HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)

HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating:
3.16 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
6
15 out of 25(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Review 1 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Windows 8 vs 7 / very slow / locks up

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Monroe, MI
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not having good luck with this purchase. First of all, it was a gift for a relative and the only reason I ordered it was because it was supposed to be Windows 7. It came with Windows 8. It has been very slow, locks up, and you have to wait while it sits on the 'twirling cursor' to switch between items on the Windows 8 screen vs. the desktop view. Not happy with this product at all; am going to return it for something else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hard drive crashed in 3 days

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Flagstaff
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am not bad mouthing HP at this point due to the good service I got on the help line. I am sending the machine in for repairs already.
I never did figure out how to save pictures in my laptop. Windows 8.1 is not easy to use. I wish it had my old windows program on it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Remove adware!

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased two of these for my kids. They were complaining that the web surfing was extremely slow. I then took a look and found that they had pre-installed adware that was the culprit. When I tried to surf the web, these pop-up ads made surfing all but impossible! I was able to go to the control panel and in conjunction with Google find the offending software and uninstall it. They work good now! I imagine that's why so may are having the speed and web surfing issues. They are not blazing fast to be sure, but they now work OK. Hope this helps!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this notebook to replace my older one. Touchscreen is nice but fickle. Base has a sharp edge below and on either side of the keyboard. Sound is great. Battery life not as good as stated. I recommend getting a protective film for the screen. Graphics quality is amazing.
If you purchase any Office software from HP with your notebook, be aware that the programs like Outlook and the Outlook App are not the same thing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not intuitive

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Apex, NC
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
So far it has been a challenge to set up this device. Nothing is where I expect it to be. I could not find Word even directly after I loaded it and entered the key for it.
Also, the CPU uses full power when only one app is in progress due to the other "bells and whilstles" on the desktop -- bells and whistles that are not very useful.
So far I am not happy with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sorry I bought it!

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Alaska, USA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
It's either the HP Pavilion or Windows 8.1 that is JUNK. I have had the computer for 2 months and maybe used it 3 times. I will never buy either a HP product or a Windows product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

custom setup for best service

PostedJune 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hello. I bought this product and it is great. It is very fast. After reading several reviews I have come to the conclusion that if your product is running too slow you probably set it up wrong. It is best to use the custom setup so that only the apps that you need are running at the startup. If you do not do the custom setup your system will be bogged down by excessive startup apps. It is possible to make it run faster by removing the excessive apps from the startup menu.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Slow and Windows 8 makes worse

PostedJune 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fl
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this for my nine year old daughter, so there would be no fighting among the kids. She complain it was slow. I went on and tried to navigate windows 8. It was cool, but was so slow. This computer was not designed to handle all the features. I spent three hours one night and two the next day reconfiguring the computer to work faster. It was not worth it. I sent it back for a full refund. Can HP refund those 5 hours of my life?
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

VERY NICE

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:TOCCOA, GA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have given all my grandchildren laptops or tablets. All 8 HPs. My favorite are the Pavilion models.
They used to be easy to work with until Windows8 came along. Now no one I know wants anything with Windows8 on it. I bought this new Pavilion for my 15yr old granddaughter, she doesn't want it because it has Windows8. Said she'd rather have Windows7. I myself do not like 8. Very difficult to navigate.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product needs help

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Appleton, Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My satisfaction for this product can be stated I two words. TOTAL DISSATISFACTION!!!!!
The operation can also be stated in two words. SLOW & SLOWER!!!
Tried for a month to use this product, bur cannot get past how slow it is. If you have lots of time to wait this is the product for you. I'll return mine as soon as I can figure out how.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Slow!!!

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
The only thing I use my computer for is school which requires me to do research on the internet and to download pdfs, powerpoints, and word documents from online to take notes and this computer is way too slow to allow me to keep up in class. It takes about 5 minutes for a powerpoint to be downloaded from online so that I can take notes, switching between two documents is almost impossible because it causes both programs to become unresponsive for a few minutes and printing documents takes anywhere from 10-30 minutes. I got this computer because I had an hp before and I was very satisfied with it, but this computer has been horrible!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my new HP Touchsmart Notebook!

