mail or any where you go online to print off if you have a good printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP's always fit the bill!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Raceland, Louisiana
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I currently have two other HP's, a high end laptop for my wife's home use and a high end all in one desktop for my home use. We are thoroughly satisfied with all the HP computers and peripherals we have purchased. We are faithful HP customers. I purchased this low end laptop to take on the road for vacations. It really fits the bill and the battery life is fantastic. Love it. I've only needed customer assistance once and that too was a very pleasant experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion 17z-e100 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent laptop

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arizona
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This laptop is perfect for every day browsing, emails, streaming, etc. I do not play games, so I cannot speak to that. Battery life is incredible and screen is huge. I love the 10-key, haven't seen that on a laptop before. Very happy with my purchase
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.