HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)

HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating:
3.16 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
6
15 out of 25(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Review 1 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

custom setup for best service

PostedJune 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hello. I bought this product and it is great. It is very fast. After reading several reviews I have come to the conclusion that if your product is running too slow you probably set it up wrong. It is best to use the custom setup so that only the apps that you need are running at the startup. If you do not do the custom setup your system will be bogged down by excessive startup apps. It is possible to make it run faster by removing the excessive apps from the startup menu.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Maddeningly Slow Performance

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Given the 1.0 gHz processor speed, the 2 GB of memory, and the $299 price, I was not expecting a blazing fast laptop. However, I can't imagine how this configuration could possibly be any slower. Task Manager reveals that, even after startup programs have been limited to the bare minimum, the majority of the memory is in use and the CPU utilization spikes to 60 or 70 percent with only a web browser open. Forget watching video; even basic web browsing is unbelievably slow. I doubt that the limited hardware is to blame, however. The culprit is likely the Windows 8 OS as my 4 year-old laptop (which also has a very basic hardware configuration) runs Windows 7 flawlessly. At this point, I'm so frustrated with the performance of this machine that I'm going to wipe the drive and install Windows 7. HP should not be selling this configuration with Windows 8. It doesn't work well. If for some reason I have similar performance issues with Windows 7, I'll install Linux, but this factory configuration is awful.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Travel laptop/tablet

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Saratoga, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z notebook PC is an interesting blend of a laptop and a tablet featuring the new Windows 8. I could type on the keyboard without any issue, and the display was clear and sharp. There is a feature to enlarge the type if your eyes aren't so good too. It was also nice to have the notebook come with Office already installed. The battery life is great too. I could go days between charges.
The drawbacks were the processor speed and wifi speed. I found some, but not all, videos constantly stopped and started while I waited for the processor to work. The notebook just wasn't as fast as my Windows 7 full-sized laptop, also from HP.
The mouse is also a bit strange in that you have to choose between a left click or a right click mouse. That makes doing some things I usually do on my other laptops a bit awkward. I think if I get better with the touchscreen, this issue may go away.
And here's the interesting part: you can have the display look like a normal PC desktop, and use the touchscreen instead of a mouse. The only issue with that is that unless you enlarge the items you are looking at, your finger may not be as precise as you like. I'm getting better at that, but I need more practice.
The tiles featured on Windows 8 are a bit annoying actually, and why couldn't they put a clock on there that tells you the time instead of just the date?
In summary, I purchased this as a travel PC. I like its light weight and small form factor for that reason. It certainly is a great alternative to an iPad at a reasonable price.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nearly silent and cool-running

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado, USA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Keep your expectations reasonable: You aren't going to get a new MacBook Air for this kind of money! But compared to a netbook, it's pretty great.
Sceen: Lots of pixels on that 10.1" screen, decent brightness, color fidelity is average for it's class. Touch surface could be slipperier.
DTS-branded onboard audio sounds good through headphones, and despite their downward-firing location, the speakers still produce crisp vocals (how did they do that?) Needed to update video drivers before Netflix app would run, but now it runs smoothly. Internet Explorer loaded some web pages very slowly for me; Firefox seems to work fine.
AC brick: Still seems a bit larger and more industrial-looking than it needs to, but okay.
Noise: Except for the hard drive, it's silent. Doesn't seem to have (or need) a cooling fan. I had it sitting on the bed as I watched Netflix, and the bottom only became slightly warm to the touch.
Windows Certificate of Authenticity: It's a small piece of paper and not a sticker on the computer. Beware before you throw the box away!
Linux compatibility: Only briefly tried, seemed to work fine except for touchscreen, but I think it's a generic USB HID device.
Expandability: RAM is soldered into place and can't be expanded. Hard drive is ordinary 2.5" SATA device and can be replaced with off the shelf SSD (which I did). Not difficult, but ~28 screws need to be removed. You want a small computer with massive onboard storage at a modest price, this could be your ticket.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice laptop, but case limits usability

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Pavilion Touchsmart 10 works nicely, except that the screen doesn't open up far enough to allow comfortable viewing. Only 110 degrees of motion, although most laptops open 180 degrees. Otherwise it is small, light, and responds quickly.
Windows 8 on the other hand is a loser. It takes a long time to get used to, and many of the settings which were so easy to access on Windows 7 and prior versions now require jumping between OS modes, and some features are conspicuously absent. Poor attempt at platform consolidation.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

VERY NICE

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:TOCCOA, GA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have given all my grandchildren laptops or tablets. All 8 HPs. My favorite are the Pavilion models.
They used to be easy to work with until Windows8 came along. Now no one I know wants anything with Windows8 on it. I bought this new Pavilion for my 15yr old granddaughter, she doesn't want it because it has Windows8. Said she'd rather have Windows7. I myself do not like 8. Very difficult to navigate.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product did not perform as expected

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:South Padre Island, TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product uses Windows 8.1. I have had problems from day one with the 8.1 Start window interface and cannot find any way to resolve problems. Apps frequently fail to load. Uninstalling and re-loading sometimes works but not always. I have had to replace HP installed apps such as maps, weather, mail and people with third party apps because the factory installed apps would not run.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Slow!!!