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
I was so excited to receive my new HP Touchsmart Notebook! The smaller size is perfect for traveling or just taking it with me to the park. It has all the features I wanted and the touchscreen is awesome! HP is my absolute favorite computer product choice! Thanks HP for making my busy life so much easier!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Low Ram

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hawthorne ,Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am a little disappointed,my touch screen note book I just bought seems to have low Ram,according to my Norton diagnostic,even the HP diagnostic says the same thing,Low Ram,so it tells me to contact my Manafacturer,I only had the PC about a week.It seems to move very slow.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Basic Computer

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This computer was not suitable for my computing needs. The processor is slow so I returned it. Since I do a lot of school work and internet research I needed something a little faster. I did however like the touch screen feature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nearly silent and cool-running

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado, USA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Keep your expectations reasonable: You aren't going to get a new MacBook Air for this kind of money! But compared to a netbook, it's pretty great.
Sceen: Lots of pixels on that 10.1" screen, decent brightness, color fidelity is average for it's class. Touch surface could be slipperier.
DTS-branded onboard audio sounds good through headphones, and despite their downward-firing location, the speakers still produce crisp vocals (how did they do that?) Needed to update video drivers before Netflix app would run, but now it runs smoothly. Internet Explorer loaded some web pages very slowly for me; Firefox seems to work fine.
AC brick: Still seems a bit larger and more industrial-looking than it needs to, but okay.
Noise: Except for the hard drive, it's silent. Doesn't seem to have (or need) a cooling fan. I had it sitting on the bed as I watched Netflix, and the bottom only became slightly warm to the touch.
Windows Certificate of Authenticity: It's a small piece of paper and not a sticker on the computer. Beware before you throw the box away!
Linux compatibility: Only briefly tried, seemed to work fine except for touchscreen, but I think it's a generic USB HID device.
Expandability: RAM is soldered into place and can't be expanded. Hard drive is ordinary 2.5" SATA device and can be replaced with off the shelf SSD (which I did). Not difficult, but ~28 screws need to be removed. You want a small computer with massive onboard storage at a modest price, this could be your ticket.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

inexpensive but good product

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Southaven , ms
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this was a birthday present and the party was very excited and loved it, could not find any faults about it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Maddeningly Slow Performance

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Given the 1.0 gHz processor speed, the 2 GB of memory, and the $299 price, I was not expecting a blazing fast laptop. However, I can't imagine how this configuration could possibly be any slower. Task Manager reveals that, even after startup programs have been limited to the bare minimum, the majority of the memory is in use and the CPU utilization spikes to 60 or 70 percent with only a web browser open. Forget watching video; even basic web browsing is unbelievably slow. I doubt that the limited hardware is to blame, however. The culprit is likely the Windows 8 OS as my 4 year-old laptop (which also has a very basic hardware configuration) runs Windows 7 flawlessly. At this point, I'm so frustrated with the performance of this machine that I'm going to wipe the drive and install Windows 7. HP should not be selling this configuration with Windows 8. It doesn't work well. If for some reason I have similar performance issues with Windows 7, I'll install Linux, but this factory configuration is awful.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Travel

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Richmond, VA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this laptop- Hate windows 8
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice laptop, but case limits usability

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Pavilion Touchsmart 10 works nicely, except that the screen doesn't open up far enough to allow comfortable viewing. Only 110 degrees of motion, although most laptops open 180 degrees. Otherwise it is small, light, and responds quickly.
Windows 8 on the other hand is a loser. It takes a long time to get used to, and many of the settings which were so easy to access on Windows 7 and prior versions now require jumping between OS modes, and some features are conspicuously absent. Poor attempt at platform consolidation.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion 10 TouchSmart 10z-e000 Notebook PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grandsons loved them!!

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Shelby, Alabama
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Laptops will help my grandsons in school and they enjoy using them.
GREAT!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.