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
The only thing I use my computer for is school which requires me to do research on the internet and to download pdfs, powerpoints, and word documents from online to take notes and this computer is way too slow to allow me to keep up in class. It takes about 5 minutes for a powerpoint to be downloaded from online so that I can take notes, switching between two documents is almost impossible because it causes both programs to become unresponsive for a few minutes and printing documents takes anywhere from 10-30 minutes. I got this computer because I had an hp before and I was very satisfied with it, but this computer has been horrible!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hard drive crashed in 3 days

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Flagstaff
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am not bad mouthing HP at this point due to the good service I got on the help line. I am sending the machine in for repairs already.
I never did figure out how to save pictures in my laptop. Windows 8.1 is not easy to use. I wish it had my old windows program on it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Low Ram

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hawthorne ,Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am a little disappointed,my touch screen note book I just bought seems to have low Ram,according to my Norton diagnostic,even the HP diagnostic says the same thing,Low Ram,so it tells me to contact my Manafacturer,I only had the PC about a week.It seems to move very slow.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

inexpensive but good product

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Southaven , ms
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this was a birthday present and the party was very excited and loved it, could not find any faults about it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Travel

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Richmond, VA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this laptop- Hate windows 8
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chrstmas Gift

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this item for my daughter, a 4th grade teacher, for Christmas. I wondered how she'd like a smaller laptop and was thrilled to find she fell in love with it immediately. It is easier for her to tote along with all the rest of the items she carries back and forth to her classroom daily and the touch screen makes it easier for her to work with in her classroom (quiet). She said it's the best gift she's ever received, which is saying something in that she's 43 years old. In that both of us have HP laptops & printers (I have 2 of each in fact) you could say we are hooked on HP products.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I would buy it again

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am a caregiver and bought one for my patient. After some initial issues and a refresh, my patient does little else but use the unit. The touchscreen is a godsend and I recommend this unit. I bought the other unit as a backup and so I could figure out issue on the other without taking it away..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my new HP Touchsmart Notebook!

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
I was so excited to receive my new HP Touchsmart Notebook! The smaller size is perfect for traveling or just taking it with me to the park. It has all the features I wanted and the touchscreen is awesome! HP is my absolute favorite computer product choice! Thanks HP for making my busy life so much easier!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Slow and Windows 8 makes worse

PostedJune 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fl
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this for my nine year old daughter, so there would be no fighting among the kids. She complain it was slow. I went on and tried to navigate windows 8. It was cool, but was so slow. This computer was not designed to handle all the features. I spent three hours one night and two the next day reconfiguring the computer to work faster. It was not worth it. I sent it back for a full refund. Can HP refund those 5 hours of my life?
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product needs help

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Appleton, Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My satisfaction for this product can be stated I two words. TOTAL DISSATISFACTION!!!!!
The operation can also be stated in two words. SLOW & SLOWER!!!
Tried for a month to use this product, bur cannot get past how slow it is. If you have lots of time to wait this is the product for you. I'll return mine as soon as I can figure out how.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Windows 8 vs 7 / very slow / locks up

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Monroe, MI
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not having good luck with this purchase. First of all, it was a gift for a relative and the only reason I ordered it was because it was supposed to be Windows 7. It came with Windows 8. It has been very slow, locks up, and you have to wait while it sits on the 'twirling cursor' to switch between items on the Windows 8 screen vs. the desktop view. Not happy with this product at all; am going to return it for something else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Remove adware!

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased two of these for my kids. They were complaining that the web surfing was extremely slow. I then took a look and found that they had pre-installed adware that was the culprit. When I tried to surf the web, these pop-up ads made surfing all but impossible! I was able to go to the control panel and in conjunction with Google find the offending software and uninstall it. They work good now! I imagine that's why so may are having the speed and web surfing issues. They are not blazing fast to be sure, but they now work OK. Hope this helps!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this notebook to replace my older one. Touchscreen is nice but fickle. Base has a sharp edge below and on either side of the keyboard. Sound is great. Battery life not as good as stated. I recommend getting a protective film for the screen. Graphics quality is amazing.
If you purchase any Office software from HP with your notebook, be aware that the programs like Outlook and the Outlook App are not the same thing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.